New Look Forum!!

Submitted: Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:04
ThreadID: 47782 Views:2522 Replies:12 FollowUps:29
Bugga me, Sat down and watched the TV for 10 minutes came back and the forum has changed shape again.

Looks good David.

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:11

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:11
Just keeping us on our toe's, I think...LOL

AnswerID: 252815

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:40

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:40
Yeah always Richard :-)

FollowupID: 513901

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:43

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:43
Looks good??? Are you kiddin?

Hope theres a button to give you the option to see it as it was... why do we need a thread summary in the middle of the screen? is it just to allow the other 1/2 screen to house a massive advert?

Losing appeal fast.
AnswerID: 252824

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:52

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 21:52
I'm just a simple country boy. What the hell is going on?

Kim
FollowupID: 513907

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:19

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:19
Yeah it looks good.
Everytime David does a change everyone whinges for the sake of whinging!!!
After 5 minutes you get used to it and the world moves on.

FollowupID: 513917

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:34

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:34
or instead of being a sheep and just following what your given people can think for themselves and comment..
FollowupID: 513924

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:38

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:38
Yeah and everytime a change is made you start with I hate it, Its crap syndrome.
After 5 minutes your over it and all is good, give it time Bruce give it time. :-)

FollowupID: 513928

Follow Up By: SARocks - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 07:59

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 07:59
agree new layout is total crap
Truckster use IE7Pro freeware and right click on the ad and click Filter Image and you never see the ad again. You can block all the Flash and other great stuff. Never see any Flash and loads pages heaps quicker. If you want to see the Flash you can click on it to see it.
FollowupID: 513965

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:27

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:27
Truckster (Vic) posted-> "why do we need a thread summary in the middle of the screen? is it just to allow the other 1/2 screen to house a massive advert?"

The thread summary does appear to get lost by the inclusion of the add and the “first reply” all in the same area, however I realize the add HAS to be available to be seen and therefore placed ‘somewhere’ - maybe the "thread summary" could be placed above the add on the rhs border ??

In the case of this thread the first “reply” is reduced in size greatly and appears almost as an add-on or afterthought in this thread, however in most other threads it is much larger than the add and looks ok.

I actually like the graded colour sceme.
I believe the “information” posted is more easily read and that is more important to me than seeing the posters name in bold print.

My comments would be more to the large amount of blue (waste screen) background seen on each side of the available forum "page" it could be a case of it has to be there for a logical reason but it appears to waste "page" size, or maybe it's because I view on a wide screen monitor that it's there, I don't know and can live with it.

Just my opinion.
FollowupID: 514070

Follow Up By: Sarg - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 20:56

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 20:56
CRAP!!!!!
FollowupID: 514113

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:16

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:16
I find it much harder to read an follow than it used to be.

AnswerID: 252834

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:45

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:45
Like you two, I'm having difficulty grasping the new view and asking myself "why was it needed". However, I have said that each time David has made changes over the past 4 years or so and I guess it's a bit like getting used to a new brand of beer each time I've moved interstate (or up to PNG etc). At first it's just plain "different" and I find it difficult to accept. However, once I've used it for a while (or in the case of the beer analogy........once I've sunk a few slabs), it just seems like it's normal......and to go back to the old way would seem ; .... wrong!!

The one thing I would like to see happen, would be to instigate such changes as necessary to make the site respond "faster". I'm thinking there are too many moving advertisements etc. It's okay here at home on the broadband, but I think I might get the short end of the stick if I was to ask my employer to up the ability of the work computers cos they don't like EO!!!!!! hahahahaha. It's the only site that slows my browser at work down to a crawl and in the end I have to shut it down. hahahahaha
FollowupID: 513934

Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:36

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:36
Perhaps David is in league with the bank to up your productivity?
FollowupID: 513985

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:47

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:47
Roachie,

I am interested in this type of feedback and any more details you can give would be appreciated - the new view is a lot less data download than the old system. Just ran a test on the New thread post - Currently old views 146KB new view 116KB - that is 30KB or around 21% less data download. So it should be better - there is a speed issue with caching of the pages that I am trying to do today and this will make it respond to the initial click quicker.

Slows down to a crawl to have to reboot seems very weird I use the site on about 4 different browsers all open all day moving around all over the place testing and re-testing everything and think I would notice this. Only browser that seems weird can be Opera crashes due to a bug in the Flash plugin and Opera - apart from that there should be no problems.
David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 514012

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:43

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:43
David,

I just opened those two threads (Old view and New view) that you put up, one after the other each in a new window. Am using plain ol IE7 on XP Pro.

The new one took several seconds longer than the old one but mostly seemed to be the browsers anti-phishing filter that was holding it up. Maybe that is something you would like to do some testing on.

I am on 8Mb/s Cable so I don't think the link speed is the issue! but there was definately a difference between the two.

FollowupID: 514027

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:47

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:47
The new one is a caching issue that I have not yet finished - Due to the keyword replacement system - that links words to articles around the site ( a new feature in this view) the renders take a little longer to start with - this is to be fixed ASAP. I knew it would be an impact and have a method to fix it just need to install it.

As for Phishing - just turn off automatic - it will leave a button to allow you to manually check if you suspect a site - the MS phishing system is really slow and it does not matter which site you are visiting.

FollowupID: 514030

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:20

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:20
So far, I don't like it. Definitely harder to read. I'll reserve final comment until David has advised all of the 'benefits'.
AnswerID: 252835

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:35

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:35
>> I'll reserve final comment until David has advised all of the 'benefits'

revenue ;)
FollowupID: 513926

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:39

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:39
So whats the matter with dollars??
Its how he actually feeds his kids, remember???

FollowupID: 513930

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:39

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:39
Hahaha Truckie, you are a worry :))))
FollowupID: 513932

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:41

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:41
Im horrified to say that I agree with the old codger Gramps 100% on this.
FollowupID: 513951

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:46

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:46
Are you 'attacking' me again fisho64 hahahahaha You can never be too sure in these politically correct times when surrounded by fragile egos :)))
FollowupID: 513953

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 00:57

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 00:57
I'll save revealing myself as a disabled member of a downtrodden minority group until the time is right!
FollowupID: 513957

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:51

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 22:51
Funny, I did a search for previous threads and wondered what the heck I had done, came back to forum and was glad to see I hadn,t done anything, I guess it will take me a bit of time to adjust.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 252848

Reply By: Brian T (VIC) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:27

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:27
Gotta say I can't see what all the fuss is about, things change, life goes on.Looking good so far guys, just hurry up and make the massive add at the top shrink a bit for us honourable members....PLEASE?
AnswerID: 252860

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 06:15

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 06:15
Firefox and Adblock will sort that out.
FollowupID: 513959

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 01:05

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 01:05
I'll go along with Truckster fully on this.

The Thread summary and the large moving Advertisement detracts from the contents of the thread.

There is enough adverts on the main forum page surely.

I used to like the uniqueness of the Exploroz forum, but now it is too cluttered with irrelevant detail. (Irrelevant to the thread contents that is)

Sorry David. It's crap.

Also, when closing the thread, you are returned to the main page, but two posts below the last one you opened. Very frustrating.

AnswerID: 252869

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:35

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:35
There is no 'moving add' visible to me for the previous 20 replies, the moving adds only appear when the thread and first few posts originally appear on the monitor.
As you scroll down they are gone, well they are on my screen.
FollowupID: 514072

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 06:50

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 06:50
Can't see what all the fuss is about...... it looks good to me.

AnswerID: 252874

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 08:08

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 08:08
Sorry don't like it, and i don't like being put back to the home page when you logon.

I come in look around at the posts and if i see something worth posting on, i logon and post, don't want to be sent to the home page then have to come back to the forum and find the post again.

But i guess the almighty dollar is more important.

AnswerID: 252885

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:25

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:25
Baz,
That would have been excellent feedback should it have been sent to me in the past. I do not use the system that way and had NO idea it was doing this. So please tell me how the hell can I fix if it I do not know it is broken?

I will attend to this today - it should come back to the page you are on, that it what it is meant to do. Got nothing to do with $ got lots to do with telling me about the problem there mate.

FollowupID: 513982

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 19:48

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 19:48
Baz,

Logon issue should now be resolved. Let me know if it redirects to the wrong page.

FollowupID: 514489

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 08:59

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 08:59
I wish someone would tell david the old moto

if it aint broke dont try and fix it

too hard to read i reckon
AnswerID: 252898

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:41

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:41
yep, very messy, not nice at all.
FollowupID: 513986

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:55

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:55
If everybody had that philosophy you would still be living in a cave .
FollowupID: 513987

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:21

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:21
but our cave had a broken airconditioner so we moved
FollowupID: 514003

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:49

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:49
Ah but it was broken - you may not think so but the server system and coding to keep it running was broken - So it was, is and needs to be changed.

FollowupID: 514013

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:33

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 13:33
but did you get that request in triplicate

NO!
i rest my case
FollowupID: 514025

Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:39

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 10:39
I don't mind it - just read the black text and ignore the rest if you don't like it.
AnswerID: 252912

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:42

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 12:42
sorry david
but crap
AnswerID: 252934

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:41

Tuesday, Jul 17, 2007 at 16:41
yer cant b numbayun cause he haz a pitcha
FollowupID: 514073