Apologies to all!
Submitted: Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 19:53
Wayne-o (Pilbara WA)
Well, i guess i should apologise for my dummy spit!! So Sorry.
But on the
bright side i think it made a few people's day.
My frustation came not wholey from EO but mothly by the grumpy old men i was getting on the phone when making enquiries about my turbo upgrade. Many had no time for me, and many made out that i was stupid, and upgrading the turbo was unecessary.....
well i thought that was my decion, but hey!
After all that, i made a call to TUBOTECH and spoke to really nice, and helpful bloke name BILL, and talked me through all my options. Finally after an hour on the phone i decided on a stage 2 upgraded turbo, swapped for
mine, at just shy of $1500.00. I will install, and increase fuel with pyro gauge.
Turbo will run 14psi and produce 110-120 rwkw.
Thanks to all who took the time to point me in the right direction.
Im in a better mood now.
Cheers all
Wayne-o
AKA: "Dummy Spitter"
Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:02
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:02
Nothing wrong with a dummy Spit. We all do it from time to time. Good to see you got a positive outcome.
Kim
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:46
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:46
Hahahaha good on ya Wayne-o. Everyone's entitled to spit it once in a while. As long as you got your problem sorted.
Reply By: Big Mike - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:55
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:55
Glad to see you got a result Wayne-o. Good to rustle the branches every now and then.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:11
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:11
I'm over it Wayne. Happy to hear you are too.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:34
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:34
Hey norm, pretty sure i saw that truck of your in 4wd monthly, or am i seeing things.
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:46
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:46
That's the one Wayne. You are not seeing things. It was on the cover of No 107.
I've just put a few of the pics they took in my rig profile, including the one here.
Good pick up.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:17
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:17
lovin it man, sweet work. Tough lookin truck. Love the blue! Good on ya dude.
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: Member RayJen Paj05 (NSW) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:50
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:50
Nice new truck, Norm. Did you have the outboard running up back when crossing that
creek?
All the best, Ray
Reply By: sastra - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:21
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:21
Whoo hoo, let's all have a group hug shall we?
Yes, I'm a grumpy older man whose wife would tell me to pull my head in if I chucked a similar tantrum.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:16
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:16
Wayne-o,
Good on you mate. It takes guts to admit an error by oneself whatever it may be.
I apologise to you as
well for my somewhat "aggressive" reply to you.
Keep your contributions coming mate. They give a good perspective from where you are based.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:18
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:18
no worries dude. It is soooooo hard to get things done here in
Karratha. It is frustrating,
Have a good one
Wayne-o
Reply By: Rossco td105 - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:46
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:46
G'day Wayne,
Many aren't interested in what the customer wants. Sometimes we want a little more or something a little different. A bit of research before the time to invest can sometimes be misconstrued by some businesses as being a smart arse.
Bill has been more than helpful with the install and sorting of my second custom turbo set-up. Had a problem after install and he and his staff went the distance to sort it out. hope it works out and good luck with the improved turbo set up.
To be honest I am a bit jealous of the final rear wheel output!
Ross.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:50
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:50
thanks
ross.
Well the turbos not on yet.....but should be here tomorrow or wednesday....TOLL IPEC from
perth.....then should have it on by the weekend, then get the pyro and boost gauge out, and hopefully sorted 100% tweeked by sat for some serious caining....LOL
luv the rig pik.
Cheers bud
Wayne-o
PS...what rwkw did ya get?? I wont be able to dyno
mine till Bath Bros up here get theres up and running should be in a few months though!
Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:04
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:04
No prob mate,
I got 96rwkw from
mine but kept temps to under 600 degrees pre turbo. Many believe my donk is a time bomb waiting to happen, we shall see..!
What pyro and boost gauges are you going? Ian from Thermoguard helped me out with one of the first of his set ups, and (as with Turbotech, apart from a bit of trouble initially with the boost gauge) both have been going
well.
Ross.
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:23
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:23
not too sure yet, will set up with digital gauges, and adjust fuel to get 550 flat out in 5th, and boost to 14psi.
Dont think you'll have a time bomb mate....only jealous others!!!! LOL
just wana give my neighbours D4D prado a run for its money...LOL
I think i will source some gauges eventually to pod mount but once its set ill take my time to get a sweet set on pillar pods and do my best to get a nice sweet install.
What is a ceramic coating??
I was thinking teflon wrapping??
Wayne-o
Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:56
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:56
G'day again,
Basically a heat proof ceramic composite coating that "insulates" the coated surface to keep the heat from the engine inside the exhaust manifold and pipes. Depending on how much you want to spend they can do both the inside and outside of the item to greatly decrease the surface temperature of that item.
The guys are quite helpful and I stumbled across them while investigating improving the manifolds and turbo housings on another toy.
Couple of companies do ceramic coatings, with varying results. Finally decided on a place in Kelmscott (Competition and Industrial Coatings). They too were willing to listen to, and discuss my ranting about improving performance and reliability. If you do a search you'll probably find info on a couple of these company's on Google.
I also have the pipes from the turbo to under the chassis 'wrapped' in a heat proof type tape (looks like a really thick bandage) which I'm sure a lot of auto parts stores might be able to supply you with. I got
mine from the guy who makes my exhausts for me.
Rossco.
Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:29
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:29
For my part I am embarrassed and still a bit mystified of my involvement in your troubles. Hope it all works out for you. I too work out of Karratha/
Dampier though I dont live there. I do know how frustrating it is getting parts etc up there though.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:32
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:32
Same here f64.
I think it began with the light-hearted approach by Wayne:sounded playfull.
Oh
well.
Still reckon you should join up fisho.....
Don't think Big Nike is ready yet.
Jeff H.
Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 11:56
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 11:56
you did what...where where
i didnt even notice
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:24
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:24
Might wanna take those painted glasses of big ears ! :-)))))
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:45
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:45
i didnt take any notice Pezza cos its the norm on this site
Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:36
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:36
Site Link
$1000 starting bid for a hybrid turbo from MQD to suit your nissan, 40% more power...
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:41
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:41
sorry....MTQ....also saw another while surfing ebay this morning....upgrade turbo that is...you will find if you boost up and enlarge the turbo, the intercooler will be the next restriction, so keep an eye out for a front mount safari unit, or go and buy one complete, and sell off your std one to someone with a std gq 4.2.
The good thing with your motor, you can play with the adjustments on the pump with a few std tools :) Make sure you buy an egt gauge first...
Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 09:59
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 09:59
cheers DOZA i will be sure to tinker me pump.
(that sounds naughty....LOL)
thanks pal
Wayne-o