Moses broke a tooth, bu**er
Submitted: Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:18
Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses
Fortunately bought an extended warranty before the original one ran out and am having Moses picked up by Roadside Assist from Warraweena. Just drivng back to
camp and noticed a rumble in the back end, thinking a stick as a passenger. Backed up and looked under but nothing of note but on taking out the magnetic plug found a couple of bite of tooth facing about 5-6mm long.
I am getting in first. Don't tell me Nexxt G doesn't work in the bush!!!!!
Roachie had his pasting last night, I will get
mine in my absence
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:35
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:35
A Nissan Diff???
According to those in the know on here, I thought they were unbreakable?
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:46
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:46
Nah mate, just 10 Yotas to the Nissan is the recognised ratio. 50 Yotas to the Nissan for the front ends. Will probably be trucked to
Port Augusta. RAA called with a trailer and broken spring.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:11
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:11
I don't think JohnR quite explained that correctly........he is (after all) a very modest bloke......
The said 10 toyotas were all being _towed_ up
hill and down dale, when the diff decided it'd had enough of those pesky, free-loading tojos and decided to go on strike!!!!
Great to meet you at last bigfella. Geez, if I meet any more "nice" Mexicans, I might have to revise my general opinion.......but then again, it'd take 10 nice blokes to counter one Lucy.....!!!!!! hahahaha
Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:12
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:12
Careful Roachie, we will have to have you swabbed if you are revising ure opinion about them Vics..... LOL.
By the way we had an interesting run home, had a 6.5 running with us until
Hawker and Des was all excited that even though Pud said he was going to be going straight through and not stopping, Des sprung him doing repairs on the Neeesan in the
parking area (just the manifold studs again) after Pud had left Des noticed the Yota front wheel was a tad flat on the bottom, resulting from a small steel pin. (and I have pics, aqs he always ask for them, it needed plugging)
I must add I had a slow leak in my rear tyre that needed inflating also twice on the way home..
TX to all for a great few days.....
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:35
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:35
I wasn't going to tell all on the Yotas Roachie, just enough to give the background. I was told the ratio of repairs at
Geelong Differentials for the rears. Nissan ones done't give the troubles like Yota fronts either adn we can start the list if need be, starting withe teeth missing on 100s and collapsed and cracked independant FEs too.
Mate, don't know how you get Lucy uptight. He seems a decent fellow too, just good to acknowledge him as you do.;-)))))
Blaze, I am sure that Des would know all he has to do is rotate the tyre so the flat spot is to the top and he would be right.
Reply By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 14:13
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 14:13
Bad luck, John. Good luck, John!
Cheers from soggy and cold Mittagong...wish we were there, always good for giving you a tow, we are!!
RayJen
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:26
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:26
G'day Ray and Jen, back down at Port Augutta now and Heather just heard from Willlem, that they had seen Moses on a red truck on the way. Will follow through in the morning as I have had the service manager of Gleeson Motors in Warrnambool following up my progress with Nissan and RAA. Good to know that they still have the interest to leave a message on my mobile.
When you coming to visit folks? Hope you have a
camp shower or three.
Reply By: PeteS - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:04
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 17:04
Hi John
Sorry to read the bad news re Moses. Puts a bit of a dampener on your Warraweena outing. Trust all works out for the better.
PeteS
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:38
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:38
Thanks mate, yes slowed down the excursions no end. I had to put off a shower until I found I had knocked a wire off a circuit breaker for the diesel hot
water circuitry. That was a simple thing in comparison.
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:53
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:53
JohnR,
Pushing your luck playing around with the electricals as
well were'nt you :))))
Sorry to hear of your 'opportunities'. It'll all end up
well enough.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:06
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:06
Gramps, I think I am fairly safe with 12v.
Heard later today that a differential support bearing had collapsed. They are the ones that support the differential where the axles fit in to the diff splines, One of my friends suggested that the problems give me time to "stop and smell the roses". I am not sure I see it that way yet :-[ I did go and have a coffee with Roachie today though, but didn't get to have lunch cooked by Aussie Chef.
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 19:52
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 19:52
John,
Unfortunateley I was right. It didn't sound good driving it.
Anyway your misfortune transfered onto me. I think I have a Nissan camper but I am not owning up just yet. Suffice to say I am 24Hours lat getting home.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:15
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:15
Oh dear, please tell us a bit more David......If you don't, I'm sure I can prevail upon Christopher and William to spill the beans......so better if it comes from you I reckon!!
Hope it's nothing too serious.......
PS: Flat tyres seem to have been flavour of the day today. At last count there were 3 of us (yes, including me) who suffered......Brew and Des Lexic being the other 2 I know of. Then of course there was AussieChef and Lucy, both of whom suffered a similar fate over the weekend whilst on "adventures".
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:02
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:02
At least
mine was on the bitumen. LOL
You can add another to the list as that "photo expert" didn't want to listen to kenny at Terrowie and half an hour later we are pumping the tyre back up as
well as another couple of times on the way home cos he was too lazy to change it.
Also at
hawker, we called into the servo and filled up and pulled into the
rest area around the corner and guess what. Pud was in there hiding, spanners in hand under the truck with oil dripping out from somewhere and he says, " Just tighytening up a loose manifold bracket" Yeah right.
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:10
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:10
Well Des lucky you guys didn't look over the back fence at
Hawker Motors or you may have seen something in there belonging to me.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:23
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:23
Only need pumping up twice Des and have already owned up to it above... Mind you it will need inflating again I guess in the morning LOL
Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:24
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:24
Forgot to add probably was a setup with the piece of steel that was removed from your tyre, you pestered me to find it for you......
Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:04
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:04
David sorry to hear you had troubles on the way home, if you don't want to put up the hassles you had on here email the pics and explanantion to me also... blazesport@tsn.cc I don't want to have to pester Roachie for the guff LOL
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:45
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:45
David sorry to hear of your mis-adventure. Something in
Hawker, eh? Sounds serious. Should I enquire at a Case dealer on the way home?
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:51
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:51
Collapsed support bearing for the differential is the diagnosis. Caused an ugly scene apparently. I don't know who made it.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:18
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:18
G'day John,
We saw the RAA vehicle complete with dolly trailer....he was turning into at
Beltana as we were getting back onto the blacktop.
I do hope all goes
well and you are not too inconvenienced by all this.
It was great to meet you both and it would have been even better if we'd have had more time to chew the fat. (there's always next time I suppose.......)
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:27
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:27
Pictures speak louder than words. Have a look in your email inbox. may qualify for a Muck up and take the heat off you for once.
Follow Up By: Member - Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:04
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:04
Hi guys Leigh and I and Brian are in
Port Augusta living it up in a hotel.
When we were in
hawker I over heard a guy in the
mobil servo on the phone whining about this will be the last time they will pick a car up from
warraweena after they trash them 4x4 driving and that they need to place a warning on entry permit to
park as they wont come and get cars.
ross
Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:12
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:12
David, I think the pictures should be posted here for all to see.
Especially after all the Nissan Gloaters put it on me after my accident a few years ago. Does that mean that Nissan's are now only 2.1's or 1.5's now apart from that .56 Chevvy thingo. LOL
Roachie, I sincerely hope you didn't need that oil on the way
home.
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:19
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:19
He may have been a bit grumpy this weekend as the roads up there through the gorges are pretty knocked up and it took him two hours to get the 65 K back to
Hawker with my little offering plus the hour and a half to get there and 3/4 hr loading. he only gets paid for mileage not time from the RAA motoring organisation. On top of that the other mechanical
shop is away I think so he is left to do it by himself and is probably getting a bit tired at the moment.
Certainly can't complain about the service in my case.
The Teague family has been associated with the Flinders for many years and I am sure that the advent of 4WD this has really opened up the torism market in that area.
Wouldn't mind a dollar for every tank refill from a 4WD up there
Follow Up By: Blaze - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:55
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:55
Guys these RAA guys could get a bit p##sed off having to collect vehicles etc, but its their choice of occupation. Its no different than me complaining when people bring in computers to be fixed because though don't have virus protection. But its my choice to do computers and my choice to stay with the job, and it pays the billls :-) ...... I know from a local RAA division here, who are also a new and used car sales outlet that in lean times RAA is their bread and butter...... He was probably having a grumpy day is all..... He will be probably complaining in a few weeks he has no work.... LOL
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:14
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:14
Ross, that sounds pretty ill-informed comment at the servo. I didn't see any 4by knocked around at
Warraweena over the weekend. Not one! I paid the servo there too. Thought I was going to get drivewaye service with a
young guy out the front to talk. Just shows what an idiot he must have been if it was the same guy. He is a bit of a lurker here so he may understand better.
The trailer that called to collect my vehicle was hardly up to the task with road tyres and I would have thought 14" too. I was told by someone who saw the spring that had broken it looked like it had been a while too. He could be wrong, but obvioulsy the fellow at
Hawker NFI
If the companies making many $100s through a recovery want to stop, I guess more may do more damage by driving out.
Mine was driveable but it was a Nissan warranty that made it for them, a better paying job. I also had a responsibility to the company I purchased from.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 01:00
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 01:00
Totally agree
John, There a Mechanics around this country who would give their best sockets away to get a RAA franchise in
places like
Hawker etc. along the lines of what David posted without us (Bashem up 4bee) owners going into the Flinders, tourism would die off and they could spend their time trying to work out how to feed the family....
Totally agree with your comment "I didn't see any 4by knocked around at
Warraweena over the weekend." I think a new Commodore travelling from
Hawker to
Arkaroola would be being knocked around more....
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 21:14
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 21:14
you mean a
pic of this ilk?
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:00
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:00
Bonz, I wish that had been posted eariler in the day as he posted from here.
Just a quote from a phone conversation earlier today
ring, ring on my mobile, I answer
John R......
Lucy: why don't you answer your bloody phone?
me: I rang the number I had for you but only got your voice mail - quoted the number.
Lucy: Thats the CDMA and I only switch that on sometimes (no calling number ID on inwards call)
Lucy: Where are you?
me: Big 4 in
Port Augusta
Lucy: So am I, where are you?
me: I can see you
Lucy: oh, I see you.....
me: No you don't I am at reception
Well lunch at
Whyalla and he headed for
Port Lincoln
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:41
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:41
What is that BAG hanging off the side of Lucy? And I dont mean Des Lexic hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:53
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:53
Bonz, he has bagged an annex as
well as Des Lexic who was upto his armpits under Lucy
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:09
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:09
I'm off to
Melbourne in the yota on Wednesday early if you want me to put a car trailer on.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:15
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:15
Thanks Andrew, hopefully to
Port Augusta in the morning for a dealer repair.
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:58
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:58
John, sorry to hear that things went pear shaped. It happens I guess.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:16
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:16
What a pear eh? Last thing I would have expected.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:20
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:20
John, you're right. Even my Nissan mad mechanic couldn't believe it when I recounted your experience :((
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:55
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:55
Yeh, collapsed support bearing for the diff apparently, caused an ugly scene.