Petrol or Diesel

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:57
ThreadID: 47722 Views:3978 Replies:10 FollowUps:38
Hey folks, hoping that some of you can help me. I am looking to buy a GU or 100 series soon. I currently have a diesel 80 series and like the benifts that a diesel offers. I just want to know how the petrol motors these days handle hills and water crossings. I would like to stick with a diesel, but there seems to be a lot of petrol ones around at the moment, so I am hoping I can get both sides of the story to make up my mind.

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:14

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:14
plenty of petrol ones around.. do you suppose that there would be a reason for people keeping their diesels and not selling them? with petrol at $1.29ltr...
AnswerID: 252441

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:54

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:54
Aahh, but you can buy a petrol of the same model and k's for 10 gees less. At 1.29ltr you can buy a lot of petrol for 10 grand.
FollowupID: 513490

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:05

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:05
Too true Pezza. They get up and boogie too.
FollowupID: 513512

Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:15

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:15
And IMHO, they give less trouble and last just as long if not longer!!.
FollowupID: 513643

Follow Up By: Voxson - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 23:50

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 23:50
Yeah,, all good points...
But what about these other ones...

Spend another $3000 and put em on gas and then your outback fuel range is kaput..
I used to be able to travel 350kms between fuel stops in remote areas when i couldnt get gas..

Put em on gas and your forever tuning them so your airboxes wont blow apart when they backfire and then costing another few 100 for a replacement airbox..

Put in longrange fuel tanks just so you can go 700kms between fills..

Get dirty fuel and you are stopped where you are,,,, where as a diesel can just keep going and going until it becomes a real problem..
I went 1000kms last year before i could be bothered changing my filter..

I have had both and diesel is the only option for outback travel..
You will find that most petrol 4x4 supporters have only ever had petrol 4x4's...
FollowupID: 513703

Follow Up By: Voxson - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 23:54

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 23:54
That 10k less comment is almost false economy...
It is quickly used up in other areas...
Gas conversion...
Repairs and extras...
Long range fuel tanks...
Wicked depreciation...
Crap fuel economy...
FollowupID: 513704

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 08:52

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 08:52
Voxson,
I have had my 80 series on Gas for 8 years. Never backfired, never had any mechanical issues except for the converter diapraghm giving up once ($280), 1000k range using both petrol & LPG (melb to sydney without refuelling), change oil and filter every 10000k. Economy may not be as good as diesel but power is much better.
Rob
FollowupID: 513720

Follow Up By: Voxson - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:35

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:35
Robnicko,, thats good...
I am just making a general comment from my own findings..
I am sure there are good stories and there are horror stories...
My fuel range comment was more about trying to make it across somewhere like The Simpson Desert after you have already used up your gas supply on some other remote track....,, and then later on in the trip trying to go from Normanton to Laura without having to plot your course via fuel stations...

FollowupID: 513739

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:10

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:10
>> And IMHO, they give less trouble and last just as long if not longer!!.

they do? Not many petrol GQ's for example get anywhere close to the klms the diesels do.
FollowupID: 513912

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:09

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:09
Yeah, the GQ's are only close to 20 years old now. Carbies are crap so it's irrelevant.

When I owned a Nissan, the word from the workshop foreman was the GU TB45E 4.5 petrol was the best for reliability full stop. No known issues apart from fan cracking and radiator rubbing through on the shroud. Both can be easily fixed. I'm happy to be proved wrong. They are a known fuel sucker though I have to admit.

3.0 litre diesel's reliability are self explanatory and the 4.2's get hot when worked with no fix. The earlier 4.2's had tolerance issues with the pistons too.

In the end with diesels I just got fed up driving gutless slugs and bought a petrol. I like it, and I go all kinds of places in it. For desert use I'd buy a HZJ75, but for just about everything else the live axle 4.5 100 series romps it in. If I was so worried about saving a few bucks here and there, I probably wouldn't drive a 4x4 anyway.

With all that siad, my next vehicle will be a modern turbo diesel for sure. The perfect compromise providing they prove themselves reliable.

FollowupID: 513941

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:30

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 16:30
Ah, a couple of big hole in your theory Voxson,
Hole 1. There is 2 km/lt difference in fuel usage between petrol and diesel of similar size and technology, 5.5 km/lt petrol to 7.5 km/lt dsl. for the 4.8/4.5 and the 4.2 TD. It will take 140000 km to use up your $10,000 you saved on purchase price, therefore no need for LPG conversion.

Hole 2. Diesel owners don't put in long range tanks ??? A 147 lt plus one 80 lt will get you 1200 k's or 1000 safe km's in a petrol, not enough ? For the few times most people go remote they can put a couple of extra jerry's in the camper trailer which just about every one has nowadays.

Hole 3. Dirty fuel affects modern common rail diesels far worse than petrols, and when it does affect the diesel it's eeeexpensive ! Ask a certain Nth QLD diesel owner that was on here a few months ago. A good filter system solves this problem in a petrol as well as in a diesel. You say you went 1000k after ingesting dirty fuel, I reckon I'll go further than you after we both ingest water :-)

Hole 4. A lot of petrol owners have owned both, but were sick and tired of flogging the crap out of the underpowered diesel to get anywhere and/or being passed by everything else (including loaded trucks) on the road at the slightest hint of a hill or when something was hooked onto the towbar and those that tried to solve this problem soon got sick of the bottomless money pit at the endless chase for more power.

Pezza

FollowupID: 514291

Follow Up By: Voxson - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:39

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:39
Hiya Pezza..

HOLE-FILL 1 & 2.........
Just thinking about what you said,,,, with 4x4's at similar vintages using only 2 km per ltr....
Which works out to be approx 6litres per 100kms... WOW....Thats huge...
A lot of people can do 35,000kms a year with some long distance travel,, and we all know 4 years goes in a flash...and with that "147" litre fuel tank we have just fitted because it is a "petrol" we have just knocked off $1000 from that $10,000, now we have got less kms of saving...

HOLE-FILL 3..............
I have never had any special aftermarket fuel filter systems..
On our last trip (4 weeks ago) to Nth Qld, Noel who was with us has got a CAV FILTER setup,,, he chipped the glass somehow and had heaps of priming problems for the whole trip as he had a hairline crack in the top alloy cover also..
What a headache,,, just stick with standard when it comes to the important stuff and you cant go wrong..
But my experience with dirty fuel is only once so i can only comment on my own findings...
We got sludgey diesel with water into the tank and it took quite a few filter changes to get back to normal, but like i said slowly got worse to 1000kms and then had to do something serious like change it..
OH,, BUY A SNORKEL...

HOLE-FILL 4.............

TRUE...Cant argue with that...

FollowupID: 514352

Follow Up By: madfisher - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:15

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:15
Years ago I had a normally aspirated Rocky, which was so gutless towing by the time you done 500ks you were stuffed. With a vehicle that does it easy you arrive much fresher.
FollowupID: 514504

Reply By: vuduguru - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:16

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:16
Crossed Tom Groggin in a V8 Landcruiser a couple of years back, no snorkel. Kids had their hands out the window, in the water, it moved around a little with the current but no problems. Rated to 700mm and was all of that. Hills... phhht!
Shane
AnswerID: 252443

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 00:30

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 00:30
why do yo suppose it is rated to 700mm ?????????????????????
Intake??
RRRRTTT WRONG!!
that is the hight of the diff beathers
- engines fine
- pity about the diffs!!!
FollowupID: 513956

Follow Up By: bysat - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 20:58

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 20:58
Once a snorkle is fitted, do they suffer from any other issues,i.e. electrical?
FollowupID: 514115

Follow Up By: vuduguru - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:17

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 22:17
None that I have heard of.
Shane
FollowupID: 514137

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:34

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:34
There is a good choice around now Bysat , don't care much on type myself just on an honest assesment of performance.

As you know most run diesels , but run petrol here simply because on any reasonable engineering evaluation it (not they) win on every score except of course fuel consumption. In my case that means average fuel use of 16.5 lt /100km
or about 30% more than an equivalently measured diesel.
The good thing about this is that all the bad points come simply down to one short term cost which can be considered fairly against the number of advantages.

My summary has been that when you really get serious about costs - the true life cycle cost of my car is actually lower than its diesel counterpart , and so I have not even been motivated to even do a gas conversion.

Water crossings and hills are handled by it with less hassle and worry about sensitive fuel issues and water ingestion etc.

It my case the electrical system is entirely sealed and the spark plug access sits at a height of 1.3m as can the main air inlet (via removeable sleeve). Hence I have never found need for snorkel etc.

Hills and towing etc really dependant more on a good broad band of torque than engine type and in this case petrol model heavily outperforms it diesel counterparts.

Theses a whole range of other user benefits , from being far more easily serviced to noise levels that actually allow you to here the wildlife etc but leave those for another time.

AnswerID: 252480

Follow Up By: madfisher - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:59

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:59
And you do not stink after you fill up Robin. As a keen fisher you have to be wary of 2 st fuel and diesel. Hope my mate does not wake up to this though lol
FollowupID: 513590

Follow Up By: Paps - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 13:10

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 13:10
Robin, do you have a 4.8 Patrol? What is it's fuel consumption like in the sand? Paps.
FollowupID: 513757

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 13:36

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 13:36
I have manual 4800 Paps.

I have used as much as 24lt / 100k on carefully checked run up/down Corong
which was totally sand.

It generally uses less though - for example the 1000km run from Birdsville up Hay river to Alice was 20lt/100km in total.

In comparison tests along tracks like border track it used about 18% more than 4.2 diesel patrols , which need to be pushed a bit and consume relativily more than on a highway run.

I have never experienced the huge figures that I have seen in some magazines - but I'm sure the car has the capability to consume more if not driven reasonably.

FollowupID: 513762

Follow Up By: bysat - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:13

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:13
That all sound a bit scary. I currently have a 4.2lt non turbo 80 series with approx 500,000 on the clock, and chews about 7-8lt per 100k's, I think. I am getting about 950km from 145lt of fuel. So some of these petrol figures are starting to put me off a bit. I know the extra power of the petrols would be nice, but the fuel saving has also to be throught of. All though the saving made at time of purchase needs to come into it.
Starting to thing I should just fix up the 80 series.
FollowupID: 514116

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:25

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:25
Hi Bysat

You have given 2 different figures there 7-8lt per 100km and 950km for 145lt is > 15lt per 100km pretty close to what the petrols get.

FollowupID: 514120

Follow Up By: bysat - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:35

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:35
Sorry, I thought I was working it out wrong. Don't trust calculators.
FollowupID: 514123

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 11:16

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 11:16
Robin ,pretty sure Bysat meant 7-8 klm per lt and the 950klm for 145lt , now I have an 80 factory turbo with auto box [4 speed] and get 7-8 klm per lt round town in stop start traffic and 10-12klm per lt on the h/way towing the c/t , long way from petrol figures me thinks.
FollowupID: 514417

Follow Up By: bysat - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:45

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:45
So I wasn't working it out wrong. After looking at what others are telling me about there comsumpion in there petrol 4b's, I didn't think that mine would get consumpion that I worked out.
So does this mean that others have work theres out incorrectly, or do petrols really chew that much more?
FollowupID: 514478

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 23:37

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 23:37
Hi Bysat,
Think your figures are a bit confusing mate, if you got 950 k's out of 145 litres then that equates to 6.5 km per lt, ( 950 divided by 145 equals 6.55 ) which equates to 15.26 litres per 100 km's.
If this is correct then you are only 1 to 1.5 km per litre better off than your average petrol, which has twice, (and in some cases more) the power and torque to your N/A diesel, not to mention the 7-10 grand less purchase price.

Pezza

FollowupID: 514532

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 00:10

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 00:10
think some people are being a bit optamistic on a 4.5s drinking ability - If you were pushing the 1hz enough to get that economy you would be looking at around 25l per hundred for the 4.5.
A trip from kal to Perth would see my light go on around the time i hit perth. A certain other forum member had the same with his petrol..... except he already uses the sub.
thats around a cool 100litres or $130 (approx) just for a trip to Perth and back
FollowupID: 514534

Follow Up By: bysat - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:09

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:09
Do the petrols need higher revs to acheive the same torque as diesel? We do a bit of weekending and a couple of longer trips away each year which always involves as much offroad and low range work as possible. So taking that in to account, is a petrol goning to give similar consumpion and low down torque as a diesel? My biggest concern is still water crossings, and no one has convicned me that the new injection motors have no issues with this, once a snorkle is fitted.
FollowupID: 514730

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 19:34

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 19:34
Hi Bysat

Don't know your car , my petrol runs 400nm at 1000 rpm rising to about 450 at 3600 rpm.

I haven't got a snorkel as air intake and sealed spark plug covers are at a height of 1.3 meter and I usually chicken out before the water gets that deep anyway.

FollowupID: 514815

Reply By: Member - Wayne B (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:14

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:14
Well, I would have argued and said go diesel however in reality the cost variance between ULP and diesel are no longer there for short term. Unless you are serious about long term ownership then diesel as the cost of petrol patrols at the moment maker them damn attractive. So tell me why does diesel pricing stay constant where as petrol spikes up and down
AnswerID: 252502

Reply By: jeffwa - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:28

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:28
I have had the pleasure of driving my friends 3.5L V6 Jackaroo on several occasions on and off road, and it is an absolutally lovley and capable car.

However.

Even though on the beach or the highway his monsterous and very reasonably powerful engine will wipe the floor of my little 3.0L 4cyl Turbo diesel automatic surf and the specs for his motor completley eat the specs for mine.... I prefer mine.

I remember him getting bogged in sand that I just clawed my way through. I was in low range tyres at 18psi as it was not that boggy (we thought) and his speed dropped down to the stage where he lost his momentum. I was behind him, slowed down the same amount and had to steer off the track around him and then head 90 degrees around and up a steep hill. My little diesel just kept on trucking on and I may have only been doing walking speed (if that) but I had as much power as I needed at 1200rpms. I feathered the throttle so as to get just the right amount of wheels spin and made it to the top. Only to have to go back down after copious amount of digging to get snatch him out.

You see the petrol on paper is much more powerful than my car, but unless his revs are high up, it's guttless. They were both autos, I jumped in his car and eagerly though I could drive him out by rocking it etc. I could not even spin his wheels in low range reverse! There was no guts at all.

I have also driven it up in the hills on the rocky rutted forrestry tracks and yeah once you get going that thing absolutally boogies, but when you are slowing, acelerating, slowing, acelerating over and over on the rough terrain, I felt like there was somthing wrong with his car because it felt less powerful than mine. But no, if I got in a straight line and trumped it, it'd take off like nobody's business, but for all the low speed work...... my little diesel was better.

Sure on the highway he can pass me like I'm standing still, but I pass him at the next servo while he's filling up, so meh. :-)
AnswerID: 252505

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:32

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:32
Oh and FYI, my car is actually heavier than his and we are both running the exact same 31" R15 10.5 Goodyear MTR tyres.
FollowupID: 513552

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:38

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:38
If you want a 4wd to go bush get a diesel, If you want a 4wd to pick up the kids or to go shopping (mum bus) get a petrol.

Steve.
AnswerID: 252508

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:11

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:11
What a load of antiquated crap !

Pezza

FollowupID: 513640

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 07:58

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 07:58
You tell him ,Pezza

but I'm sure Steve knows its really a good spread of low down torque that counts.

FollowupID: 514170

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:57

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:57
Ha ha, A good spread of low down power in a diesel becomes meaningless when compared to a 4.8 EFI backed up with an auto, or a Toy..... to.... toyo..... one of them with the V8. and auto.
Yes I know I'm preaching to the converted to you Robin :-)))

Pezza
FollowupID: 514278

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:42

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:42
Petrol Auto 4wd, I laugh in your general direction. LoL

Sounds like Mutton dressed up as Lamb. LoL

Steve.
FollowupID: 514353

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 09:29

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 09:29
Mutton is what counts , a lamb is just an inexperienced sheep and no-where near as tough.

FollowupID: 514404

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 14:58

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 14:58
Hiya Steve,
I stick with my original comment, your ideas on what makes a good 4wd are antiquated, this is 2007 mate. not 1973. Fuel prices and modern technology have made your ideas outdated.
Catch up old fella :-))))
Just read my previous comments, they could be taken as a little abrupt, please don't take them so, just humorous discussion tone mate :-)

Pezza
FollowupID: 514434

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:21

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:21
I'm not that old, I'm only 43.

Hey no offence taken, I will post some photo's that I took today of my misses xing the Jim Jim creek.

This is the reason behind my choice of engine.

It is currently 1.1m, the only problem is the carpet is getting soaked daily, thankfully we have a wet vac.

Cheers Steve.
FollowupID: 514507

Reply By: Member - Allister H (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:11

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:11
Tough choice. I've had 3 diesel Nissan 3.0L Patrols, A Petrol ToyotaFJ45 and now the proud owner of a 2002 Petrol Nissan 4.8L. Yes the Petrol is thirstier than the diesel, but in my experience the Petrol is far more responsive than the diesel. Just last weekend I had to partly reverse down a steep inclind (in Low Low), than take off again. I know my previous Diesels just would do have done it, and was so proud when my 4.8 did it with ease. Total cost of ownership (life of the vehicle) is not very often calculated by people, only the immediate impact of fuel consumpion. Its worth a look. Good luck with your choice.
AnswerID: 252533

Follow Up By: bysat - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:21
Have you had any problems with electric etc during water crossings? And yes, the only other thing that concerns me is the fuel consumpion.
FollowupID: 514119

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:51

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:51
Compare the 'torque' figures for the petrol & diesel motors for the same vehicle, if it's a mum's taxi where keeping up with the other million cars at the lights without flogging it too hard use petrol, if it's smooth pulling power for a van or trailer at low/medium revs in the bush, my own opinion is Diesel, but that's only an opinion :-))
AnswerID: 252548

Reply By: tempestv8 - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:43

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:43
It's a decent question to ask and the answers can be so different, depending on which model you are talking about. For example, if you were looking at the Prado 90 series, the 3.0 diesel motor was a convincing argument over the thirsty 3.4 V6, even if it was a bit slower and had 5000 km oil change intervals.

However in the early 120 series Prados, where there was an excellent 4.0 V6 vs the "old" 3.0TD, the petrol motor was just economical enough to pip the winning choice over the diesel motor.

Enter 2006 when the new D4D motor finally debuts with the 5 speed auto in the revised 120 series Prado, and it takes the cake.

In your question, you have an 80 series TD Cruiser, and looking to update to either a GU or 100 Series.

The 4.2TD in the 100 series is definitely more economical than your generation motor, plus Toyota now have a published schedule for replacing the big end bearings on this motor, so that issue has somewhat abated. However the IFS front end of the 100 Series leaves a lot to be desired. :( If you don't do too much remote or extreme four wheel driving it's probably going to be good enough, especially if you fit a rear diff lock to overcome the short front wheel travel.

If you were to go to an older 100 Series with the solid front axle, you get the 4.5 litre inline six which is an excellent engine, just a bit thirsty, although not as thirsty as the current generation V8. However, each time you fill up, you'll cry coz of the price of unleaded. Fitting LPG is a possible solution, but that does mean that you won't be able to do remote Outback trips anymore - you have to ask yourself quite honestly - do you do many Outback trips?

Looking at the GU Patrol, the jury is still out on the later (GUIV) ZD30 3.0 TD motor. Some say it is still problematic, others are convinced that its problems have been resolved. I personally am undecided.

As for the 4.2TD in the Nissan, it's tough as nails but a bit gutless, especially for towing or sand driving. Plus it's only available in a manual and is a bit thirsty for a diesel motor, especially at speeds over 100 km/hr. But if you are mostly doing Outback driving, it's probably reliable and good enough for extended trips, as it is probably the best suited combination. Drivelines are as tough as they come, and the 5th gear problem is probably resolved by now.

Generally, Cruisers have more space than Patrols, and if you are taking children, the middle lap only belt on the Patrol just stinks - it should be a lap/sash belt.

So it really depends on what you want. If it's just you and your partner, no kids, and you want to travel to lots of remote places, I'd pick 4.2TD Patrol.

If you have children and go camping in most caravan parks, then 4.5 Cruiser on LPG. It'll have to be the new vapour sequential injection systems, not the old gas carby systems that are prone to intake chamber backfiring.

If you have lots of money, children and want a powerful motor to do all sorts of trips, or towm then 100 Series 4.2TD auto, but fitted with diff locks and that IFS front end sorted out properly.

Happy shopping! :-)

AnswerID: 252689

Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:13

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:13
Well said! Some well articulated balance in the old bar room argument at last.
FollowupID: 513944

Follow Up By: bysat - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:33

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 21:33
I agree, well said. The 80 I have is non turbo though and has approx 500,000 on the clock, and still gives about 7-8lt per 100km. My big concern about a petrol is fuel comsumpion and how they go through water.
We do do outback travels that are only going to increase over the years, along with the kids.
By the sounds of this, I am best taking the best deal at the time, being petrol or diesel.
FollowupID: 514122

Reply By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:03

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:03
We've got a petrol Prado (3.4l) and a diesel GU (4.2l).

I love the get-up-and-go of the Prado. But I've noticed when we've done sand driving whilst heavily loaded it chews the fuel quickly.

The diesel seems to give much the same economy loaded as empty.

We've recently done the Simpson but I've not worked out the economy yet.

Our Simpson (and around) trip had a petrol/gas 80 series, a diesel GQ and (our) turbo-diesel GU.

The 80 series had to fill up more frequently. They took 4 extra jerry cans for the crossing which was adequate. The gas tank sits very low though, so you could see where they'd crossed a dune as it was smoothed out. It also had lots of oomph.

All of them handled the hills fine. We didn't have any water crossings though :-)

-geoff

AnswerID: 253259