Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 10:24
Cobes
One of my headlight globes has blown and I would like to know what replacement globes others have used and reccomend.
Chris.
Reply By: Macca_GU - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 11:03
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 11:03
Hi Chris, I think you will find varied opinions as with any other parts/accessories.
I have and am still using the IPF FATBOY globes, very happy BUT, I think they are way overpriced ($140) compared to the cheaper and very good Phillips CrystalVision which are something like $20 each, Both are improvments over the standard 55/60 watt globes, with no need to upgrade wiring ETC.....just a straight swap. IMO I don't think the extra $100 for the IPF's are worth it. The GQ with a standard 7" insert was soooo much easier to upgrade, globes, lens replacements. was easy to fit relays to high and low beam, make a new loom and have 90/130 or 100/150 globes H4 globes.
Cheers Macca
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 17:12
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 17:12
Macca - did you have any problems fitting the passenger side globe? Been thinking about changing
mine out but that looks a bit cramped in there.
Pete
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 17:41
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 17:41
The passenger side is a PAIN to fit. Do this. Take a short length of 45mm x 90mm pine around 400mm long will be fine. Get your mash hammer or something equally damaging. Position the timber onto the body above the light with the bonnet up of course and strike the other end so as to stretch the available space to fit your hand down between the air box and the back of the light.
Take careful note that you must learn at least 117 NEW SWEAR WORDS because you will use the ones you know up very quickly trying to refit the globes.
The rubber seals around the light globes are very hard to remove and I suggest that you learn a number of grimaces for this manouver. Be careful removing the rubber seal as they tear easily. Do the one on the driver side first. Make sure you save some words.
Good luck, I am about to change
mine. I have 100/130 Narva globes and find them great. I have rewired thru relays though. If I hadnt I would have gone for a Philips or Narva PLUS 50 H4 globe.
Follow Up By: Macca_GU - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:34
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:34
G'day Pete ,
had a mongrel of a time getting them in the left side.
But eventually after r*%ting around long enough, I got it in. Do you have kids ? maybe you could get one of them to help....LOL Or as Bonz suggests learn some new swear words.
Good luck. Macca
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:02
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:02
Bonz/Macca - thanks for that ......really looking forward to this job now :-))
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:23
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:23
If you wait a bit I can advise of the new and unusual words I have used when changing
mine, should have it done this weekend.
Follow Up By: Macca_GU - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:03
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:03
ya know, I was thinking..... I bet if one of them globes blow it WILL be the left hand side.
Hey Bonz, what's the new
pic with left hand drive Ford with all the gps and sat nav units. a mate of yours ??? did you tell him to GET LOST.....lol
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:56
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:56
I had BOTH low beams blow at once and still dont believe it, pulled out the wiring and checked it all to find that all that was wrong was the blasted globes.
Yer thats me in the Ford Explorer in Canada in September hahahaha
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 18:16
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 18:16
Hows it going Chris
Just put in the IPF ones one level below the FAT BOY's still $140 , the guy at ARB said that the Fat Boy ones needed wiring upgrades , the ones I got produce a more whiter light . Very good and easy improvement , but sure you could get the same result cheaper.
Only went to ARB as a last resort cause I couldnt find the Phillips one anywhere , I reckon the prices are adjusted to pay for their flash showrooms .
Do a search , I asked this question about a week ago !
Glenn.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 00:01
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 00:01
Chris,
Just had a similar problem when one of my headlight globes went.
Ended up buying a set of H4 Philips VisonPlus +50 @ $40 a pair and am very happy with the brilliant white light from them. Available at Autobarn stores.
If you want some technical reference here's some input from an Auto Lighting Consultant in the US.
Daniel Stern Lighting
The Philips VisionPlus, along with Narva Rangepower+50, GE Night Hawk and Tungsram Megalight Premium are recommended because they produce the maximum legal amount of light while staying within legal power consumption limits.
Reply By: Member - Smithy (VIC) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 09:47
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 09:47
G’day folks,
But do these newer higher wattage globes cause any damage to the reflectors,
I ask this because I’m dissatisfied with the original lights
And yes, in the near future I will be upgrading the wiring
Follow Up By: Markymark - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:54
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:54
Howdy
No they don't because they're the same wattage (55/60 watt). They have Xenon gas mixed in with the Halogen gas to burn brighter and whiter. The IPF Fatboys are a slightly higher wattage (60/80 watt I think). Interesting a previous post above mentioned he was told by ARB to put in a new loom, I was sure that wasn't the case, bit of overkill I think, although quality wiring always helps.
Mark.