Custom plastic water tank

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:20
ThreadID: 47652 Views:5541 Replies:9 FollowUps:2
Hello All,

Does anyone know where i can get a plastic water tank made. Reason i am having one made up is because i cannot find anyone who makes a tank to suit the size i require. I have a GU ute and have a neat spot under the tray for it. It needs to be approx 250x250x750mm long.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Brett

Reply By: Member - Lance S (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:36

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:36
Why plastic, can you use stainless steel?
cheers Lance
Home Away from Home

AnswerID: 252059

Follow Up By: brett patrol - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:39

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:39
Stainless steel is an option (and would be better because it does not affect the taste of water) but is alot more expensive.
FollowupID: 513126

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:51

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:51
Brett which State are you in? There is a company here in Perth, based in Midvale that makes them. Saw the ad in the latest Western 4WD magazine.

AnswerID: 252061

Follow Up By: brett patrol - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 15:33

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 15:33
Hi Duncan, sorry mate, i am in Vic. Maybe a little too far to travel.
Thanks anyway.
FollowupID: 513134

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:15

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:15
Brett,

see this post,

Site Link

They may be able to assist.

AnswerID: 252069

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:19

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:19
Is this of any use to you?

ROTO CAMPER TANK
55 litre (12 gallon) capacity.
760mm x 355mm x 225mm.
Can be installed either vertically or horizontally.
3571-025.C
Fittings Required:
3571-002.05 (2 required)
3525-004 (1 required)

from www.camec.com.au
AnswerID: 252070

Reply By: Member - Karl - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:20

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:20
Try finding a company that makes the plastic (rotomould) water tanks in your area or go to a Bunnings (or similar) store and find out who their supplier is of water tanks and contact them. I had a cousin that worked for a company here in WA years ago and they use to make many different types and sizes of water tanks as a sideline to their standard tanks.

Karl
AnswerID: 252072

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:58

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:58
Brett
Go to my 4x4 page and click on the water tanks , and you might find them in Melbourne at a Truck accessory place

www.doug-and-dusty.id.au/4X4.htm

AnswerID: 252101

Reply By: Ianw - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:30

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:30
Have a look here. They are in Qld but seem to have everything you need. Get online quote too

www.atlastanks.com.au

ian
AnswerID: 252136

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:51

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:51
Brett,

I got the 38 litre tank from this site.

www.bmackay.com.au/dp/index.html

(also www.dynaplas.com.au goes to the same site)

Sent to perth from Sydney via Australia Post. It fitted under my trayback perfectly.

cheers (and cheers to Doug, I got the link off his homepage)

AnswerID: 252142

Reply By: brett patrol - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 07:26

Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 07:26
Thanks very much for all your reply guys. I have more than enough information.
Much appreciated.

Brett
AnswerID: 252149