Huge oil slick in country SA

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:11
ThreadID: 46599 Views:3093 Replies:13 FollowUps:34
Well we had a great long weekend, headed up to Glendambo for the 4x4 Endurance racing, the Roach family joined us and we camped at the site with most of the other spectators and competitors.
Had a good weather and a couple of great campfire nights with some of the people around us.
Roachy drooled over the shorty 40 with ford V8 camped next to us all w/e.
Well on Monday we all headed for home, Roachy chosing to leave the safety of having a toyota with him for support, and headed of down the blacktop, and as usual for Mrs Pesty and I we took a scenic route.
Went across to Kingoonya and home via Mt Ive station and came out at Iron Knob.
Was great with recent rains the wildflowers were out including the sturt desert pea, and the grader had been through most of it.
We did however encounter some heavy rain in the last part of the trip which meant a red mud wash was in order today, all part of the fun.
BUT today the bush telepraph was a buz with the news of a huge chevy oil slick on the highway near Pimba, seems that the Roach Pus Bucket, BROKE DOWN, YES, BROKE DOWN, once more BROKE DOWN.
Fortunetly for Mr Roach the guys who were camped next to us wth the V8 shorty that Roachy drooled over all w/e, came along and spent 2 hrs patching the Pus Bucket back together. It usually makes these trips with the repairs the following week, but this time it didnt make it.
Sounds like Mrs Roach wasnt even game to photograph the incident!
Didnt get hot under the collar did we Bill?
Sounds like he had oil all over his bank managerial hands and most other parts of his body! Just glad we went the other way photographing wild flowers ! hahaha
So from all reports it made it home, late, and is tucked up in its stable again and bill is back in his favouirite commodore.
Can see a caravan on a new falcon wagon parked in his stable soon?

Cheers Pesty

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:22

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:22
If there's no photos, it mustn't have happened.

I'm innocent until proven guilty.
AnswerID: 246461

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:26

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:26
Might just have to get Don and Adrian to post an up to date account???

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 507296

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:12

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:12
Pesty, your not getting confused with that tub at Newcastle are you???
Nah didn't think so.
FollowupID: 507308

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 00:37

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 00:37
So what happened Bill?

Makes you think that the old 4.2 was not such a bad truck after all?
I guess the new one has plenty of room to carry a few bags of kitty litter to soak up the oil. :-)

FollowupID: 507313

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 05:53

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 05:53
C'mon Roachie !

the " Titanic " about to roll over ?

Cheers Mate Bucky
FollowupID: 507317

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:11

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:11
Rescued by a Shorty Forty with a Ford V8.

Thaaaaaaaaaaaank you god.
FollowupID: 507430

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:52

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 22:52
Bill, I am so sorry to hear of your slight inconvieniance. I shall MM Ms Lucy immediately to ensure that his generous offer with the 100 Series prestige Toyota still holds so that you can grace us at waraweena in the style that you deserve.
Yours Sincerely
Des.
AnswerID: 246472

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:18

Tuesday, Jun 12, 2007 at 23:18
You'll keep!!!! ;-))
FollowupID: 507309

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:09

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:09
Helloooooooooooo! Roachie.

Hmmmm! a hiccup I see - AGAIN.

Lets see now - 400hrs of time, sweat, swearing, stress, Forum bagging, skinned knuckles, oil testing, family abuse, laundry/drycleaning - $'s x 1000 - ?? amt of gallons of synthethic oil blown through the system - Yep! definitely worth it every bit of the above.

Just luv it whn a plan comes together - Ooops meant apart.

Ok! Ok! I'll stop it as SWMBO gets very stressed when i 'discuss' your follys on the forum.

(ROFLMAO x 100)

Also I feel it is my Toyota duty to inform you that the off still stands to get you and yours to Warrena safely - that is 50/50 in the hire of a LC for the week end and/or the thrill of being my navvy in the Troopy on local trips.
FollowupID: 507428

Reply By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 05:30

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 05:30
Pesty,
Geez, it must be an interesting conversation when all you blokes get together around a campfire. LOL.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

AnswerID: 246481

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:17

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:17
Mate......"interesting" ain't the half of it!!!!!! hahaha.

These blokes all love getting together around the campfire with me cos they're all s h i t stirrers of the highest order and (for some unexplained reason), I'm considered an easy target. hahahaha

I don't know why they pick on me all the time; but I'm used to it now so it's like water off a duck's back. If it gives them some pleasure, well, that just makes me feel good!!!! hahaha
FollowupID: 507327

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 18:46

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 18:46
Oh! Roachie, Roachie, Roachie.

Will the torment never end?

Definitely not while you are driving that 'luv machine' of yours.

Sorry I couldn't get on to this quicker as something came up that I had to attend to pronto. But I am back on your case now.
FollowupID: 507421

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 18:54

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 18:54
Lucy, Lucy, Lucy..................... you have disappointed me no end. I am devastated by the lack of effort you have put into your response!

I was expecting at least 10 paragraphs of unequivacol diatribe.

You'll be pleased to know that I have just spent the last hour or more laying underneath the said Patrol and cobbling-together various brackets and hose clamp contraptions which will (hopefully) preclude future such occurences of this nature. I will monitor said filtration system VERY closely and carry the necessary spare parts in future.
hahaha
FollowupID: 507422

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:10

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:10
Oh! I haven't finished.

More to come
FollowupID: 507429

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 02:11

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 02:11
Roachie, you have to remember you are the savour of many members on this site. While they are picking on you they are leaving others like your truly alone, so sorry for the wishes but please keep up the good work ;-)
FollowupID: 507503

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:00

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:00
Very true Blaze,

I often say the same thing.......I feel like I'm performing a public service every time I stuff something up, cos it draws attention away from my mates. Only trouble is, I'm finding I've gotta keep coming up with bigger and bigger stuff ups that look more worthy of "comment" than the previous stuff-up. Where will it all end?
FollowupID: 507513

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 11:10

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 11:10
Roachie - it will never ever end for you (LOL)

The forum would indeed be a dull place without your exploits/experiences.

Just keep them rolling and I for one will continue to ROFLMAO.
FollowupID: 507542

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 14:15

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 14:15
Now Now Lucy,
He who lives by the sword usually dies by it (LOL). With a trip to Warraweena just around the corner, I'm not picking on anyone, it's usually that very person that will have to tow you over a hill or out of a creek or something and Karma is a B*t*h.

I am being nice to everyone (except Uncle Des) for a few weeks (actually I'm always nice LOL) just in case I need a Neeeeesan or a Yota to give me a hand at some point, knowing my luck it would be bound to happen.
FollowupID: 507559

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 02:16

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 02:16
Yeah! I Know that happens to he who slings the chit so to speak.

However, I must say that when a tow is called for I'll take what ever is available.

Why, on the very recent OBC in May 07 I had a Nissan Comp truck haul me up onto a levee on the Darling River at viewmont. Persisting down rain, dogs and frogs and like glass. The Troopy was Ok,however the CT was slowly dragging the whole kit and caboodle down the die of the levee.

Was I bothered that it was a Nissan - no sir, any port in a storm.

Then on the cross country cross over to Denian in the middle of the night ( still persisting down with rain, dogs & frogs we came upon a 'ocean of water' and no track (Ozi-EX saved the night) anyway near the far shore of this ocean I dropped into a drain under the 'ocean' of course. The CT held the Troopy's butt down and no amount of 4WD , front and rear lockers would shift the sucker. So it was out and hook up to a comp truck ahead of me and then used him as a winch point to winch the rig out. Toyota that time.

Then further on during this 'fun' trip, my navvy and I were so busy talking that we missed the most delicate of turns that only existed if you saw the peg, as the track was totally washed out and we weren't concentrating on the PDA and OZI-EX. Stuff me if I don't end up on a huge mud flat where that Troopy and CT were doing the last waltz. Someone, dont know who ran a winch rope and hooked up to the rear recovery point on the CT and straightened the rig up so I could drive back out. Nissan that time.

Could not have cared less.

Then when the RTA allowed us to make a dash for Menindee two days later after much more persisting down with rain, frogs & dogs our convoy leader in a Nissan decides to go cross country around the 'black mud badlands'.

Well! the road was ok and the cross country was ok , however the gutter between the two was pure quick sand/chit and that mother of a CT sunk the bum of the Troopy once more.

Yeah! the nissan hauled me out and my brand new Don Kyatt 11,000lb snatch strap is still on the back of that comp truck.

So I went and got a new one from D Kyatt on my return to Melbourne. Didn't want that poxy, stretched muddy one anyway (LOL).

So you see, personally I am neither here nor there on the tow thing , unlike Roachie who I would dearly love to have hooked up behind my JEEP.

Moral of the story - wheeling approx 5t GCM of vehicle and Camper Trailer around in the mud, slush, rain and storms makes you learn real quick and promise god that you won't do it again unless you have to. (LOL)
FollowupID: 507788

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:30

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:30
Oh dear, Oh dear...this isn't good. Now we will have to endure all sorts of flak from rust bucket owners.

Luckily we can blame it on the CHEV engine........LOL

AnswerID: 246505

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:23

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:23
Roachie,
Chit stirrers you can handle. It's the shirt lifters that can be a problem. LOL.
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

FollowupID: 507349

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:37

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 08:37
Okay, here's what happened.

Firstly, let me say, that the problem was not "chev-related".......................... It was definitely "roach-related".......!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

As some of you will know already, I have long been an advocate of the US-made oil filtration system ; "AMSOIL". There are a couple of ways to install this type of system on a vehicle. The one I chose on both the 4.2TD and more-recently the 6.5, was to replace the OE filter with a cast adaptor housing, with 2 hoses leading to/from a remote mounted set-up containing 2 filters, one of which is a large 'bypass filter'. The benefit of this system is that your (fully synthetic) oil can last HEAPS longer than would otherwise be the case.

However, it will only last "HEAPS longer", if actually remains in the engine!!!!! I realise that may sound a bit strange to some people!!!

So, about 5klm south of Pimba on Monday, the oil pressure alarm (which I had installed for just such an eventuation), started to buzz it tytties off in the cab. I immediately answered Annette's question with "NO OIL PRESSURE" as I hastily pulled over off the road and killed the donk (before it killed itself). Upon investigation it turns out the cast adaptor fitting had stuffed it's thread due to metal fatigue/vibration, caused (in my estimation) by a poor fit-up by that bloody useless, free mechanic I keep using. Fair-dinkum, you'd reckon I'd know by now, not to trust that useless POS.....he really should stick to his day job (he's not real flash at THAT either).

Anyway, managed to get 8 litres of some brand-less 15w40 from Spud's at Pimba. I should note at this point that I am indebted to the 2 blokes who picked me up while they were heading north from Adelaide on their way to Roxby Downs ; also to another 2 blokes (also from Roxby Downs) who went out of their way to take me from Spuds back to the "scene". However, the blokes I'm REALLY indebted to are Don and Adrian. They were the driver and co-driver of a shorty 40 comp truck and they were kind enough to pull up and give me a hand to fix the problem and get me mobile again. I reckon I would have got going again without their assistance, but it would have taken an extra couple of hours.

By the time I was finished I looked like an extra from a John Wayne movie about drilling for oil in the wild west. I had stripped off to work on the oil-covered underbody of the trol. By the time I was finished I had oil from hair/head to waste. My arms were just solid black!!!

So there you go.....no need for any more speculation.

There will be an AMSOIL filtration system going on the Trader or ebay in the next few days while I go back to using a Z24 filter..............siigggghhhhhhh
AnswerID: 246507

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:09

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 10:09
Approximately 10 years ago, I had an ever faithful 60series truck that came with an Amsoil filtration system on it. At the time due to my limited financial capacity to spend $100 on oil at each change, I disconnected the system and removed it from the vehicle. Shortly after we were heading North on an excursion and we spent the night camping at Lake Hart rest area. Well the night was freezing cold and in the morning, we packed up and headed off and a couple of k's up the road I noticed I had no oil pressure. A quick check under the bonnet allowed me to see the last spurt of oil dissapearing out onto the ground from a fractured bypass hose that I pressumed happened because of the cold.
Several hours later, Mr Murphy of Pimba arrived with 10 litres of new oil, I had removed the offending pipe and was able to screw a bolt into the sump from where the pipe had originated from and we were on our way again.
I had used some Slick50 engine oil additive and I can't guarantee that it saved the engine but it was running on empty for a short while. I never had any issues with the motor over the next 7 years that I had the vehicle.
The moral of the story Mr Roach, it can happen to anyone.
FollowupID: 507346

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:43

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 22:43
Eh! Roachie.

Cat got your 'tongue' or are you still out there plugging the oil leak.

Also, check your No2 email addy.
FollowupID: 507482

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 07:58

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 07:58
G'day mate,

Thank you for the email and hope everything is coming along ok with the boss.

It sounds like you might have to miss out on Warraweena.......that will be a shame.

I'll respond to email separately..........
FollowupID: 507512

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 11:11

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 11:11

Everything appears ok and we will be at Warraweena to continue your misery.

FollowupID: 507544

Reply By: Garbutt - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:01

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:01
As a wise Lexic once told me, its usually the non-genuine bits that let you down!!
AnswerID: 246512

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:41

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:41
Wow, how cruel can you be. The only genuine bits on Roachie's truck are the panels :-)))))
FollowupID: 507337

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:52

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 09:52
Phil, how can you be sure that the panels are genuine?? LOL
I hear that you caught up with some of our club members at Bendleby. Whatever they told you about me isn't true even if they were being kind.

Mr Ragbutt, I am now worried about you when you make false claims to my perceived wisdom.
FollowupID: 507340

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 11:55

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 11:55
Gee Roachie , I was going that way in early July - do you think DOT will have re-opened the road by then??? could have a parking bay with Pootrol monument by then .
You,re not alone though , had to remove a steering column from a Lexus and drill out the sheer bolts after his key barrel failed in the Davenport Ranges last week .
Cheers John

When I'm roughing it - I like as much comfort as possible
AnswerID: 246547

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:19

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:19
Mate, if you have an accident due to synthetic oil on the road, just let me know, as I know a good litigation lawyer who specialises in shipping spills and this incident wouldn't be any different.

Can see the headlines now - Chevvy/nissan causes road disaster due to 1000 gallon oil spill. Flora & Fauna suffers untold damage that will take next 100,000 yrs to correct.

Authorities seeking any eye witnesses to this fiasco, and the current wherabouts of the aforementioned Chevvy-nissan which was observed decamping the scene after the driver savagely ripped the rego plates off and hand painted Toyota all over it.

FollowupID: 507434

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 14:59

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 14:59
Hmmm... and people say the 3.0TD is unreliable! Let me count the number of times it has let me down... ah, none hahaha

Glad to hear all was OK in the end. And good to see people still stop and help out when we do have an unfortunate "incident".

PS. Not that far away at the moment, over in SA at the Beverly Uranium plant.
AnswerID: 246585

Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:53

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:53
ooooh captain you are tempting the murphy's law gods aren't you.......

FollowupID: 511737

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 18:53

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 18:53
Oh! thank you, Thank You Mr Pesty.

For informing the forum of the 'Kadina Kids' latest on road antics once more.

I think I might get the SAPOL community welfare squad to pay a visit and ensure that 'nette' and the kids are still in one piece.

I reckon if I had pulled up in the Troopy they would have abandoned ship - oops! meant chevvy, in a flash and driven home in Toyota Style.

Warrawenna sure is going to be interesting.

On that note I must go and inform Roachie that the 50/50 deal on the LC hire still stands or for that matter so does the offer of being my 'navvy' in the Troopy.

ROFLMAO

PS

Bet he forgot all about the poxy starter problems of last week.

AnswerID: 246628

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:07

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:07
Ms Lucy,
You constantly amaze me on your ability to sniff out problems eminating from Kadina.
You must show me how you do it so that I can make sure that I don't miss out on such issues as they arise.

I look forward to Waraweena where you can enlighten me on your investigative and all encompassing style in rooting out these threads after they have dissapeared from the front page.
FollowupID: 507427

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:21
Oh! its a gift from god.

I have a Roachie 'crystal ball' that just keeps flashing up incident afyer incident.

Makes my day everytime I see it. (LOL).

I am so looking forward to Warraweena.
FollowupID: 507436

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:50

Wednesday, Jun 13, 2007 at 19:50
I don't believe a word of it. :)
AnswerID: 246641

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:01

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 08:01
Thank you for your blind faith Brew.......I wish I could say I was deserving .....;-))
FollowupID: 507514

Reply By: Member - Debbie R (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:47

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:47
Mr and Mrs Pesty,

You mentioned in your thread that you saw Stuart Desert Pea and other wildflowers on your journey home, could you please give me details of where they were and do you think that they will still be there in about 9 days time. We were in the Gawler Ranges and stayed at Mt Ive back October last year and loved it, after seeing your thread re Roachie's dilema on the week end saying that you saw the flowers we thought we might make a quick run up there next weekend for a look. Thanks in anticipation,

Debbie
AnswerID: 246898

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:32

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:32
Hi Debbie,
We first saw them in the sand bank on the edge of the road about 30 - 40 k towards Kingoonya from Skull Tanks.
Then there were more further down in different spots towards Mt Ive, also in the sand bank next to the road.
Didnt go looking further afield, all that we saw were on the road edge, with hops and several other smaller flowers.
You will be plenty early enough in a week, even longer may be better as they are only just starting to flower and there were plenty of young ones around.
We didnt see many on the bottom end of the Mt Ive track, because it was raining and getting dark.
If you planned to go up as far as 40k the other side of skull tanks, or up the blacktop and across to Kingoonya and down the same route as we took you will see them.
Not sure we should be letting you go up there without us hahahaha

Cheers pesty
FollowupID: 507820

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 18:54

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 18:54
wheres the pictures?
Nette
AnswerID: 247117

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:29

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:29
OK Annette here goes, havent done this before.
Some pic's of the wild flowers we took on monday from Kingoonya down through Mt Ive stn road.
!MPG:3!!MPG:4!!MPG:5!!MPG:6!!MPG:7!
AnswerID: 247124

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:34

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:34
Very nice, thankyou.
Nette
FollowupID: 507936

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:29

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:29
Nice Pesty.

Does anyone know about a variety of desert pea that has a red spot rather than a black one? - these were seen at Hermannsberg when we were there in June.

Hadn't seen this variety before - would love to know if it is something unusual or not.

I've only seen the black ones before.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 511746

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:17

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:17
Great pictures Andrew. Are you going to warraweena?

Cheers Annette
FollowupID: 511793

Follow Up By: Squizzy - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:23

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:23
Andrew,

There is a white variety near Lake Torrens (south end), and a pink variety near Lake Everard (western side near dog fence).

Geoff.
FollowupID: 511794

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:14

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:14
Thanks Annette,

I am hoping I might be able to sneak into Warraweena for a night without being noticed, but my schedule is pretty tight.

If you see me you see me.

and Thanks Geoff - I will have to look out for the white and pink varieties.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 511798