Trip Report: Warraweena

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 21:58
ThreadID: 47643 Views:6576 Replies:21 FollowUps:15
THE WARRAWEENA GATHERING.

The Foreplay…………

We are only a few days away from the National meet. Excitement builds on the forum. Duncs begs us to record all the stories that arise over the weekend. Muddy Doe declares that he is not going to miss this event for the world and his doe ‘trippin’ promises to spill her guts. Ross from QLD warns his fellow statesmen that they will suffer the wrath of King Canetoad, whilst Pezza sticks to the unwritten QLD rule of not ratting on fellow ‘maroons’, otherwise there might be stories of t-shirts being used as motorbike helmets and driving Nissans in birthday suits and other similar tales being released to those of us who do not live inside their glorious Kingdom.

Lucy admits bringing his deficiencies to the forum and Roachie declares to us all that there is a plot to disparage him.

John LG wishes us all well for a great weekend and Ruth wishes she was attending too.

Gob and Denny want us to take it to another forum as they are green with envy. Aussie Chef declares to us all that he “is just leaving, with coffee mug in tow”… and ‘poor’ Muzbry has one and half sleeps to go….

Willem gives us some last minute notes and Robin wants to know “Will there be vegetarian sausages?” John R comes in with some breaking news about a ‘Big Desert firebug’ who will be amongst our midst….

And so the scene is set……..

The participants in the weekend’s events start to arrive as early as the Tuesday beforehand. Goodness only knows what they got up to before your’s truly arrived late on Friday afternoon. Suffice to say they were all well-primed by the time we arrived and the tall stories were already flowing as freely as the liquid refreshments.

The weather was not terribly inviting, but did nothing to dampen the enthusiasm of the vast throng. From far and wide they continued to roll into camp in all manner of jalopies. Some had a caravan or camper trailer weighing heavy upon the drawbar, whilst others had the garden trailer or a roof rack stacked high. One bloke even brought his green Otto bin on the drawbar of the 7x5 box trailer!

Willie was in fine fettle and had taken a ‘taskforce of the willing’, on a reccy trip up to Mt Gill.

The Main Event: Let the fun begin……..

Saturday morning arrived right on time (that’s how we do things here in SA). A drab morning of sorts, with a misty haze and the occasional sprinkle from above.

Willie had pre-arranged a small number of reliable types (as well as me too) to act as trip leaders for the 3 Saturday trips. Each of these trips was to take the better part of a full day to complete and there was a limit of 10 vehicles per group.

I had the “pleasure” of the company of Des Lexic as my co-pilot and navigator for the day. As expected, he led me up the creek on more than one occasion and tried to make out it was all my fault.

We hadn’t gone far into our 55 kilometer day trip, when the UHF crackled with news that Lucy had a flat tyre. The convoy came to an abrupt halt as we all gathered round to watch the job being done, only to be told that it would simply need to be topped-up a bit and all would be okay. With air from his Endless supply having been duly deposited into the offending General Tire, Lucy declared that we could all rejoin our own steads and continue to conquer all before us. So, all the people who had gathered around to watch a tyre being changed, left the scene thoroughly disappointed. We needn’t have worried too much…….we only managed another 100 meters or so, before the dulcet tones of the voice of the said Mr Lucy once again brought us all to a grinding halt. “No, it’s going down faster than any black thing I’ve ever experienced before” was the call. So again, we all trooped back to the sticken Blandcruiser. My navigator assisted the process of changing the tyre, minimizing the amount of rear-crack we had to suffer the sight of, as Lucy’s dacks revealed more than our stomachs could cope with in one sitting!

We managed to make it relatively unscathed for the next section of the trip to our lunch stop at Dunbar Hut. There was a long-drop there with a pong you’d have to smell to believe. The small hut provided some temporary relief from the wind, allowing me to boil the billy without the gas flame being extinguished. Given his poor track record with gas and cooking devices, Des Lexic was forbidden from going within 500 meters of the hut.

The mastering of Suicide Hill gave people a reason to breathe a sigh of relief, once they’d reached the base. It wasn’t anywhere nearly as forboding as we had all been led to believe by it’s name. It gave some drivers a all-too-infrequent chance to experience the low-range engine-braking capabilities of their rig.

A little further along, we were heading along a dry, somewhat sandy riverbed. The only vehicle in the convoy to experience any difficulty (again!!) was “Lucy”. Bogged to the sidesteps in sand that all the other vehicles simply tippy-toed through. The excuse offered-up this time was “forgot to put her into 4 wheel drive”. Yeh, right!!!

We reached the end of that creek-bed and the convoy was required to turn around and return to a point adjacent to the foot of suicide hill. There was a short drive up another creek-bed, but “Lucy” was not able to go with the other 9 vehicles, as it would’ve meant going through a shallow puddle. I’m talking of literally 2 inches of the wet stuff!! Lucy knows only too well that ANY water will make his dash light up like a Christmas tree.

By now, you’re probably starting to think I must have it in for Member Lucy. Let me assure you here and now, nothing could be further from the truth. Shortly after starting our return journey, Pud and Barb announced over the UHF that Lucy’s _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx were flapping open at will. Yet another hasty stop ensued and we are all informed that a latch has broken, allowing the errant drawer to do whatever it pleased. Further along, another drawer latch decided to call it quits. I think it would be fair to say that Lucy needs to be a bit more careful with his _Affordable_Storage_Drawers.aspx and their contents. We stopped at a lookout, not far from our camp, only to have Lucy bemoaning the fact that his hugely expensive stainless steel, underslung water tank has sprung a leak (again!). I was beside myself with joy as the cameras continued to click at will. Poor Lucy knew not whether to look fore or aft; everywhere he cast his evil eye, another fault jumped out at him. Thank goodness for cable-ties and occy straps he says.

Upon returning to camp, we mingled around camp for a little while. Noel Fullarton enlightened us with his stories of camels and considerable perspective on the life of Aboriginal people throughout this great country. At around 1900 we all drove the 1.5klm up to the homestead where Judith and her band of merry helpers were busy cooking a seemingly endless supply of snags. These were sold with a bit of bread for $2.00 a piece. I understand that over $1,200- was raised to go towards the remote education of kids.

We were then entertained by 2 bands. They took it in turns to pound-out some great songs from the 70’s, 80’s and 90’s (I think)as well as some of their own creations. Suffice to say that I was totally hoarse the next morning as I tried in vain to match the volume being emitted from the huge Bose speakers. It was pretty cool at the homestead and there were a couple of 44’s filled with fire to keep the folks warm. As the night drew on, the numbers at the homestead dwindled gradually; attendees choosing to return to camp and either hit the hay or sit around smaller fires to exchange yarns.

At various times over the weekend, stories and tales emerged of incidents from other trips (that I wasn’t a part of). Aussie Chef got himself into a bit of strife with a flat tyre. However, that’s okay of course. He is always prepared with a spare tyre AND a puncture repair kit. Only trouble is that the spare tyre was as flat as the one on the ground AND the puncture repair kit was back at camp in the trailer. To add insult to injury, Aussie tried to blame his son Warren jnr for these misdemeanors.

Sunday dawned sunny but cold; frosty in fact. I finally had a chance to have a decent conversation with Trevor R; one of the cane-toads who managed to find his way over the border to bless us with his presence. Unfortunately, Trevor informed me of a horrendous crime he committed en-route to Warraweena. He willfully wasted WATER. Despite having copious quantities of other, less-valuable liquids on board, good ol’ Trevor decided the road needed wetting down with a commodity which we may not have available to us for much longer. Anyway, rest assured I admonished him severely and told him in no uncertain terms that XXXX and Bundy Rum were invented to throw on dirt roads; no our precious water.

Once again trips were planned and departures arranged. Our group’s intended trip to Mt Gill was stymied due to the disappearance of the key to a particular gate. Two other groups had preceded us up that hill, so we were provided an opportunity to do The Old Coach Road and Old Angepena Goldfield Tracks instead. With the elderly Mr Des Lexic acting as our fearless leader, we proceeded along the first section of this moderate-rated track. It was indeed interesting to watch the hapless Mr Lexic take no less than three attempts to get his bucket of bolts over a small mound of dirt. The remainder of the convoy was able to easily tackle this slight obstacle without any drama at all. This track consisted mainly of many “whoopsies”……a technical term meaning in and out of creeks thousands of times. Upon stopping for lunch, Pud noticed a certain amount of steam emanating from under the bonnet of his Chev-Nissan. Tools were hastily withdrawn and the task of establishing the cause began in earnest. It turned out to be a case of the air-conditioning aluminium tubing being worn through by the air-cleaner canister. Nothing that would cause any inconvenience at this time of the year.

We returned to camp at around 1700 to continue the task of meeting old friends; ones we had seen before and others with whom our only previous interaction had been via the keyboard of our PC. Surprisingly, a number of people whose acquaintance I met for the first time, commented that I was younger than they had imagined me to be. I took that to mean that I must “sound” older on the ‘puter than my number of elapsed birthdays would otherwise indicat;-)).

After tea, we were treated to a half-hour or so session around the Sunday-night campfire, conducted by Willie’s close friend, Uncle Milton. Following that very funny and witty performance, the tone of the whole evening started to take a turn for the worse. Willie had prevailed upon me to conduct a “Muck-Up” awards ceremony. Unfortunately, to say I was gazumped by Member Lucy would be a gross understatement. He flabbergasted me with his well thought-out presentation along the lines of “This Is Your Life”. Working on the basis of never letting the truth get in the way of a good story, I was (again) made to look like a total Wally.

Along the way, we were able to hand-out small prizes and awards to various participants for those deserving souls.

It would be remiss of me not mention the generosity of our website hosts. A big thank you to David and Michelle Martin of Exploroz for providing a quantity of merchandise which was handed around.

Also, I would like to acknowledge the fantastic effort put into organizing the whole shooting match by Willem and Judith in collaboration with Stony and Gina from Warraweena.

The Afterglow…..

Monday morning came upon us and some of the blokes gravitated to the rear end of John R’s Patrol. John’s diff was making some rather gnarly sounds and it was pronounced D.O.A. when a couple of bits of steel came out the bung hole when an inspection was undertaken. Discussions ensued as to whether it would be appropriate to remove the rear tail-shaft so John could drive to Port Augusta in front-wheel drive or if much more damage would be caused if he were to drive there in 4 wheel drive. In the end it was determined that as he had an extended warranty, the vehicle would be trailered to Port Augusta for repairs by Nissan. That duly happened, but not before the RAA bloke had to return to his base (at Leigh Creek I think) to get his trailer’s spring and a tyre repaired.

Of course, with John’s vehicle being out of action, he was faced with somewhat of another dilemma. How was he to get himself, Heather and their Kimberly Karavan to Port? Enter, stage left, Willie Kempen! Although young Willie was supposed to be heading to warmer climes, he jumped at the opportunity to tow the KK in a southerly direction as well as entertaining John and Heather (with Uncle Milton’s assistance) for the duration of the journey. What a mate!

The journey home was not without several incidents. Whilst most of these were tyre related, Out’n’about David (who had actually left camp on Sunday to return to Adelaide), managed to break the axle of his camper trailer. Instead of being home by evening on Sunday, he arrived after dark on Monday night.

I’m sure that I have missed several of the important events that took place over the weekend in this account. I am equally sure that there will be numerous reminders of other stuff ups that I have either forgotten about, or never knew about in the first place. If anybody has some photos of the weekend and knows how to upload/download (or whatever the term is!!!???), could you please add them to this thread in a follow-up.......that'd be great. Thanks.

I reckon it’d be a pretty safe bet to say that everybody had a great time. I will be looking forward to the next big bash.

Reply By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:11

Hahahahaha.........idn't need to spill, Lucy did a wonderful job Sunday night.

AnswerID: 251981

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:12

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:12
Gday Roachmiester,,glad you all had a great weekend,,,,please feel free to enlighten the rest of us who were unfortunately unable to attend about any more "mishaps"..lol:)
Good read mate.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 251982

Reply By: Brian B (Brisbane) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:30

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:30
Roachie,

Great yarn. I would have loved to come but hopefully next time.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 251986

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:31

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:31
!MPG:22!
Hmmmmmm
!MPG:21!
Pictures never do justice............Suicide hill.
AnswerID: 251987

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:31

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:31
Great report mate but it was Willem's mate George not Uncle Milton telling stories on the way South. We had to take Uncle Milton's chair to Quorn though for him as he had left it at Warraweena.

Got most of Phil G's group at the top of Mt Gill below. Have the full size file too if anyone would like it.

AnswerID: 251989

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:47

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:47
Thanks John,

Annette picked me up on this error just after I posted it up! Bugga....I should've got her to proof read it before I submitted.

FollowupID: 513047

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - Michelle - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 15:59

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 15:59
Hi John, Can you please email an original of this pic to Damian for future use in site membership graphics?
Michelle Martin
Marketing & Customer Support
I.T. Beyond Pty Ltd / ExplorOz

FollowupID: 513291

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:50

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:50
Excelent write up there Roachie, made me feel like we were still there............ I wish
Sunday night had me in tears of laughter on both accounts, the whole muck up awards and "This is your life"

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 251998

Reply By: Blaze - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:50

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:50
Great report Roachie...... As I was carrying a spy on day one in my vehicle I must have done OK.... :-) I hear a phone call and email to SWMBO today with recipes for biscuits from Annette, so I will be set for awhile now....LOL
AnswerID: 251999

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 08:13

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 08:13
This report has done nothing for my jealousy over not being able to attend!!!!! However, I am reading this article with only 6 more hours of work before I am off for 2 weeks.

Hopefully i'll be able to catch up with you all at the next gathering!

And thanks for the read Roachie. Great way to start a working day!
AnswerID: 252024

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:26

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:26
Hello Sam - how are you going? And where are you going to? Ruth
FollowupID: 513118

Follow Up By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:18

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:18
Hi Ruth!

Going well thanks!

Heading south this year down to Narooma to do some fishing then across to the Snowies for a quick look around before stopping at Berry for 2 weeks. Taking it easy this year after the big trip last year - need to recover the finances ready for another big one next year!

How about yourself? How's things?
FollowupID: 513125

Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 20:05

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 20:05
Sam, think you'll see some snow this trip. Bit of a change from last year's trip. We've been fishing around the Channel Country and going back again in a couple of weeks - come back again after the Races (never been before - too busy, so going this year!) Then we'll come back and build the house. Next year we are going to the Gulf and Cape (probably Hay River). Fishing been good? We've had some good catches.
FollowupID: 513174

Reply By: Member - John L G - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 10:38

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 10:38
Great literary effort roachie and green as....

Glad it went as well as expected and best wishes to all.
AnswerID: 252039

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 12:19

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 12:19
Roachie,

The pleasure of meeting you was all mine, thanks for humouring us all weekend. The bit about you being younger than you come accross is all due to the fact that Annette seems far too young for an "old bloke" so you must be young?? right??

There is one topic I would like to bring to the fold. Do we all remember Dawn Fraser at the Tokyo olympics? Yeah the bit where she stole the flags, and the ensuing drama that followed.
Well the Queenslander flag flying high off the front of my truck was "temporarily borrowed" on Sunday night. I have spoken to the Emporer of Cane Toad Territory and he is equally unimpressed and a public appoligy plus a two year ban from the pastime we were participating in must be adhered to by the offending "larikin". Any leads as to the offender will be treated in the upmost of confidence and even honourary membership to the prestigous Cane Toad Territorians Club will be considered. I look forward to any corespondence, regarding this most serious of offences. LOL!! In the event that the "larikin" is from within my own camp (ie another QLD'r), banishment from the Cane Toad Territorians Club is a given and further punishment over and above that to "others" will be sought ROFL.

The song, what about the song, I can hear some QLD'rs asking. Well the band were unable to adequately portray the lyrical ability of us queenslanders in taking the pi$$ out of our fellow "Crow Eaters". Not even a commitment to a substantial donation to the charity tin would convince the band to rat out there fellow SA residents :-((( (I do however have the lyrics and will post them at my will LOL!!)

If that great state of yours wasn't so dry I may not have felt the need to offload two tanks of the precious stuff all over the road on the trip sth. Fact is I was being typically QLD and thinking of those following and trying to keep the dust to a minimum LOL!! (I will however keep that wonderful campspot at Clayton SA "our secret")

I would like to thank all involved in the organisation of this great weekend and confirm Judy, Thomas and myself had a wonderful time putting faces to screen names. Also well done to those making the effort to attend and help make it a great gathering.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 252049

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:21

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:21
Gidday Trevor,

Just a thought here... "In the event that the "larikin" is from within my own camp (ie another QLD'r), banishment from the Cane Toad Territorians Club is a given"

Just maybe the offender may want banishment after seeing how us croweaters operate LOL........
FollowupID: 513116

Follow Up By: Muddies Doe(Trippn) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:37

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:37
Check it out.................ThreadID: 47613

You left before we got up but I heard you toot. Anyway, all the best with the bub and glad you all had a great time.

Cya
Muddies
FollowupID: 513120

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:19

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:19
Well written Roachie,

It was indeed a good few days and great to put some faces to names.

Pity we couln't stay for the 'awards' night, sounds like it was good fun.

-Might be nice to have the next one somewhere just a tad warmer tho'.......

Michael
AnswerID: 252054

Reply By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 15:14

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 15:14
Roachie,

I would like to place this in the trip gathering report system attached to the event - I realised you did not have access to do the update so we will do it in the office here to get it sorted. Do you have a series of pics we can add to the event? OR if other have some we would be happy to load them into the actual trip gathering report system - email them into info@exploroz.com and we will load them (PS: the system only will alow 12 in total). Thanks.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

AnswerID: 252063

Reply By: Des Lexic - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:21

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:21
I hope you took the "Good Oil" home with you and didn't leave it laying around. Although it is possible someone with a Nissan with a Nissan motor might have needed it to get home.
Good report Roachie although a little correction might be needed here and there. LOL
AnswerID: 252081

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:26

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:26
Des,

Sorry, but I forgot the drum of black gold. Willie mentioned it to me on the UHF as I was driving out, but I said I thought there would be more deserving recipients than me kicking around. Alternatively, I said he might wish to use it on the fire: a bit of black smoke to help Lucy find his way back to camp when another of his toys breaks down.;-))

If I had decided to take it with me, I would have had to leave one of my boys there, as we were stacked to the gunwalls with awards I received for my excellent driving skills, mechanical prowess and for being a modest, nice bloke in general. (at least that is what I like to imagine all those gifts were for....)

Anyway, there is absolutely NOTHING from your 50 series that I would dare to allow within spitting distance of MY rig......hahahaha
FollowupID: 513159

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:01

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:01
Great to hear the report!

No doubt more details will start to filter through!
Looking forward to further reading!

Will definately speak to Trev though!!! Nothing like hearing some of the mishaps with Trevs enthusiasm when he tells tales!!!!

Jo
AnswerID: 252090

Reply By: Member - vivien C (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:50

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:50
Roachie,

Thanks for the great report. It made me laugh again at all the "antics" you blokes get up to!!.

I'd like to thank Annette for the Mulled Wine. I can see she is the one who keeps you on track. She did a great job with the awards and making sure you got the right one for the right person!

You said people think you look younger than they expected. Well, I was thinking the same. I think it's just that on the forum you have such "sage" advice for everyone that we would never have expected until Lucy's little speech, that you were capable of so many stuff ups. Of course I only have his word for it, and as you said, not a word of it was true!! Who do I believe????

Anyway, it's all good fun and that's what our Warraweena Experience was...good fun. We should have more of it!!

Best wishes

Viv
AnswerID: 252099

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 19:00

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 19:00
G'day Viv,

Glad you had a great time and that you enjoyed my (unbiased) account of the events..........unlike those recollections of Member Lucy in his little presentation to the masses. Goddness gracious me; I'm surprised you'd even give his version of events a second thought!!! You have only to look each of us in the eye to immediately be able to tell, without any shadow of a doubt, that HE is a lying scoundrel......truly a boy that only a mother could love!!! Can you even picture me, in your wildest dreams, making soooooo many muck-ups. (actually, don't answer that question....hahahaha)

Cheers for now and look forward to catching up again in future.....

FollowupID: 513165

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 20:07

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 20:07
As for photos Aussiechef had a weapon he was snapping away with here and there. I did ask if he had a licence for it.......
maybe they'll appear somewhere....

Sorry to rain on your parade Roachie but I thought you looked older than I thought you would!!!

I will not stir any more, lucy et.al. seem to be doing a good job!!! A good dossier he prepared wasn't it, and so much material to work with....
Good report, well done
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 252112

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 20:16

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 20:16
I know of a certain Toyota owner that locked his keys in the ignition, had to call his son to come with a spare key............................

LMAO
AnswerID: 252114

Reply By: Twinkles - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:18

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:18
Got to Warraweena Saturday afternoon after coming from Vic via Tibooburra, Innamincka, Coongie Lakes, Arkaroola. Had great fun for the time I was there. Loved meeting some of the faces behind the familiar forum names. Enjoyed the Mt Gill drive and views. Trevor wasn't the only one to drain his water tank on the road. It happened to me twice! Rocks/stones thrown up broke the plastic tap outlet under my camper before Tibooburra. Broke the hose fitting to the hand pump same way before Akaroola. Replaced with brass fittings. Bent my trailer axle after leaving Warraweena, on way to Wilpena. Drove it home to Vic Wednesday with splayed wheels. Getting new axle and bearings from local trailer supplier soon.
Going too hard through the dips.
Thanks Willem for organising this.
AnswerID: 252125

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:19

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:19
Hi twinkles,

Wasn't the road through to wilpena a loveley well maintained one. Broke my trailer axle just before the Bunyeroo valley.
FollowupID: 513205

Follow Up By: Twinkles - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:31

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:31
Some of those dips and creek crossings catch you by surprise. Have to admit I travel a bit fast over them. Heading into Arkaroola, before going to Warraweena, I had the car and trailer all airborn. Wheeee! How'd you get your trailer home?
FollowupID: 513246

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:17

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 20:17
As far as I know it is still sitting out the back of the garage at Hawker. the camper is under warranty and they were going to look after getting it back.
FollowupID: 513347

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:14

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:14
The vegetarian sausages were much appreciated on a cold windy night.

AnswerID: 252163

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 22:09

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 22:09
Hi Robin,

Glad you enjoyed the vegie sausages, my son and I supplied the Saturday fare
as our contribution to the Warraweena event.

Had a mad moment for a while and thought that they had been cooked with the rest, sorry we did not catch up with you.

Michael
FollowupID: 513374

Reply By: Marion - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:25

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:25
Roache,
a great read thanks for that, it make me want to make a better effort to try and attend one of the get togethers. We just could'nt get the time as we are heading of next saturday to go to the 'cape'. You guys always have the best time when you are all together.It is like a big family.
Cheers Marion
Talawana
VKS Selcall 2691

AnswerID: 252166

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:42

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 09:42
Yep.....one BIG happy family (who just LOVE having a dig at each other; all in jest).....hahahahaha

Hope you can make it to the next one.

Cheeers

FollowupID: 513249

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:53

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:53
Eloquence indeed Roachie, Great to see Lucy performed as expected hahahaha and I meant with the vehicle performance not his story telling which, from personal experience, has nothing whatsoever to do with the truth.

AnswerID: 252474

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 12:06

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 12:06
Hey Bonz,

The funniest part of the whole thing is that he wanted/insisted on travelling close to me (I think words were along the lines of he was gunna stick to me like "chit to carpet") so that he could bear witness to all MY stuff-ups!!!!!! hahahahaha

Did that ever back-fire; or what!!!!!!!!!!!!! I was there for all of his stuff-ups!!!!

I think the word for that is "KARMA"........... ROFLMAO x 10000000000

FollowupID: 513559