Simpson update
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 12:51
Member - Wim (Qld)
To: The uncaring and thoughtless individual who left their black plastic bag of rubbish on the QAA line on or about the 16th of June.
Your rubbish has been removed from
the desert.
If this is an indication of your lack of thought for
the desert then please do not bother to return to
the desert or for that matter any other part of the outback.
Now that feels better. I've been waiting for three weeks to get that of my chest.
To all who have yet to enjoy
the desert, please consider what it would look like if everybody left their rubbish behind. Please show at least a small amount of consideration.
Safe traveling everybody.
Reply By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:08
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:08
I agree with you 100% Wim.
But I would also like to think that nobody would do that on purpose so I'm hoping that it was left behind by accident, or fell off a roof rack/trailer unnoticed.
Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:21
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:21
Greydemon (WA)
Unfortunately the bag was neatly left a meter or so just off the track.
No accident, in fact we think we past the culprits earlier. They were drinking the same brand of beer.
Reply By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:32
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:32
Well said! Take a look at the picture of the
camp at
Gunshot creek on my pics. Amazing what some people elave behind! We're plannng to do teh
Hay trip next year.
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:42
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:42
Hello P & J - we are planning to do the
Hay in 08 also. Ruth and Ian
Follow Up By: Peter McG (Member, Melbourne) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:47
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:47
Hi Ruth,
We must try and catch up then. I think it will be this time - Vic school holidays or soon after. Keep in touch.
Peter and Jan
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:52
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:52
Ha, Peter, I see you are busy at your desk! Oh good about the trip because we'll be in Bdv all next winter - good place to trip from, sort of central. We won't be hard to find - you've got my email.
Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:16
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:16
To be honest, I would sincerely hope that your admonishment is not read here.
It would be a sad day if an EO member/visitor was the culprit.
Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:25
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:25
Shaker
I understand your sentiment however, maybe not members but visitors or even just a gentle prod to insure others may not be as careless.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:08
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:08
Unfortunately desecration of these areas has become a fact of life, in 2005 when we were in the Simpson, we saw about 6 or 8 full garbage bags stacked behind some scrub, but just didn't have the available space to carry them out.
But, we usually bring more rubbish home than we create, no matter where we
camp.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 01:54
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 01:54
Totally agree guys... I'm not one for burning plastic etc under normal circumstances, but if I found half a dozen bags of garbage and could't remove them, I think I would have to put them in a
clearing and throw some fuel over them and burn them..... I believe it would be the better of the 2 evils...
Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 06:54
Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 06:54
Unfortunately cans and bottles dont burn...a fact that also seems to escape many campers. I regularly collect rubbish such as cans and broken bottles from sites of
camp fires. I just don't understand the mentality of a person who does this.
The last time I collected a pile of bottles and cans, there happened to be a rego slip with them, and I knew the guy's parents, so I happily returned the rubbish to the owner. He wasn't so happy to get it back.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 09:39
Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 09:39
David .... hear hear!
I also have absolutely no idea why people persist in throwing cans & bottles into
camp fires.
Every time I say anything I get howled down, with ... "they burn away" ... AS IF!
A can crushes to about 15mm thick under a
well delivered Blundstone, as far as stubbies go,
well don't even start me on that subject.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 11:07
Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 11:07
I probably should have explained myself better. As I said "if I found half a dozen bags of garbage and could't remove them, I think I would have to put them in a
clearing and throw some fuel over them and burn them". I believe on average I would then have only one bag of bottles and cans to remove, which most of us could find room for, cans squashed down take up very little room. six bags is a little different.
It amazes me that canvas spare wheel garbage bags have been around for quite a few years now and very few are seen by us in the bush...
Reply By: TrishP - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:24
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:24
I totally agree with you too. It is these thoughtless individuals that end up destroying it for all us and in the end we have locked gates etc.etc. I belong to Inverell 4WD Club and wherever we go our rubbish goes with us. No-one knows we have been there. I am crossing the Simpson in August and certainly do not want to see the remains from thoughtless humans who couldn't give a bleep about keeping and respecting the beauty of this wonderful country of ours.
Trish
Reply By: whackywombat - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:02
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:02
Thanks for picking up there rubbish.
Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:44
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:44
You didnt happen to have a look in it did you?
My brother came across someones dumping ground in the scrub a few years ago.....The brain dead moorons left their council rate recipts and bank details in there......The council were real keen on chasing the matter up so he took them for a drive and showed them, They threw the book at them.
Reply By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:45
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:45
Good on ya Wim for carrying it out.
As Wim said the bag was definitely left on purpose. Those who I believe responsible also threw cans and bottles out at various points along the track.
I am also yet to find out the fate of the grinding stone at
Lake Caroline that has perhaps been there 100 years maybe 1000. If someone stole that then I am going to be one angry camper.
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:41
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:41
Hi I just replied to a new post today about rubbish in the Simpson. Did you guys have a great time? Got a nice photo of us all meeting up.
Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 17:09
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 17:09
We had a great time. Only a couple of little issues with one traveller but apart from that it was great. Some water around in QLD on the way
home.
Love to see the
pic.
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 18:14
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 18:14
ok David will send it via email. Ian said to tell you that thanks to a Fred 4WD Conversion the rear end (as of today) is now raised about 100mm (maybe more - he forgot to measure before he welded it on!!!) No need for you to bend down to talk in through the window now. Will need a step ladded to climb in the back to visit the dogs!
After blowing a tyre at 6,000 klms we have traded those that were on it and bought 6 Cooper STC's - noticed the difference in the ride coming back from town - bump, bump,bump as opposed to smooth - but maybe the Coopers will like the gibbers better!
Also got the 3" exhaust - more noise and better fuel consumption! (Theory, anyway).
Where are you going next - no, that's right the Kimberleys. I remembered.
Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 20:04
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 20:04
Hey thanks or the piccy..will let Justine read your email prior to responding...sounds like some fun???
All Ian needs to do with the cruiser now is make the rear track the front :-)
Actually going to
Cape York first (on Monday) for 19 days then the
Kimberley..then possibly
Cape York again...still waiting for more numbers on the last
Cape York one.
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 20:40
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 20:40
Can't talk to Ian - El Masri just converted the first try and he's had to make another Rum! Forgot you were going to
Cape York before the Kimberleys.
Yes, that little episode was fun - not. Justine will get a laugh. Uh oh Queensland finally got a try. My cousin (The Colonel I mentioned him to you) and his mob are heading up the
Hay this weekend.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 17:42
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 17:42
The Simpson gets a lot of traffic, so theres bound to be the odd moron.
Well done Wim on picking up the rubbish. Still find it hard to believe that someone would go to the trouble of filling a bag with rubbish, and dump it short of the rubbish dump on the edge of
Birdsville.
In the more popular areas, I think we'll just have to accept that theres morons out there, and many of us will take out more rubbish than we take in. If we find a trashed site, we burn the
toilet paper and the aluminium cans, and carry the bottles in a canvas bag on the roofrack.
Reply By: Member - craig W (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:48
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:48
Well said
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:01
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:01
Wim
Thanks Mate...its a small price to pay to keep a lovely place open for all....its thesame everywhere you go these days...one too many grogs brings the worst out in anyone...but some dont even earn that excuse....not burying their... um...leftovers for others to come by......cutting down shrubs for the fire is another...
BAN BAN BAN...i can see it coming
Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:31
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:31
The morons who leave rubbish in
places like the
Simpson Desert are on a par with the morons who tow trailers in ecologically sensitive areas like the Simpson.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:37
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:37
Do you mean that everyone that tows a trailer in the Simpson is a moron?
If you do, then I guess you walk across there in your bare feet.
How can the towing of trailers make any significant difference to the impact on the Simpson given the traffic going across there?
I'd suspect that my 100 series and trailer - both with low tyre pressures and low speed makes less impact than some of the rampaging hoon-heads to be seen out there, or the Okas and F250s or F350s and other large vehicles one comes across.
Andrew who hopes your overloaded rig doesn't become desert trash when it breaks down out there.
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:49
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:49
Yes Andrew I agree !
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:08
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:08
You'll have to change the signage on your chariot to the Vivid Adventures Fan Club, Pesty.
Andrew who thinks that would be much more appropriate anyway.
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:22
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:22
OR
A "Vivid Pesky Adventure" LOL
Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 02:11
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 02:11
Guys, the only thing I can defend Aandy's comments in are that of the 80% people who take trailers out in the Desert only a very small minority actually know how to drive, and are usually your "hoon-heads to be seen out there, or the Okas and F250s or F350s" now these as you mention are bad enough without trailers but worse with them.
One trip across we met up with Mr Retiree with his brand new T/D 100 series and Cavalier Camper, he had left
Birdsville and hadn't reached Poepels and he had been bogged on nearly every
hill, (inexperience, tyre pressures around 50psi I assume), we could have given him a crash course in driving the desert but luckily for the Simpson his wife and freinds had had enough and were heading back to the black top. So whilst I agree with both Andrew and Pesty, that with the right driver and conditions a Mack Truck can run over these area's leaving little traces of their being their..... not all the people who read these posts have that experience...
So I believe broad statements "morons who tow trailers" or "the Okas and F250s or F350s" are both a little dangerous to make, and tend to lump us all into one group or the other....
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:18
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:18
Right on Blaze - the Aandy bloke seems to have blown on a bit.
Of course I don't decry Okas and Fx50s heading out there either - I don't think they have significant impact either, but make more impact than a well driven vehicle towing a trailer.
Andrew.
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:21
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:21
Thanks Wim. The 'baddies' can be almost anyone.
As for the generalizations and stereotyping mentioned in other posts, just the usual load of crap :))))
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:44
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:44
On ya Wim! Have a good time, did you - apart from that episode? We go back out shortly. We had a bit of fun when we got home from seeing you - but I'll email you with what happened. Left a sour taste anyway.
Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 16:02
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 16:02
Ruth.
Apart from a couple (of what are now minor issues) we had a great time.
Tell Ian we found the water he spoke of. We also had the opportunity for some cross country work and I got to play in the sand again..
Met some great people and found a couple of interesting
places to park the wagon.
Dave is a smooth operator and given the right circumstances we will travel with him again.
All the best and talk to you soon.
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 18:18
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 18:18
Wim, Ian said he's glad about the water. Check my reply to David above to see what he's done with the ute. Interested to hear about the parking
places! David and Justine are lovely (Justine is anyway). Have a nice time on your next trip for your Happy Anniversary - I had to have mine in
Birdsville (again!), not the same as your destination. Am off to Norfolk for 10 days on Boxing Day - looking forward to that. Now the paperwork is nearly finished for end of year off to Bdv again at anytime.
Follow Up By: David from David and Justine Olsen's 4WD Tag-Along - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 06:56
Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 06:56
Justine may be the nice one...but I am the good looking one :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 07:57
Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 07:57
You're so vain - bet you thought this song was about you! Ha ha ha.
Wind is blowing so hard here this a.m. - has been for some hours that Ian reckons it would blow you off your birth certificate.