rest needed
Hiya,
Can anyone give us some good info on camping spots up North of
Perth. We are talkin about a max of 5-6 hours drive.
Have children, dog, Awd and want to go somewhere peaceful along the coast be it caravan park or secluded spot, Note: HAVE Awd not 4wd but still reasonably capable, good fishin too if poss.
Am thinkin of goin 3-4 days in middle October 07, whats the weather like temp wise up there please if y'all know.
Cheers people
:-)
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 17:49
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 17:49
On this site you can get the book.
Priceless Campsites & Rest Areas in th Nth of WA by Jan Holland.
I used this book and found it great it has a short description of each site plus things to do etc and even GPS co-ordinates.
I certainly recommend it.
Follow Up By: rest needed - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 17:58
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 17:58
Yeah mate have seen that one, might have to grab it.
Follow Up By: Member - Robyn J (QLD) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:04
Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:04
Both books by Jan Holland were fantastic. Was our bible when doing the tour of WA back in 2005 especially as we are Queenslanders. Even gave people on the road travelling the opposite way than us the book when we changed book areas.
You cant go wrong.
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 17:51
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 17:51
Try
Sandy cape reserve. Just north of
Jurien Bay(15km's) drop
toilets, right on
the beach, good fishing, cheap camping, secluded and dogs are allowed on a leash. You can get in there with a normal car no worries. I towed my 17ft Van in there and its not a offroad version or anything. Very nice spot. Was up there last october and the weather was fine. Nice swimming weather. Try this for look
http://www.dandaragan.wa.gov.au/residents_ratepayers/ranger_services/code/file/at_download
Matt
Follow Up By: rest needed - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 18:00
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 18:00
Mate are you allowed to drive on
the beach there or is it not permitted and does it get busy around that time of year.
Craig
Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 20:16
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 20:16
Yeah you can drive on
the beach there. We had no drama's there in oct last year.
Matt
Follow Up By: rest needed - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:05
Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:05
Cheers Matt
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 09:52
Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 09:52
Sandy Cape is a great spot, but make sure you choose your
campsite as far from the caretaker's
camp as possible. He has a wind generator and it fair dinkum howls while he's charging his batteries.
There are some nice spots amongst the trees to the south of the caretaker's
camp, but you have to get in early...especially if you're going during the school holidays.
Russ.
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:43
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:43
Thanks Russ,
We are thinking of pullin the kids outa school a day or two early and set up before the hordes come in
Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 19:11
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 19:11
Port Gregory, about 500Klms north of
Perth, about 80Klms north of
Geraldton, and same distance south of Kalbarrie.
A place to lay back and chill out - 'cause there's nothing there to do unless you want to do nothing or go fishing or even better go diving.
A place where you can drive on
the beach, the caravan park has recently been sold so I can't guarantee the dog laws presently, but would expect them to be liberal and allow dogs on a leach, go out the 'back paddock' for some
open space.
Gr8
fishing spot from a boat or off
the beach down at the southern end of
the beach in the gutters there.
Is worth a stay even to use as a base to visit the Prince at "Hutt River Province" or a day trip to Kalbarrie.
About 20Klms north of
Geraldton there is Coronation Beach
camping area, pit
toilets and showers, no power but reasonable fishing at the northern river mouth, access by beach & track, I recently bogged the Troopie on
the beach because of all the weed under the sand so be very careful.
Follow Up By: disco driver - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 20:03
Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 20:03
Add to that
Horrocks beach,Caravan Park is great spot to sit and contemplate your navel.Golf and tennis adjacent to Park, safe swimming for kids, Some fishing off the jetty.
Bowes River, just south of Horrocks can turn on some big
mulloway and
tailor if that takes your fancy.
Most tracks were AWD accessible last time I was there but beware the sand over seaweed on the beaches. That stuff will bog anything, you just fall in with no warning.
Wagoe is north of Pt
Gregory and is worth a look if fishing is your thing, not much else to do there and tends to draw a blokey crowd at times.
Disco
Follow Up By: rest needed - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:06
Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:06
Definately sounds like one to consider mate
TA
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 09:20
Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 09:20
Camps Australia 4 is brilliant,,, everywhere we have been so far is gr8, but not done the West yet ,, and when we do it will be the Canning in 2009 along with the associated camping spots going in and out
Cheer
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:44
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:44
Will
check it out mate
Reply By: ozwasp - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 02:32
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 02:32
Hi, Would you like somewhere coastal that has great fishing, spectacular cliffs, nice beaches and awesome gorges??? Try
Kalbarri... It's about an hour north of
Geraldton and is a really nice spot - although can be quite popular... If you do go take the coastal turnoff road from Northhampton on the way up and
check out the coastal
views... The weather will be around 30 degrees by October... Good Luck, Will.
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:45
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:45