Hiding Number Plates

Submitted: Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 20:54
ThreadID: 46667 Views:18027 Replies:31 FollowUps:65
I am wondering if any one has had any experience with a product called Ghost Plates. Its a plastic cover designed to hide part of a number plate when viewed from an angle.

The benefit being that when a speeding or Red Light camera takes a photo of your vehicle part of the number plate cannot be read clearly on the photo.

I am interested in two issues
Do they work?
What are the legal issues in NSW?

For more information check out the link below

www.ghostplates.com/

Reply By: DaLUX - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:06

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:06
Mate ive heard all sorts of out there ways to avoid fines spray on, paint on, even hair spray in my opinion they dont work.

more importantly i recomend doing the right thing and not break the law. your not only endangering yourself your endangering me and my loved ones.

sorry for the lecture

for the record its illegal

safe travels :)
AnswerID: 246862

Follow Up By: DaLUX - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:41

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:41
now i feel stupid for being so polite, i should have just said what i wanted to..
FollowupID: 507709

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:12

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:12
If that's a reflection of the way you drive, I'm glad you don't live near me.
AnswerID: 246866

Reply By: spudseamus - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:17

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:17
What an idiot!!
AnswerID: 246870

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:54

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:54
why is he an idiot?? Or are you just trying to jump on the band wagon?
FollowupID: 507721

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:19

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:19
" I am interested in two issuses " , by rights that should be 3 , that being that the 3rd issue is " I like / wish to break the law / I dont give a fuggly for anyones safety as long as I dont get caught " find me a way out, my name is Paris , I dont deserve this !!! Truly a fwitt.
AnswerID: 246872

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:24

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:24
Any sort of plastic plate cover has been illegal in NSW certainly (and in other states presumably) since about 10 minutes aftr they first introduced cameras in the mid 90's.

Same goes for towbars or spare wheel carriers that obscure the plate. Bike carriers must have a repeater plate attached.

If you tried to cover or obscure the plate in such a way that a camera can't read it then it is a fair bit that a copper in a commodore could not read it either and you would stand a fair chance of being pulled over and handed a fine.

What's wrong with just obeying the law?
AnswerID: 246877

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:32

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:32
Hey Por1

Why not register so we can see who you are.

We don't need law breaking idiots on the road.

You will be one of those d.heads who do doughnuts on the beach and see how far you can drive up a sand dune.

You are on the wrong forum mate.
AnswerID: 246885

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:53

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:53
So you have never ever broken a law?
FollowupID: 507719

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:59

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:59
You mean buying a product to hide / cover number plates.

No.

FollowupID: 507726

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:04

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:04
No, that isnt the question.. How do you know he is intending on breaking the law, or your just assuming this...
FollowupID: 507729

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:12

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:12
"I am interested in two issues
Do they work?
What are the legal issues in NSW? "

Should we ask for a jury to decide ?
FollowupID: 507738

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:29

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:29
So you assumed the worst.
FollowupID: 507746

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:40

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:40
Hell yeah.

How does a person come across a site promoting .....

"The Protector licence plate covers will make your registration plates invisible to photo speed cameras, photo laser cameras and red light cameras. These covers use special light bending technology to make your plates "ghost-out" so that the plate is unreadable to speed cameras, red light cameras and laser speed cameras."

"This specially designed Anti-laser license plate shield works to absorb and diffuse the incoming laser beam from a laser speed gun. The scattering effect significantly shortens the effective distance of the laser gun allowing drivers time to react. The number plate is the most reflective part of a vehicle front and it is used as the aiming point by laser gun operators."

"

EVEN INNOCENT DRIVERS ARE WRONGFULLY CHARGED FOR SPEEDING - RADAR REFLECTIONS

Speed Cameras and Radar Guns are prone to radar reflections off metal objects such as signs, fences, trucks and guard rails. Laser guns are prone to "slippage" a term used for errors caused by unstable movement of the laser measurement device. Thought you were within the limit? You were, but the ticket will say otherwise! Most governments can't resist the urge to earn easy revenue. They want YOUR money and as much as they can get.

These speed devices are irregularly serviced and prone to calibration faults not to mention site setup selection mistakes and operator errors. Unless you are as rich as Bill Gates, your chances of proving yourself innoscent are zero.

Don't cry foul when you get your next $300.00 speeding fine for 68km/h in 60 zone. Remember I told you so!

See Our Product Selector for Assistance

Read some of the information and testimonials.

"I live in Victoria and recently bought some Ghost Plates from you. I thought you might like some feedback on them. The covers have saved me 7 out of 9 times over the last 6 months. There bloody excellent. I've sent a few of my mates to your site to buy them also. They ride bikes and get pinged fairly often. Not any more :-)"

Come on Truckster.....

Next thing you will be racing trains.....

FollowupID: 507750

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:44

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:44
Truckster and Train

Now that is two words you don't need in one sentence...

FollowupID: 507753

Follow Up By: John R (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:00

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:00
DID SOMEBODY SAY DOUGHNUTS????? MMMMmmmmmmm.

Those plate covers which obscure at an angle do work (a couple of acquaintances have them on their bikes), but it's EXTREMELY obvious to anyone following (including the Fuzz) that you are using one. Just move off centre and the plate turns a hazy white.

The spray on solutions don't work. Sort of like them catalyst thingies :-)

I'm not going to lecture, suffice to say I wouldn't consider using any of these devices myself ....
FollowupID: 507790

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:51

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:51
Is breaking the law only an issue when it comes down to road rules or do other laws count too?
1) He did ask if it was against the law ( I presume he wouldn't even consider it if it was!)
2) Isn't making a false public statement about someone against the law? What I mean is...Has he really got a bleep growing out of his head? and Are you absolutely sure beyond all reasonable doubt that he drives up sand hills and does do nuts on the beach.
3) Think back to tax time Derek....you didn't try and claim something you weren't completely entitled to or forget about that battery you sold to your mate and didn't declare???
Careful now mate. anything you say can and will be used against you in a court of do-gooders. But luckily you do have the right to remain silent and not be banished to the fiery bits of hell with all us other non-members.
FollowupID: 507822

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:49

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:49
Listen to all these self-righteous wankers that have never broken the law themselves giving you shizzle cause you didnt ask what tires/fridge/suspension/gps/laptop to use.

Unbelieveable. well not really unbelieveable round here anymore.

Does it work - NFI buy and try.
Legal issues, depends if you get caught :) if it saves you 2-3 speeding fines when you sneeze or fart and go over by a deadly 4kph its worth it in my opinion.
AnswerID: 246899

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:04

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:04
Good For You....
FollowupID: 507728

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:11

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:11
damn right good for me.
FollowupID: 507737

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:13

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:13
;-)
FollowupID: 507739

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:06

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:06
Truckster bring it on to the home front , how are you going to call it / react when / if your young fella gets knocked over by a vehicle "just doing a couple of k over " the speed limit and to top it off the vehicle ID, the number plate is illegible , "damn right good for me" , no recourse , can just about hear the screams from 2000k away.
FollowupID: 507892

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:43

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:43
Sorry, I'm with Truckster on this one.

I would feel like the world had colapsed on top of me if one of my kids got hit by a vehicle. Weather that car was doing 60kph or 64kph when it hit them woulnd't make much difference to me.
FollowupID: 507939

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:17

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:17
jeffwa ,you can be with Truckster all you like , point is not 60 or 64 , if it ever happened the tune would change to "some ef%^&$# plick" was speeding and hit MY child and to top it off his number plate was unable to be read not because of the speed but because he has gone out of his way to break the law , its not a matter of being an angel that has never broken the law aka: speed ect , it is about INTENTIONALY breaking the law / road rules , its pretty simple realy , if you don't speed you have a 99% less chance of an "accident" and that is a term that should not even be used when it involves a vehicle or contributing extra to the government coffers thru a fine.
FollowupID: 507953

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:36

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:36
I think you missed the point. I would be saying " "some ef%^&$# plick" and hit MY child" regardless. If they were dead or seriously injured, it would not make any difference. Just like the 4kms wouldn't. It would have been the lack of attention, skill, witts and bad luck that caused it, not 4kph.
FollowupID: 507959

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:38

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:38
I also like the way that you insinuate that because someone has put somthing in place to protect them from the governments profitering that they would automatically speed off after accidently hitting a child on the street.... That really is more to do with the persons demenor or morals and is not related to the topic on hand at all.
FollowupID: 507962

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:56

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:56
jeffwa , sorry but in my book and in the road rules / laws there is no such thing as "bad luck" , and as for the persons demenor / morals , the only reason why any person would need /require a device to obscure their number plate is ?????? to not be caught breaking the rules / law , end of story. You and others have the right to call it proffitering / revenue raising /whatever , thing is it is the law , and quite simply if we obey the law we dont contribute to that "revenue raising"
FollowupID: 507966

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:58

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:58
Axel... One day you'll learn....

When you get a speeding ticket because you were doing 4k's over the limit while sneezing going down hill through a speed change.
FollowupID: 507967

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:19

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:19
jeffwa , there is nothing to learn , the post question was about an item specificly designed to break the road laws , nothing more nothing less , if you think that it is alright to do so [ break the law ] so be it , but as in my 1st reply to Truckster , the scream of despair will be heard for miles and then the attitude of its "only 4k over " WILL change , never mind the sneeze , any bleep ant excuse will do till then.
FollowupID: 507969

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:26

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:26
More assumptions. Just because he wants to fit this accessory to his vehicle does not mean that he wants to nor intends to break the law.

If you seriously think that you have never accidently gone over any speed limit anywhere unintentionally then you are kidding yourself. Just because you have sped before Alex, does not mean that you went out there to do it on purpose or that it made any difference to anyones saftey at that time.

If he was hell bent on breaking the law, do you think he would have bothered to come on here and ask if they were legal?? Why would he bother?
FollowupID: 507972

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:37

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:37
For crying out loud , jeffwa , read the damn post ,go to the site that pertains to the plate cover , they have 1 purpose and 1 purpose only ,and that is to INTENTIONALLY break the law , nothing else , no creeping over the limit going down a hill ,no nothing except to get away with speeding , and the Question was "do they work " , enough already !!
FollowupID: 507975

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:45

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:45
I'm sorry but I have not read from the person who started the thread that he was planning on intentionally speeding, and I believe it to be very arrogant of you to assume his intentions.

I have thought about those things before myself, but have not proceeded as they are illegal. I do not intentionally speed, but I have been booked for speeding. When you spend as much time on the road as I do with these rediculous hidden speed cameras in areas that are planned to catch you and provide the state government with as bigger winfall as possible, it is not a matter of if you get a fine, it's when.

I don't give a crap what the manufactuer intended an accessories use to be, it's wheather or not it will perform the task I need it to do.

You are also assuming with your arrogance that I have not read the post, when I have.

FollowupID: 507977

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:00

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:00
Excuse my obvious ignorance jeffwa , but I was allways under the impression that if I wanted to buy an item designed to break the law that that was my intended purpose , because what the truck would I want it for otherwise , by the way could you please tell me if it is against the law to buy the 3 kiloton nuke for sale on ebay , not that I want to use it for anything illegal mind you , just thought it might come in handy to get rid of the odd red light camera because they are only revenue raisers ,
FollowupID: 507981

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:42

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:42
Well, I think you’ve finally convinced me.

Just imagine a world where nobody speeds, not even by 1km per hour.

Insurance companies would go broke, there’d be no claims ever again.
My two year old could freely ride her tricycle in the middle of the street and be perfectly safe, as no one would be speeding.

Wow. It’s so simple.
FollowupID: 507996

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:51

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:51
Mate, all 'passions aside' but you will find it is not only illegal in NSW but throughout all of Australia and many other countries. Anything that obscures or makes it difficult or impossible to read (that includes read off a digital image) is considered unacceptable/illegal. Think you'll find many on the forum are upset that you might be thinking of using such device/compound to break the law and avoid detection. Not something most would condone. If in doubt, check with your local Police, let them check your vehicle at the same time. It's always nice to know that what you are getting around in is roadworthy and legal.
AnswerID: 246901

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:55

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:55
Oh I can just see THAT happening....... "would you like to hear my Stereo while you check my car over officer?"

Lol
FollowupID: 507723

Reply By: Hairy - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:59

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 21:59
Damn, I always thought I was a fairly reasonable sort of person...Apparently not!!!
It was only last weekend I was trying to see how far I could get up a sand hill and a couple of weeks before that I did a donut!!!!
How ashamed i am coughbulshiiit!!!!

As for the plastic and sprays...Yeh I think there are illegal if you get caught and try Live to Ride magazine if you want to try it.
AnswerID: 246904

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:55

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:55
Nice....

FollowupID: 507764

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:19

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:19
True!
Go to ThreadID: 46607
You might even get my number!
And I did make it over if your interested....It took about 18 years of environmental damage though, as I'm sure you can see by the devastation of the country side.
FollowupID: 507841

Reply By: Off-track - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:03

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:03
I hope no-one here has ever;

a. owned a radar detector
b. let their towbar obscure their plate
c. flashed their lights to warn others of police
d. used a UHF to warn others of police

Bloody hell, give the bloke a break! This is a forum to openly ask questions and some of you lot start the name-calling. Do you even know him?

If someone asks a question that you disagree with or is technically (but not grossly)illegal how about showing some maturity and address your concerns in that manner.

Geez!
AnswerID: 246907

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:08

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:08
Steady on, their walking frames will crack if you expect them to give people a break LMAO!!!
FollowupID: 507734

Follow Up By: wazzaaaa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:22

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:22
The bloke is fine, Truckster is out of line, if he had lost some one close to him through road carnage for a couple of k over he wouldn't respond as he has. A couple of k over is all it took for death in my experence.
Wazzaaaa
FollowupID: 507929

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:59

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 21:59
think of it this way, instead of "a couple" over, if that car was doing 20k's over, he would have passed that situation you "experienced" before it happened..

you never ever sped in your life wazzaaaaaa?? Faeces, or hypocrite?
FollowupID: 507979

Reply By: Member - Paul H (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:05

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:05
I'm hearing what you're saying Truckster. Whilst I don't condone breaking the law, I'd be suprised if there's anyone on here that can claim not do have done it intentionally (speed, not stop at a stop sign...etc).
Lets not get on our high horses unless you can ensure you are squeaky clean!!!
AnswerID: 246908

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:11

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:11
high horses?? these people are on the Space Station when they feel they are in submarines.
FollowupID: 507736

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:20

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:20
I've been caught speeding, pinged for not indicating, warned about no seat belt.

But I've never been a coward and hide.

Will you cover your face when you have you photo taken by the police, after being arrested, or cover your face when the media take a photo, after you kill some one, when you accidentally run a red light because you were accidentally speeding.

So take your car down the drag strip and do it legally, were the worst thing that can happen when you jump a red light is you get disqualified, the best thing when you speed is you get a trophy.

Steve.
AnswerID: 246913

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:13

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:13
Urrr...whats that got do do with the product in question.
I must have missed the bit where he said....Will this stop the cops busting us while running our illegal drags past the local pre-scholl at 3.00pm?????
And COWARD...come on thats geting a bit harsh sint it?
FollowupID: 507838

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 13:46

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 13:46
My point was if you want to speed there is a time and a place, you don't need to cover your # plate to do it.

If you want to break the law and hide from it or not face it, Yes you are a coward.

Steve.
FollowupID: 508069

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:25

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:25
Well, I see in a quick read of the thread that all the answers in favor of illegal practices are from non members. People who don't pay for membership or advertising.........

AnswerID: 246915

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:28

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:28
Yes, only members are law abiding citizens of australia..

Happy not to pay for membership...
FollowupID: 507745

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:34

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:34
Gday Saint Dereck,
If I become a member will all my sins be washed away?
Or have I already been banished to a eternity in the firery pit?
FollowupID: 507821

Follow Up By: Por1 - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:56

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:56
I may be a non member however I have made purchases from advertisers of this site hence support them and their products.
So get get your bloody high horse about being better just because you choose to be a member.
FollowupID: 507823

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:19

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:19
I'm not a member and take offence to that comment, no way will i join here again (used to be a member) the benifits are not worth $50 i can get everything on here on other forums for nothing so why would you bother.

Bloody twirp, assuming non members are more likely to commit illegal acts.

Oh yeah and if Por 1 wants to waste his money and try these products then it's a free country of sorts.

Happy being a visitor, Baz.
FollowupID: 507830

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:05

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:05
Lots of twirps on here these days Baz, the place has grown too big. I let my membership go also, just wasn't the enjoyment for me like there used to be.

Proud being visitor, Ray

FollowupID: 507948

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:01

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:01
Me too Ray.. I let mine lapse.. :P

hows the lux?
FollowupID: 507982

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:44

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 22:44
Nah you're a legend Bruce, longest serving non member, haha, gotta be some credit in that :)

Coming up to 3 years I've had the lux now and it's proven to be very reliable and tough. I know it had a hard life before I got my hands on it but all I've had to do is replace the radiator. I'd like something with a bit more power and some extra comfort to take the family camping but I'm relucant to part with it so I'll just go slow and leave the kids at home :)
FollowupID: 507998

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 18:57

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 18:57
Hmmm, Sorry Derek but I'm gonna blow your theory out the window !
I'm 100% with Truckster, Hairy and Jefwa (sorry if misspelt mate)
I can also think of 2 other 'members' off the top of my head that think along the same lines as me and drive/ride according to common sense, not stupid, brainwashing road rules, most, not all, of which have been designed specifically to lighten our pockets and have stuff all to do with "safety".

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 508120

Reply By: HGMonaro - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:26

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:26
just drive down a dusty road and then never wash your car again!
AnswerID: 246916

Follow Up By: Off-track - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:42

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:42
ooh, careful there! Some "Members" will have you sent to hell for that one...
FollowupID: 507751

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:42

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:42
c&d are not against the law, mates a copper.
FollowupID: 507752

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 08:21

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 08:21
I got pulled up for that once.

I was towing my jayco back from the vic high country and was pulled up by the cops running some sort of check point.

They went right over the van and car looking for anything to get me for.

They picked me up for not displaying a rego sticker on the van - it had fallen off and I showed them the broken plastic stub where it had been. They also pinged me for an obscured rear number plate on the Paj - it had mud on it.

What!!!? It was obscured far more effectively by the van!

Those bokes had no sense of humour.

Pete
FollowupID: 507806

Reply By: Angler - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:51

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:51
Speeding fines are the communities way of slowing you down.

Death is natures way.

AnswerID: 246923

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:54

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 22:54
I agree, as long as the law breakers don't take innocent children and families with them.
FollowupID: 507762

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:14

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:14
That's funny coming from someone who thinks nothing of sitting on 140kph in a fully loaded 4WD towing a van/camper.

A bit hypercritical don't you think??
FollowupID: 507839

Reply By: AndrewX - Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 23:56

Thursday, Jun 14, 2007 at 23:56
Well done Por1 - one post and in they all came!
AnswerID: 246936

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 01:17

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 01:17
What a great post ya por? (bugga)
I will admit I speed and I have gone past speed cameras speeding........ But I have not had a speeding fine for almost 20 years... (Now you are going to Jinx me for posting this). My plates are straight from the motor registry and have never been fowled by any substance....... I try my hardest to keep within the law and am not happy to give the government my hard earned cash for something trivial.......
Mate if you can find a better way then go for it.................. but please do not KILL ANYBODY.............. If you do happen to Kill somebody then SUCK SH TTT.
May your bottom burps be silent every time.........
AnswerID: 246943

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:07

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:07
BUSTED!!!!
Is that a sandhill??????
Look at the photo.....mmmm
Careful now youll have your memberswhip taken away.
FollowupID: 507814

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:28

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:28
" target="EOF" class="lbg">www.wor.org/
AnswerID: 246962

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:30

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 07:30
Ignore the above, it's broken

www.wor.org
FollowupID: 507795

Reply By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:28

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:28
Wow..there must be some saints out there!

Presuming the best instead of the worst in someone.....
Is it really so bad to try and avoid haveing to pay a fine for accidently creeping over the speed limit by a couple of km's. I mean if it was accidental because....say there were kids running around and you were carefully watching them and didnt have your eyes glued to your speedo for a second or watching traffic instead of your speedo.....is being made to pay a fine going to make any difference....I hope not.
If this is a problem,.... if a policeman gives you a warning about a minor trafic infrigement, would it be wrong to take the warning, shouldnt you argue the point and insist on a fine to teach you a well deserved lesson. (I hope your reading this Willem.....remember the trailer light? LOL)

AnswerID: 246999

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:29

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:29
Por1,

Apparently the product has limited effectiveness but I wouldn't expect too much of it.

I can't speak for NSW but in QLD it is illegal to make any change like you are talking of to a number plate.

Parts of the UK use a device within their radar systems that can also pick up if light reflections off number plates is being altered at all. The minute they detect this you get stopped and a ticket. In fact they can also run this system from helicopters nowadays and can scan several vehicles per minute.

IMO not worth the effort. My view is that the plates should not be touched and while on the road you should do the right thing. If you can't do that well then suffer the consequences.

To all thopse people who post here asking questions of people if they have ever done the wrong thing that is just a crock to try and justify what you seem to think is OK. Links to self righteous sites also demonstrate the lack of intelligence of the poster.

I worked for 23 years as a paramedic and have been to jobs where you physically vomit at what you see and I will never forget those sights. A hell of a lot of those jobs have been caused by the person who is only a couple of K's over the limit or just having a quick chat on the phone. I saw a kid whose shoes were blown about 30 metres from where he was killed by a 35 year old driver going at approx 70kph through a school zone. Drive around anywhere and you still see people talking on phones while driving.

I can't understand why people can't at least try and do the right thing. No-one is saying you have to be an angel but an effort has to be made.

In the meantime I reckon if you don't do the right thing and get caught then that is just your bad luck.
AnswerID: 247000

Follow Up By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:36

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:36
I dont know what your speed limits are but 70km through a school zone is hardly a couple of kms over where I come from.
FollowupID: 507846

Follow Up By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 12:47

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 12:47
Hairy,

I would suggest anything over the limit in a school zone is a problem which is why there are limits. I agree 70 was quick.
FollowupID: 507861

Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:33

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:33
Gee, how everyone gets on the goody two shoes bandwagon !!!!!!!!!!!!

Who said that speeding was unsafe ?????????????

Just because there is a speed limit, it doesn't mean its unsafe to go above it !! Only unlawful !!
It means you may get fined for doing it and yes, there must be an enforcable limit in everything we do in life to keep in check the people who stray too far out of the norm !!
Drive to the conditions, and if you feel you can't keep near the speed limit ( especially towing ) reconsider if you should be driving or just get out of the way and let others thru......

You can't tell me that at 11 o'clock at night ( deserted road ) its unsafe to go past a speed camera at 10K's over the limit ???

I find it more unsafe to be following someone towing an 18 foot van who looks like they would struggle to control a shopping trolley !!!!!

How many people are there on the road that don't know the meaning let alone know how to apply the terms opposite lock, understeer, oversteer ?????

Are YOU one of them ?????????
AnswerID: 247001

Reply By: Por1 - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:59

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 09:59
Well my questions have certainly stirred a few people up.

I assume all those people who are concerned about my motives have never found themselves at the bottom of a hill a couple of KMs over the posted speed limit.

I drive about 500km a week in Sydney for my job and am simply looking for a means of protecting myself from a system that involves me having to spend more time watching for speed camera signs and watching my Speedo than actually watching the road and driving to the conditions and traffic.

I always try and remain at or near the speed limit unless conditions mean it is not safe to drive at the speed limit i.e. sometimes the posted limit is too bloody fast yet in that situation I will see many vehicles overtaking me and the current system does not catch them.

To those people who gave me constructive feedback and answered my question which is what I thought this forum is all about thank you very much, for those of you who decided to lecture me perhaps you should take up a job that lets you do this for a living.
AnswerID: 247007

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:30

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:30
All i can add to that is, god help you if you had mentioned you drove a Land Rover.

Most people on here are helpfull as long as you drive the 4WD they drive, use the fridge they use, have the same tyres they have, have the same camper/caravan/tent they have and so on and so on, oh and be a member;-))

FollowupID: 507831

Follow Up By: warthog - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:46

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:46
I have been posting and reading on this site for 3 or 4 years. This is one thread that has exposed some members for the self righteous, preaching, herded sheep that they are. Great to see there are still some people who can see through the propaganda and judge speed cameras for the revenue raising tool they are.
I have nothing against fining people for travelling at an unsafe inappropriate speed. Look at the placement of these revenue raising tools. Are they doing that.
Well said Hairy and Truckster.
FollowupID: 507848

Reply By: DaveO*ST-R - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:30

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 10:30
Enough said about the do's and don't's and why etc. Only you will decide if you are prepared to take the risk. Not sure about NSW, but in Victoria, if you get sprung by using one of these things, don't just expect a ticket and 3 demerit points for an obscured rego plate, you'll probably cop a visit to your local court with a bluey for possessing an "anti speed measuring device".

I'd back it in, you fit one of these and you'd be lucky to last a month before the cops nabbed you. These sorts of things stand out like dogs' $%^&. !!!

Bottom line is, if you do it and get snipped, you'll have nothing to whinge about !!!
AnswerID: 247014

Reply By: Wizard1 - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:35

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 11:35
From memory there would be an offence assiocated with "obstructing police" not unlike the charge for flashing your headlights for speed traps...

every village has their idiot...
AnswerID: 247020

Reply By: Patrol22 - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 12:27

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 12:27
Aaaahhhhh to be sure that was a debate worth having....NOT. This product is like a lot of stuff you can buy on the open market....eg you can by a fancy glass bong but it is illegal to use it for its intended purpose...but again only if you get caught.
AnswerID: 247033

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 13:07

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 13:07
Holy jeeepers ...that only took 20 min to read
AnswerID: 247037

Follow Up By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:59

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 17:59
Lucky you're a speed reader. ;-))))
FollowupID: 507905

Reply By: Stu-k - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 18:15

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 18:15
Your best bet is Lcd number plate covers that they make and when you cut the power to it the cover goes black. There is also the Fast Tags set up that a lot of bike riders use and is great for trayback utes. Its a simple setup that puts your number plate on a spring and flicks up at the push of a button.

Speed safely
Stu
AnswerID: 247103

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:26

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:26
True words of wisdom ,"speed safely" , trouble is the only way to speed with even a fraction of safety is on a race track ,and you don't need to hide your number plate then , speed = safety ???? yeah right , tell that to those who have died , even the best of the best lose it because of speed , aka: Mr Peter {perfect} Brock go for it Stu-k , be assured that at least 2 people will be at your funeral ,only because they get paid to be there.
FollowupID: 507930

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:44

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:44
www.safespeed.org.uk/
FollowupID: 507941

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:53

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 19:53
So you think because you never go over the government set speed limit you cant get hurt? Do you really think a 100kph head on you will walk away fine but if you were doing 105kph you would have died? How about the people that have died from other things on our roads while the police focus on speeding by 5ks an hour?

For instance the young female drivers that have died in my area lately, one was send a sms and drove head on into my mates tip truck...dead instantly but I am sure she wasn't speeding. The other backed out of a driveway in front of a garbage truck and he wasn't speeding either.

Its a shocking waste of life but at least the police have speed cameras there daily now to make it look like they are doing something.

I think people need to drive to suit the conditions and should be forced to take defencive driving courses to even get a licence.

As for brock road RACING is dangerous and is nothing at all like speeding.
If you a brainwashed boring old fart that's up to you, I was simply replying to someones question and I was really hoping to see you at my funeral...oh that's right I will be dead anyways so don't worry bout it!

Stu
FollowupID: 507943

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:15

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:15
That's true Stu I saw it on tele. around town up to 60 nothing can happen, impossible to hit anyone if I keep below the limit.
FollowupID: 507952

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:32

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:32
`STU pid , just so you know , I've buried and cremated more than 10,000 bodies ,the saddest are little effwitts like yourself who think they are invincible, one day you may learn , their is no such thing as "speed safely" , but you can be assured that there will be at least 2 people [undertakers] at your funeral who realy don't give a rats about YOU because you were STUpid
FollowupID: 507956

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:52

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:52
LOL people said you weren't funny, your a joke.
I think Its great you get to burn people all day to, you must be so highly qualified for that job.
There is no such thing as safe transportation.... see you in hell!

Hugs and kisses
Stu
FollowupID: 507964

Follow Up By: Gronk - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 23:33

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 23:33
Why do some of you people think that by sticking to the speed limit you are driving safely ???????

And if you go over the limit by 10K's you are driving unsafe ????

Get real..........most speed limits are determined by some "expert" driving around the countryside who "thinks" that that would be an appropriate speed for that area !!!!

By the sound of it, some of you shouldn't be going over 60K's an hour !!!!!

In Germany, you can travel on a freeway at 250kph, but in Australia its unsafe at 120 ?????? Maybe some of you should learn how to drive properly..eh!!!!!!
FollowupID: 508010

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:12

Friday, Jun 15, 2007 at 20:12
Take your plates off altogether. If you're unlucky enough to get pulled up just play dumb and say they must have been stolen. Chances are you'll travel for years before a copper notices.
AnswerID: 247135

Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:55

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 11:55
We've recently had the speed limit on a stretch of road raised. It used to be 60 and know it is 70. The bit that confuses me is nothing on that stretch of road has changed except for the signs so why was 65 dangerous and irresponsible last week but completely safe this week??????
Does that mean the sign is what makes a speed safe? If so what if the sign just said " dont' have an accident", we wouldnt even need speed limits and everyone would be safe and happy!
AnswerID: 247213

Follow Up By: Gronk - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 12:58

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 12:58
Last week you would have been put down for driving like a lunatic at 68 in a 60 zone and this week someone bips their horn at you for doing 63 ??

All the do gooders don't know themselves when they are driving safe or not..........they look at the signs and PRESUME they are a safe driver because they are under the limit !!!!!!

Did you know that some countries book people for going too slow !!!!!! Bring it out here as well
FollowupID: 508063

Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 14:57

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 14:57
I hope you people realise how difficult it was from me to refrain from joining in on this debate..... Oh it brings back memories of the great debates we used to have about those "fuel catylists", those were the days....Anyway I consulted my old mate Horace Rumpole on the legality of this and basically it's bad news, both ways... the obscuring of numberplates in any manner whatsoever is illegal (Australia wide even Tasmainia) and it is ILLEGAL not to report someone, person or person's unknown who are breaking the law. So potentially if you see someone with these things on their car and fail to report it you can be done. of course you won't be able to give the rego number if they are "working". Ignorance is no excuse either we all have to be clarevoyant and be able to see what is going on and know all that everyone is doing or could reasonably be expected to know what everyone is doing or we can be fined, says so in Statute Law.
Of course I have a solution, read the forum & drive with your eyes closed so that you don't see what is going on and know all that everyone is doing or could reasonably be expected to know what everyone is doing....
I'm going to find a Bex, have a cuppa and a liedown.....
AnswerID: 247234

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 15:16

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 15:16
I have never seen anything illegal

Speed Safely
Stu
FollowupID: 508089

Reply By: lbudgie - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 03:23

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 03:23
he's a witch, he's a witch. quick , grab him and tie him to a stake and we will burn him...
AnswerID: 247358