Charging 3rd Battery in Camper/Caravan

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 22:10
ThreadID: 46752 Views:6109 Replies:11 FollowUps:18
I'm wiring up a third battery in a caravan to charge thru an Anderson plug from the vehicle. My question is: should the third battery be wired to the Starter or Auxiliary battery?

My Camper Trailer manufacturer says the Starter battery. Diagrams on this website show it wired to the Aux battery.

I am using a TJM IBS dual battery management system.

If it's connected to the Starter and the management system won't let charge go to the Aux until the Starter (and the 3rd battery) are fully charged I may see the situation where the Aux battery might not receive sufficient charge.

Thanks in advance everyone.

Reply By: PatNav - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 22:19

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 22:19
Hi gone bush
If you just want to charge it while driving run it from your starter battery just run it through a relay set up so it only charges when the cars motor is running its the easiest and cheapest way my has been good for yrs an still going if not sure i will give you a bref instructions too
pat
AnswerID: 247317

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 22:49

Saturday, Jun 16, 2007 at 22:49
Hi Gone Bush

Have a read here...

Caravan Charging

It should give you the answers you need.

If you already have an isolator use the auxiliary side of it via a 50A breaker.

Derek.
AnswerID: 247334

Reply By: drivesafe - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 08:16

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 08:16
Hi Gone Bush, your dual battery system works by sensing the voltage at the cranking battery.

While the motor is off, the DBS is sensing the battery’s voltage but once the motor is running and no matter how low the cranking battery is, the highest voltage is now going to be the voltage provided by the alternator.

So, usually only a few seconds after the vehicle is started, the voltage at the battery is going to be above the DBS’s cut-in ( turn on ) voltage level.

Some DBS units have a designed cut-in delay that allows the main or cranking battery to get the first initial few seconds of power, this delay is usually no more than about 60 seconds.

The answer to your question is, at no more than 1 minute after you start your vehicle, your auxiliary battery will be getting a charge.

A WORD OF WARNING, I would not take ANY notice of the info supplied in the link above. Like most of Derek’s electrical info, it’s based more on Scotch Mist than anything to do with reality.

In most cases, I just ignore his postings but the problemwith this one is that if you were to take any notice of these diagrams and set up your dual battery system based on his dangerous info, you will probably end up burning your vehicle and / or caravan or camper trailer to the ground.

For a starter, no cable is sold ( by reputable sellers ) based on the current marked on the cable. This current marking has ZERO to do with the way the cable will be used.

The current rating of cable is the maximum current the cable can carry before the insulation starts to melt.

Next, Derek's info states you need a fuse or circuit breaker of between 60 and 100 amps, there is no way you need a circuit breaker bigger than 50 amps.

Automotive circuit breaker and fuses are specifically designed to tolerate about 50% more current than their marked rate for about 1 hour before tripping.

So if you take Derek’s advice and fit a 100 amp circuit breaker to HIS 100 amp cable and you get an overload, say caused by a faulty battery, the cable could have 150 amps passing through it for an hour before the circuit breaker tripped.

Forget the hour, after just a few minutes at that current, the cable would most likely have caught fire.

You need to know how to safely and correctly set up a dual battery system before you give advice to others. These diagrams are neither safe or correct.

The size of the cabling is totally inadequate to be able to charge your batteries in the back of you vehicle, let alone in a caravan or camper trailer.

I’m no fan of Collyn Rivers and many of you know why, but at least he does know what he posts about, not so with Derek. He’ll end up killing someone.
AnswerID: 247371

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:24

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 19:24
Mate,,,,i'm gunna bite.
Who are you, besides some nameless computer user?
If you are so supierior to Derek and Collyn, then the least you could do is put your name and qualifications at the bottom of your post.
I have dealt with Derek as a customer and have nothing but praise for his assistance in a number of different electrical matters when it comes to my Patrol.
Collyn left this site along time ago because of idiots who constantly badgered every post that he replied to.
Their is no need for personal attacks such as what you have just posted above at all.
Either make a man out of yourself and state who you are and what your quaifications are whilst refraining from personal and unjustified attacks,or bugger of.

rick.
p.s. after what you wrote,you don't deserve the meow.
FollowupID: 508328

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:43

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:43
So Doggy, what your saying is, that because you have had dealings with him, it’s OK for him to post instruction that could very well kill some poor sole who, like you, thinks that Derek actually knows what he is talking about.

I don’t think so.

Next, Collyn Rivers DID NOT leave this site because he was continually badgered by idiots or otherwise, Collyn Rivers left this site because because he post blatant lies about the operators of this site and one of the moderator posted a response in which he called Rivers a liar and pointed out why Rivers deserved to be called a liar.

That’s why Collyn Rivers left this site, because even the moderators finally woke up to what sort of a liar he is.

If you wish to support some one else, thats fine but at least stick to the facts.

FollowupID: 508355

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:32

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:32
Doggy, you have posted-> "I have dealt with Derek as a customer and have nothing but praise for his assistance in a number of different electrical matters when it comes to my Patrol"
that statement indicates to me, that you realy don't know a lot about 12 volt electronics, so may I politely suggest you not condemn people who don't put their name and 'qualifications' at the bottom of their posts.

I respect the right of people who I happen to know are actually very "QUALIFIED" to give correct advice, the simple fact that they don't put their name and qualifications at the bottom of their posts has absolutely nothing to do with the accuracy of their or any persons posts, yes you can include mine also.

I am not suggesting anyone is unqualified - just that those who are actually realy very qualified should NOT have to put their qualifications on forum posts because their answers are above all things, logical and technically correct, often too technical for some, but that's a different situation, lol.

Most often the incorrect posts are 'corrected' by these qualified people so the relevant technically correct information is available in the thread.

God I pray this does not start a 12v shet fight about 'qualifications'☺

Maiçeү ...
FollowupID: 508821

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:49

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:49
I'm not going to get into an argument here but simply answer your question based on my own knowledge and experience and the advice coincides with the schematics of Derek's diagrams.

If you have a dual battery system, any connection to accessories or additional battery circuits should be connected to the Auxiliary Battery terminals.

This gives the best protection to the primary battery and its sole use (in a dual battery system) of starting the vehicle and keeping it running.
The primary battery is therefore ISOLATED from any other auxiliary electrical circuits and devices. That is the reason for a dual battery system in the first place.

You can also replace "dual battery system" with "multiple battery system" by connecting additional "remote" batteries, be they in the back of a vehicle, or camper trailer, etc. but always from the auxiliary battery circuit, including any additional battery charge controller systems.

AnswerID: 247421

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:11

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:11
Hi Gone Bush

Here are the breaker and fuse trip times for the circuits I use and recommend.

The first one is for auto reset breakers and the 2nd one is for our ANL fuses.

All my circuits are tested prior to publication.

A typical short circuit is what you can expect on any inter battery connection and this would trip a breaker in under 1 second. If you use a ANF fuse you can expect a short circuit to trip the fuse in 0.1 seconds.

Quite fast indeed.

Derek.
AnswerID: 247515

Follow Up By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:28

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 20:28
If you can't open the pictures here are the links.

Breaker Trip Graph

Fuse Trip Graph
FollowupID: 508347

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:18

Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 21:18
Your post just shows how little you know, not only about the devices you are talking about but their correct use in automotive circumstances.

For a start you made no mention any specific brand or type of device, you simply started breakers and fuses.

As this site’s electrical discussions are predominantly about automotive electrics then I would imagine the information you were supplying related to automotive devices. If it doesn’t relate to automotive devises then I might suggest that you are on the wrong site.

Again, if you had any real knowledge of any form of electrics, not just automotive electrics, you would know that, unlike most things like cable and such, where big IS better. With safety devices like fuses and circuit breaker, the smaller the device can be and still allow the circuit to function as designed is the correct way to go.

Once more, to show how very little you know about the subject you are making out you are an expert in, even if someone used the grossly under sized cable that you recommend, one could still trip a 500 amp circuit breaker in a dead short situation, the problem, as I explained above, is that there are other situation which can be far more dangerous situations if the whole circuit is not designed correctly in the first place.

I reiterate, the ill informed info you have posted could very easily lead to some poor sole loosing everything, including their life, in a fire.

Your a salesman, you not an electrician or electrical technician or anything else remotely related to the electrical industry, automotive or otherwise, so stick to being a salesman and stop endangering other people’s lives.

FollowupID: 508364

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:40

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 12:40
Drivesafe,

And what exactly is your qualifications??

Your quick to shoot from the hip but you seem unwilling to justify your comments with any qualifications.

Kev

FollowupID: 508457

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:27

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 16:27
Hi Kev, I design and manufacture electronics for automotive use and have done so for over 30 years and as I do not pay for advertising on this site I do not attempt to drum up business in any form, I just like to help others endeavouring to do their own thing BUT I also detest self proclaimed experts who are doing nothing more than trying to drum up business by supplying misleading info, such as the inaccurate info in this thread and as I posted above, I normally don’t care what is posted by these snake oil pedlars but in this case, the info is so wrong that if followed by someone with little knowledge in this field, could easily lead to a fire and possibly even the loss of someone's life.

Whether you think Derek is the ants pants or what, is irrelevant, the fact that his info is grossly incorrect is relevant and it is the responsibility of anyone knowing this info is dangerous, to bring it to everybody’s attention so they DO NOT attempt to follow the inaccurate info and cause themselves some harm.

I am but one poster on these threads and whether people wish to believe what I have posted is up to individual, but at least they have been given a warning about something they may not have been aware of and they can now seek out alternate advice on the subject.

FollowupID: 508498

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:18
I think that any information provided by people should be thoroughly investigated by the person requesting the information. That is the point of the enquiry, To make an informed decision.
I don't understand the problem of not stating the brand or type of device, Derek added that the ones he was referring to were the ones he uses/sells.

Derek from what I have seen/heard provides personal advice for the products he sells, which is what one must take into account when the advice is offered.

I still think that if you thought that Derek's advice was grossly incorrect then there are better ways in which to conduct yourself. i.e take it up with the site owners and not broadcast your apparent contempt of Derek's opinion.

There is always more than one way to skin a cat.

Kev

FollowupID: 508524

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:10

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 19:10
So again Kev, what your saying is, it’s OK for someone, anyone to post information that could lead to innocent people getting killed, make no mistake here, that is exactly what could EASILY happen if someone was to install a system based on Derek’s article, but you think it’s unjust for anyone else to point out the dangers of such an article.

“There is always more than one way to skin a cat”. So true but in the case of safety, there is only one way to warn people of a dangerous situation and THAT'S TO TELL THEM.

Time for a bit of a reality check Kev. No one has to take notice of what I have posted and can take it as being total BS and ignore it. Such is the nature of forums like this. You can choose to ignore a post OR, as posted above, you can consider my post as maybe being a warning and as such, look for some conformation, one way or the other, through an unrelated source.

If most people get nothing more than a slight doubt planted in their mind but decide to look elsewhere for the correct answer, my warning has not been wasted.

FollowupID: 508535

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:15

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:15
Drivesafe,

I'm a bit perplexed that I have stirred up something here.

Nevertheless, your comments seem mainly related to cable size and fuse/breaker rating.

Could you clarify for me please: would you connect the cables leading to the Anderson plug to the Starter or Auxiliary battery?

AnswerID: 247746

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:29

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:29
Hi Gone Bush, as you have posted, you have a Dual Battery Controller fitted so you can either connect to the auxiliary battery side of the controller or at the auxiliary battery itself.

Either way, if you connect this way, your cranking battery will always be protected by the DB Controller plus, while your vehicle and caravan are connected, you will be shearing the load over both batteries and this has a number of advantages such as operating for a longer period before you need to drive and charge the batteries and, this is one most people miss, even whether you draw heaps of both batteries or not, because you have sheared the load, you are going to be charging both batteries at the same time and it will take less driving time to charge both batteries than if you had taken the load off one battery, meaning this battery would much lower and need more driving time to fully recharge.

For a very rough example of what I am saying, say you used 50 amps of power while you were stopped. If you had taken this power of one battery you now need to drive for say 6 hours to fully charge the one battery but if you sheared the load over two batteries then, as your batteries have only given up 25 amps each, you would only need to drive for about 3.5 to 4 hours to fully charge both batteries.

Last but not least, your alternator can easily handle the charging of two or three batteries at the same time.

FollowupID: 508622

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:28

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:28
Hi Gone Bush

Unless you decide to fit a 2nd isolator it is best to use the Aux side of the existing isolator that you have. (Connect to aux battery)

I would still use a 50A Auto reset breaker and at least 8 B&S wire.

Derek.
AnswerID: 247766

Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:34

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:34
Thanks Derek,

I've used some cable from Dick Smith Electronics. Part number W2304 is the black cable and W2302 is the red, on www.dse.com.au.

Hope that's OK I don't really want to undo everything but your opinion is welcome.

FollowupID: 508578

Reply By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:09

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:09
Hi Gone Bush, unfortunately that cable is even thinner the the cable Derek recommends, which is still way to thin to be able to charge a battery in the rear of a vehicle let alone in a caravan or camper trailer.

The very minimum to be able to charge your caravan or camper trailer is 10mm2 but 6B&S would be preferable.

BTW unlike the info in Derek’s article, 6B&S ( 13.5mm2 ) and 16mm2 are actually two totally different sizes of cable, not the same cable size.

Gone Bush, the cable you have WILL charge your batteries BUT if the battery is low, say 25% SoC at the time you start driving, to fully charge the battery you will have to drive for anything from 15 to 20 hours depending on how much power your fridge will draw while your driving, no matter what type of battery you have.

By fitting 6B&S you will lower the drive time, depending on the type of battery, down to between 5 to 8 hours and there is a lot more to it than just drive time verses fully charged batteries.

Derek, why on earth would fit a 50 amp circuit breaker on such a long run of 8B&S cable.

The circuit breaker ( or fuse ) is also supposed to protect the devices connected to the cable not just the cable and it would take a load of 75 amp for an hour before the circuit breaker tripped but more importantly in a perfect cable run with an alternator voltage of 14 volts, you would be down to 12.6 volts at the battery and this voltage drop does not take into account the additional voltage drop that would be imposed on the circuit by other things like the plug between the two vehicle and the caravan or camper trailer, the circuit breakers ( there should be 2 ), the dual battery controller.

In reality, you would be VERY lucky to have 12 volts at the rear battery.

If you were unfortunate to have taken Derek’s suggestion and fitted 8B&S cable, then the absolute maximum size circuit breaker to use is 30 amps other wise you are just wasting your time.
AnswerID: 247809

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 11:33

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 11:33
Guys the info is great but just leave out the attacks, else I will be forced to remove the information that is actually good from all your postings. This has happened before between your guys - give it a rest - DriveSafe please continue to post your thoughts and comments but leave Derek alone - Derek has not had a go at you once in my initial read of the post so have please use some restraint and post your facts as you see them - Derek can post his facts as he sees them and THAT SHOULD BE THAT. I will just simply delete the whole thing if you do not drop it.

Also DriveSafe your facts about Collyn are incorrect so please be very careful posting your opinions as to how our business operates and how users come and go from this site.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 508655

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:13

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:13
David, the information I have supplied is purely based on protecting people for gross incompetence and as you have seen, no one else has challenged what I have posted but if protecting your financial income is more important than protecting your readers, so be it.

This may seem blunt but contrary to what you or Derek may think, Safety First is paramount in any subject here or anywhere else.

BTW, you might try going back through your achieves and checking out the post that was put up about Collyn Rivers making statement about advertising arraignments here on this site and how his comments were not welcomed by this sites moderators.

FollowupID: 508677

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:54

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:54
You are really pushing the line with me now. My issues with you have NOTHING to do with financial income vs safety, what a load of utter rubbish. I know the moderation issues with Collyn (I was in charge of doing it). Do not try to tell me how to run my site - I have not seen any areas of gross incompetence in this thread or others where you and Derek have come to blows. I do not care for you tone with Derek or myself in this mater so take it under advisement that an additional slander towards any user of ExplorOz will ensure I remove your access to the network without further warning.

FollowupID: 508695

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 16:31

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 16:31
David, I won’t continue further as you are right, I have been a “TAD” over the top with my responses ( and this is in no way an apology ) but I do have one question for you David and this is not meant to be a rhetorical question, I’m just interested in a straight forward answer.

If the information posted, although potentially lethal, is not considered incompetent and in my opinion that was putting it politely and I would also suspect by now that some of your readers have checked elsewhere and found that I’m not over stating the dangers of the info being put forward, what would you call it?

If you wish to deny me access then so be it but you can’t, in all honesty, justify the promotion of a potentially lethal article on your site.

FollowupID: 508706

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 12:21

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 12:21
Thanks David, I was hoping you would intervene.

All this sniping actually made me feel hesitant about posting any more questions; I'm sure others may have felt the same.

Asking questions on this Forum and using the information in the response is no different than dealing with my local sparky, home cinema retailer, investment advisor or doctor. I always seek a lot of info before I do something. (Which means I will monitor how my small wiring goes and make a decision on replacing it later on.)

But I would hate to see this Forum degenerate into a slanging match. I have participated in a Forum on Digital Broadcasting and Home Cinema and if you don't agree with the small group of long term members who have taken control of it you are slammed down something shocking.

The Internet is all about getting information. It's up to the individual what they do with it.

Now where are those emails on bleep enlargement.....

AnswerID: 247864

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 16:00

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 16:00
Gone Bush,

Please do not feel like you cannot post here - I will simply remove offenders if this is required - I just need to be alerted to issues so that a course of action can be arranged. It is not your fault at all that this stupidity arose so please do not feel hesitant about posting and if you have or see any issues similar to this then please let us know and we will take action.

FollowupID: 508697

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:27

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:27
Gone Bush,

I have spent 35 years as a Technician/Technical Officer/Engineering Officer working on DC powered equipment. I have the qualifications, but won't list them here, to interpret the information of both Derek and Drivesafe.

Leaving aside personalities, inferences and criticisms, IMHO I would follow the advice given by Drivesafe in the issue of a third battery, and heed his warnings. I have no knowledge of other issues they may have disagreed on in the past, nor do I wish to be embroiled in them.

I have sought and used information from the websites of both of these people.

To me, volt-drop is everything and therefore using the largest cross-sectional area copper cable that is practical has always been my priority. Combining this with the lowest rating fuse or breaker that will not fail under the intended load will give maximum efficiency and protection. In this instance, I would connect to the auxilliary battery or the Aux battery side of the isolator.

No offense intended Derek, just my two-bob's worth.

Russ.
AnswerID: 248048

Reply By: whyallacookie - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:52

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:52
Just a quick thought for all reading this.

Keep in mind manufacturers use the MINIMUM they can get away with in vehicle design. Every cent is calculated in the cost of building. They now each model has a limited lifespan (Think about it this way if they built 200,000 of a model and wasted $1 on each vehicle there costs go up straight away by $200,000) Ever noticed how there is no "play" in wiring looms, linings, carpet etc.... reduces cost over the life of a vehicle.

Now lift your bonnet and have a look at the thickness of cable being used. Notice how thick the high current wiring is? And that is in a very short run (relatively speaking when looking at the topic of running wriing to a caravan/trailer)

Now we all know the longer the cable the higher the resistence and the thicker the cable needs to be to maintain the voltage and not overheat.

Look at your appliances, notice how short the cable is, see what is said about running a welder on an extension cord or your caravan off a standard extension lead this is all common FACT!

And at the risk of facing moderator wroth. Drivesafe has a point, perhaps a little heavy handed but when someone is posting info that someone who might not know better could reasonably use and it pose a serious safety risk then someone SHOULD speak up.

Stuff legal obligations how about moral responsibility? How often do we see pics and posts about vehicle fires? I'd bet that these fires are more often than not caused by non genuine wiring.
AnswerID: 248076

Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:55

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:55
Sorry I also meant to add in relation to stating qualifications that implying qualifications is a lot more dangerous.

By his very signature David implies he is "knowledgeable" in this area when clearly he is not. VERY dangerous indeed.

No doubt others would read his post and take him at face value based on that signature alone.
FollowupID: 508910

Follow Up By: whyallacookie - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:58

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:58
OOOOPPPPPS Sorry David it should read Derek
FollowupID: 508911