Ratchet tie down straps

Submitted: Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:38
ThreadID: 47333 Views:7833 Replies:11 FollowUps:6
Are the ratchet tie down straps they sell in Kmart, supercheap etc any good. Are there better ones you can buy, and if so any clues as to where. I mainly want something to hold down a flat table on a roof rack. Didn't think occy straps would be suitable. Thanks
Cheers Peter and Lez

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:44

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:44
I use Just Straps

www.juststraps.com.au/

I have used them to hold a table on my roof rack for atrip from Sydney to SW QLD and they did not need retensioning at any stage of the trip.

AnswerID: 250390

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:35

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:35
Thanks Kev, will check them out tomorrow.
FollowupID: 511580

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:45

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:45
G'day Peter and Lez,

I have a couple of the orange rachet straps and the shorter blue ones that are similar, but not rachet action.

Both types work well and I use them to secure swags onto roof rack &/or the camper roof. No worries at all.

Cheers and hope to see you at Warraweena

AnswerID: 250391

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 07:15

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 07:15
We'll be there
FollowupID: 511621

Reply By: Hairy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:46

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:46
Some are good others arent.
You need to have a look at them and make your own mind up. They are pretty cheap, I usually buy a set and try them out...if they are any good go back and get some more if not dont.
If the question is.....
Are ratchet ties in general any good???
Yes
AnswerID: 250393

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:46

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:46
Just watch some of them are UV-sensitive, although mine tend to get too dirty too quickly anyways, and are just replaced.
AnswerID: 250394

Reply By: hoyks - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:49

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:49
I have used them for years and not had a problem apart from a spot weld on a ratchet breaking. It was 12 years old, so fair enough.
I used them for holding spare tyres, the Engle, jerry cans and even furniture building and god knows what else. Even when they start to fray they have a surprising amount of strength, they don't just let-go like ocky straps can.

For the boat I got a heavy duty one made by Just-Straps, but for what you are talking about, then they would be fine
AnswerID: 250395

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:50

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:50
I've been disappointed with the ones I bought - they fray in no time, but do the job when new.

I've gone back to occy straps, but not the ones you buy which can take out an eye in no time. I make my own - buy the good quality 8mm or 10mm elastic strap - I tie a loop in one end, and add a hook to the other. The loop threads through my mesh rack, so it can't come off, and the hook end loops thru the mesh, and is tensioned nicely. Nothing comes loose or rattles with occy straps, but I usually have one more than needed to hold stuff down.
AnswerID: 250397

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:34

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:34
Where can I buy some of this elastic strap from Phil?
FollowupID: 511579

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:40

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:40
I've bought it off the roll at Snowys. You can also get it at other camping stores, Whitworths at Port Adelaide and I think Bunnings. I just make them the length I need. Its made in Australia - tends to last a lot longer than the cheap occy straps you get at most places.
FollowupID: 511583

Follow Up By: hoyks - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:51

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:51
It is also known as 'Shock Cord', but if you say occy strap stuff they should know what you are on about.
FollowupID: 511751

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:08

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:08
Peter and Lez
Yep, Kev is spot on , I think ARB has some good products too, .If your going to use it for tying on something of value then don't buy the cheap stuff, they would be the ones you see lying in the middle of the freeways after they have failed.

Doug

AnswerID: 250401

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 23:32

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 23:32
Hi Pete and Lez, most 4wd shops have tie downs for sale or you could visit Nobles on Grand Junction rd they have everything and good gear too.
AnswerID: 250417

Reply By: brushmarx - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 10:52

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 10:52
I bought some Super Cheap ones some months ago, but they were so poorly made, you need leather gloves to release the ratchet, or the crappy metal catch would slice your fingertips off.
They did work okay, but if you don't have protection, your adding skills deteriorate each time thay are used.
AnswerID: 250461

Reply By: Member - Julie P (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:59

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:59
Look for a product called "Andystraps" - wide webbing with extra strong velcro -
try a google search - they are made in Ffrankston Vic - in New Street -
you can buy direct from them.
jules
AnswerID: 250559

Follow Up By: Pete and Lez S.A. - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:43

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:43
Thanks Julie, checked them out at ARB on Monday, packet says "not recommended for broad flat items that are exposed to wind lift eg. sheets of plywood on roof racks" thought that probably covered a flat table on roof racks as well. But I did buy some to hold the tent on the roof racks.
Cheers Peter and Lez
FollowupID: 511735

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:03

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:03
all ratchet straps rust or corrode more or less..
Use marine grade stainless transom straps or alike with cam buckles (over center they call them here I think) .. quicker to use and less corosion with stainless ..

good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 250575