Submitted: Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:14
Scoey (QLD)
A common topic amongst threads on this
forum is beer so I figure this isn't that off topic! hehe!
Anyway - I'm quite a novice Home Brewer, using the plain ol' Coopers Micro-Brewery kit. I've made a couple of tasty drops now but and I'm thinking I might get a little more adventurous. I am thinking of brewing a Dark Ale or a Stout. I've read up a little bit and have found that ideally you should shelf these brews once bottled for up to 2 years! I'm generally flat out waiting 4 weeks before ripping the top off a new recipe so 2 years will be a stretch!
Anyone brew their own Dark or Stout and if you do, how soon can you get into them with good results? Also, anything you have to do different with these varieties?
Scoey!
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:36
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:36
Scoey,
Are you sure that your not my FIL??
He culdn't go 3 weeks from bottling a new brew, so to help him out I'd take a dozen bottles from each brew and store them in my garage for up to 18 months before I returned them, or he visited. (he's in Woolgoolga and I'm in
Sydney)
He's lucky I'm not a big beer drinker hey, I had up to 30 different brews at any one time in storage for him.
There is a few home brewers here so no doubt they will help you out.
Have a good one
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Scoey (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:45
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:45
Yeah sounds about right! Apparently I drink too much beer so SWMBO thought if I had to make my own it might slow me down. Now it's more fun and cheaper! hehe!
Cheers Kev,
Scoey!
Reply By: slave - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:37
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:37
There is now way a batch of home brew would last 2 years around here, it might keep that long but it would be long gone.
Don't think that home brew is cheap. Add in the bottles ( you need lots), different hops, malt, this and that, then the bigger frementer, more storage room.......it all adds up..... forgot to add that the hop plants arrive next month.....
and I don't even drink the stuff
Mrs S
Reply By: Gob & Denny - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:11
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:11
get every body to donate bottles and stubbies so you can get
well ahead
when i was brewing i had up to 100 doz settling on the shelf last 1 to be drunk after i moved to melb and stopped brewing was 2.5 years old a nd smooth as
but you need to brew flat out for a while and i hope your guts doesnt get as big as
mine did
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:33
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:33
When the FIL started he was living in
Sydney and me having a ute was conned into helping him collect empties. The best time to collect we found was in locations that had recycling. We cleaned up one morning someone had just stopped homebrewing and we scored 500 long necks, needless to say we didn't collect many more after that LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: guzzi - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:54
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:54
Scoey,
Try this link;
www.homebrewandbeer.com/
the
forum is very good and covers what you want to do.
cant help other than the above link as I quite happy with lagers and bitters atm and haven't attempted a stout.
Pete
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:24
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:24
Hows it going Scoey,
Just get the keg system , you will never wash another bottle again.
Also if you are a very desperate individual you can have it out of the fermenter and being drunk in 3 days !
Glenn.
Reply By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 08:21
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 08:21
Hi Scoey, can only offer you 15 years experience home brewing but here goes..
I recomend Coopers Classic Old Dark Ale, in fact thats all I brew these days. You
can fool around with buying all the bits & adding them together but I got sick of that & just use Coopers tins...tip it in wait a week then bottle..easy.
It is true that ageing improves the drop. I am drinking 4 year old stuff at the moment.. beautiful. I suggest 3 months as the minimum. Get into it & build up your stocks is the way to go & then brew to replace at the rate you drink it.
Stubbies are time wasters, go for long necks, wash out immediately & store upside
down. Milk crates hold 14 bottles, I make 28 to a brew. mark top with ID. Good
luck with it....oldbaz.
Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 10:39
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 10:39
Haha! I see I'm not the only one with the "problem" ;-)
Thanks for all the advice everyone - much appreciated!
Scoey!
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 12:45
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 12:45
Careful with that stuff Scoey, I know one Sydneysider (going to Warraweena) who has had food poisening with home brew. Has a special fridge and kegs for it too. I visited the family at one stage, and he had quite a severe case next day. Obviously wasn't something I ate either. He couldn't go to work actually.
Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 20:15
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 20:15
Gday Scoey
As has been covered in above posts, brew lots and you can get ahead. I only do coopers stout and ginger beer (ginger beer gets a shot of rum and now started putting chillie in it as
well). I do nothing different with the dark beers than the others, but it is a little slower to ferment and does like to be left a little longer.
I now have 4 coopers kits, probably should go the keg system. It makes the bottleing day a biggie, but you end up with the equivelant of 240 odd stubbies out of it, so I don't have to do it all that often. Bottles is the hardest thing, although I have an unlimited supply of stubbies. This is handy for camping/fishing etc, as I don't bother using them ones again. Stout in coke bottles is a good disguise......
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 09:57
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 09:57
g'day Scoey,
you can get into stouts after a few weeks or make them up with extra
water to get a heavy dark ale. you can add lactose to get an even smoother stout.
as someone else mentioned, no way would a hb last 2 yrs at my house, but if it is in glass with a proper seal it will last. mate of
mine had a batch of cider he forgot about, under the house. 9 yrs later he found them, weren't too bad either.
just follow the label and you'll be right. Black Stump stout is a good 'un.