Eric from Cape York Connections
on every trip.
I meet my new group as per usual at the glengary caravan
park at
port douglas for our meet and greet it starts to rain and rain and rain we leave there on the Monday morning and have had about 50mm rain.
All my guests are wet and miserable I assure them this is very unseasonal we get going and it keeps rainning.
First night at musgarve telegarph station another 20mm rain lake feild has a repoted 65mm rain.
We carry on to
coen and yes more rain
coen has about 35mm over night what a mess.
Them of to meluna station 15mm of rain over night.
All the time I am try to convive my guests there not in
melbourne.
The humidity is about 100% and as we all know in the tropics this makes bugs and disease thrive .
I get a cut on my foot and I think not a great deal about it.
Of to
weipa for a night and good weather for once.
I staet feeling as though I am comming down with a fever.
Next 5 nights in
weipa hospital with an infection in my leg
Now waiting in
cairns for flight home
Reply By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:02
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:02
Thats a BUST,
hope you better dude.
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:01
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:01
Thanks wayne o
Of to my own doctor today for another check up.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:02
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:02
As they say in the trade....BUGGER !!!
Just hope all is good up there in 20 days time !!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:02
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:02
I am expecting a call from one of the group today I will let you know.
Reply By: kimprado - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:22
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:22
I'm surprised this happened when I was'nt there. As the un-crowned king of wet weather, tropical bites and sickness it's obvious your trying to usurp my position! LOL
Get
well soon
Kim
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:59
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:59
Hi Kim
Well we might have to have a hand over ceremony for the crown.
Many thanks
Reply By: Voxson - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:23
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:23
Hi Eric,
I know how you feel...
I have a chest infection which flaredup during my
Cape York trip..
We also found every place in the cape which had high humidity to offer and a lot of rain..
The roads going into Chilli Beach looked pretty ordinary going in and then coming out was straight after 50mm of rain....
Somehow we found ourselves in the staion country around Palmerville and WOW that clay is slippery...
And then to top it right off we came out on the Dunbar road and turned right and got met by ankle deep black clay as far as the eye could see..
We couldnt make a turn in the right direction if our lives depended on it..
Lakefield was stinking humid at night....
Kalpower was a Taipan haven,,, they were everywhere chasing green tree frogs...
They slithered through our
camp virtually straight under our legs..
Wettest
Cape York trip i have ever seen in the dry...And the most humid...
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:32
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:32
Voxson where are you now I am in
cairns and yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeesssssssssss
its still rainning.
all the best
Follow Up By: Voxson - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:03
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:03
I am home in
Adelaide now..
When we were driving OUT of Chilli Beach there was no-one to ask about road conditions but in hind sight it was pretty crazy..
In the rain forest we were sliding with no control at all down some of the hills...
The northern part of Lakefield was
Road Closed,,,, BUT we got talking to a person of Authority and this person told us that the road was closed because of one dodgey
bridge crossing near the
Hann River and if we wanted to go for it that there would be no fines handed out but if any grief came to our vehicles crossing this bridge then forget about insurance,,,, so we went for it and yes there was a dodgey bridge and yes it could have collapsed....
It was raining a lot in the Palmerville area also which made a few of the decents down to the creeks a simple fact of just letting the vehicle slide down the
hill and it would find its own way and would end up hardup against the cutting all the way to the bottom,,, bit of paint missing after this trip i tell you..
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:14
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:14
When we drove past the chilli beach turn off there where barricades up saying
road closed same deal with the top end of lakefeild.
My group did the whole of the old track with a few dramas but nothing major they are at loyalty now I am expecting a call at any time today.
I was talking to patsy at loyalty yesterday and she was saying there were hardly any people around and it was still drizzling.
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:28
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:28
Sorry about all the spelling mistakes but my time ran out at the internet cafe.
Anyhow my 18 day trip turns into 5 day trip I try and get peter to fly in from WA but he is caught at home valley station with all roads around him under
water I ring 2 other people to try and pay for them to fly up and drive the rest of the trip for me but they are battling rising flood
water else were in Australia.
I have to cancel my trip so my group has to carry on on there own they have finished the otl and with no dramas.
As far as I know there is still
no access to chilli beach and the top end of lake field national
park and I am no sure if the 2 tankers have been pulled out of the bog near
coen.
The main development road was good considering the rain we have had.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:51
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:51
So Eric,
Neil is having agreat trip. Pity about all this he was so looking forward to it.
Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:41
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:41
I am only doing Cape Trib trips this season as I have heaps of training on but I surely would have helped you out in a situation like that. Seems I get to do at least one rescue mission every season. Cheers Rob
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:18
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:18
Duncs i tried and tried to get Neil to complete the trip with my 4x4 but he decided to head home.
I suppose you have heard him play guitar boy he is good.
Also he is a very easy going and nice person to get along with.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:19
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:19
Thanks for that rob If it ever happens again I will defiantly give you a call.
Many thanks
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 10:57
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 10:57
Your in front of me there Eric I have not heard him play. I know it paid for his tucker for a few years so he must be OK.
I was jealous as when he told me he was going with you. WIsh it could have been me. If it had your group would have kept going to the Cape. In fact I am a little annoyed at myself. I am on hols at the moment but have booked up my time with stuff that I can not now get out of.
Oh
well my time will come. Hope the foot heals quickly.
Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:24
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:24
Eric,
I hope that you aren't doing a gulf trip across to
Cooktown in Sept as we are and it will be guaranteed to break the drought when we go for a drive.
Tour Boy
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:21
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:21
By September it should have stopped raining. LOL
all the best
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:33
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:33
Hi Eric,
Hope you get better soon.
I reckon we'll put our planned trip to the cape off till el nino returns and dries up the country again....
Get yourself
home to the burgh mate the dams in
Sydney are only at 50%......LOL
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:23
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:23
Wayne can you give me a call on
home or mobile I think you still have it.
Many thanks
Reply By: Richard & Leonie - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:44
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:44
Are you sure you did not wipe your foot with one of Pete's pair of underpants. From what I recall Kat says he wears one pair for four days. Normal first day, second day back to front, third day normal but inside out,
forth day inside out and back to front.
Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:16
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:16
Must be the only guide on the Cape who bothers with under pants too uncomfortable when driving constantly ;-)
Reply By: OnYaBike (Cairns, QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 00:09
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 00:09
Well I'm still going up to
Bamaga Wednesday,
camping somewhere around Archer River overnight. Hope it's a lot drier by then.
Still drizzling in
Cairns, but the radar shows clear at the top.
Reply By: Member - Wayne & Cheryl (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 15:28
Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 15:28
Hi Eric
Sorry to hear about your health hiccup. We were camped at
Weipa for two of the nights you were in hospital. We were lucky to miss a lot of the bad weather - we did
Weipa on the return trip as
Chili Beach was closed by then. We stayed at
Punsand Bay this time around. The weather was very very humid, lot of drizzle during the three days we had there and a doozy of a rain storm one evening at 6pm - in the middle of my helicopter flight over
the tip! Came back to
camp to find everything wet, as the men of the
camp had been on
the beach watching us women go up in the chopper. Took them a while to twig when the rain hit that the
camp might need checking fast! Wet beds that night to add to the humidity.
We did the OTL on the way north with no problems other than having a couple of tries at Palm
Creek, due to the mud. Two nights at Bramwell, with a lot of showers while there.
No major vehicle problems in our group of four vehicles. Only one spot gave us any bother and that was the track from Punsand to
the tip (
Roma Flats) - two needed recovery - one snatched out and one needed winching. An interesting morning.
Going south we had planned to go into
Chili Beach and Lakefield but
road closed at the top, so we headed down to
Hann River for a night and then on to
Cooktown a day early.
The road near the Captain Billy turnoff was undergoing roadworks and was very very slippery the day we came out and we could see coming south the difference the rain had made in a short time in comparison to how we found it going north a couple of weeks earlier. We left
Brisbane 9th June and got back again 1st July. We took the inland route through
Atherton,
Emerald,
Roma on the way back. Fine weather all the way from
Cooktown to
home, but cold nights!
Cheryl