Submitted: Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 08:57
HGMonaro
When
camping in central Oz at this time of the year do you get frost on everything?
Cheers, Nige
Reply By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:43
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 09:43
You certainly can, we've seen it so cold in
Alice Springs that it looked like it had snowed with the frost on everything.
Most of the central area of the continent will be getting down to 2 or 3 deg of a night in the middle of winter, definately single digit temps most nights unless you get a warm spell.
We usually dress in layers and peel it off as the sun comes up.
We also tend to
bush camp as you can have a fire which takes the chill off, van parks in atent are very cold
places, when the kids were little we would usually get an onsite van or cabin for that very reason in
places like the Alice. If you have a camper or van a 240v fan heater is the go.
Reply By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:11
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:11
We are heading up to the Simpson in 2 weeks and last night tested our bedding at home with the doors and windows open. Lucky we did as our lilo deflated by 4am with a quick scramble back into our bed. We were warm though but expect
the desert to be somewhat colder than outer
Melbourne was last night. If you look at the weather section on this sight you get an idea. Cheers. Chris.
Follow Up By: Peter 2 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:35
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:35
Toss the lilo, there is no way your body will ever warm the air in it. Either self inflating or foam mattresses in a tent.
We bought 5 good quality Thermarest self inflators 20 years ago for outback trips, they are still as good as new and the kids use them now, we put up with the innerspring in the Shippshape these days ;-))
Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:35
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:35
I agree with peter
Thermarest mattresses are quite pricey ($150ish each) but
well worth the investment. I bought one to use for hiking as they take up minimal space and don't require a pump to inflate. As Peter said, lilos simply allow the cold air to circulate under your body and transfer the cold from the ground. Thermarests are designed for serious mountaineering and are rated to keep you warm at up to -20C!! They may be slightly less comfortable than a lilo but they'll keep you warm.
Big Red
Follow Up By: Tim - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:12
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:12
Or just throw a blanket under your bottom sheet as
well, it stops your body heat escaping out through the bottom of the air matress.
Tim
Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:42
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:42
We do know our stuff. We always put woollen blankets etc between us and the lilo. We like the compact size to carry and it self inflates with its own pump.[when not leaking in the night] Our system is to put a double sleeping bag inside another double sleeping bag. eg 4 large singles2+2 It is very snug.We always take extra woollen travel rugs for sitting around the fire. Looks a bit daggy but feels warm. We had -8 in the Flinders back in the 70s and my dad put a hot rock in a hessian bag and used it in his sleeping bag. He was the only warm one that night. It is a fond memory I keep as he passed away soon after. Only 55yrs old.
Chris.
Reply By: Garbutt - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:22
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:22
This time last year we bush camped about 50 km south of the NT border and the fridge temp was 1 deg inside, minus 7 outside, all our
water inlcuing bottles in out camper trailer were frozen. Brrrrrrr.
GB
Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:30
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:30
Nige
Go to Weather Button of
Forum Page and have a play around there to see average temps Australia wide.
Now at 10am CST in the mid north of SA it is 4 degrees...brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:44
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:44
That'll explain why beanies are a popular fashion item in the centre.
See 'em worn everywhere!
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:55
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 11:55
Na mate thats to keep the nits under control!
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:25
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:25
So...that's the reason I got such funny looks from the locals. I always take a beanie and gloves when going there this time of year. Was -6 there last year.
Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:38
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:38
haha says the bloke who's screen name is "Hairy" ;-)
Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:33
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:33
no self respecting nit would live in his hair. lol
Reply By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:44
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:44
I've had ice on my windscreen in the Simpson, followed by a day of 35C.
Coldest place I've ever camped out was north of Oodna. So cold that we piled the bedclothes on top of the kids, stoked the dying fire and sat by it till the sun came up. It was freezing.
Last year in
Alice Springs it got way down, around 1 or 2 C. But I was inside a motel with an electric heater so it didn't bother me. Coldest place on that trip was in
Charleville, where my passenger decided that he really needed a new sleeping bag if he was to survive another night.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:19
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:19
Thats nothing mate.
Got up one morning and had to walk backwards as it (the '
water' stream) was freezeing before it hit the ground :-))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:23
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:23
Yes, but that was probably in the freezer box called New Zel and :)))))))))
I heard they all have anti freeze in their veins over there ...
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:40
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:40
Nah, it was
Cloncurry actually. :-))
Anti freeze - that's got alcohol in it so you could be right !
I was in
Canberra a couple of weeks ago and it was c c c cooold. I am home in NZ at the moment watching all the storms in Oz on tv :-))
(but I do have the gas heater on)
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:02
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 13:02
I have
Malcolm Langley arriving here next week from Greymouth. I suspect he'll want to wear shorts and Jandals. Can't convince him that it gets chilly in the bush.
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:34
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 14:34
A mug of tea in one hand and a mike connected to an HF and he will be ok.
If you tell him to wear his thongs he will prob turn out in a 'G' string :-))
Follow Up By: Footloose - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:56
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 15:56
Malcolm in G strings ? Nightmare stuff !! The tea and mic I can handle....but oh Lordie no strings !
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:46
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:46
Yep, it gets bl00dy freezing. A few winters ago, camped out near Mt Magnet (WA) and there was ice on the roof rack, 2M up. Ground temp was about -4. And was at Ruby
Gap near Alice one year when it was in the minus range. The wind chill makes it worse.
Now I don't consider them to be a fashion statement, but investing in a good beanie is sound advice if
camping out this time of year.
I still use an inflatable mattress, but I lay a good blanket between us and the mattress to limit the heat transfer.
Meantime, it's clear skies and 4deg outside in
Perth, the gas heater is running inside. Geez it feels nice (hee hee).
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:59
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 10:59
We put a space blanket with elastic on across each corneron top of the air bed before the bedding goes on. It seems to stop heat loss through the airbed.
Reply By: Hairy - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:09
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:09
Last night the forecast was -2. Trust me we were out chasing vandals who spray painted a neighbours car at 1.00 and it was bloody freezing!
This time last year it got down to -6 and its raining as I type so its going to get colder.
We were
camping down at Apatula (Finke) last weekend, daytime temps were nice and warm but nightime was freezing (yes, ice on the car). Even in the camper trailer our beds felt wet it was so cold and had to put a tarp over our them to stop the moisture.
Speaking of fashion statements.....buy yourself some thermal underwear (long johns) and a good beanie (or a wide brimed hat and grow heaps of hair) and stay near the fire at night and youll be find.
Hairy
Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:16
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:16
having fun in town again hairy. out at the burg we are getting 1/4 inch ice on most things in the morn.
started at the new job yet. cheers
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:25
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:25
Yeh the little bastards sprayed three cars in our street. We got hold of a couple of blokes who reckon they can find out who did it (helpful
young fellas hey?)
Got the big medical Tuesday and Wednesday so Ill find out soon.
That fish is bloody beautiful, although I got to fight Thomas for it, You've turned him into a fish monster!
Follow Up By: handy - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:32
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:32
good luck with the medical. you didnt have to twist their arms a little bit did you.lol
Follow Up By: Hairy - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:58
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 12:58
Are you suggesting that I used force? Me?.....Come on, that would be illegal and morally inapropriate.
Well maybe a little? LOL
Reply By: DesF - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:36
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:36
Hi. Just got back from Finke on Thursday, we didnt get any frost at W/creek, Eringa or Finke,I think it only got down to 4 or 5 degrees, there was a cold wind but dry tents each morning, we camped at
Chambers Pillar and it was pretty cold but no dew, but we had dew at
Marla and ice on the car at Kyngoonya .
Also a good matress is the secret, we have Thermarests ( dear but worth every penny). and a beanie to keep the ears warm.
The days were nice , jumpers off at Finke and back on about 4.00ish.
Have fun Cheers Des.
Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:38
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:38
Went camping last weekend for the long weekend, headed up the lakes with a group of friends and our bikes.Now normally people down here do not go camping in a Tassie winter but two other groups with us had new campers and wanted badly to try them out.So what did we all do-- electric blankets.Yep good old electric balnkets.We had 650w elcheapo gennies and would fire them up about 1900hrs with a long cord away from the campers so you could hardly hear them.Man it was great to leave the roaring fire and go and jump into a toasty bed.Gennies would run for 10hrs with blankets left on low(four blankets).We had thick frost on the ground by 1930 and in the morning we had snow on the mountains all round us.
Yep call me soft but this time last year we were basking in
Kununurra sunshine.
Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:45
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 16:45
After reading this SWMBO wants to know how many extension leads to bring to run the heater off a point at the
homestead at
Warraweena? She also wants to know of any 12v alternative. Sounds like something to chew batteries to me but I said I'd ask.
I look forward to the responses ;-)
NickR
Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:29
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 18:29
grab a radiator heater for your gas bottle mate - heaps more efficient
Reply By: SARocks - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:21
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 17:21
Coleman Procat heater one of the best bits of gear we have bought for the caravan.
Gets snuggly warm and have to put off for a time as it can get to warm. Prefer going away in winter less people and cheaper and Coleman heater is brilliant bit of gear.
Reply By: HGMonaro - Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 22:46
Sunday, Jun 17, 2007 at 22:46
thanks for the replies... was wondering if we would be putting up bed flys on our camper... looks like the answer is "yes"
Cheers, Nige
Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:03
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:03
I'm surprised no-one has mentioned the good old hot water bottle.
I don't go camping in winter without
mine.
A few tawnys and the trusty hot water bottle tucked into the fartsack, and the world is a beautiful place.
Too easy:)
Glenn
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:41
Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 18:41
Well looks like i'm gonna die ......
Warraweena in a tent and airbed hell I live in stubbies and t shirt .......... My body refuses to work at 10 let alone - 5. I guess I should have got that LONG Drizabone plus some ........ :( Beanie better get one of them and gloves .... bugger me keeping warm will cost more than the trip.
I guess Shepperton Vic will be just as cold.
Better pack a stubbie holder to keep hand off beer can.