Need to buy a gold detector - Where do I go ?

Submitted: Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 20:37
ThreadID: 47889 Views:9107 Replies:9 FollowUps:11
After my recent 10 day introduction to gold detecting with Coiltek at Nullagine , I have decided to buy a MInelab GPX-4000 and all the bits to go with it inc. a 17" eliptical mono coil .

None of this is cheap and I need a bit of info on who offers package deals , or cheap prices .

Any help will be appreciated - I am a babe in the woods .

Thanks ,

Willie .

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:11

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:11
Google it Willie. You'll find heaps. $4k US You do have expensive tastes :))))
AnswerID: 253423

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:11

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:11
Hi Duncs ,
That USD 4K will probably end up around AUD 5200 with freight and GST.
Do you agree ? Can you get that price buying from an Aussie dealer ?
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 514519

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:12

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:12
Sorry Brother ,
I got you mixed up with Duncs .
It's getting late ...................................................
FollowupID: 514521

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 05:52

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 05:52
Hahaha no worries. This mob hire them out.
FollowupID: 514548

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:22

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 21:22
There are usually a couple on ebay.

AnswerID: 253430

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:13

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:13
Duncs ,
Thanks ,
I will check it out tomorrow .
Willie
FollowupID: 514522

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:17

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:17
I think the main dealer in Sydney is "The Miners Den" in Parramatta?

AnswerID: 253444

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:28

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:28
Pom,
I'm off to there tomorrow am .
Thanks ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 514636

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:19

Thursday, Jul 19, 2007 at 22:19
Willie try this site www.prospectorspatch.com.au/

Site Link

AnswerID: 253446

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:25

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:25
Thanks Richard ,
I emailed them with a list of what I want and asked them for a freight inc quote .
I sent the same email to Coiltek and Bendigo Gold . I will go down to Parramatta in Sydney to the Miners Den tomorrow , and get costs there too .
Cheers ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 514634

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 00:26

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 00:26
Willie,
Good to see you are still around. I have been looking for one and the cheapest I have found is miners den at 5600. Site Link
Not sure if it has a 17" coil but I think they are relitivly cheap compared to the machine.
Anyway, sounds like you must of picked up a bit :)
Good luck to you and maybe I may see you some where onthe way home...... I am leaving on sat see the next post as to my route I am taking
AnswerID: 253458

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:27

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:27
Peter ,
Thanks ,
I will go to the Den in Sydney tomorrow and get a quote .
Have a great trip ,
Willie .
FollowupID: 514635

Reply By: Member No 1- Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 08:34

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 08:34
what about if you just invest the money in a growth investment account
no up front costs or running costs so i reckon you'll come out in front in the end
prospecting is a bit like gambling on the pokies....."one day" !!!!
AnswerID: 253490

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 11:30

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 11:30
I've already done that . That's how I can afford to buy a detector and go out and have fun .

If I was trying to make money , I would not go prospecting - I do it because I like it .
FollowupID: 514575

Reply By: Mike Harding - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 08:58

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 08:58
The price of Minelab detectors is pretty much fixed in Australia by Minelab, they have an "interesting" method of doing business and, frankly, any company which, in it's advertising literature, uses the phrase "the brilliance of Bruce Candy" in reference to it's founder's? technical ability probably needs more (some!) competition.

Basically you won't do much on price with Minelabs in Oz - take a look at buying one in the USA and importing it however after import duties and customs clearance fees etc you may not save a lot?

Minelab is a perfect example that "you do not always get what you pay for" - they are able to sell at their very silly prices simply because they have not had any serious competition for years. The GP4000 you'll pay $5k to $6k for will have come off the production for a cost of not more than $500 and probably below $300. Minelab have not produced any significant steps forward in gold detection for some years so development costs have long ago been recovered.

Having said the above, without doubt, the Minelab GP3500 and, maybe the GP4000, are the best machines on the market at present but... watch this space - things are changing and when people know they can put a device to market and look at profits of 1700% it provides a significant drive for development and that is exactly what is happening in one or two little back corners at the moment and when it does Minelab will have to bring their pricing down to planet Earth.

AnswerID: 253494

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 11:38

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 11:38
Mike ,

I sort of figured that discounting prices "just maybe" was discouraged . How is that achieved when there are strict laws to stop it happening ?

I guess when you have a monopoly , you can do anything you want .

I will see if I can get some sort of package to include the other bits and pieces I need to set it all up .

Thanks ,

Willie .
FollowupID: 514577

Reply By: nuboy - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:08

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 12:08
Willie
www.nuggethunting.com/minelab_gpx4000.htm
$3998.95
Try This
AnswerID: 253523

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:35

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:35
Nuboy ,

I had a look there , but I think I will buy it in Oz if they can give me a good package price which includes an extra coil a harness and an extra battery and a 12 v charger .

I might change my mind though , with the strength of the Oz dollar . With GST included and $100 for freight , the price would be AUD 5100.00 - well under the local shops

Thanks ,

Willie
FollowupID: 514640

Reply By: Wayne M(QLD) - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 16:28

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 16:28
Willie

Site Link

AnswerID: 253569

Follow Up By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:29

Friday, Jul 20, 2007 at 18:29
Hi Wayne ,