Range Rover Sports
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:05
Member - extfilm (NSW)
Hi All, Just drove the diesel Range Rover Sports. 60kms on the clock and was very impressed. No diesel noise in the cab, very powerful and seems like it could be a very comfortable 4wd? My parents are looking at trading in their old range rover for one. I was actually impressed considering I have been trying to get them into a Lancruiser for the past 10 years.
Anybody got any good or bad points to say about them?
Thanks Peter
Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:21
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:21
I have a mate with one, what a great car on and offroad.
In this vid is Bens RRS he uses it!!!
I can't find the seperate file so just look in there you'll see his RRS getting some air!!!!
link text
Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:03
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:03
I forgot to add Ben has had this RRS for 2yrs (lease vehicle) and is getting a new one soon, he was going to go with the D3 but liked the new RRS better.
Reply By: drivesafe - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:42
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:42
Hi extfilm, I’ve got a MkIII Range Rover and when my wife wanted her own 4x4 we looked at both the RRS and D3.
The RRS is one hell of a fun machine but for long trips, the D3 is far more comfortable and has heaps more room than the RRS.
The TDV8 RRS has heaps of grunt and excellent fuel economy depending on how you drive it but as above, after test driving both, the D3 was by far a more comfortable ride and is much roomier inside for the driver and all passengers including the two seats in the third row.
Even though the Range Rover is bigger than the RRS or the D3, the D3 has heaps more luggage space when all the seats are folded down, something the RR and RRS can’t do.
Cheers just my opinion.
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:33
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:33
Only things I could fault were the
suspension was a little too hard but I can only presume the
suspension could be adjusted from inside the car the same as other models.
I also found the steering a little light when driving very windy road.
Reply By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:15
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:15
As you can see from my rig pics, I own a Disco 3, but I was able to take a RRS for a test drive and the are a very impressive vehicle. It was just that the Disco was more suited to what we were going to use it for that resulted in us buying it.
We've had none of the issues that are supposed to plague these vehicles. With the current range of Disco's and RR's your folks couldn't go wrong whichever way they choose. They are all very nice cars.
Russ.
Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:29
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:29
Hi Russ,
As a mechanic I have always been against these 4wds in particular the range rover they have now due to the fact they purchased it new in 98 and after 1 year and 1 week, major engine damage occurred by a rocker giving way. Having said that warranty was 1 week out of warranty and they were up for $15000 for engine repairs. I was furious.
the second one was one of our employees bought a freelander and within 6 months the fuel pump siezed. Land Rover blamed it on
water in the fuel of course and was not under warranty. $4000 later.
This vehicle will not leave the bitumen as the one they will be trading in has never been off road either.
Their first one I took for a beach run and a snow run. Was comfortable but I could not handle the expense in fuel.
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:47
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 23:47
I understand your feelings extfilm. I'm the same with Mitsubishi Pajeros. I could write a novel about what has gone wrong with
mine and the endless battles I had with Mitsubishi.
From this and other experiences I have learned that there is not a manufacturer out there that won't look at a problem and try to find a reason why they shouldn't fix it under warranty....before reluctantly fixing it under warranty.....or not.
I have come to the conclusion that it is best to look at the vehicles to see whether they suit your requirements, then strike a deal, then maintain it
well and worry about breakdowns if and when they happen. You can trawl through the posts at this site and find bad posts about every make and model, every car manufacturer and damn near every dealer. In the end you just have to think to yourself "stuff it, I like the vehicle and I'll give it a go."
I hope the Landy and Land Rover the Company don't let me down, but only time will tell. So far, so good.
Russ.
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:32
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:32
How about the price as a Bad Point!
Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:53
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:53
Price point... i went out to buy a new Pajero Exceed.. I loved it but found the D3 to be much more roomier inside, much more comfortable and around $6k cheaper.
At the moment you can buy a D3 V6 petrol for $64 drive away which is much cheaper than the sticker price on the new Exceed.
I also think the new range of Pajeros are not finished as
well inside as the earlier models.. I was very disappointed with this.
But then.. to each his own. The D3 is roomier in side than RRS and has a longer wheel base. The diesel option is a joke though when they ask $11K extra for it. Made the choice to go with petrol very easy.
Mark T
Follow Up By: drivesafe - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:06
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:06
Hi Mark, you won’t be disappointed with the V6.
My wife has had her SE V6 for 18 months now and we are averaging 14 Lt / 100 km and most of that is city driving so with over 35,000 kms on the clock, we will have to own the D3 for at least 10 years before the petrol costs us more than what we saved on the diesel.
Plus the V6 has more grunt around town than the TDV6.
Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:20
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:20
You get what you pay for. I paid $49,000.00 for my diesel Paj two years ago and I've been paying dearly for that decision ever since. I reckon that vehicle has cost me around $35,000.00 in lost time and repairs. The vehicle spent a total of 17 weeks in two years in the workshop. During that time I either could not work or had to hire a vehicle.
In my case, the diesel D3 was $3000.00 cheaper than a Landcruiser with most of the same appointments and options. The Landcruiser fell short because some of the items that were standard on the D3 were high priced options on the 'cruiser.
Rangies cost a lot, but look at the appointments they have. Price is only an issue if you can't afford it.
Russ
Follow Up By: Mark Taylor - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 09:02
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 09:02
Well.. I actually bought a V6 SE last December.
We just love it... hate the colour thoguh (Buckingham Blue.. show's every mark) but at the time looked good. We have been out to
Winton, Lark Quarry etc. As a long distance tourer it is just magic. Tows the Ct and averages 22 MPG on the highway with it on the back. Just fabulous off road. A couple of mates with LC 100s thought the D3 would be useless off road. It dies every thing the 100 does but with a whole lot less fuss.. just magic.
So far no troubles with the car... I've never had a car before that I have enjoyed so much. Our other ride is a BMW Z4 which I bought my wife for her 50th birthday... nice to drive on winding roads but as a tourer.. the D3 wins hands down.
Of course, a lot of 4 wheel drivers think if it's not a toyota or a Nissan then it's got to be crap... and I have experienced this first hand... until they see the D3 performing off road.
Mark T
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 12:50
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 12:50
Just before more people jump on this sub-thread and try to compare Pajeros etc in regards to price, please consider that the OP was talking about a Diesel Range Rover Sport! Not a discovery 3, not a pajero, a Range Rover....starting (!) at around $87,900 and skyrocketing from there.
I'm not saying they aren't bad vehicles (i even looked st a S/H Sport the other day for a trade), just that the price is more than most other "normal" vehicles, no doubt due to their comfort and fitout, amongst other reasons.
Reply By: Member Boroma 604 - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:39
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:39
Gooday,
Saw the bloke on Top Gear SBS do a test on the sports recently, it wa sup against acouple of yank Irons fromm meory and he gave it ahel of a workout and gave it a really good it was very highly regarded.
Cheers, Boroma 604.