Camper Trailers - What was that brand..???
Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 13:42
Member - Straps (SA)
I am looking for a Camper Trailer, (most probably second hand) however have ben doing an on line search at every conceivable brand that I can in OZ just to see whats on offer.
SA has some great brands and styles, however I remember previous discussion of a manufacturer that was out north that moved to
Yorke Peninsula. I recall whoever they are got a good wrap from some
forum posters.
Can anyone please tell who they were again and if they have a website, as a quick flick through the Archives have been unsuccesssful so far.
Also, I would normally take a car to the RAA (automobile association in SA) for an inspection if I was going to buy it. What is available for Camper Trailers or alternatively, what can I look out for myself.
Shane
Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 14:40
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 14:40
Straps.
Try this site. They list most oz campers.
www.campertrailers.org/
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 14:45
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 14:45
Thanks Wim,
Reckon it started with an S..??
Sky
Spartan
Spirit
Dunno, but no luck thus far,
WIll check out the weblink,
Shane
Follow Up By: Rocky_QLD - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:47
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:47
Try Spirit at Port Clinton although it appears that teir web site doesn't work.
Rocky
Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:50
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:50
I'm 99.9% sure it is spirit camper trailer. A member of this site, "Brew 34.5" has one and looked pretty good from what I saw of it.
Cheers Luke
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:53
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:53
Hey Straps, yep the one at PT Clinton is a Spirit. Best value for $ we found on the market. Owned by a few of the members in our club and all have nothing but praise for them. Ours is about 12 months old now and love it. They do not have a website so thats why you wouldn't have found it lol. I am In Para Hills if you want to come and check ours out.
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:54
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:54
Should have read a few of our members own one.(they don't own the company lol) Also member Sandman has one.
Reply By: Member - Straps (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:59
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:59
Thanks all,
I am unable to find any pics of Spirit Campersora website.
Has any members got pics in their profiles and do you think that Spirit Campers will be at the Mid-Year Campng Show at the
Adelaide Showgrounds on 2 / 3 August..???
Shane
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:34
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:34
!MPG:24!
To give you an idea we paid about 7.5k for ours new. Feel free to member message me if you want any info or a look at ours. The base model offroad was 5.5k and you can spend as much as you want from there. We stopped at our budget and will add some more stuff down the track.
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:13
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:13
Thanks Brew,
It kinda sounds like a bit of where I am at for price. $7500 would hopefully get me good new entry camper (or GREAT second hand camper) and allows me to add more to it later.
Shane
Reply By: Member - Straps (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:29
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:29
Thanks again for the prompt responses.
I ended up finding the number for Spirit at Pt Clinton.
The guy was very helpful and gave some good advice. Still doesn't help with the fact I have almost no idea what to get for my $5000 - $10000 budget. I try to research things
well but many of the specs are beyond what I understand (ie what is better than what)!?!?
I will keep reading the archives and get along to the mid-year
camping show at
Adelaide Showgrounds to have a look and chat with many manufacturers.
If anyone can offer some advice for a novice, with a Holden Frontera living at
Yulara / Ayers Rock for the next 12 months looking for a camper trailer, I would very much appreciate your help.
I might even try and look at a couple of second hand trailers and chat to a few 'experienced' owners..
Shane
Reply By: Member - Thomo - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:54
Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:54
Straps, how long is a piece of string mate, there are so many questions unanswered here...what is the tow vehicle, where are you planning to go, do you want soft or hard top,
suspension etc. etc.
About 12 months ago I started the process and researched everything that was available on the market, went to all the trade shows, purchased all the camper trailer magazines and the "The camper Trailer Book" written by Bob Eustace and the list goes on. For what it is worth and in my judgement, if you come to the conclusion a soft top is the go then "The Complete Campsite" is the best value for money and a very good Company to deal with. If on the other hand you want a hard top my research was, No 1 in features, value for money and excellent reports is the Pioneer Onyx 4x4 and No 2 was the Campermatic XTC (and to all the Kimberly fanatics out there... there are others just as good for less money that also hold their resale value).
Well, at the end of the day I purchased a used Campomatic XTC.
Don't envy your task and trust this add some value to the debate
Thomo
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:17
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:17
Thanks heaps forthe advice / info Thomo,
I will have a look at the campers you mention and see what is on display at the
camping show coming soon.
Shane
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 01:37
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 01:37
Straps,
As Brew has mentioned, I own a Spirit Camper. There are a couple of pics in my profile you can view.
I was extremely fortunate in that I bought
mine second hand, from the Spirit display at one of the 4WD shows. It was a "customised build" by the original owner who wanted it to travel to the top end, but sold it about "12 months new" to obtain cash flow for his business. It has an extended draw bar, boat rack, lockable front and side storage
bins and a bunch of other options I don't even remember that are not standard.
If you are in no particular hurry, wait until the 4WD &
Camping Show, held in
Adelaide during August each year. The new "home" for the show is at the Morphettville Race Course. (Now known as Alan Scott
Park)
You will see all the major brands on display, including the Spirit range, which has a very good reputation for a quality product. This is an ideal place to view all the different styles and brands and compare "bang for buck".
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 08:26
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 08:26
err ...a link above says
ADELAIDE CAMPING & 4WD SHOW..ALAN SCOTT
PARK, MORPHETTVILLE RACECOURSE, OCTOBER 12 - 13 - 14 2007
but another site --
Adelaide show gorunds site says
3 - 5 Aug 07 SA Caravan &
Camping Mid Year Sale
I'm going to both...dont want to miss on any window shopping
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:15
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:15
I am hoping to get to the Mid Year
camping show at Wayville showgrounds, but will unfortunately miss the 4WD show in October as I will be at
Yulara by then.
Shane
Reply By: SARocks - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 08:33
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 08:33
get a hard floor camper that takes no setting up. Soft floor campers are a pita and take a damn long time to setup and worse to take down and pack. Look for something like a Cub Camper which just opens up and is useable in 1 minute. Soft floor campers are the pits.
Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:18
Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 18:18
Thanks for your feedback SARocks,
Hadn't really thought much about Hard floored campers, as I kinda thought they were a bit small inside (from memory) when looking at them last year. Will have another look and chuck them into the equation also.
Shane
Follow Up By: Member No 1- Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 08:45
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 08:45
but hard floor are dearer
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 17:41
Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 17:41
Sure are. Chances of getting anything for the same price are almost zip.Both have advantages. The best thing about the soft floor campers is the space, and i challenge anyone to bet me we can't set up in 5 minutes. The hard floor campers can be done in a shorter time yes, but 5 minutes is not a damn long time.