I'm a Broken Man
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:11
Outnabout David (SA)
First of all last week some will know I broke an axle on the camper trailer coming home from Warraweena.
Then today,
I was winching some very heavy old farm implements up onto a trailer and guess what I snapped the winch cable.
Now I have been taught and also tell people that they should use some sort of damper on the cable but I have also heard that when they break they do not come back at a huge rate of knots to create havoc. Seem to remmber something on here a few months ago.
Anyway in my case it was under a fair bit of load and broke about 4ft from the hook and just coiled up in a spiral with the end only travelling a few metres.
In this case an air brake would'nt have done anything as it wouldn't have gone that far.
Just interested others experiences.
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:32
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:32
Not a good week mate. Things happen in threes mate.....may be time to get a NISSAN before number three. :)
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:35
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:35
A Nissan! That is only good for a Number 2.
Please note none of the items broken of late are Toyota so there won't be a 3rd thing to break.
Reply By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:37
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:37
Most of the discussion I've read always focusses on a broken cable. But there are a lot of other dangers in using a winch.
When I was a
young fella I had a finger ripped off. The reason for this was because I had no training or experience. In the last 30 years I've also witnessed some close calls that were 4WD unrelated.
Nearly lost a mate recently when a cable supported 10,000 Gal
tank gave way and proceeded down a gully.
I treat the things exactly the same as a chain saw.
Reply By: Dave B (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:39
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:39
Just wondering if they put an old jumper or an old bag or something over the cables when they were trrying to free thte Pasha Bulker.
Didn't one of their 60cm cables break?
How far away from that would you want to be?????
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:15
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:15
Yeh, I heard they used one of those flash-harry ARB dampners with the velcro (for strength).......there's no way they would've risked using just an old jumper or bit of beach towel....that would be silly....;-)))))
Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 21:49
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 21:49
Hi Dave,
Nice to meet you last week. I have always thought the main reason for the dampner is if the hook stays on the end of the cable and where it is attached to lets go. In this case it would be imperitive a dampner is on the cable.
I was snatching a motorhome (my fathers) out of a ditch it was stuck in with my Pajero many years ago. I was not what you call blessed with 4wd knowledge (some things never change LOL!!) and I attached the strap via a rated bow shackle to the cargo tie down point on the back of the Pajero and hooked it up to the front of the motorhome with another rated bow shackle but no dampner on the strap. The silly driver of the motorhome left the handbrake on when I was trying to snatch and the result was one very high speed Pajero tie down, hurtling full force into the front of the motorhome grill. Had the missile been 2 foot higher I would have been dialling 000 as fast as I could as it was right under the drivers position where it impacted. Two lessons learnt, 1: tie down points are NOT recovery points and 2: dampen all straps or winch cables as a precaution.
Good luck with getting the monkey off your back.
Trevor.
Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:10
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:10
You are having a bad trot David. Coincidentally a mate of
mine broke his CT axle a few months ago heading to Warraweena. His was fixed at the
Beltana roadhouse on
Easter Saturday arvo for the princely sum of $50. He was so impressed with the repair and the price that he called in their last weekend as we headed to
the Painted Desert to drop of a nice bottle of red.
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:16
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:16
Hi Pat,
How was your trip to
the painted desert.
Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:19
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 16:19
G'day David,
Did yours end up looking like this?
Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 20:51
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 20:51
Well Beatit not quite that bad although yours does look neat and even.
Mine is an independant
suspension so was a little lop sided.
Its a bummer trying to get it all back together and mobile though. At least if most things on a car pack up you can get a tow back to the nearest repair
shop but when you lose an axle or whatever your choices are quite limited.
Although I didn't have my h lift jack with me it is the fist thing I will pack next time with the camper. When its guts is on the ground it is pretty hard and a long process to get it jacked up to the right height to do anything with.