Fuel ecconomy Bio Fuel V's Straight Diesel

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:39
ThreadID: 47369 Views:3820 Replies:12 FollowUps:16
Have just returned from 3 days in the NSW Snow Fields. Have a LC 100 Turbo Diesel with DP Chip fitted.
On way down kept on speed limits, running Bio / Diesel blend from Volume Plus (40% Bio, they tell me), got 14 Litres per 100 Klms.
Filled up at Jindabyne with straight diesel and got 13 litres per 100 Klms on way home. Still stuck on speed limits or close to.
I haven't checked fuel ecconomy for quite some time as been only around Sydney. When last checked on a trip it was around 11 to 12 litres per 100klms.
Does the Bio blend give less power hence the greater fuel usage? The fuel on the trip home would have been half bio blend and half straight diesel therefore 20% Bio. The ecconomy was 1 litre per 100klms better. Will I likely get better ecconomy (back to previous 11 to 12 L/100) using straight diesel?
All advice welcomed.
KEN

Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:47

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:47
Hi Ken,
Had a similar result last year in my 4.2 GU. Using the NSW 50% bio (can't remember the brand), got about 15L/100k, but otherwise got about 13L/100k with standard diesel. and that was over 2 tankfuls (about 220L) and similar territory, speed and load. The savings in the cost were cancelled by the extra consumption.
Gerry
AnswerID: 250557

Follow Up By: blackmax11 - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:51

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:51
Thanks for the reply,
Interesting, that you have similar experience using Bio. I thought I was being a good citizen saving the planet, using Bio.
I have since filled up with straight diesel so now down to only 10% Bio. I am heading to Port Stephens this coming weekend so will check ecconomy again.
FollowupID: 511709

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:06

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:06
G'day Ken, I can't answer your question as until a few weeks ago I always had a petrol sedan. I've just bought a new 3 litre intercooled turbo diesel (Mazda) with a "common rail" fuel injection system.
Very recently on this forum there was a lot of discussion on these new motors, & in particular the use of Bio Diesel & the potential for damage to fuel pump & injectors caused by Bio diesel. Some real good comments & worth reading from a guy who worked for Denco, I think from SA.
Iam not able to help you find the thread as Iam not to good at finding my way around the system, hopefully another member can point you in the right direction. It is worth a read in my opinion if you own a diesel. Best wishes.
AnswerID: 250560

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:19

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:19
I didn't see it, but I suspect normal paranoia about anything new, especially from diesel "specialists" who often know nothing about Biodiesel.

Of course there is Biodiesel and Biodiesel - I can make it in my backyard, so quality depends on where you are getting it from.

There are commercial standards and government "enforced" ones too for Biodiesel that are more stringent than dino diesel.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 511721

Follow Up By: Olcoolone (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:50

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 21:50
Hello Barry,

The post you are talking about was from me, we are a denso service dealer hear in Adelaide.

We service and repair some other Denso products and are not diesel repairers, we however do alot of training with Denso and what I posted before is what we have been trained from Denso in.

I think in the future biodiesel will cause alot of problems for the new engines and when you see data from Denso Japan showing that even after 1000 kilometers with 5% biodiesel it makes youo think twice about using it and no manufacture will warrant damage caused by biodiesel.

Alot is to do with the solvents used the liquify the base oil to make biodiesel.

As I said before if you are going to use it get a written warranty from the biodiesel supplier saying if any damage is caused from their product they will pay the repair cost.......see what there reply will be!

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 511750

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 22:47

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 22:47
Well Richard, I have not seen what data from Denso Japan you are talkin about, nor what engines/components they are discussing. I'd be interested in seeing it.

Denso make air con systems don't they? Anyways, I know that some diesel fuel injection systems don't work well with Biodiesel, and Denso gear may be one of the few.

What you say about solvents is difficult to understand. Of course diesel and biodiesel in their own right are solvents. The oil is "liquified" in the normal way solids are liquified - the application of just a little bit of heat! There is another solvent - methanol in most biodiesel production processes, that is used to create a (so called) methoxide agent (or similar) that stimulates the reaction to create the biodiesel. This methanol is not found in the final production biodiesel except in miniscule amounts, as stipulated by the Biodiesel standard in Australia - which happens to be what is used in Europe.

Commercial suppliers of biodiesel do in fact, warrant their product in Australia - examples are SAFF in Adelaide. If it causes damage to your engine they will see that you are properly compensated. Try them out. Call them and see. They are selling a consumer product in a market governed by the Trade Practices legislation of the states they operate in, and are liable.

With the amount of misinformation going around about the subject it is little wonder that Australia is so far behind in the adoption of Biodiesel here versus Europe. Interestingly major oil companies here are buying up almost the entire production of biodiesel in Australia to blend with their standard product because it is better for the environment (burns cleaner), has better lubricating qualities, and can be included in standard diesel up to 5% without affecting compliance with the diesel standards.

In addition to the link above, see The Caltex Site where I quote:
"Consumers can have full confidence in the petroleum products they are purchasing at service stations and know that the ethanol blends sold are fit for purpose in most new and older vehicles, as specified by individual vehicle manufacturers. Manufacturers have also approved 5% biodiesel blends (B5) for general use as a retail fuel."

You are more than likely using it and you don't it!

Andrew.
FollowupID: 511766

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 09:37

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 09:37
Andrew,
I asked around the diesel shops at the last 4wd show in Adelaide, and for the sake of the life of a 1HD-FTE injection pump, they all advised me against using biodiesel. It may be different for different vehicles. So its BP diesel from the truck stops for me.

FollowupID: 511813

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:54

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:54

We own a VW Polo 1.9L tdi Turbo intercooled CR

And owners manual states the this engine is not suited for the use of Bio-diesel or blends and it's European..

not having a go just making a statement ;-)

FollowupID: 521234

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:43

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:43
VW Australia are listing all their vehicles as Nicht Fur Biodiesel...

In Europe that is not the case, and they even have Biodiesel fuel line heating options for Biodiesel in cold climates.

Recently they have added on most of their current models, a diesel particulate filter on the exhaust which they claim doesn't work (thus makes the vehicle underperforming on the clean air stakes) or is actually damaged by Biodiesel.

Biodiesel Forums discussion on the question

Whether yours has this or not I don't know, but there are lots of very happy VW Biodiesel users all over the world!

Andrew.
FollowupID: 521266

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:08

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:08
Lots of things affect fuel economy.

I am a long term user of 100% biodiesel - well during the middle of winter it is winterised down to 80% BD I think here, but anyways, my economy is pretty much the same regardless of what I am using.

I do however have the rather more agricultural 1HZ sans turbo and our temps are generally warmer than Jindabyne ;-)

Andrew.
AnswerID: 250561

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 17:26
You'll also find the chip you have would have had it's fuel mapping designed on regular diesel, not the higher cetane biosdiesel. I found that after reseting the ECU on the surf I got much better power out of BD 100% then I was getting out of regular diesel. I think the pump timing needs to be retarted slightly or somthing to get the best out of it. Electronically controlled pumps can do this if their computers are reset and clever enough, otherwise it's off to the dyno to get it done manually if you convert full time to BD to get the best milage out of it.

So in short, you can theoretically get more power/economy from BD as it is the equivilent to higher octaine (using ULP terminology), but you would have to re-tune slightly to do so.

FollowupID: 511874

Reply By: geoff&Mandy - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:57

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:57
if u got ur biodsl from v/plus it would have been at least 70% bio
AnswerID: 250569

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:01

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:01
Been running the Paj on 20% biodeisel for a bout 10,000k.
Made at a local plant in Brisy, not backyard stuff, so it should be consistent.

No noticeable difference in fuel economy.

However, in regard to your run to Jindabyne, have noticed the same difference, maybe even a little more, travelling from Canberra to the snow fields a few times.

All I can put it down to is climbing up the hills to the snow fields, and a down hill run home.

Cooma is at about 850m altitude, and Jindabyne at about 900m.

Tried running straight diesel up the hill and bio home? A result of good up and poor back then would point to the fuel being the difference.

Also, tried different fuel supplies? Different manufacturers have diesel of different cetane ratings (like octane but for diesel). Some friends swear by shell & BP, and keep away from Caltex for that reason.

Just trying to think of different reasons, not so much to stir :o)))).
AnswerID: 250572

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:09

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:09
And at this time of year up that way different winterisation of all diesel is going to affect performance.
FollowupID: 511727

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:26

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:26
A couple of other variables exists....a litre of diesel at 0 degrees is not equal to a litre at 15 degrees...i doubt 10% diffeence would be right....but the fuel left in the tank that cooled down overnight may have made room for half an extra litre when you filled up at the snowfields...and when warm back up here, there would be less room to fill the tank....then there is the callibration of pumps....i know from experience that some pumps rip you off blind...i once put more fuel in my datto than the tank held....and didnt twig till i did the economy later....Gundagai shell if anyone is interested...
AnswerID: 250583

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:32

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:32
Hope you are right Andrew, but the guy who submitted the post worked for Denco who I believe know a few things about diesel pumps & injectors etc....... His post challenged anybody to dispute his comments as he was prepared to back his comments up with technical info. Made me think a bit that was all. Still made the purchase though.
Some of the info in the manual that came with the vehicle conflicts with technical brochure of current model, towing capacity for example in vehicle manual states max of 1850 Kg, whilst current literature from Mazda state 2500 Kg. My is that some of the info in the manual relates to the previous model.
My point is that in the manual it states that you should not use more than 5% of bio diesel. So I'am unsure whether this relate s to current model or it's predessor.
Anyway, to be on safe side I'll stick with straight diesel from a busy servo as far as possible & from all reports on this forum, maybe shell, caltex or BP. Best wishes.
AnswerID: 250587

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 23:04

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 23:04
My 100 series 1HZ has been running about 60% on B100 for about 120,000 km.

SAFF have a Mazda ute thingy running B100 that is doing fine.

I can see how it challenges a lot of people's sensibilities, and raises a lot of questions with the manufacturers warranties, but I do it for the environment primarily and the rest has been cream for me - it is generally 2-4c cheaper to boot though I go out of my way to get it.

If you're buying Caltex diesel you'll be getting your 2% Biodiesel anyways, so that will help improve the cleanliness of your vehicle anyway. I understand the other companies have big contracts in place to purchase Biodiesel too - presumably for the same reason.

Andrew.
FollowupID: 511770

Reply By: raunchy - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 22:44

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 22:44
Hi, I have a 2001 TD 100 and have been running SAFF B100 almost exclusively for 20-30,000kms. Only when I cant get it do I use Petro diesel.
My findings are as follows. Engine rattle is less. I know these engines are quiet but it is now quiter at idle and probably at higher speeds too (cant hear over the tyres).
No black smoke, very little previously anyway. Seems to have marginally more power. Oil stays cleaner for longer. Economy is slightly better than Petro diesel, maybe .25 to .5 l/100km.
Havent had any problems will injectors as suggested, havent heard of any either.
Engine also runs a UNICHIP (predecessor to the Dtronic) and a 3 inch exhaust.

Ray
AnswerID: 250624

Reply By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:28

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 08:28
Blackmax11,
I do not have a diesel but a mate used to. he trialled biodiesel for a while and experienced the same thing, less mileage. Biodiesel has widely been reported as giving worse economy but it's using up waste so its a personal choice in the end.
I beleive your better off using real diesel until the price of bio is the equivalent to LPG..........it is after all waste by-product.

Rob
AnswerID: 250653

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 09:11

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 09:11
Just correcting a few misconceptions:

Biodiesel can be made from a lot of oil stocks - rape seed, canola, olives, pork bellies and other animal fats - you name it really.

It can be made from waste oils - usually waste vegetable oils (WVO) too.

All of these have various costs - both direct costs and carbon costs. You can't make canola oil without growing the seed and harvesting it, so it takes diesel to do it (for instance). Some companies are offsetting this by planting the equivalent in trees that take up the carbon used in the production, so they offer a truly carbon neutral product.

It requires considerable plant even to work with the WVO - you need to collect it (say from ma and pa fish and chip shops in perhaps 100 litre lots) - a big job. You need to filter it and pay for disposal of the residues (the little bits of fish and chips). You need a reactor and the reagents to make the production work. You need water to clean it. You need electricity to run it all and heat it up. Then you need to distribute it.

With so much pressure on WVO sources and with the reasonably high prices paid for that, as also for the other stocks, you should expect to pay for Biodiesel. Finally, the product is great and a good replacement for diesel, and is used in large public transport fleets in huge volumes (and don't think they haven't done a lot of analysis), so the manufacturers like most of us, ask the price they think the market can handle.

Andrew whose experience is that any impact on economy is marginal at best.
FollowupID: 511810

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 14:53

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 14:53
A lot of the larger fuel companies are going toward biodesiel, however they always seem to get it wrong and worry about profit.

Seems most of them, like Shell, intend to use palm oil. Now the palm oil comes from plants harvested in Indonesia, they are not plantations but free growth forest. The removal of the vegetation is effecting the habitant of the orangutans.

I'm not being a tree hugger, I also don't support something that inadevertantly causes what it was trying to fix...recycle a re-newable resource, when in fact they are causing more environmental problems in a country that doesn't really care.

Mind you there's a bloke in Bougenville that refines coconut oil and runs diesel engines on it, not blended but pure coconut oil. Seems to be a problem to start or run when it gets cold though. Air smells nice too.
AnswerID: 250705

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:17

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:17
BP is another one ...

Site Link

However what they are planning on selling is not Biodiesel ...

Does not conform to the Australian Standard for Biodiesel at all, and serves to confuse the situation more.

Contrary to many people's misconceptions, Biodiesel is chemically “fatty acid methyl or ethyl esters”, and not pure vegetable oils or animal fat and not biomass to liquid fuels or other fuels coming from other chemical treatment of vegetable oils or animal fats.

It is no longer chemically an oil or fat - quite different, although it may be principally from the same source.
FollowupID: 511851

Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:36

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 15:36
Alot of people are under the misunderstanding that biodiesel is better for the enviroment.

Biodiesel is still a carbon fuel just like fossil fuels it is just mined a differant way, all carbon fuels are bad for for the enviroment in one way or the other.

There is a lot of debate about wheather it is better for the enviroment or worse.

The main claim to fame is biodiesel is a renewable energy source.

I am not for or against it, I think it will turn into a nother "Hella v Lightforce", "Toyota v Nissan", Coopers v Goodyear" etc. etc debate.

Denso manufactures a large range of stuff like-: bar code scanners, alternators and starter motors, diesel fuel systems and components, radiators, condensors, electric motors and fans, instrument clusters, GPS systems, spark plugs, air conditioning both automotive and commercial, electronic components like relays, and a range of other gear as well.

Regards Richard

Denso is the largest manufacture of diesel systems in the world.

AnswerID: 250710

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 17:26

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 17:26
Have you actually compared the emission of BD to regular diesel? If so how can you argue that it may not be better for the environment?
FollowupID: 511875

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:41

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:41
Jeff

he dosen't you just have to read a make up your own mine..

:-)
FollowupID: 521233

Reply By: niftyone - Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:31

Friday, Aug 31, 2007 at 22:31
hi blackmax, as a toyota service advisor i would not use bio diesel a whole tank at a time, there have been studies that show that biodiesel and E10 fuels are not accurate with there percentages, please ask you local dealer regarding this one, the use of these fuels may not be warrantied! they create to much heat and deposits.
hope this helps!
AnswerID: 259803

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:34

Saturday, Sep 01, 2007 at 08:34
Biodiesel makes no more heat and less deposits... this shows how little information "service advisors" have on the subject and how hard it is to get good information.

Of course the warranty threats can get supported by illinformed service advisors happy to have any hook to hang their hat on.

E10 is another matter... putting Biodiesel and E10 in the same breath shows the ignorance on these subjects.

Toyota "local dealers" - oh yes, they're the ones who leave off the drain plug on my diff, or don't tighten the fuel filter... just to name a few of my most recent experiences with these twits.
FollowupID: 521263

Follow Up By: niftyone - Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:00

Monday, Sep 03, 2007 at 23:00
for a start I was typing to blackmax11 so no breath! and, you drive A??
no sorry who cares!
FollowupID: 521592