Spare Wheel Carrying Options

Submitted: Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 13:15
ThreadID: 46963 Views:1982 Replies:3 FollowUps:2
I have a 2006 Navara STR and am looking at alternatives to storing my spare wheel under the tray. I have looked into a rear wheel carrier but at almost $2k I thought I'd ask about alternatives and peoples experience (good or bad) with them.

Baden.

Reply By: Member -Signman - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 13:19

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 13:19
I have a swing-away rear spare carrier for sale. Attached onto a h/d rear bumper- as fitted to Police Rodeo. With a bit of imagination & minor mods. should fit the Navara.
Also has plate for HF antenna attachment.
AnswerID: 248457

Follow Up By: big fella - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 16:06

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 16:06
hi signman
What year rodeo is it and where abouts in nsw are you

Regards Chef
FollowupID: 509378

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 09:35

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 09:35
G'day Chef
It's off a Model 2000 Dual Cab Rodeo.
Located at Camden- about 60k SW Sydney
FollowupID: 509814

Reply By: Vince NSW - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 13:26

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 13:26
Baden,
I have just mounted mine inside the rear of the ute. It is standing up with the bottom half of the wheel held by a try down attached to the rear try down point & a new eye bolt I have mounted in front ot the tyre.
The top half is securied via a large eye bolt through one of the bolt holes in the rim & a turnbuckle attached to another eye bolt in the top rail of the ute side.
I can let you know how it goes after the up comming trip to Flinders & Simpson. If this set up fails, I will put it on the roof rack.
Vince
AnswerID: 248459

Reply By: Johnny boy - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:56

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:56
Hi Baden, Mate just a stab in the dark but if you only want it out of the way on trips
I have seen a carrier that fits the tow bar and can fold away, mate I don't know where you are but you can try MIGHTY BOY TRAILERS PTY LTD at 3/14 Anne st St Marys 2760 PH 9623 6066 MOB 0433 613 222 I went past there today to grab a card for my Brother in-law that wants 1 for our Fraser trip this year but don't want it on all the time and if you want something different just ask and I'm sure they will help someway as they are a nice fairly run business.

Regards J.B.
AnswerID: 248514