My Shentai 12 volt torque wrench: buggared!!

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:10
ThreadID: 47003 Views:4131 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Decided to fit-up a set of Nobles suspension blocks today and this necessitated the removal of the rear wheels.

The good ol' faithful Shentai was dragged out of it's box and duly did the business getting the wheel nuts off and back on again.......until the last nut! The red LED was still glowing, but the donk? She's a no go matey!!!

Pulled it to pieces and found that that motor's brushes would appear to be cactus. I could get it to fire-up on some occasions once I'd spun the motor over manually via the gear cogs or the dog clutch. The motor doesn't appear to be serviceable, although I reckon I could remove it from the unit. So if anybody knows where I could get a replacement 12 volt motor, I'd be grateful for any info.

Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:24

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:24
Hiya Mr Roach,

I just changed my wheels today. Took the ATR's off and put the MTR's on in readiness for Warraweena trip in case we go on any of these day trips around the place that Willem is organising and that you are apparantly leading.....

I had to do all my nuts the old fashioned way with a wheel brace but it did not take too long.

I did however get to use my Suuuuupacheap 3.5t heavy duty trolley jack for the first time and it made it soooooooo easy! 4 wheels changed over and the whole job was done in under 40 minutes! sweet. Last time frigging around with the standard jack it was over an hours job.

Sorry I can't help you with the 12v motor - maybe one out an old cordless drill or something might help.

Muddy
AnswerID: 248656

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 06:23

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 06:23
Yerr Muddy....the MTR's are a good idea.

Dunno 'bout Roachie leading now. Will the mighty 6.5 make it out of the garage???

FollowupID: 509587

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:59

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:59
Hi Roachie,
I've replaced cordless drill motors before with Johnson "540" or "550" motors from the model plane shop (Model Flight). But I've got no idea what motor your Shentai would have. I'm guessing the cost of a motor wouldn't be much different to a new Shentai.

I loosened with a wrench and used a cordless drill with 1/2 inch bit and socket to change wheels. Cordless drill is pretty useful for other stuff. Catch up at Warraweena end of next week!

phil
AnswerID: 248661

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:09

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:09
By my calculations you have now exceeded the three failures,
Does that mean you are now into the 2nd or 3rd consecutive set of three. :)

Sorry couldn't help myself,
maybe Lucy can help

AnswerID: 248663

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:14

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:14
Hey Kev, Let's keep that reprobate "Lucky" right out of this. He wouldn't dare been seen dead with a Shentai......he would carry a proper air tool set of kit to run off that huge compressor and air tank he has under that bulbous bonnett of his....

ROFLMAO x 1,000,000,000,000

FollowupID: 509542

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:22

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:22
On second thoughts and reading your comments to Lucy's post it may well go
un-noticed.

Kev

FollowupID: 509545

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 20:34

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 20:34
You obviuosly need to do more repairs than I as we bought them at the same time, and I use it on 5 - 6 vehicles and its going strong, well was 3 days ago anyway ahahah
A new unit is only about $70, wouldnt be worth mucking around with another motor.
Oh the wows of a nissan owner!!!
Want me to call past in thew morning to give ya a tow start so you make it to the beach on time???

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 248671

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 21:02

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 21:02
Thanks for that very generous offer mate....but I think I'd rather eat broken glass than be seen being assisted by a toyota!!!
FollowupID: 509561

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 12:53

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 12:53
Want me to call past in thew morning to give ya a tow start so you make it to the beach on time???

A little birdie tells me you were stuck on a beach recently. LOL
FollowupID: 509624

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:05

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:05
Hi Pat,

At least I had the testies to lead in unknown country, cos I have a toyota, but I dont think I rate a close 1 outa 10 against your nose dive into a blow hole in the simpson???
That reminds me That pic's hasnt been shown on here yet??
Perhaps I better put it up, yes I wasnt there but I have a copy of all the action ahhahahaha

Cheers Mate Pesty
FollowupID: 509705

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:22

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:22
He he he. How was the trip, i would loved to have gone but had other things on that weekend.
FollowupID: 509711

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:56

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:56
I'd be buying a new one and then taking the buggered one back in three months saying its stuffed and flogging it on rbay

AnswerID: 248820

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 00:26

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 00:26
Hey Bonz,

Looks like you are doing a bit of testing on GPS units. (And on a left hand drive too)

Any recommendations to share with us yet? :-))

FollowupID: 509790

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:18

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:18
Yes I like the blue one

FollowupID: 509885

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:46

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:46
There is nothing I could add to this post that would make any of you Nissan driver/owner PAJERO's look even half way 4WD competant.

By the way Roachie, I use a 1/2 inch Stahl Willie bar with a bi-direction, articulated driving head, plus a short extension and socket.

Never a failure with this true and tested technique.

I suppose you are down at the cash converters whilst I am writing this, converting Annettes washing machine into a Shentai
AnswerID: 248939