Is there any mining workers out there?

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 15:52
ThreadID: 47421 Views:11874 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
OT. But not entirely as it is a means to which we can travel in our fourby.

I am in the throws of applying for a mining position as dump truck operator having just recently finished an intense week long driving course in Perth to operate these giants. My background for the past 20 plus years has been driving heavy road going tippers and I thought why not give this a go.

Are there any mining workers, especially dump/haul truck drivers, out there who have been there/done that who may give me a pointer or three?

Just wondering, True Blue.

Reply By: Wayne M(QLD) - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 17:06

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 17:06
Hi True Blue
Mate going open cut or under ground ???? as they are very different trucks and environments I spent a small time at BHP cannington under ground and one of my jobs was driving Haul/dump Wagner 444 and toro 40d dump trucks
AnswerID: 250917

Reply By: earwig65 - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 17:13

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 17:13
Gday Blue, get your resume on an email attachment, & send it to Skilled Group in Karratha, attention to Lee Smith, he is in charge of putting truckies bum's on seats in the Pilbara. Good Luck.
AnswerID: 250922

Reply By: Sarg - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 19:23

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 19:23
Be prepared to be known as or called a "bonehead", "rockape", or "boon" by the fitters.
AnswerID: 250940

Reply By: Scotty76 - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 20:14

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 20:14
Mate just look on seek.com or infomine.com under the right categories and with your experiance I would be suprised if you had trouble getting a start. Although you need to be prepared to put up with a lot more crap than the average town job but I guess the money makes up for it for a while, thats why I'm still doing it.Other sites worth checking might be Hays resources, DT workforce or any others that you could google.

Cheers, Scott
AnswerID: 250946

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 20:51

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 20:51
True Blue,

We are intending on spending some time in NW WA working and intend on having a crack at getting into something similar. Problem is we have no experience. BUT-We are willing to learn/train etc, have our own accommodation and will go anywhere.

Would you mind saying who you trained with and if they were good?

I've gotten everything from "you've got no chance without at least 6 months experience" to "you'll be on $100k a year in no time" sort of thing. Guess we'll find out soon enough.

Anyone else have any advice would love to hear it also..

Sorry for the hi jack TB.

Matt
AnswerID: 250955

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 22:04

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 22:04
True Blue,

We are intending on spending some time in NW WA working and intend on having a crack at getting into something similar. Problem is we have no experience. BUT-We are willing to learn/train etc, have our own accommodation and will go anywhere.

Would you mind saying who you trained with and if they were good?

I've gotten everything from "you've got no chance without at least 6 months experience" to "you'll be on $100k a year in no time" sort of thing. Guess we'll find out soon enough.

Anyone else have any advice would love to hear it also..

Sorry for the hi jack TB.

Matt
AnswerID: 250977

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 23:18

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 23:18
Gday True Blue

In the current environment, you should have no trouble finding work. Look for a roster that suits you. A lot of the jobs with contracting companies have less favourable rosters than direct employment with larger mining companies, but they have more jobs, and generally (not in all cases) the worse the roster the better the pay.

In the last 6 years I have worked 2weeks on/off, 8days on/6 off, 4 days on/3days off, and a few months of 3 weeks on/1 week off. In our situation (4yo and 2yo) the 2 weeks on/off is great, and what I am working at the moment. The 2 weeks off is about the equivelant of the annual leave I used to take when I had a normal job! The 8/6 days wasn't that good, and the 4/3 days was bad....but the 4/3 would be great in a few years time when the kids are into weekend sport etc and you can't go away during the week due to school.

On the truckdriving, I was OK for 6 months, then the boredom drove me crazy. I was lucky to progress to more interesting positions in the company. There are plenty of oppertunities out there. Most of the time, trucks are the first machine, and you can get experience and training on a wide range of gear....

As others have said, you will have to put up with a lot of rules and general red tape etc (the safety nazi's are trying to stop people from thinking for themselves), but overall its a good industry to be in.

Cheers Andrew

PS I am all for a safe workplace, just a bit annoyed at the way it is trying to be achieved in some cases.
AnswerID: 250991

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 01:09

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 01:09
Hey Andrew,
I would love to operate one of those big excavators out there there in the middle of nowhere.... At the moment I am a supervisor on 25km road job in Sydney but there is no challenge..... I price the jobs for my boss and I do the job for him........ Today he made 3k from me and tommorrow as long as I can get the job finnished he will make 5k......... problem is he has taken 3 of my labourers away for 3 hours and he still expects me to complete the work tommorrow. I have told him Sat lunch time......
I would really love to get back onto a big machine to load out dirt. Then again if machine opperators are on 100k then I could be even happier as a leading hand.......
Money, I really don't care about, all I want is a week of every now and then to explore the country
FollowupID: 512128

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 09:30

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 09:30
Gday Peter

There is plenty of work (I am led to believe from advericements etc) on your doorstep. The east coast coal is going strong, maybe not as remote as you may want!

A mate recently gave me the kml file of australian minesites for google earth, not quite current to date, but pretty close. Some are on the outskirts of the middle of nowhere, zoom in and unexpectedly there are trucks etc operating in all sorts of places!

I will have to be back at work to find the kml file, but it may be googleable (new word!)

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 512171

Reply By: True Blue - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 14:32

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 14:32
Thank you Wayne M, earwig65, Sarg, TroopyTracker and Andrew B for all of your responses and especially for your words of encouragement and guideance.

I'm taking all of it on board and have started sending out my resume to various mining employers around the country, and there are hundreds and hundreds of them. One of my trainers where I did my truck course told me there are around 1,055 mines in WA alone, and it's only going to get bigger.

TroopyTracker, a company called Mining Training Services of Neerabup (north of Perth) WA conducted my course. Contact them as follows :-

email: info@miningtrainingservices.com.au

They cover training for all sorts of equipment that is used in mines.
The 2 dump truck instructors that covered my 5 day course were themselves ex-mine dump truck operators and first and foremost they were operators not trainers.
But they succeeded in getting the message across so I passed thankfully. It's not cheap, around $3,000 for the course alone.

On a personal note, eventhough I have been driving heavy road going tippers for over 20 years, even the smallest of these dump trucks (CAT.773) is intimidating, or at least I found so. At the end of the first day I could have walked away and returned to Melbourne, I found it that scarey. I guess I'm a woos because none of the other boys said anything about it. But you do become confident with the machine fairly quickly and I'm treating my fear of it as something "healthy" which may help to keep me alive.

I'm going for it and I reckon you should too.

Cheers to all and thanks again, True Blue.
AnswerID: 251064

Follow Up By: DaveNQ1 - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 15:19

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 15:19
True Blue,

A "healthy" respect for these machines is a good thing. I have lived and worked in and around coal mines for a number of years and am looking to go back and operate in Central Queensland once again. I have seen first hand (Mines Rescue) the damage these things do and can say that you will probably not get a second chance at life if you get hit by one. In saying that, they are a lot of fun to drive and i am still in awe of the power of these things. When i left i was driving 200 tonne coal haulers (375 tonne all up) and 789 rear dumpers. I will now be going back to drive Cat 797 rear dumpers with a total weight of about 650 tonnes. A massive machine, but even better to drive than the smaller ones.
The only advice i can give is, if you are not sure about something.....ASK. It seems like common sense but a lot of accidents with these things are still caused because of improper or inadequate training.

Hope you enjoy the change mate.
Best of luck.
FollowupID: 512221

Follow Up By: True Blue - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:43

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:43
Thanks for the follow up DaveNQ1. Impossible for me to comprehend the weight and power of this equipment. Definitely something to look forward too (hopefully).

All the best to you in your work and thanks again.

True Blue.
FollowupID: 512271

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 22:41

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 22:41
True Blue,

Thanks for the info and encouragement. I was amazed at the shear number of agencies/employment mobs that exist on the internet for this industry. Bit of info overload, without actually gaining alot of hard facts....

We're going in with open minds and positive attitudes. With a bit of luck thrown in we should be okay.

Good luck, might see you out there one day.

Matt
FollowupID: 512299

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 18:34

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 18:34
You may have to move out to there doorstep to get a better chance.
The mine working game aint what it used to be. Everyones cottoned on to it. any manager will tell you he is innundated with resumes everyday.
There is a good reason decent pay is on offer - Youve really got to be in the right place at the right time to get a go with no (mining) experience. otherwise its just a big poaching game with companys offering more money and better conditions to lure others workers. Very little training generally gos on.
You may struggle with the agencys which alot of companys use as they wont look at you without 6-12 months experience.
My Girlfreind drove those U/G dumptrucks for a few months and reckoned after driving metro Delivery and Agi trucks round the city full of idiots behind the wheel it was a doddle in comparrison
AnswerID: 251112

Follow Up By: True Blue - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:53

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:53
Something I have thought about heaps Davoe, as you would expect in chasing this line of work eh?

We have casually mentioned in our applications that we are prepared to relocate or, if necessary, live out of our van, but perhaps I should put a bigger focus on this.

It certainly is an interesting excercise going through this process. It's a real balancing act trying to deal with job/career/future, relocate/rent/buy/caravan, away from children/friends/relatives, day shift/night shift/rotating shifts etc. etc.

Still it beats sitting at home on your bum which is what I am doing at the moment, currently out of work.

I am happy to chase it and learn as you go.

Thanks again Davoe, cheers True Blue.
FollowupID: 512272

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 01:05

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 01:05
sommwhat those days are gone. I did all that - living out in the bush in my camper, heck I was in a caravan /camper for 5 years then bought a house for just over 100 grand. The "BOOM" has really brought the Eastern staters over even though there ae probabbly less jobs now through company takeovers and amalgamations.
Heck my first day in Kal I picked up the paper and the headline screamed "Eastern staters stay home therews no work here" and i can assure you theres a damn site less now
FollowupID: 513385

Reply By: darmic - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 23:55

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 23:55
True Blue
I wish you luck. I am a middle aged female who wants to embark on a completely new career. Having also undertaken the Haul Truck course last week in addition to also doing my Marcsta Induction. renewing Senior First Aid, have a National Police Clearance, HR Licence and Forklift ticket I am still getting the same responses: these are NOT trainee positions, require minimum 6 month experience. While I don't have the experience that you have driving road going tippers I have worked in mining/resources/constuction albeit in an admin capacity both fly in/fly out and residential during the last 10 years but this seems to account for nothing. They say there is a skill shortage but noone, it seems, wants to take on those who have the ambition, drive and persistence to go after what they want. My husband fully supports me but I am getting a bit tired of the same excuses. Agencies say that their clients want value for money but they won't hire trainees. The companies themselves seem to resort to a who you know mentality when it comes to the limited opportunities that do become available. I sincerely hope you are successful so that the rest of us novices who are still trying might have a glimmer of hope that there is light at the end of the tunnel. It won't stop my trying but I really hope an opportunity presents itself so that skills, knowledge and enthusiasm isn't lessened by the passage of time.

Weeksy.
AnswerID: 252292

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 00:56

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 00:56
Keep looking - my missis is 38 has driven agi trcks, 12 tonne HR trucks 50 tonne atlas copco underground trucks and has just completed a crane operators licence
--------- And still cant get a look in
NOONE trains not even a little bit - that is why the big dollars are there , if you dont have 2 yrs experince you better be good on your knees.
It was far easier before the boom - no one botherd then. Funny thing is there are probaabley lesss jobs now .
Skills shortage is down to managers - none of them can!!
FollowupID: 513384