caravan battery

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:55
ThreadID: 47187 Views:2722 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Hi all, I have a 100ah cranking battery connected to an 100ah AGM deep cycle Aux battery via an automatic isolator in my ute and wish to add a deep cycle battery to the caravan. Do I need another isolator or can I just wire the caravan battery to the existing isolator along with the aux battery?

Thank's in anticipation

Reply By: disco1942 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 01:19

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 01:19
If your van battery is identical to the existing deep cycle battery you may get away without using a second isolator. If the battery is different then I would definitely use a second isolator. For a second Isolator I would probably use a high current relay or solenoid controlled by the run position on the ignition switch.

However if you have a solar charging installation on your van I suggest you do not connect the van battery to your vehicle alternator. After the motor has warmed up (ie after 1/2 hours running) the temperature compensation in the alternator will lower its output voltage to be lower than the solar panels would be charging your battery without the alternator connected. This will mean that the battery charge rate will be reduced.

When you have a deep cycle battery in a van you should also have a good 3 or 4 stage battery charger for when you are on a powered site and to maintain the battery when you are at home. The most efficient way to way to charge your battery from your tug is to feed the battery charger from an inverter fed from the 12V system in the tug. Mount the inverter near the battery charger so that you can transfer the charger 240V power plug from its power point to the 240V outlet on the inverter. Doing it this simple way will mean that you do not need to employ an electrician. If you desire to have an inverter connected to the vans existing wiring then this must be done by a licensed tradesman.

AnswerID: 249589

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:53

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:53

Please explain how using a second isolator will help if the two batteries are nit identical ?
FollowupID: 510599

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 00:21

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 00:21

If you parallel two batteries that are not identical one battery will fight the other. All text books warn about parallel dissimilar batteries. When you have the motor switched off the battery with the higher potential will discharge into the other. There will be times that you do not think to unplug the van when the motor is not running like when you stop on the side of the road overnight. It is safer to have separate isolators. A simple relay or solenoid is sufficient to use as the second isolator so that the two deep cycle batteries are only paralleled when the ignition switch is in the run position.

FollowupID: 510792

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 06:56

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 06:56
Hi Peter, as posted below, even if you have identical batteries it is rare that they will both be charged to the exact same level so having different types of batteries is not going to be all that relevant.

Furthermore after a drive of a few hours ( provided you had fitted thick enough cable between the tow vehicle’s batteries and the battery in the caravan ), all batteries, no matter what type, size or age, would all have a pretty similar state of charge so there would be very little discharge from any one battery to any other.

This is one of those myths that is based on half truths and then manipulated to the point of having nothing to do with the normal operation of a dual battery system.

One more point, again, if you fit the correct size cable in the first place, there is absolutely no reason to use an form of secondary charging devices in any dual battery set up. This is no more than a case of people being so fascinated with the technology that they loose sight of what they can already do with the existing set up.

Remember, people have been using nothing more than there alternator to successfully charge all their batteries, for more than 30 years and again, the biggest single thing anybody can do to give themselves the best possible chance to charge their batteries, all their batteries, properly and in a reasonable time frame, is to fit adequately sized cable for the job at hand.

FollowupID: 510802

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:10

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:10
"If you parallel two batteries that are not identical one battery will fight the other."
- well, how can I argue with a technical explanation like that.

"All text books warn about parallel dissimilar batteries."
- a good rule used in a bad way. If you have starter motor that draws 500amps and you originall had two 300CCA batteries in it would be bad to only replace one.
But in a 4WD where the starting and camping batteries will have totally levels of charge the "only parallele identical batteries" rule becomes meaningless.

" When you have the motor switched off the battery with the higher potential will discharge into the other."
- NO IT WON'T. Stop beleiving the myth and test it yourself like I did. Connect a discharged battery and full battery and a few amphours will transfer - that's all.

" There will be times that you do not think to unplug the van when the motor is not running like when you stop on the side of the road overnight. It is safer to have separate isolators."
- agreed - a good point.
FollowupID: 511151

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 03:08

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 03:08
Chris,

How old is the "100ah cranking battery"? Sounds like a waste of a deep cycle battery there mate. Cranking batteries require Cold Cranking Amps (big grunt for a short time) rather than Amp Hours. (continuous deep drain over a long period of time)

Anyway, there are two options to consider for the third battery in the Van.

1. Providing you use heavy enough cable to limit voltage drop, you may get away with running a dual cable from the Auxiliary battery terminals to an Anderson connector at the back of the vehicle and then to the caravan.

2. Alternatively, you can run a lighter duty cable from the Auxiliary battery terminals to an Anderson connector at the back of the vehicle and then to the Van, but terminating in an Arrid Twin Charge unit which "boosts" the voltage charge going to the Van's battery.

In either case the one Isolator in the vehicle is all that is required to give the Starting battery priority preference when recharging and keeping it and any other batteries electrically separated.

AnswerID: 249593

Reply By: drivesafe - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 06:44

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 06:44
Hi kukmasta, as long as you run thick enough cable in the first place, say 6B&S ( 13.5mm2 ), from your vehicle’s auxiliary battery to your proposed new battery in the caravan, you will have no problems.

It won’t matter what type of battery either one is, because when connected together while driving, your alternator will be supplying a much higher voltage than any of your batteries so the alternator will charge all batteries at the same time, at what ever current level each individual battery will require.

With the motor off and your Isolator has your cranking battery separated from the two auxiliary batteries, your two auxiliary batteries can stay connected in parallel and supplying your caravan while stopped and any load needed to supply the caravan will simply be drawn at the same voltage level from both batteries.

Again, there is no problem with having two batteries of different types, size and/or age, even if you have two identical batteries of the same type, size and age, you are still going to end up with differences in charge levels in either battery and charging and usage is no different to having mixed types of batteries or identical types.

The only thing to avoid if possible, is when connecting the tow vehicle to the caravan, try not to do this until you are ready to actually drive. If you do connect and your motor is not running and if you have a fully charged auxiliary battery in the two vehicle and a fairly low battery in the caravan, your going to end up with two fairly low batteries.

There is not going to be a problem if you do connect and don’t have the motor running. There won’t be a sudden rush of huge currents between the batteries and it would take at least a few hour to lower the vehicle’s auxiliary battery voltage, it’s just a waste of power that you may not be aware of and you do a short drive and think you have heaps of power in your vehicle’s auxiliary battery.

Use 50 amp Anderson plugs to connect the battery cables between your tow vehicle and caravan and as you are only adding a 100 A/H battery in the caravan, fit 30 amp automotive type automatic reset circuit breakers at either end of the positive cable, as close as practical to each battery’s positive terminal.

AnswerID: 249597

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:36

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:36
Chris, my set up is exactly as Drivesafe describes. Only variations for my set up are 25mm sq cable, 175 Amp Anderson Plug and 50 Amp Circuit breakers. Reason for my larger dimensions is that I often carry two x 120 AH AGMs in the camper trailer.

Leaving aside the difference is size of components, the system has worked very well for me.
AnswerID: 249602

Reply By: kukmasta - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:36

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:36
Thank's to all who helped, I am now able to go ahead. I have chosen to run heavy duty cables to an Anderson plug and charge the Aux battery in the van in parallel with the ute aux battery.

Hitting the road up to Gulf next week Cheers all.

P.S. What a great forum.
AnswerID: 249621

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 01:27

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 01:27
kukmasta, you have done ok
by heavy duty cables I can only hope you get the "thickest" cable (not including the plastic) that will fit the Anderson plug.
FollowupID: 511064

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:16

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:16
Hi Chris

There is an article here on the site to help you with this project.

Article

You will have no problem with charging these batteries if the alternator and isolator are in good condition.

I run an AGM 120 a/h battery in my own van and a MRV70 (dual purpose battery) in the car as an aux. I was running a pre-trip test yesterday and my AGM at 60% SOC was pulling 28 amps initially and then settled to 18 amps after 10 mins at fast idle. I use 8 B&S cable from front to back.

Derek.

AnswerID: 249643