Questions on Recovering Soft Roaders
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:20
60 series Dave
Hello. Long time reader, first time poster.
Queens Birthday weekend I came across a guy in a Subaru Outback bogged up to the sills on a sandy track just out of Princetown. Had a bit of a dilema helping him out as his vehicle had no recovery points.
I gave him a shovel and after about 15 minutes he dug the back of his car out of the sand, and I attached the winch around his back axle and pulled him clear.
This being my first occasion of having to recover another person's vehice, was this the best plan of action?
If anything had broken during the recovery would he or his insurance company be after me for the repair bill?
Reply By: Member - Brett C (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:27
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:27
Hi Dave, I would've done the same thing as
well mate. I've always been told that if there's no recovery points then to go via the back axle. Always tell the owner of the car about what you are doing and if he's ok with what you are doing. Always cover your back.
Reply By: TrishP - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:45
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 13:45
These people who don't have recovery points front and rear. No matter how good your vehicle is, you should still have them. Sad to say it but yes, you could be sued for damages - so it is very important to make it quite clear to the owner of the vehicle that he takes all responsibility for what actions are taken to help him out of his dilema. Can't comment on what point I would have used as I don't know the car underneath but mate, how can we leave them there stranded.
Trish
Follow Up By: Monkey - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:21
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:21
How do you know they are actually rated? Are they stamped? I'm told by a new model Hilux SR owner that the tie down hook on the front of his 4B is rated for recovery. It looked solid for a hood that is welded on but how do I know for sure? (This is not a Toyota bash it's just one of several brands. It's the back of my head the hook will hit if he's wrong and it all goes pear shaped. I'm getting wary of stopping to provide assistance to people in soft sand. I'm not to keen to get into an argument if I am not sure and refuse them a snatch.
Regards Monkey.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:23
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:23
I would think that even if you did make it quite clear that it was the owners responsibility for all damage etc, that they could still sue you for breaking their car. Unless yu are going to have a legal team and contract for recovery with a signed waiver its unlikely that just a chat will remove any liability on your part.
That said it would be a very low likelihood that someone would go you as you are helping them out, they would have to prove negligence on your part anyway, and thats unlikely to be easy unless youo have done a very silly thing and we wouldnt do that would we?
If you were at all concerned then get them to fasten the pulling apparatus to wherever they reckon you need to pull them from, even then I dont think its an out.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 01:43
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 01:43
Totally agree with Bonz here,
Unfortunately we have come to a stage where there is no way out, I believe as most of us do that we are slowly following Uncle Sam's insurance debarkle (hope Sadie is asleep LOL) I read in a paper SWMBO had sent over to her by her parents of a couple of guys out in the woods (Bush) in the States and they came across a Jeep bogged to its sills in thick snow. This was in Northern area in the States. They offered to winch him and his family out and this was excepted, as they started to winch the point the owner of the Jeep had attached the cable to was so low that body work got caught in the cable and damaged the rear sill, Jeep owner went off his nut, so the rescuers decided fine and exited stage left, leaving them with their pride and joy still bogged. Seems no one else came past that afternoon or evening and the couple in the Jeep had an 8mth old child with them. By the time they were rescued the next day the youngin had hypothermia, and original guys who had stopped to help were charged with attempted manslaughter, of course no sane court system would find them guilty of that....Nope they finally did 8 mths in the slammer for endangering human life...
Seems you’re dammed if you do and dammed if you don't.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 01:45
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 01:45
I forgot to add, I would have pulled them out even it ripped the asssse end out of the Jeep and they could have sued me later... But I can understand the rescuers decision.
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:29
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:29
Yes, I have had the same problems.
But you don't like to walk away and say 'too hard'.
Yes, get them to dig out as much as you can to reduce drag.
Tend not to use the snatch strap. And only give a gentle pull.
Maybe a snatch strap used gently might be better? Less shock load?
Try and fasten to a
suspension point, most probably the strongest point on the car.
You can only do what you see fair at the time, and talk ti all through with the owner.
This might not be the first time it has been recovered. They might know what works :o)
Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:36
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 14:36
Like you did mate, just use common sense.
If your both happy with the set up , go for it.
If they winge after, push them back in their hole!
An example...
A few weeks ago a tourist came driving past our
camp (sort of), he got bogged to the arrrse (pasha bulked) in the
creek bed in a 2wd hilux. They new it was a 4wd track but his daughter who is a local said he would be alright.
The only thing he had to tow from was a crappy little bracket which I didnt trust and the only thing I had to go through it was a small shackle.
I told him I would do it but I was going to put a seperate rope around his bumper and tie it through the end of my snatchum. I warned him if the plate broke the second rope would stop the shackle going through my rear window but maybe damage his bumper. But that was his options and he took it!
It all worked fine.
I always just check and ask them are they happy with what your doing.
Follow Up By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:01
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:01
"he got bogged to the arrrse (pasha bulked)"
Thanks Hairy for the excellent use in a sentence.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:48
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:48
The problem with vehicles that have no recovery points is that they are not the ones at risk - its your vehicle, the one doing the pulling that will cop the flying missile through the tailgate when a bit breaks off.
You do have another option - you can offer them your mobile phone to call up the local recovery service, and they can pay lots of $$$ to get themselves recovered. Theres a good reason why these recoveries cost $$$$$.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:37
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:37
Or use what is available and drive accordingly.
I've only ever seen one vehicle with a marked " recovery point" and towed heaps.
I wouldn't be very popular or hospitable if I offered them all a phone, considering it wouldn't have worked and 90% of them were interstate 4wd enthusiasts.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 09:24
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 09:24
Hi Hairy,
Up around Alice, thats a no brainer.
Down at our local beaches its a different story. Theres people getting stuck every day of the week at
Goolwa, Coorong,
Robe,
Beachport,
Carpenter Rocks etc . Often within a short distance of a town that has a towing service just for those occasions.
phil
Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:54
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:54
If someone is stupid enough to take a vehicle that is obviously not capable of handling the terrain and any unsuspecting mishaps along the way,
well sorry, get recovered and sustain possible damage or stay there and we'll arrange help.
This has nothing to do with soft roaders, this about drivers not knowing the capabilities or short falls of their vehicle and own driving abilities. We know why these recovery
services in the remote
places charge so much, because the fool that got themselves stuck have too much money and little sense.
Came across one of those volvo soft roaders on Fraser, I pulled off the track as far as I could go to let them past. Because he had no ground clearace he could steer through the soft asnd and was on a bee line for me justing ploughing the sand on full right lock! So got him to back him up and rove around him....he shouldn't have been there to start with. If he got stuck I couldn't just snatch him out.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 11:48
Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 11:48
"If someone is stupid enough to take a vehicle that is obviously not capable of handling the terrain Blah Blah Blah...."
Not everyone was born with absolute brilliance and learning to drive different vehicles in all types of terrain is learnt some times by misadventure.
Obviously you were one of the luck ones who was born knowing it all and have never done anything remotely silly and I must br one of the stupid ones.
Sorry. LOL