Thanks for nothing!

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 21:42
ThreadID: 47529 Views:3915 Replies:21 FollowUps:16
So i subit a post asking for advice on a turbo upgrade for the GU, and well i got nothing!!!!! nothing but some cod wallup conversation.

Can anyone give me some info on what where and how much PLEASE.....or am i wasting my time with EO?????

Reply By: babs - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 21:55

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 21:55
Try here mate, come and join the family. www.patrol4x4.com/forum/
AnswerID: 251423

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 21:58

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 21:58
i did have a brief look there, but what i am after is someone who can tell me what the y have done, who did it, how much it was, and a dyno sheet to prove.
I appreciate ya help pal, i am am really confused!
I thought parting with 2g for a turbo upgrade would be easy!!!
Know what i mean!
FollowupID: 512524

Reply By: babs - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:10

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:10
Wayne, join up it cost you nothing and put your post up there, you will be surprised in the feed back you will get, someone from here originally put me onto it and its been the best informative forum since. Give it a try, its good to get honest opinions from guys who have had plenty of experience with patrols, I guarantee you wont look back.
AnswerID: 251427

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:12

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:12
Thanks babs, ill be makin the call myself tomorrow and linig something up, but i think im losing faith in EO as there sems to be too many egotistic old men here!!!
FollowupID: 512526

Follow Up By: babs - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:20

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:20
I will keep an eye out for you on Patrol forum.

Good luck.
FollowupID: 512528

Follow Up By: Leroy - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 09:55

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 09:55
'too many egotistic old men here!!!'

hehe.....yep I reckon you are not far wrong!

Leroy
FollowupID: 512562

Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:38

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:38
Wayne-o,

Have you considered the problem may be with your patience???

Some of the ExplorOz members and visitors that have gone the Turbo route are at the National Gathering and haven't read your post yet.

Me, I haven't got a turbo so my input (apart from the above) is useless.

I'm sure folks like Roachie will be only too glad to give you advise, when they can.

Just calm down mate and don't slag the site if you don't get an immediate response. Your agressiveness may just backfire on you.

FollowupID: 512600

Follow Up By: Snowbunny - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:19

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:19
Yep, slooooow dooown, take a deep breath and stick another line of coke up ya nose there young fella and it will all work itself out mate.!
FollowupID: 512607

Reply By: Member - Pixie - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:13

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:13
have you done a search of these forums: Site Link ?

AnswerID: 251429

Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:37

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:37
Hi Wayne,

You're not wasting your time with EO; sometimes the right people don't read a post.

Currently there is a national EO members gathering which may account for a lack of responses. Also your original post started off sounding like a wedding proposal so maybe some folk didn't even check it out? (Unlike me who read both your posts even though I have no knowledge about turbos ;-)))
AnswerID: 251430

Reply By: BGJ - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:44

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:44
Try United Fuel Injection, they modify the turbo for more go.
AnswerID: 251433

Follow Up By: mattche - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 00:35

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 00:35
Wayne-o

Give us a call mate and speak to steve, no bull bleep just honest advice.

9479 7400

Matt
FollowupID: 512887

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:56

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:56
MM a fella called "Doggy Tease", Rick is his real name. He's just had it done.
AnswerID: 251434

Reply By: awill4x4 - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:58

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 22:58
Truckster gave you the link to "Outerlimits" and told you to check out the info supplied by Dzltec, if you chose not to check it out more fool you. Other posters on Outerlimits with specific turbo info include pgs4wd and one of the guys from Ontrack 4x4, www.ontrack4x4.net.au/ they have lots of petrol turbo Patrol info but also diesel as well.
Both Denco and MTQ also do turbo upgrades, let your fingers do the walking and talk to them as well then make an informed choice.
EO isn't into tech as much as some forums and that's not a criticism it's an observation but slinging barbs won't win you any brownie points.
Regards Andrew.
AnswerID: 251435

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 23:03

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 23:03
www.dtsturbo.com.au/nissan.html
FollowupID: 512532

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 00:44

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 00:44
Apologies due Wayne-o.
I was party to the frivolity: I guess that's part of how I cope.
Best wishes eh. Looks like your second post may be more productive.
Jeff H.
AnswerID: 251440

Reply By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 07:24

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 07:24
Wayne-o,

Mate, I agree with babs and strongly recommend having a look at joining Patrol4x4 forum. It contains a wealth of knowledge and you don't get the typical Toyota / Nissan rhetoric that is involved on other forums.....There is also many blokes on there that have done Turbo/Exhaust and many other upgrades that may interest you. I have to admit wrt technical info on my truck it is the only place I go now. Good reliable info.....I hope this helps?
AnswerID: 251445

Reply By: AndrewX - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 09:06

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 09:06
Wayne it is usual to get heaps of useful info on this forum. Therefore I think the problem originated from the way you asked. Now don't get all upset over what I'm about to say but you presented as a hen pecked bloke who had no idea of what he wanted or needed. An airhead approach and people made fun of you. Do some research and formulate a bit of a plan and then ask for help with it, not a what do I want, what will it do where do I get it? approach. Good luck and for my bit I wouldn't even think of changing the OE turbo.
AnswerID: 251452

Reply By: Member - Karl - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 09:42

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 09:42
Try Robson Bros 4WD in Bentley, they have a good reputation in Perth - particulary for advice and he often writes a colum in Western 4WDriver.

He should be able to assist you and give you the facts from the horses mouth about the best type of turbo and intercoolers to use.

Karl
AnswerID: 251457

Reply By: Big Mike - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:19

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:19
Hi Wayne,
Dont be detered by one goose mucking up the forum, it really is a good avenue for advice. If no-one can help you here, I believe there is a forum called outer limits and I know one of those guys has a lot of experience with Turbo upgrades on 4.2 patrol 2005.
Good Luck
AnswerID: 251483

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:33

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:33
Wayne O,
The search function in this Forum is also bound to give you a good insight into the extent of discussion previously on an issue and may provide relevant info. Eg. I run a search just a moment ago for "gu turbo upgrade" - if you use the inverted commas at the front and end of a search string you will get a list of posts containing an exact match of those words together. This search string resulted in this find -

Site Link

which had only 1 match.
Whereas a different search string that was broader, eg. "gu turbo" resulted in a much longer results list containing 38 posts matching these terms exactly - see

Site Link

Hope these posts can help put you in the right direction.
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

AnswerID: 251485

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:35

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:35
Wayne, I have used the upgraded turbo from MTQ, run much lower EGT's than a mate with the same HP, but not a bigger turbo. About 220 degrees F was the difference over the same course etc. 3" exhaust, mandrel bent of course, bigger dump pipe, fuel pump timing mods. Have now fitted an I/C, thanks AWill4x4, runs another 50 degrees F cooler at 110 K/hr. Next on the agenda, LPG injection, from what I have read etc, 20% more power, 15% better fuel economy, unless you drive it harder all the time as I will, lol. Depends on what you are wanting as to which way you go. Hope my two cents worth helps a little?

AnswerID: 251515

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:38

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:38
lemme know when you do that LPG injection :) I wanna come for a run.. lol.

I think he means he wants to go the Ballbearing turbo upgrade more than just modding the stock turbo..
FollowupID: 512601

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:40

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:40
also try
Site Link
FollowupID: 512603

Reply By: Member - John - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:37

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:37
Wayne, sorry, didn't list prices as I have bits done by mates etc, and some at trade prices, so it wouldn't have been relevant. John

AnswerID: 251516

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:49

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:49
cods wallop convo
UP YOURS A/SOLE

AnswerID: 251518

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:29

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:29
up yours too......bet your a grey nomad....ROFLMAO
FollowupID: 512705

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:40

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:40

This boys going to get a long way.... :-(
FollowupID: 512715

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:15

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:15
ROFLMAO

I nominate Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) for the inaugural "Dummy Spitter of the Year" award hahahahahahaha

As remarked above, learn to be a bit more patient.
AnswerID: 251523

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 18:58

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 18:58
Gently Gramps,
Some of us are manic-depressive, but blissfully unaware.
Others are simply insane.
I belong to the latter cohort.
( Mostly).
Jeff H.
FollowupID: 512617

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 19:06

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 19:06
LOL we both belong to that select group Jeff.

Wayne-o's tanty has made my day hahahahahaha
FollowupID: 512621

Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:22

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:22
Gramps,
Hope this Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) has a tad more patience with his fishing...... LOL... Having just got back from the Nat EO Gathering, (which was great I must add) not to sure any of the members there could be bothered with someone who spits it this easily. To think only a few EO members give up their weekends to answer his post...... How dare they hehehehehe

If he stays with EO, maybe next years National Gathering can have an award ready for him........
FollowupID: 512713

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 05:40

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 05:40
Blaze,

Hahahahaha just a tad exuberant shall we say. Glad you blokes (and sheilas) are back OK.
FollowupID: 512717

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:51

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:51
I just had to check the address bar to make sure that I wasn't in the Overlander campfire forum by mistake.
Thankfully I wasn't.
AnswerID: 251535

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 18:48
Would now be a good time to suggest you trade up to a Toyota factory turbo diesel :@)
I friend of mine has a 2003 td42 and fitted a safari turbo and exhaust manifold to it b4 upping boost and fuel.....it goes alot better....no proof or dyno,...if you put too much heat in though, the water cooling around the head wont cope, and your td42 will get hot under the collar like its owner....
Andrew toyota hdftvx
AnswerID: 251552

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 11:56

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 11:56
Motson's in Brisbane will rebuild and upspec your turbo - prolly on a replacement basis due to your geo situation.

Ship in a 3" exhaust (Beaudesert exhaust have a great rep) to bolt up, then you're away.

They actually run less boost for better figures - ring 'em for dyno sheets.

I drive one that's been done by them and the difference is amazing. (160 odd kw - can't remember the ft/lb off the dyno sheet)

Is the Delambre in the background of your avatar?
AnswerID: 251680

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:25

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:25
Wayne, there has been heaps of discussion in the past and one of the most prominent proponents of the charge is Roachie who has been at Warraweena. Why don't you MM him? He has upgraded his actual turbo. Moggs has had a tune up as has Truckster. Plenty of extra power. Truckster posted the links to dyno printouts too. Look too at Outerlimits as it has heaps of performance related info.
AnswerID: 251805