rest needed
I am looking at options for
camping cookers, i have one of those cheapo gas can types and it does really
well for day trips although not too sure about longer stays.
The cheapo's are butane and get very hot but they are easily blown out, can anyone tell me how much better are the LPG cookers, are they much better in comparison.
Also what's a good make of cooker, how many burners are best and for a 3-4 day stay what size bottle would you take.
Thanx :)
Craig
Reply By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:57
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:57
hey there,
we have a 3 burner no brand job from the campin store on LPG it certainly does the job, although i still use the butane can job often as it is very cheap and very quick, ie for a road side cuppa. I simply use a windbreak if req'd.
Dont think you can go wrong with either, and you get what you pay for.
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:05
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:05
Thanks for the info Wayne-o
Reply By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:12
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:12
personally we just use two butane jobbys.
however Coleman's after sales service is outstanding, if we ever decide to get a 'real' stove it will be coleman, (and probably dual fuel)
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:19
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:19
Thinkin the same mate
Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:32
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:32
Can't beat the Coleman dual fuel IMHO. We use both the lantern and the Powerhouse cooker. For day trips I just fill the fuel
tank before leaving and know it will last for a couple of days.
On
camping trips I carry fuel for the generator and chainsaw (carry oil to mix 2-stroke) so there is no 'extra' fuel or gas cylinders required.
I've always had problems with the $20 gas cooker in the snow or low temps in the High Country, hence my conversion to dual fuel.
As already said, aftersales service with Coleman is excellent and parts are readily available for there cookers and lights if required.
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:41
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:41
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:50
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:50
Tim: How do you find the Coleman dual fuel stove for very low light cooking - rice etc - I'm sure they're great for high heat but are they controllable when you just need the heat of a candle for 30 minutes?
Currently (3 years) I use the Coleman LP gas stove and find it excellent.
Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:42
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:42
G'day Mike,
I haven't ever just simmered something for a longinsh period. Generally if I do spag-bol or rice etc I'll get the pasta/rice to a boil and then transfer it to the second smaller burner which is great for simmering whilst cooking meat sauce or main on the main burner.
The main burner can go pretty low - just haven't really had the need to do it apart from simmering the billy.
The only down side of the dual fuel is that the main burner MUST be going to have the second burner on. I don't find this a problem - just have to plan the cooking a bit or swap the pots over.
And they're great in the snow :-)
Reply By: Love The Outback - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:04
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:04
I don’t know about gas cookers…but if you want something good, buy you self The Cobb Cooker. Since you are on line, it’s easy to find what I mean. Many people will agree with me, it is very good even it cost quite bit.
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:45
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:45
Will have a sqiz
Ta
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:38
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:38
If you are going to use a LPG stove I would recommend using low pressure rather than high.
We had a high pressure stove for years and it was fine while we were travelling basically on the coast. When we got inland we had heaps of problems. Mostly associated with dirt in the jets.
We swapped to a low pressure stove, it is a real basic job, doesn't have abrand on it. It is simply two ring burners in a metal frame. Cost less than $60 and is great. It is more tolerant of wind than the high pressure was but we still use a windbreak. It seems to use less gas.
Now that we are using the cheapo butane can stove we hardly ever light the big one.
Follow Up By: rest needed - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:47
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:47
Yeah mate i think we might stay with the cheapo and just buy another one, the cans seem to last forever and they get hot real quick.
Thanx mate
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:53
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:53
Another recommendation for Coleman dual fuel. We find it much faster to heat something up than gas ever was and it is easy to control.
Pete
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:09
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:09
Butane<lpg<dual fuel. I have owned all three and we still use the butane stove on occasions. The only problem with the butane stoves is they tend to not perform on cold mornings. Lpg is better, but since upgrading to the Coleman Dual Fuel (and all i use is lpg) anything else seems a compromise.
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:11
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:11
what happened here lol?
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:10
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:10
I have owned all three and we still use the butane stove on occasions. The only problem with the butane stoves is they tend to not perform on cold mornings. Lpg is better, but since upgrading to the Coleman Dual Fuel (and all i use is lpg) anything else seems a compromise.
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:12
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:12
Should read all we use is ulp not lpg.
Reply By: marcus - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:47
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:47
Rest Needed,
I have just bought a Coleman Fold n Go and reckon it's a great piece of kit.The design is clever for compactness and when opened up for use the burners are far enough apart for the largest pots and pans.Piezo ignition to both sides and a choice of compact coleman bottles or a large 9kg bottle can be used with the provided connecting hose.
Cheers Mark
Reply By: Member - Robin M (VIC) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:08
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:08
Hello Craig,
I've been using my compact Coleman Safari two burner LPG stove for donkeys years off a 3 kg bottle. I have another 3 kg bottle to which I screw a single burner or a gas light ie: when my 12v light can't be hooked up. I like the versatility and availabilty of LPG gas ! My LPG gas bottles comes in handy when I need to heat up something in the workshop.
I keep the single gas burner and LPG bottle handy (connected, sheathed and inside a bucket) when travelling to make a quick roadside cuppa coffee/tea. Roadhouse coffee/tea gets quite expensive when you're away for a long time ! True, LPG does take a tad longer to
cook with when compared with ULP, but that's usually not a bother.
I wouldn't buy the cheapie canister type cooker as the cost of the canisters is excessive.
Hope this might help with your decision.
Netnut
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:23
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:23
Are there any fuel stoves that run on diesel?
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 00:35
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 00:35
Craig,
My vote goes to the Coleman 2 burner LPG stove. These stoves do not have jets and therefore will not become blocked. Both burners are separately controllable from a high heat, to a low simmer.
You can run the stoves from the small Coleman disposable bottles (some people refill them) or with an adaptor hose, from a standard LPG bottle.
Follow Up By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:06
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 22:06
My vote for Coleman LPG - top performance, no maintenance to jets etc. Just be careful, they are not a true Low pressure stove, therefore can not use a hose longer than 1200mm, although somehow Coleman are able to sell a 1500 mm flexible hose with them. My answer was to hard plumb with copper to the camper trailer.
Butane cannister types, althouth handy, do not work effectively in colder conditions (less than 10 degrees or thereabouts) as they tend to get as the gas inside gets colder even in warmer conditions, and they slow down making them no good for faster cooking in cold conditions.
Dunno about dual fuel, but can't be bothered carrying around another type of liquid fuel.
Reply By: Member- Rox (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 01:24
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 01:24
Got sick of taking a gas cyclinder, Just bought a Coleman Sportstar II 533 $99 Duel Fuel single burner, only tested it on a cupper so far but very happy. they say 1lt of fuel should last 3+ hours on high.
Reply By: rest needed - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 09:53
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 09:53
There are definately some interesting choices to be made and your comments have been a great help.
I knew i could count on the good people at exoz to give helpful advice and lend a hand when needed
Cheers one and all
Craig