5th gear towing

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:26
ThreadID: 47172 Views:6608 Replies:12 FollowUps:14
I have heard all kinds of stories about towing in 5th gear with a Landcruiser, I have towed my Van across Australia up and down it , Last week I towed it to Dalwallinu, so I took more notice of what I was doing, I noticed in 4th gear on the flat the engine is screaming out to 2004 / 2006+ rpm to maintain 85 / 90 , so I drop it into 5th and it just rolls along quite easy , as soon as I hear it start to work on an incline i just drop it down to 4th , I came down off Bindoon in 4th for 3/4 the hill , no brake needed and put into 5th for the remainder of the hill , The Troopy does it easy in 5th if you don't let it labour, Geez the Turbo V8 would be nice for towing, rip my bloody van in two,

Doug

Reply By: Member - Troopytrek - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:37

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:37
G'Day Doug, I can't comment on the exact year where the change came in but with my old 89 troopy 5th gear was on a seperate shaft hence where the danger comes in as the bearings are not probably as extensive, with our new troopy [RV 4.5 petrol 1995] has the large alloy case gearbox and 5th gear is apparently on the main shaft hence being able to take the load better. Cheers troopytrek
AnswerID: 249505

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:45

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:45
I just done the Transfer Case up , Gearbox 18months back, but yeh It's a matter of driving careful, not to force the issue, if the revs drop , then drop the ratio, also I always run Wynnes Friction in all oils,
I once had an International T-Line , 230 hp Cummins , 9 speed Roadranger, It had 1,300,000 when I sold it and the Gearbox was original, The engine was rebuilt at 360,000 the week I bought it , it was still running OK when I sold it, so was the Diff ,

Doug

FollowupID: 510481

Follow Up By: rooscoota - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 08:12

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 08:12
g'day doug

so whats your professional opinion on the phantom gear in a 9 speed

FollowupID: 510604

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:25

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:25
rooscoota
I guess if you really feel the need to be technical 5th high was the gear i always cruised in, and of course as we would all know there was no 1st high and that's why it has only 9 and not 10, I think the 13 speed was better to use, which as you would know ...was a 9 speed with the splitter being used only on 2H /3H 4H 5H, , Then we move on to the 18 speed , but you know the story as well as I do.

Doug

FollowupID: 510622

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:53

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:53
Hi Doug,

Some owners seem to get away with towing in 5th but some of us didn't. My 100 series diesel had it's box rebuilt twice in the 18mths and 130000km I owned it for. It was sold when I heard similar noises which necessitated the previous rebuilds.

Your roadranger story is hardly a valid argument when comparing it to these toy boxes.

These days I just don't risk it. My GU will drag the 3 tonne anchor, I own, at 100km/hr revving at about 2800. Considering the way I have mine set, with max hp still way above this, it leaves heaps on tap when overtaking is required.

Trevor.
AnswerID: 249534

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:24

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:24
Trevor
you silly man, I'm not comparing a roadranger with a Toyota boxm geez I'm not that silly , the reason why I mentioned that is the fact it shows what can be achieved if you take care of your machinery and don't abuse it , thus the fact I got 675,000 with the Transfer case , I also have said before that my Toyota has moved 85 tonnes of truck for 20 meters until it jump started ,

This one with this load
Site Link

FollowupID: 510547

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:12

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:12
Yer I heard that too Doug, I reckon your note about the Inter was a pearler, got a great run eh?

FollowupID: 510577

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:10

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:10
Doug

Spoke to a mechanic who is an agent for AANT. He gets a lot of work recovering Landcruisers that have been towing using fifth gear. The main reason for the problem however is people putting it in fifth gear at too low a speed.

He told me the reason but I am not a mechanic and it was beyond my level of comprehension. There may be someone on the forum who has the knowledge to enlighten us.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 249543

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:03

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:03
The reason as I understand is 2 fold.

The 1st reason is most 5th gears are small and have much less surface area and therefore build up heat which can not dissipitate .
In extreme cases they can lose their hardened surface on the gear itself.

The 2nd reason is the torque wants to push the gear against the spacer(landcruiser gearbox) and eventually allows it to jump out of 5th.

Of course towing in 5th gear is like "how long is a piece of string?"
It depends on the load,the wind and hills and the skill of the driver to recognise load on the gearbox which is not to be confused with load on the engine.

5th gears hate rough roads and inconsistant throttle.
FollowupID: 510572

Follow Up By: rooscoota - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 08:16

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 08:16
g'day

spot on kumunara, and to lazy to change back a cog when required
FollowupID: 510605

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:41

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:41
Isn't this selective reporting Kumanara, I seem to remember your Nissan blew a gear box from the same reason, or is my memory playing tricks. Also a Nissan of yours cooked a motor too didn't it??? Come on mudguts.
GB
FollowupID: 510625

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:04

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:04
Garbutt

An exaggeration on all counts.

1. My Nissan was one of the models which were fitted for a faulty fifth gear spline. The vehicle was still driveable but I could not use fifth gear. The fifth gear was fixed under warranty.

2. The former Nissan dealer, grower’s circus, stuffed up a service and did not do the coolant change correctly in my previous Patrol. This caused a blown head gasket. The vehicle was still driveable. I had the choice of waiting in Alice Springs for two weeks for it to get fixed or upgrading. The boss was not happy with the power of lack thereof in the GQ. She made the choice for me.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 510698

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:13

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:13
Its crazy that we have to get a sweat up about towing in 5th gear anyway!

You would think that the main players building 4wds would realize that the thing is most likely to be towing something at some stage & build a gearbox to suit!!,

Axle.
AnswerID: 249544

Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:13

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:13
Axle
as with everything, the engineer is given the job to design, then his work gets changed because its too large or heavy or expensive...a good example is the latest 100 series 5 speed. Without treading on anyones toes....why do u think they changed back to an r series box out of a v6 4runner/supra in the 1hz only??
better shifting, more returns to toyota for repair, cheaper to make in the first place, more returns to toyota for repair, smoother gear changes, more returns to toyota for spares, better ratios, more returns to toyota for repair.
They were on a winner with the 80 box, already made and proven...already in the parts bin...but Toyota are no1 for a reason....they make cars to suit people, and people were complaining of shift quality...so they addressed the overall issues to suit their objectives...
Unfortunately, we are a minority it the scheme of things, most cruisers are gov for 60000kms or used as daily runabouts, and for that, they do a good job.
The best used cruiser to buy is an earlier model....
FollowupID: 510618

Reply By: dj386 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:37

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:37
Hi Guys,

I have never heard of the 5th gear problem before. I have an 80 series 95 model 24 valve 4.2 factory TD with a 151 gearbox. Is this a model that is prone to problems. We have just bought the wagon and envisage towing in the future when we can afford a camper.

Thanks for your feedback.

Happy Travellin',

Dan.
AnswerID: 249578

Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:05

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:05
You have a H151 or H150 and is considered a good gearbox.
Not to be confused with the R151 in non turbo diesels.
FollowupID: 510575

Follow Up By: dj386 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:53

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:53
HI Ross,

Yeah, I have the H151.

Thanks for replying. That's encouraging.
FollowupID: 510627

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:01

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:01
50 k a year with 60 - 70% towing and us 5th as much as i can with 89 cruiser diesel, which has not had any problems.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 249582

Follow Up By: Cruiserman1961 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:52

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:52
Same here mate, I always use 5th whenever possible. Nearly 500.000 km's with the original motor and gearbox. Just use common sense and don't use 5th too early.
Cheers, Udo
FollowupID: 510896

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:34

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:34
5th gear (and in an auto overdrive) are not really towing gears. Some people get away with it, but gear box rebuilds can be costly - even more so if you need to get towed in from the wilderness. Unless your trailer is light, why risk it?

AnswerID: 249587

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:35

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:35

We towed alot with our toyota up to 2.5 ton, I asked the toyota rep which gear
is good for towing, he said fourth gear is recommended , in the toyota manual,
re extra power, and brakeing.
If you have a toyota manual check it. we now do the same with the nissan.

Daza
AnswerID: 249601

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:47
Our CT is only 1500 KG, but after meeting a couple of people who have stuffed gearboxes towing in 5th, we now stick to 4th most of the time. Slip it into 5th on long downhills and sometimes on long flat areas when we can maintain good speed.

At 90 KPH, 4th is comfortable for the Hilux. Any faster it revs a bit high and fuel consumptioin goes up.
AnswerID: 249603

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:29

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:29
Gday Doug
I towed a 16 footer all around 0z with a 60 series and did as you have done...at first, i used 4th...now with the old 2h, thats slow, and thats fast for the motor 2600 is almost redline....having said that, you will never wear a diesel out by revving it...i then started using 5th on the straights and down hill. The box never fell out, and these were prone to doing that, because it was essentially a 4 speed with an extension on the back where 5th lived....
Looking at this from a different angle, when in 5th, as opposed to 4th, the drive has to go through a few sets of gears and bearings...all the load is going to increase friction, which produces heat and wear...how much will depend on the load and lubrication.
So, if you run good oil, and change it regular, and dont load the drivetrain up, you may not suffer as much as thesame driver with lesser oil or lesser maintanance, or lesser idea...with 4th gear, the drive goes in one end and out the other, no bearings take any load, no wear, no heat, no problems...
At the other end of the stick is the person who tries to tow in 5th at 120 km/hr all day in the heat....his 5th gear will melt.
Thesame is a problem with overdrive autos...the new electronic ones have a power mode, as soon as you put the foot down more than coast, they come out of 4th, only over 100 kms/hr will they go in 4th..so the computer has engineered us out of a problem. Thesame auto but driven in economy mode will prematurely fail pulling a van up a hill in overdrive...but to some, common sense to read the destruction manual b4 commensing is not part of their makeup.
AnswerID: 249618

Reply By: AndrewW - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:53

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:53
I have a 02 Hilux and regularly tow a 4.5 metre fibreglass boat. I always intended to only use 4th gear, but found that at 100kmh on flats and downhills it did it very easily in 5th. I have since used 5th whenever possible, but at the first sign of hills or a head wind, I am back to 4th. I have noticed that after the first few trips, 5th gear does wine a bit more, but to date there has been no issues.

My mechanic also recommended changing the gearbox oil and using a good quality oil too.
AnswerID: 249623

Reply By: Member - Peter (1) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:28

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:28
G'day Doug,

I own a '93 Holden Rodeo Spacecab TD and tow a 16 foot Windsor Escape Offroad caravan (around 1600 - 1700 Kgs fully loaded), and have towed it all around Aust. in the last 9 years, many Klms offroad, including Gibb River road, Great Central road, Oodnadatta track and Darling River run (Bourke to Wentworth).
For the last 8 years I have always towed in 4th. gear after being told by a friend that I would have trouble if I continued to tow in 5th. I did a test on the Eyre Hwy on a trip back home one time. I measured distance on a tank full towing in 5th. and measured distance on a tank full towing in 4th. whilst maintaining the same speed where possible. The distance travelled was practically the same in both cases. I figured that there was less strain on the engine (and gearbox) towing in 4th. that gave me the economy. I usually travel at 85 - 90 Kph with the RPM at 29 - 30 thousand.
When I use to tow in 5th. I always had to change down to 4th. when I came to hills so being lazy, like I am, I now leave it in 4th.

It doesn't get any better than this!!!
Peter (1)

AnswerID: 249696

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:12

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:12
Thanks for your reply, I would say that every vehicle - Caravan/trailer is going to have different circumstances, At the moment I have 265 / 70R /16 size tyres and that does make a big differece to the way a vehicle can travel, I did notice the change when I come in size from 265 / 75R /16 size tyres , it has made it easier on the motor and gearbox , It seems a lot of readers missed my point about how , when and why , Like you and a few others here we do use the brain a bit and can tell when the vehicle begins to work even the slightest and drop out of 5th just this short run from Perth I only used 5th when I felt it going easy , so of the 254klm I reackon maybe 75 klm was in 5th and that was a lot of down hill .

Doug

FollowupID: 510711