Submitted: Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:06
Daz83K
Hey guys,
I'm a long time reader, first time poster. My name is Daz, I've just seen the light and I've bought into the 4WD crowd with a 2004 Dual Cab T/D rodeo and am really impressed with it. Am hoping to travel in the next year or so and hope to be able to utilise the great advice on this
forum.
Anyhow, I have done a search but I am not sure if anyone has answered this one. In the car I've just bought, it has an old CDMA carkit, I've just made the switch to a Telstra NextG mobile so the carkit is seemingly useless. My question is, is there any way that I can simply change the cradle at all and find at least a plug that will go into the new NextG phone at all? all while utilising the whip aerial on the outside of the car and the carkit bits leftover inside?
Anyhelp would be appreciated.
Daz
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:29
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:29
Daz
Personally I wouldn't be bothered with it, rip it out, the new phone probably won't fit the cradle, and that's about all one needs as far as I'm concerned, I've tried explaining the piddly little bit of benefit by having an external antenna but don't seem to sink in , you might find it in the archives from about a month back i think ,
With or without an antenna, Next G or CDMA your not going to get service between towns in more remote parts , service for an extra 15 - 25klm which will be between 10 to 14 minutes is not worth the trouble ,
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 10:50
Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 10:50
Hi Doug, cant agree with your position re car kits & extra service. You are right if you are mobile between towns but if you are bogged to the guts outside the
service area & a car kit gives you service things are different. I operate in marginal
service zones & the car kit is invaluable. I have yet to upgrade but would like to retain same kit if possible. Cheers...oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 23:55
Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 23:55
oldbaz
You know what your problems are, you blokes live by to much What IFs instead of What IS
Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:19
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:19
Hi Doug,
well that certainly supports your theory on the value of car kits. Why
couldnt I see that ? :))). ....oldbaz.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:49
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:49
Barry
Was giving your post some more thought,
What did they do in the days before mobile phones, WALK
What happens when your outside the external Ant' range...WALK
If you have doubts, don't go where your gonna get bogged, and if you do get bogged you wait for someone to come, as I did for 39 hours west of
Todmorden Stn on the
Oodnadatta track 1967....lol
Doug
Follow Up By: John R (SA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:35
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:35
Come on Doug, it's a bit ignorant to assume that everyone is in the same situation as you!
We don't all drive from one service area to another, mate. I live and work in an area where reception ranges from reliable to marginal to nil with a handset only. Our business has evolved, over the last ten+ years, to rely on the coverage provided by a carkit & aerial because every system since the inception of such gadgets has had them.
It's not a matter of waiting ten minutes to make a call. It now means spending three quarters of the day without good enough reception to make a call while on the move. There are significant issues for us as a consequence.
I am sure everyone has their own and varied reasons for wanting increased range. Please don't assume we're all cruising the highways & able to wait for the next service area!!
Reply By: Zodarp - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:43
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:43
Hi Daz
If you have a genuine nokia car kit it may have bluetooth capability. This means that it may still be valuable as a handsfree setup. Disconnect and discard the handset cradle but leave the microphone, speaker and control box. Enable bluetooth on the phone and search for compatible devices.
The only thing you need is a place to store the phone and a 12v charger.
Zodarp
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:53
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:53
Nokia don't make a NextG phone, as I recall.
Reply By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 15:22
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 15:22
Daz,
I'm in the same boat as my CDMA is a bit tired to say the least.
My telephone supplier is still waiting for Nokia to bring out a G model that is compatible with the CDMA car kit.
She thinks it is going to happen soon and will simply be a cradle change but still has no dates yet
Follow Up By: Member - Effie C (ACT) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:53
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 22:53
Our Telsta account manager sent me the blurb on the new Nokia next g phone which is due for release at the end of July.I ts a Nokia 6120
Site Link
Reply By: Sibe - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 15:22
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 15:22
I'm on the bluetooth bandwagon.
Around town I use my mobile more in the car than any other place, and I use a bluetooth handsfree kit. It's called the "blueant supertooth" and you'll get one for around $120. It clips on the sun visor and has both a speaker and microphone, and an adjustable volume control. Been using it for at least 12 months and never had one person complain about the clarity or volume on their end.
The mobile can sit wherever you want, and you don't even need to touch the mobile to answer it with this thing....best hansfree unit i've ever used.
Sibe
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:54
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:54
But it doesn't connect an external antenae that is adding anything to his NextG reception.
Reply By: Ronnie - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:08
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:08
I got an adaptor to fit my Samsung and use the CDMA antenna,gives me the same next G reception as CDMA on the west coast of Tassie,only loose it where cdma coverage was lost as
well.
Regards Ronnie
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:57
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:57
Ronnie,
Which samsung do you have? SGH-A501?
Is it the patch lead that sits over the stubby aerial?
If so, does it make a difference?
I saw one the other day and was wondering, was thinking i could try it out and if it was good the antenna could double as my wireless broadband antenna when we travel, broadband will be just what we need at Warraweena!!!
NickR
Follow Up By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:33
Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:33
Ronnie, I'm interested too.
The last time tyhis topic came up I had a lead for a bloke who could rig up my A701 . That came to nothing. I am interested in the where you obtained the cradle to enable re-using existing wiring, antennae and microphone. (my CDMA calls-received came over the inbuilt car stereo speakers)
Follow Up By: Ronnie - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:21
Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:21
Ava191,
Unfortunately I use my old nokia 2010 cradle modified,just to hold the phone, the antenna patch lead (connected to aerial)sits over the stubby aerial and power adapter to cigarette lighter plug.
Regards Ronnie
Reply By: 3F62 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:38
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:38
Very much depends on the Next G phone you have purchased........most that I have seen dont have a fixed external antenna capability other than the LG500 & ?? LG550. I went with the LG500 as it had a Car kit option for the 4x4........ It also has a external Antenna patch lead option which with the correct antenna (CDMA) & $15 patch lead dramatically increased my coverage..... So if your phone can take a patch lead & the CDMA antenna you have is in good condition.......$ 15
well spent.....also concour with the bluetooth handsfree options we use our old Nokia (Cark-7) car kit with the cradle removed & works a treat with antenna patch lead in the wifes car.
Follow Up By: Member - Mike (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:13
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:13
My set up has gone from analog to CDMa to 3G. In all cases the car wiring remains the same BUT, cradle does need to be changed. The analog aeraril works
well with the LG500 and the you will also appreciate the wiring to the ignition on / off switch. Here in the country the this system is doing very
well. I found that the "black box" fits
well with a small snap strap? I haven't redrilled etc.
For what it is worth,
regards from rural SA
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:03
Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:03
I have recently upgraded the Nokia Car Kit with a Blue Tooth enabled model. (CK-7W)
I left all cabling, etc. in place and just installed the "
grey box" in place of the older "
grey box" (KARK-91)
This Kit allows phone connection either by Bluetooth, or by placing the phone in the cradle. (The cradle takes preference, so when I install the phone in it, the bluetooth connection drops out. At present I use the GSM phone via Bluetooth and the CDMA phone via the cradle.
I'm impatiently waiting for the Nokia 6120 NextG capable phone to be released. This will also work via bluetooth, or by changing the cradle to suit the phone model. The reason I want the cradle for the NextG phone is for the external aerial connection and the ability to charge the phone while travelling.
I won't be "giving up" the GSM phone as all NextG phones have cameras and they are not allowed at my work place. So I will run both, just like I do at present with the GSM & CDMA phones.
Reply By: Daz83K - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:46
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:46
Thanks for your reply guys, much appreciated. Unfortunately I don't have bluetooth, or
well, it doesn't connect to it. Looks like I'll just rip it out, I don't need it, just thought if it worked and was easy to make work why not use it :)
Daz.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:57
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:57
If the aerial connection was via a proximity set up rather than a plug, then it is likely to work - get some velcro or rubber bands - whatever works, and see if it improves coverage.