Tim Owen
Heading off on Sunday for 3 months inc Tanami,
Gibb River,
Mitchell Plateau, Mornington
Camp, Karrajini etc.
Driving 1992 1HZ troopy - leaf all round. Do I need to carry spare shocks?
Reply By: V8 Troopie - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 23:02
Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 23:02
I would think you could drive, albeit uncomfortably, with dud shock absorbers.
But I would carry a spare steering damper. I had
mine break the weld of the attaching eye and the troopy was just about undrivable without it. Had to crawl a less than 20kmh to the
shop to get a new one fitted, luckily it was in town where it broke.
Klaus
Follow Up By: ozwasp - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:33
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:33
Spare shock absorber bushes would be good to take, as they are usually one of the first things to wear and they are very cheap compared to new shockies.
Reply By: Godlike Chef - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 01:39
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 01:39
I drove my 1988 DA Maverick around for about 4 months before I finally had the money to sort out the dud shockie on the back, had numerous people tell me how it affects steering and control etc etc etc which it does but you just have to be more careful. Not saying I would recommend it but it just makes for a bumpier ride and puts pressure on springs. ours got us from
Broome to
Sydney and round the bottom half and back to
Broome again albeit on Bitumen but still made it and did a couple of tracks out to
Willie Creek (Town side not the pearl farm side) and around and about before I fixed it. So in conclusion I would say probably be ok but remember everything costs more up here than in cities ($140ea as opposed to $90ea for my shocks).
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 06:06
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 06:06
no - you will hardly notice a shock going. I had a crapped out one totally stuffed for i dunno how long 9only found out when I gor bored and removed them for checking. I replaced them and couldnt notice any difference
Reply By: DarrynJ - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 07:57
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 07:57
G'Day Tim, have you sorted that Barrett HF out yet? Regd's Darryn
Follow Up By: Tim Owen - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 13:20
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 13:20
G'day Darryn - I think so. One of the VKS operatirs was kind enough to dial in from a couple of different bases, and was able to receive and transmit OK. I took the advice and 'upgraded' the earth to body and will see how we go. I can pretty relaible get a
beacon call out to a base, so while I'm a little surprised at the quality of the receive so far, I'm confident I'll be able to make contact with someone if it hits the fan.
Follow Up By: DarrynJ - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:27
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:27
Good stuff Tim, have a great trip. I might catch you again one day and you can tell me all about it.
Cheers Darryn
Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:07
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:07
NO I wouldn't ..On coils thats another story.
Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:18
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:18
Be interested to know why coils another story? JD
Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:39
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:39
Hi Jd
Coils are simply a lot more springy. (Oscillations are damped much less)
Sort of like bouncing a tennis ball and then bouncing one of those compacted rubber "superballs".
The superball bounces right back to you as does a coil whereas the leaf spring sort of only comes half back.
The leaf also has more directional locating characteristics, and needs shock less.
Follow Up By: Stu050 - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:53
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:53
There is also the dampening effect of the friction between the spring leaves.
Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:09
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 09:09
thanks Chaps, understood - shockers more likely to go in a car with coils.
Tim's question is still relevant for coil cars. Should us coil car drivers carry spare shocks?
I made a dscision not to carry spare shockers cos we tour as a family of 4 - lots of gear, heavy enough already plus have HF etc. Have OME shockers which I think are good, done 20K km and quite a bit offroad. We do do remote trips, fair bit alone. Any thoughts on that also appreciated? JD
Follow Up By: Tony - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:13
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:13
JD, on trips like the CSR, coil sprung vehicles are more likely to have shocks fail on the rear, due to extra load and track conditions.
Last trip on the CSR, I was in a leaf sprung vehicle and had no issues, but saw first hand, 9 coil sprung 4WD's with blown shocks in the rear.
Head off in about four weeks down the CSR, this time in a GU with OME Susspension, and carrying a set of spare shocks for the rear. We will be on our pat malone. I also have air bags on the rear and added steel straps over the top of the rear spring mounts.
Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:20
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:20
thanks Tony.
"9 coil sprung 4WD's with blown shocks" - a worry! I've been surprised to see so many poorly prepared vehicles; few safety features and none of the important improvements, in remote lcoations. D'ya recall if they were aftermarket / quality units that failed? JD
Follow Up By: Tony - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:27
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:27
A least 4 were after market, that I can remember. As far as I recall 1 brand new GU straight off the showroom floor, driver by the dealer. Not a happy chappy.
Follow Up By: AndrewX - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 23:38
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 23:38
The only failure I've seen was after market shocks on a leaf sprung troopy. I've done over 400K km in a Toyota and never had a shock problem. No problems for that matter except for one flat tyre.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 06:09
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 06:09
Andrew are you saying that you have had the same shocks on for 400,000 k and they are stock on from the factory.
all the best
Reply By: Keith_A (Qld) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:22
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:22
Hi Tim - Should be dry by the time you get there.
We just returned from the NT, and had planned some of those tracks.
We were told - Gibb closed; Tanami -not sure if closed but wet, and several creeks across the road. Road trains all stopped at
Kununurra and
Cape Crawford etc.
Winton to Longreach road closed for a period - flooding (creeks all up when we passed).
We drove the
Tablelands highway - It was closed to heavy traffic - single lane bitumen with wet boggy edges. Some creeks flooding on
Savannah way.
You may need to stay flexible with your plans, and check local conditions.
On the Exploroz home page, look under 'Topics' then click 'Road Conditions' and select the areas you intend driving.
....................................Keith
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:14
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:14
Seems everything is opening up now including the National Parks in the area.
Tanami has certainly opened up.
Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:11
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:11
Ye one of the blokes from work was stuck with his road train at the
WA/NT border all this week, i think he crossed yesterday though, so maybe it's opened up a bit as Andrew says
Reply By: Russ n Sue - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:28
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:28
Right at the moment I'd be more worried about carrying spare blankets!!! Have you seen how cold it has been up there lately?
Russ.
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:29
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:29
I've got coils all round and wouldn't go without spare shocks - at times on those roads you will of course strike corrugations - often mild, sometimes bad, sometimes horrendous - have seen people crawling along like snails in those areas, to avoid excessive wheel bounce (presuming shocks have fritzed) - I upgraded shocks and took the old ones along for the Gibb, the
Mitchell P and the Tanami - do not count on finding even common shocks at roadhouses and remote repairers. Hell.... we take bushes too - they can chew out in a hurry too (depending on various factors). Moderate driving habits of course can help to avoid nearly all of the above - those that flog their rigs along these roads have 90% of the trouble I'm sure - plenty of drivers up there have a trouble free experience.
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:34
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:34
Pete from Great Divide Tours was telling me (when I bumped into him in
Marla) that on his recent CSR trip he replaced a front shocker on an IFS cruiser.
I can imagine replacing a front one, but a rear one would be a hell of a lot of work on the side of the road.
Andrew.
Follow Up By: jeffwa - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:52
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:52
Why would the rear one be hard? I changed
mine out the surf by myself in about half an hour and I've never done them before. Just interested, are the cruisers different?
I don't know where you blokes store all of these spares when you go away, bloody hell with the roof rack loaded we've barley got enough room for the essentials! LOL
I would have thought correct tyre pressuers and travelling at the right speed with good quality shocks would be more beneficial than lugging shocks around with you and changing them on the side of the road, but hey, that's just me! :-P
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:12
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:12
Just accessibility really - the rear is a bugger to get to and line up the bushes without the benefit of a pit to work in.
I carry one spare of each front and rear, which is generally in my spares kit in the trailer but they are a considerable weight. I have donated one of them to a fellow traveller with a problem but never had to use one myself.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:15
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:15
Dig a hole
young fella, dig a hole(to replace rear shocks......lol
R U coming next weekend????
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:57
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:57
other thing to consider is could you even remove the shock out bush? some can be done in 1/2 hour others would be easier to remove if they were welded on
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:17
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:17
I carry spare shocks all the time. A full set. Coil
suspension.
This comes from busting two front shocks on the CSR many years ago. Its a long story but the upshot is that I will never buy another Gabriel Product again.
Reply By: Member - Hughesy (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:51
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:51
Hi Tim,
Need to thing about Shock protection too. As with all Cruisers the rear shock is in front of the diff and cops an absolute flogging from stones. I've always cable-tied some
conveyor belt/rubber over the front of the rear shocks to minimise this damage. On my 100s the top cover kept rotating around leaving the rubber flap to the side of the shock - fair enough I did a run out to
William Creek one weekend and noticed the back end took a bit to settle down after going thru dips or over bumps.....pulled up and a stone had punctured the shock base and let all the oil out. The shock was only 2000km old. Most good shocks now have the double skin of metal on the front bottom 2 inchs of shock to reduce the possibility of this happening.
If your going to be doing a lot of dirt than probably good insurance to carry a spare but for a leaf sprung vehicle you could drive 100's of km with out one and wouldn't be that bad. I drove the 130km
home and it really didn't make much difference - certainly wasn't uncomfortable...just different.
Have a good trip anyway mate.