Dumb charger

Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:15
ThreadID: 47844 Views:3397 Replies:5 FollowUps:16
Gday All

Just a quickie for the use of a standard charger.....as it's not one of the smart varieties, it puts out (Claimed) 6 amps @ 14 volts. Open voltage is about 14.5 volts give or take. When hooked up to the battery to charge, volts on the battery go up by half a volt or so (say 12 to 12.5) and the volts steadily increase over the hours that follow as the battery charges.

As most float charges maintain a steady 13.8 volts, is that voltage the one I should be looking for across the battery before I disconnect the battery. ie if I leave it on and allow it to go higher is it suseptable to battery damage!

Cheers Andrew

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:29

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:29
Just that ,"most float chargers maintain a steady 13.8" is AFTER they take your batt to 14.5 /14.7 then drop into float mode at 13.7-8 so your "standard' charger will continue to put in 14 plus volts , disconnect your standard when your at 14.7 , let rest for awhile then check your volts , should be dropping SLOWLY to 12.8 over a 24hr period then sit fully charged for x amount of time , varies with batt type , IE: AGMs have a much slower self discharge rate than wet cell in general.
AnswerID: 253179

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:30

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 15:30
Andrew,
If you had a way of measuring amps accurately, I disconnect my charger when the amps is down to 1 amp, on a decent size wet cell battery.
If you only use a voltmeter, I'd disconnect when the voltage reaches 14.2.
If you have a hydrometer, you could use that to check state of charge.
AnswerID: 253180

Follow Up By: MintabiePete (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:03

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:03
Yeah you are spot on there Phil , use the hydrometer ,if you have one , most of them nowdays have coloured areas where you cant go wrong , but as long as your Specific Gravity is 1.25 - 1.27 at around about 20 degrees celcius , you are not far wrong :)
FollowupID: 514298

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 18:07

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 18:07
Gday Pete,
I wonder whether the hydrometer is becoming a collectors item. It seems to be a forgotten piece of equipment - maybe because many batteries are becoming sealed, and maybe because the digital voltmeters are so cheap now. But it still gives better info about state of charge than anything else out there - provided you have a wet cell battery.
FollowupID: 514309

Follow Up By: MintabiePete (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:17

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:17
Yeah Phil , I agree with you on all counts , things have changed , I am glad I am retired now and dont have to keep up with a lot of the newer technology that is surfacing now :)
FollowupID: 514320

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:47

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 17:47
AS per above replies Andrew - you can't get into much trouble if you only leave it on for a couple of hours - its when you forget and leave it overnight thats the problem.

AnswerID: 253209

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 18:42

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 18:42
Thanks to All above. I was a little concerned about the higher voltage (14 or so) at the end of the charge. I was under the impression the smart chargers gave the high voltage at the beginning when the battery was low, and dropped back when it neared full charge, wheras the dummies start with a lower voltage which builds as the battery is close to fully charged.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 253216

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:29

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 19:29
Andrew, any charger,(smart or dumb) will measure a low voltage initially, because theres a limit to how many amps the charger will put out. If a discharged battery will accept say 25 amps at 14volts, then a 6 amp charger will probably only read say 13.5 because they are not capable of putting out any more than 6 amps.

If you bought a 25amp charger (smart or dumb), it will deliver more amps and the voltage will be higher in the initial stages.

I use a switchmode 20amp, 13.8V power supply as a battery charger because I can leave it on indefinitely without damaging the battery, and they are cheap to buy, and I also use it as a powersupply when playing in the shed.
FollowupID: 514322

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:29

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 21:29
Phil there is a 20amp Xantrex Truecharge Multistage charger in the Karavan that seems to take ages to get the charge up after the batteries get to 85%. It seems to spend most of it's time in float. There are a series of LEDs that give an indication of the level of charge.

Mind you there are 10 35amphour AGM batteries to charge up. Not that they are allowed below 55% charge.

Why is it so?
FollowupID: 514350

Follow Up By: obee - Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:34

Wednesday, Jul 18, 2007 at 22:34
Just like phil says. The voltage will drop because the light duty charger cant keep up. Eventually the battery will charge up and provide resistance and the amps (current) will fall off and the voltage will rise.

John, as your batteries charge up they will present resistance as above and unless the charger can step up the volts the last bit of charge will take time. Look at it like pumping up a tyre. A little pump can provide the pressure (voltage or electromotive force) but not a lot of volume (amps or current). The pressure in the tyre rises and presents resistance to the last amount of volume needed to achieve the pressure required. The last few pounds take the longest. A big powerful air supply will overcome a lot of the resistance and fill the tyre quicker. Like power = pressure times volume or volts times amps.

20 amp charger is pretty good but 350 amp hours is a big hole to fill thus the situation you describe.

I hope that sounds ok. Things that make sense to me I often have trouble describing.

Owen
FollowupID: 514363

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 09:21

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 09:21
10 35AH batteries and I think it would be a battle to charge them properly at all as 10 batteries in parallel will fight each other for charge and one battery will reach charge faster than the rest and then force the charger to float thus all remaining batteries will suffer in capacity.
Eventually the weakest battery will fail and full down the next weakest one and a domino effect will prematurely fail all batteries.
You would be better place to throw out all ten and try and get your capacity through batteries in series and allow your charger to do an efficient job of charging which it cannot do in your present application.
Dont tyhrow them out till you kill them for cost reasons but when you do seriously consider investigating it before you replace them.
FollowupID: 514565

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 10:32

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 10:32
Hi JohnR, the set up you have is renown for causing problems.

Why the manufacture has elected to fit ten 35 amp 12 volt batteries is a mystery to me.

If you have followed this particular manufacturers instructions on the size of cable to run from the vehicle to the trailer you will have a double whammy as the cable stated is way to thin.

For a start, if I were you I would connect up the battery charger and then disconnect all the negative battery terminals but one.

Leave the charger in place till this battery causes the charger to switch to float then disconnect the first battery’s negative terminal, connect the second battery’s negative terminal and repeat till all the batteries have been charged.

Then and only then would I reconnect all the negative terminals and leave the charger float charge and maintain the all batteries at once.

Next, if your cable running from the front of the two vehicle is less than 6B&S ( 13.5mm2 ) I would strong recommend you replace the existing cable with much bigger cable and I would go thicker that 6B&S.

This is one time when an alternator will well and truly come into it’s own. Because an alternator does not monitor the battery(s) and the alternator’s voltage is not effected by the state of charge of any batteries connected to the system, an alternator can actually fully charge all the batteries you have with out you having to do anything more than go for a good drive BUT you must have adequately sized cable, positive and negative, running back to the trailer.

Cheers and best of luck.
FollowupID: 514570

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:25

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:25
Drivesafe the man wants to travel not spend all his life disconnecting batteries and charging them individually every time he stops his vehicle and is on the charger.

I concur you are correct in your independent charging advice but if as you indicate its a manufacturers fault it should be rectified for the benefit of the user not give the user a permanent job charging batteries.

FollowupID: 514583

Follow Up By: obee - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 14:45

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 14:45
One battery is not going to charge up to the disadvantage of the others because the others will keep pulling the charger and the first battery down. The voltage will not rise until all are full and the charger will keep on providing current. I think one problem in this scenario is when you get a dead cell somewhere and it shorts the circuit thus drawing away the current leaving u thinking the batteries are not charging. (also dead battery) Only way I can think of to check is disconnect all the negs or the positives and check each battery separately. God, those submariner electricians must have their hands full!

I reckon the ideal would be to have separate cells two volts at a time so you could single out the problem ones. It wont happen because of the cost and inconvenience. three cell batteries (6v) there are and I suspect the reason is for as above.

FollowupID: 514604

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 15:15

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 15:15
Thanks Obee, Drivesafe and Wheelybin for your constructive suggestions in answering JR's question for me. I was still scratching my head, wondering why they would use 10 x 35 Ah batteries. I think John runs a CPAP machine so needs the capacity.

Would it be an option to either
#1 use two chargers when hooked up to 240V, (separate the 10AGMs into 2 groups of 5) or
#2 use the bigger (110A) Christies Charger when off the beaten track.

Naturally I'm just guessing - I've had no experience with running heaps of batteries out bush.
FollowupID: 514607

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:47

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 20:47
Hi Phil G, one specific manufacturer supplies their vans, originally with a bank 10 x 35 A/H AGM batteries but I think they have now cut the number back to 7 or 8 and like you, I fail to see any advantage to this sort of set up, just loads of disadvantages.

The manufacture has had it suggested to them that this is not the best way to provide battery power but they just tell anybody trying to help them that the company knows what it’s doing and go to hell.

If I had one of their vans, as it is not only going to be unreliable, the rest of the gear they use also makes it extremely inefficient. I’d be ripping out the whole 12 volt system and starting a fresh.

FollowupID: 514678

Follow Up By: wheeleybin - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 07:36

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 07:36
Just to diverse slightly the price of lead has jumped 40% in three weeks . China has about 25% of the lead and not good quality and the supply of good quality lead to China from Western Australia appears top have been cut on so called environmental grounds so Chinese battery makers have problems so watch these problems exacerbate the problem and escalate the price of all batteries especially the Chinese ones.

At least the Australian good quality lead is still available in Australia.

Most battery prices in Australia rose on 1/07/07 and as of next monday some sellers are imposing a percentage surcharge which will be reviewed on a fortnightly basis.

THE BITTER TASTE OF POOR QUALITY LINGERS LONGER THAN THE ECSTACY OF A CHEAP PRICE..
FollowupID: 514716

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 01:59

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 01:59
Andrew,

This information is probably not all that helpful, but Projecta used to market an add on controller, that turned a "dumb" charger into a "smart" one.

I checked the Projecta site but alas, I couldn't find reference to it anymore.
Looks as though they no longer supply.

Maybe a call to their toll free number 1800 113 443 would be worthwhile.

AnswerID: 253286

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 07:55

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 07:55
I have a Charge Controller from Projecta, a BM140, that sits between a dumb charger and the battery. Works well enough for me. Have'nt seen them around for a while though.
FollowupID: 514718

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:38

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 09:38
If you up to a bit of basic electronic kit construction, Electronics Australia published an add-on regulator for the common Arlec 4A chargers in July 1997. Would probably work OK with any simlar low capacity basic charger.

I've had a Dick Smith version of this kit float charging our caravans' 2 x70 Ah AGM batteries for about six years now and it's worked perfectly. For such a simple kit, it's brilliant - it even has temperature compensation which follows almost exactly the battery manufacturer's table of float voltage Vs temperature.

Coudn't find it on the DSE website today but Jaycar still list it as Cat. No. KA1795 ($24.95) - but it shows as Out of Stock. Presumably this means it will still be available in the future. An email to their webiste would confirm.
FollowupID: 514732

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 11:30

Saturday, Jul 21, 2007 at 11:30
Oh, for an edit function on this forum! For some reason, I repeatedly leave the "r" of "your" and don't pick it up on re-reading before posting. Apologies for this and all the other typos not noticed.
FollowupID: 514750