Canvas Canopy Crowd

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:39
ThreadID: 46846 Views:14688 Replies:13 FollowUps:4
Hi guys,
Can anyone recommend a canvas crowd who will make a canopy and awning for my ute (frame not required). I have been to Southern Cross Canvas in Bayswater and quoted me $1500 for a basic canopy (without the frame or windows) and $600 for a zip on awning on 1 side- that is a ridiculous price.

I am located in Eastern Melb area and would appreciate any recommendations.

Reply By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:17

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:17
Yep,

Avon canvas and upholstery in Northam. They did mine, frame and canvas on a dual cab, two windows (front and back)zips on all three sides plus an extra zip for me on the right side, two vents on the front for pressurising for approx $1700. In fairly heavy canvas too. From my research that I did, they had the best deal. I paid less for the frame with them compared to others companies, and got a better and heavier canvas. The frame is all galvanized. The only thing you may need to specify is as to whether or not you want it bolted to the tray or not, as the frames that they get made up has an angle iron internal frame which sits on the inside of the tray, essentially all the way around which is not bolted down. Mind you, it only took me a couple of hours to drill, paint and bolt it down myself.

Great service and a good product. They are in Northam, but IMO its worth the trip. I dropped my vehicle off last thing on a Monday arvo, and it was ready to be picked up at 4pm on the Wednesday.
AnswerID: 247833

Follow Up By: mike w (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:28

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:28
Woops, read the Bayswater bit, missed the Melbourne bit LOL. Might be a bit expensive then eh?
FollowupID: 508646

Reply By: Ford Rodeo - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:20

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:20
Brett, Go and see Keith at Tambo Campers. They are the best in the canvas business. Factory 3/2 Woodbine Crt Wantirna South. 95618668. Mate of mine just had his Cub canvas re-done and was very happy with service, quality and price. Myself and a few other mates have bought their campers and are equally impressed.

Phill
AnswerID: 247834

Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:42

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:42
Go and see the Canvas lady on Old Belgrave Rd just up from the Upper Ferntree Gully shops.

www.jandjcanvas.com.au/

Great service.

AnswerID: 247840

Reply By: 93 Navara - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:47

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:47
Brett,

Depends where you are in the east. Try Michelle at Little Yarra Canvas in Yarra Junction on 59666287. Does a super job and is very reasonable. Also does contract work for various camper mobs. Well worth a phonecall.

Ben
AnswerID: 247852

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:47

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:47
Try
www.outbackcampers.com.au/
Outback Campers
552 Frankston-Dandenong Rd
Carrum Downs, Victoria, Australia, 3201 Mon - Fri: 8.00am - 5.30pm
Sat:8.00am - 1.00pm
Phone: 03 9775 1760 Fax: 03 9775 1761
enquires@outbackcampers.com.au
Jim used to be my scout leader about 15 years ago and my old man has one of his campers and the quality is excellent.
Matt

AnswerID: 247853

Reply By: brett patrol - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 11:27

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 11:27
Thanks very much guys. Have been in contact and have been quoted prices almost 1/3 of the price i was given by Southern Cross Canvas.
AnswerID: 247858

Reply By: fujimiester - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 16:39

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 16:39
Yes SC are expensive but their quality is second to none. There is another mob in Bayswater and they are advertising in the trading post called Australian Canvas Company. Try them or Freedom tents in town.

fujimiester
AnswerID: 247902

Follow Up By: obee - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:10

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:10
another lesson in shop around before you buy. Some of these businesses put the price up with the rediculous when they dont really need the job.

Owen
FollowupID: 508786

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:58

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:58
I would go and see Shade n Shelter Canvas in Blacktown NSW. They made me an Industrial grade Vinyl tonneu for my offroad trailer for $200 and involved a lot of stitching to get around all the tie down rail supports. I still have the tonneu after six years out in the weather if anyone wants it (am turning the trailer into a camper) It's still like new!
AnswerID: 248141

Reply By: Member - Smithy (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:40

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:40
Or try TEBBS in Dandenong

www.tebbscanvas.com.au/

AnswerID: 248152

Reply By: Member - Darren S (VIC) - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 15:07

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 15:07
I would definately use Bedggood Canvas in Bayswater.
Located behind beaurepairs on Cantebury Rd.
He has done plenty of canvas covers, wheel covers, canvas bags and tent repairs for me in the past.
AnswerID: 255677

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 16:01

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 16:01
Is that Peter Bedggood? I thought he had long since retired.
FollowupID: 516798

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 16:20

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 16:20
Is that Peter Bedggood? I thought he had long since retired.
FollowupID: 516803

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 16:03

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 16:03
All Sorts a Canvas in Hastings do heaps of ute canopies, talk to Graham on 5979 1311.
AnswerID: 255680

Reply By: Shaker - Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 22:14

Friday, Aug 03, 2007 at 22:14
I'll try again!
AnswerID: 255754

Reply By: Member - Darren S (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 11:22

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 11:22
Yes, that would be Mr Bedggood. Still alive and kicking. Never had any issues with his work, in fact dealing with him for about 10 yrs now. If he works out, tell him he owes me a beer for the referal.
Darren (from Pro-Am)
AnswerID: 256231