Joining a winch cable

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:14
ThreadID: 47707 Views:2636 Replies:6 FollowUps:3
As you will see from my other post I broke my winch cable 4ft from the end. Does anyone know if I can get the hook put on and swaged without taking the whole cable off and if so in Adelaide somewhere.

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:38

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 17:38
David,

Nobles should be able to do a little job like that for ya mate....

What is number 3 gunna be????

AnswerID: 252374

Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:54

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 18:54
David,
Why did the winch cable break in the first place? It must have had a hell of a load on it.... Perhaps it is old or has been mistreated etc.... not (casting any aspersions BTW). If any of these are the case I would be replacing it with some new stuff.....no point in taking any risks etc..... It's not that expensive to replace unless you want to put anything fancy on it...plasma etc...

AnswerID: 252389

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:04

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:04
It had a bit of a load but nothing that bad that the cable and winch couldn't handle and it was going through a snatch block. I had the trailer connected to the work 4wd and then had my car at 90 degrees with the snatch block on the front frame of the trailer. Put a big round log at the front of the trailer to stop cable rubbing on metal of the trailer but did realise it was rubbing near the back as I was staning behind the machinery being winch with someone else operating the control.

Cable on sharp object not good comination.
FollowupID: 513446

Reply By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:45

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:45
As I understand it, the wire rope guys will not reswage used wire rope. Something to do with safety rules, at least that was what our local guy in Sydney told me. Besides if it broke once why would you risk it again. New wire rope is not expensive and is easy to replace on winch.
AnswerID: 252402

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:58

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:58
As with most winches the cable was hardly used and in op condition. Only broke on the end because it was against a sharp metal edge. I tied it in a granny not afterwards and ept using it so it was under no great stress.
FollowupID: 513453

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:24

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:24
You sure that you haven't breached Occ Health and Safety by employing unsafe work practice? To even consider repairing something like a winch cable is both dangerous and stupid. What if the failure was caused by a weakness in the cable which was exacerbated by your operating procedure(s). It's still equipment failure. Guess you're the sort of bloke who would restitch a safety belt after it ripped apart, re-weld a disc rotor after it developed a crack, Araldite your 'hard hat' when it broke in two and so on. Mate take the advice of many others, spend a dollar or two and save a life - maybe even yours.
AnswerID: 252487

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:23

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 18:23
No worries Mr Occ Health and Safety gestapo man. Don't tell me about unsafe workpractices. Everyone at some stage has a lapse and fails to see something that could cause a problem and in fact it was someone else operating the winch control while I was at the back guiding the object up a set of ramps.

Don't call me stupid either. The cable broke because the end couple of feet rubbed against a very sharp edge and snapped imediateley. Put your ears on and hear this IT DIDN"T BREAK BECAUSE THE THING WAS LOADED UP. It had very little load in comparison to what these cables normally take.

As for the seat belt if I would restitch a belt then why did I buy a brand new Genuine belt just a month ago because I noticed a slight bit of fraying where the buckle slides up and down. Haven't had a rotor crack because I try not to overheat the brakes and then cool down quickly and don't own a hard hat but I am sure an araldited one would be better than one at all.

Sorry to be quite terse but you don't know me and your reply to a simple question was just a big toss.

If you cared to part with the membership money then I would have replied off line.

If you read my other posts re similar topics I was enquiring about Plasma rope so I can assure you money is not an object and the cable is quite serviceable for a variety of uses besides on a 4WD winch.

So next time don't be such a smart Uranus
FollowupID: 513632

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:27

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:27
Good evening David,

Reckon Roachies advise is good.

4ft off the end should not be too bad. Plasma rope sounds pretty good, guess it depends on how much you use it.

Having said that I think I will get plasma for my winch, less weight and safer to work with.

As for DIO......his/hers comments not worth an knob of goats.

Pleasure to have met you and yours at Warraweena.

Michael
AnswerID: 252593

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:26

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:26
Thanks mate.
Just not sure which way to go.
You right about everyone meeting up.
It was a pity we, just like you, had to head of early.
Hope we can have another meet not to far away even if it is just a SA thing.
AnswerID: 252626