12v Lights
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 04:10
cezzec
Just starting to set up camper,Looking at 12v lights that dont draw much power.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:09
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:09
LED LIghts ,,are the go
You will find every type you will need off eBay
CHeers
Reply By: cezzec - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:20
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:20
I should probably be more clear they are for when we are set up and
camping.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:46
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:46
Still use LED's and try and get the yellow light ones as the white light attracts the bugs.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:51
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:51
Also,
I use 4 LED solar garden lights when
camping, they are only a soft light but assist in finding the ammenities and other locations at night and don't cost the earth to run (just the sun :) )
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:13
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:13
White LED's of an appropriate wavelength dont attract bugs either.
Reply By: fishaholic - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:37
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:37
we have an evakool 12 volt light, you can get them from most good outdoor type of shops. There not cheap ( approx $80 ) but work very
well and draw stuff all. They already have an off/on switch and basically we love it.
Tried heaps of others and like the old saying you get what you pay for.
Crawf
Reply By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:47
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:47
It isn't 12V of course but you may wish to consider the Coleman Dual Fuel lamps - a beautiful mellow light and you don't have to worry about batteries.
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:20
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:20
I recently bought two 60 LED lights on 5 metre cables with cigatette lighter plug from Super Cheap (on special). Think I paid $40 each. They seem very good and are rated to draw a fraction of the power 12 V flouros use. I have not used them
camping yet, but one night I did a test between the LED and my more common 12V flouro. The LED lit a much bigger area than the fluro and is rated to last longer and use less power (don't know if it will in practice though). I initially bought one, but after my little test, went back the next day and bought another.
Also carry a Coleman Dual Fuel, which is handy when you want 'all round' light or you are not close to a 12 V plug. I normally run it on ULP, but every 6 or 8 fills, use Coleman Fuel as it is suppposed to clean the jets.
Another option I use which is quite cheap is to buy a standard 240 V trouble light from Bunnings. Cut off the 240V plug and put on a 12 V plug. Now just add a 12 V spiral fluro globe (also available from Bunnings) and you have a very good 12 V light at a reasonable price. You can get the globes in a few types from, including soft light and the yellow shade 'anti insect' variety.
A couple of ideas here for you.
Norm C
Follow Up By: cezzec - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:47
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:47
Hello Norm,Love your Lux and the article, as a hilux owner of a 06 model not looking back now, beercontroller and myself are setting up to travel for a year or so i told her that when we get back its got to be a blue hilux they are the colour.
Chuck
(Nanango)
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:18
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:18
Thanks Chuck. Assume you are talking about the 4WD Monthly article?
If you have an'06 'Lux, check out:
www.newhilux.net/index.php
I think they have replace my colour (Bishop Blue) with one slightly different, but probably only noticable on close inspection.
Norm C
Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:07
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 09:07
Don't discount the use of led headlamps - once you get used to relying on them , you can get away with very little lighting in the
camp overall. Our
camp might look like a glow worm convention at times - the LED on the camper kitchen seems enough for cooking. This strategy reduces insects to an extent too. Sure enough, if kids are in the equation, or other plans require lighting for safety, on goes our fluoro.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:27
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:27
Haedlights are definitely the go for after dark set up, you still have 2 hands & the light is always pointing where you want it.
Reply By: Mr Cruza (ACT) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:09
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:09
Hi All.
We (the wife and I) use both arrid and piranha 12volt fluros and have had excellent service from both, can't fault em. I use a petzl for both
camping and hunting and again this has performed with out fail. at the end of the day it's "horses for courses" but as has already been said you pay for what you get.
Cheers 4 now
Ashley
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:31
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:31
I'm yet to see an LED light that throws out anywhere near as much light as a horizontally mounted 13watt fluoro. I run two of the surface mount Narvas on each wing of my canopy, so they can light up a large area. And they only cost $30.
But I also mount a couple of small LEDs inside the canopy, so I get light in the fridges, and if the insects were bad, we'd just put the LEDs on.
Most of our trips are in desert araes in winter and insects are not a problem anyway.
I did have a rechargable Jaycar LED lamp with about 24leds - the twisty one with a magnet. The SLA battery died after a couple of months and I had trouble finding a replacement battery, so it's gone in the bin.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:37
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:37
Whitness statement. The lights on Phil's vehicle are VERY
bright and useful as a flood light from a distance!
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 23:24
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 23:24
Hi John,
Hope they're making progress on your diff....
We like to have plenty of light to
cook by, but once the washing up is done, we let the stars and moon take over :-))
I installed two on the kitchen side of the canopy, so that I'd have a spare if one stuffed up, but so far the Narvas have been good.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:04
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 11:04
12 volt lights that don't draw much power.
The most practical light to buy IMHO, is the Versalite or Piranha 12 volt fluro style light. These have an inbuilt inverter that results in a respectable light output rated at 11 watts, (but equivalent to a 75 watt incandescent globe) with a current drain of only one amp.
Both lights are pretty much identical and made in the same Aussie factory. They retail for oh, $90 or so, but
well worth your consideration.
The Piranha can be bought through TJM and the Versalite at most reputable
camping stores.
Another light worthy of consideration is the EvaKool Torpedo. This light also uses a 12 volt fluro tube, but in a more compact length. Reputed to draw only 1/2 amp and with the equivalent output of a 100 watt globe.
I have both styles and consider the Torpedo slightly less light output than the Piranha I own, but still a good light for
camping.
I have previously used Gas Lanterns, but after a series of failed mantles following a couple of off road trips, have discarded it in favour of the 12 volt lights.
When coupled with a portable battery system, you have the flexibility of mobility anywhere around the
camp site.
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:01
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:01
We bought a Piranha 12 volt (same style as now) in 1997, and its travelled a long way and lit a lot of
camp sites. Thought it had reached the end of its useful life a few weeks back - first night out on a trip and it would not come on. LED headlamp wearing son gave me lots of helpful advice which seemed to involve rubbish tips, but first as an experiment I plugged it into the main battery and started the engine and bingo it came on. Quick swap to the auxiliary and a few revs got enough voltage to start it, after which it stayed alight.
Sure enough - I had come away without having the auxiliary battery tested. $139 in
Broken Hill a day or so later solved that problem, and the Piranha worked like a dream. Its rugged and reliable - just needs a few volts!
However, my son's LED headlamp made a goat of my old style headlamp. I reckon I'd be getting an LED one if I were starting now.
Max
Reply By: Andrew Main - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:10
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 13:10
You'll find that the great majority of LED lights draw more current against light output than fluros do, if the LEDs used are the small round (5mm usually) ones then they definately do.
It's not an excact science as it depends upon the type of fluro and LED but genrally fluros will be about twice as efficient as LEDs. (This situation can be reversed with top of the line LEDs and bottom of the line fluros but it's fairly unlikely you'll find those type of LEDs in most camping type products.)
I'd be going with a horizontally mounted fluro (apparently the efficiency reduces when fluro tubes are mounted vertically).
Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:13
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 15:13
Interesting Andrew. I had not heard that before.
I thought one of the great advantages of the modern LED is it's low current draw. Hence a 4 LED Headlight can give up to 120 hours on 3 AAA batteries.
My 60 LED lights I just bought for camping are rated at 2.8W. The flouros they are replacing are typically rated at 13 W.
As I said in a post above, I'm yet to use the LED lights out camping, but I got them on the basis of the published specs. Also supposed to last 100,000 hours of operation. If so, I'll be able to pass them on to the kids.
But I'm just quoting what I've heard and read. Have no 'real' knowledge on LEDs.
Norm C
Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:08
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:08
Hi Norm,
It's a common misconception regarding the efficiencies of LEDs, the efficiency of lighting is normally measured by the "efficacy" which for fluros runs around 50 to 80 lumens/watt (lm/w). Hence a 13W fluro rated at 60lm/w gives 780lm. However LEDs are rated between about 15lm/w and 90 lm/w and in reality most of the LEDs in consumer products these days will fall between the 15lm/w and 50lm/w. So if you assume your product has LEDs with 50lm/w you will have an output of around 140lm - far below your fluro lamp's output, even in the event they are top of the line with 90 lm/w (which they won't be) you will still only have around 252 lm.
It can depend a bit though because fluro lights will direct light in all directions where-as LEDs will often be focused in one direction. The slight difference in colour of LEDs may also result in a percieved greater brightness in some circumstances.
Bottom line is that unless the LEDs used are very expensive high end ones fluros will almost certainly be of great efficiency.
Follow Up By: Ianw - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:08
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:08
Agreed, and if you put a fluoro globe in a reflector (light shade) to direct all the light one way you will find that your
campsite can be as
bright as your
home kitchen table, with less than 1 Amp of current drawn from the battery. I have a 12volt fluoro (12watt) from Bunnings ($30) fitted into a light fitting with a 10 inch aluminium parabolic reflector. When focussed, it will throw a broad beam of light 30 meters or more!
Follow Up By: Wok - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 06:57
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 06:57
Hi Ian,
This parabolic reflector ...........details & source please?
rgds......eng
Follow Up By: Ianw - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 19:29
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 19:29
g,day eng?
I picked up the reflector many years ago in a surplus store. I believe it is out of a small street lamp or workshop lamp of some sort. The old style of plastic light shades also work
well, but cannot focus into a beam.
Follow Up By: Wok - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:24
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:24
Thks Ian, I will keep a
lookout for them @ garage sales :)
eng
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:02
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:02
Cezz,
Have a look at the variety of lights available at this www.ledshoponline.com/
I think you will find something that will do what you want.
Reply By: Angler - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:33
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:33
I use fairly cheap fluros and sprayed them with yellow paint. works a treat, no insects.
Pooley
Reply By: Philip A - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:35
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 20:35
It depends how much light you want!
I have 2
home made, MR16 clip on lights as internal lights in my CT. They are made from short lengths of 2inch PVC pipe and 2 caps, a switch and a jaycar MR16 socket
These have 28 LED MR16 LEDS and draw about 0.2 amps, but are great as reading lights and give plenty of light to change by etc.
Outside I have a Supercheap 40 LED 12volt trouble light fitted with magnets on the back which gives great light for cooking yet uses about 0.2 amps.
My trusty old 12Volt fluoro (Pirhana type) gives area floodlighting.
But the LEDs use so little energy , that you can leave them on all night no problems.
Regard sPhilip A
Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:38
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:38
Here is a quote from Site Link
The new 6 watt Cree and 3 watt Nichia LED bulbs are soon to hit the LED
Shop shelves
Lightoutput will be close to a 60 watt halogen ( for 6 watt Cree) at the 10th of power consumption !
These are the new generation LED down-spotlights which will eventually replace all that old stuff, that is wasting energy in so many ways...90% power savings with LED bulbs!
We will be able to offer these lights at a fraction of the costs of the "big players" i.e
6 watt Cree will be available for approx AUD$ 95.00
Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:15
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 07:15
A 60w halogen put outs around 900 lumens (worst case), for a 6 watt LED to do this it will need to have an efficiency of 150 lumens per watt, I won't go into technical details as to why, but this will not be the case for some years to come.
Be very careful of technical hype surrounding LEDs, they are good but not that good, and even the big players (such as Cree) have a habit of releasing promises that are many years off.
(The Cree website makes no mention of this claim either.)
Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:19
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:19
Here's a quote from www.ecoleds.com/CAT21417.html
" 10 Watt LED. An exceptionally
bright, extremely high quality
bright white LED light built to last a lifetime. This is a premium quality LED light that's precision machined like an aircraft part. It contains a single 10-watt LED component made in America and produces more light than a 100-watt incandescent light bulb. This light will last 50,000 hours (over 11 years of daily use for 12 hours each day) and will save you nearly $450 in electricity costs* over its life.
Works in any common screw-type light socket in the world and operates on a wide range of voltages: from 85 volts to 240 volts
$99US"
Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:04
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 12:04
Ah more garbage from the marketing department...
A standard incandescent globe returns around 10lm/w so a 100 watt globe will produce around 1000 lm (more if it's a good quality one). If you scroll down the page on the ecoleds sight you will find they state the LED light outputs 400lm, so we are missing around 600lm. Even taking into account a really poor reflector for the incandescent we are down to 900lm vs. 400lm so we're still missing 500lm.
It's rubbish.
Their own figures prove that the efficiency of the LED is only 40lm/w which is about what I would expect for this type of device, they need 100 lm/w plus to reach the ouput of a 100w globe with only 10w. That device does not exist right now and probably won't for several years.
Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:15
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:15
The most bang for your buck is the good old fluro, we use Versalite branded ones that are the same as some of the other 4x4 branded ones.
Our twin fluro
draws .87 amps an hour, to get the same light output out off LED's we would draw 1.9 amps.
Alot of people over rate LED's, they are great in some applications but not all.
We have 222 amp hours of batterys, so if we used our fluro light for 5 hrs a night we would have over 40 days of lighting.
Some times new technology is not what it is made upto be and the older stuff better.
Regards Richard
Reply By: cezzec - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:36
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:36
Thanks to all, now iam totally confused but with the kind information supplied from you gentelman i will try and work out the best lights for my needs.
Thanks again.
Chuck