How Much Water?

Submitted: Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 17:31
ThreadID: 48024 Views:4674 Replies:11 FollowUps:10
I was interested to read of travellers water carrying capacities on a recent post &
was surprised how many are regularly carrying anywhere from 150 to 300 litres.
How on earth did we 4 adults survive a 5 week outback sojourn carrying a miserable 40 litres in 2 20 litre plastic drums?. The answer is perfectly well, we
bush camped where possible, showered daily & while not being wasteful did not
scrimp on water usage. Refills were usually at servos or camp parks. The only
extra water used was that for drinking, & we bought the bottled variety & kept that
in a small 12v fridge. While I am a firm believer that bottled water is one of the greatest scams inflicted on the human race, I must admit it is occassionally useful.
The amount of time on this forum devoted to getting rid of tank taints & other water carrying & distribution problems clearly indicates the cartage of such
quantities comes at a cost, the added fuel usage of freighting an extra 200 + kgs
must also be significant. I'm sure if I had a 60 or 80 L tank in a van or C/t I
would fill it but amounts above that seem excessive for most conditions, for something so freely available. What do you reckon? I may be wrong, I was
once......oldbaz.

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:03

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:03
4 people 40 litres??

My fairer half DRINKS 4 litres a day!!! Then theres cooking, showers,washing up, whatever the hell it is woman do in the bathroom in the mornings, and some clothes washing Servo's often don't want to give out water, in Coober Pedy the caravan parks don't even have water at sites!

We carry over 300litres and this allows us about 10 days away from water. I've found water is not so easy to come by in central Aus and had to pull into caravan parks to fill up afew times. It's nice to have the option to stay camped somewhere for several days and not have to worry about water. When theres plenty around, we just don't fill all the tanks.....

Matt
AnswerID: 254073

Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:53

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:53
With some campers filling 300 litres each, every 10 days it doesn't surprise me that servo's & van parks dont have taps available, in the remote areas they just couldn't find that amount of water with hundreds passing through every day.
Cheers Craig....................
FollowupID: 515190

Reply By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:19

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 18:19
Depends what you're doing and where you're going. No way would I go out into the desert with just 10lt of water per person!

www.wilderness-survival.net/desert-3.php

AnswerID: 254079

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:17

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:17
As an example at Easter 2 of us in 4 days went through about 75 litres and that was with one shower on the last night. 2 people and a 9 litre bucket of water. Found that the biggest waste of water is washing dishes.

Washing clothes isn't even in the equation, wear em until they walk by themself.

FollowupID: 515175

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:47

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 19:47
You should take water for all the planned sections of your trip, and also carry enough water for possible unplanned sections.

Water may be freely available, as you put it, but that is only in some places. Other places you can't smell it past the stinking heat of a low rainfall claypan, or the aprehension caused by circling carrion eaters.

Death by thirst is not one I would pick as my favorite way to go!!!

AnswerID: 254104

Reply By: Trevor M (SA) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:50

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 20:50
I suggest the biggest issue is where you are going.

It sounds from your post that you were never far from civilisation and a shop to buy bottled water. I also could bush camp for a night or 2 on the supply you suggest but I suggest those you are referring to who are carrying much greater quantities are heading into regions where they may be days or perhaps weeks without a guaranteed top up opportunity.

I am heading across the simpson in a couple of weeks. 6 people in 3 vehicles. We will probably look at carrying about 50L minimum per vehicle. We will be away from civilisation about 3-4 days. Allowing 5Lt per person per day means 40 ltrs per vehicle and then you need to allow for being held up a day or so. Clearly if you have more people per vehicle the equation changes.

That said, the amount of beer and red wine on board will probably be much greater and we are likely to come out the other side with about 40Lts per vehicle still on board LOL! (got to allow something for the cooking and washing up)

Trev
AnswerID: 254122

Follow Up By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 08:25

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 08:25
I'd be carrying a bit more if you can, if one vehicle has cooling system problems then the water disappears at a great rate.
Also if a container breaks you might lose some as well.
FollowupID: 515243

Reply By: Member - Kiwi B - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:11

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:11
I see yer possibly pointing a finger at me, however you say you're only 3-4 days from water. It can take lotsa that time just to drive to water, so you either carry fuel or water. Can't drink fuel meself so I'll stick to carrying my 250 ltrs of drinkable water. People are inclined to perish without it.

I'll drink to that,
AnswerID: 254127

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 07:56

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 07:56
Not finger pointing at you or anyone else, Bruce, & I didnt say I was only 3-4 days
from water either. we refilled daily, had no trouble sourcing water, & found 40
litres more than adequate for our needs....oldbaz.
FollowupID: 515394

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi B - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:46

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 19:46
Baz,

I knew "finger pointing" wasn't exactly the correct words to be using but hoped you'd get my drift.

In your discussion further down this post you suggest that you wouldn't be comfortable venturing off on by yourself, however there are lots of us who do just that. I have food and water for at least 2 months, a sat phone, and a whole heap of faith in my own and my vehicles capabilities.

If we weren't moving house this month, I'd be away enjoying the bush, instead of beating-up this keyboard, and putting up with the darned wintery weather.

So far, so good.
Everybody to their own??
FollowupID: 515680

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:21

Monday, Jul 23, 2007 at 21:21
If I had a car only, I'd be quite frugal of course, but with the trailer its easy to tote the 120L in our underbelly tank - adds a safety margin plus the option to pick and choose where we fill and what quality of water we can access - in the case of a turbo diesel, the extra fuel to pull that load around is minimal.
AnswerID: 254130

Reply By: Member - Patrol Geoff (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 00:09

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 00:09
When I was doing our trip planning for our 4 to 5d in the (Simpson) desert, various posts/sites said you should allow 5 litres per person per day plus a 5d reserve. And that didn't include washing etc. The desert parks book says 6 litres per person per day in mild weather (and that allows for "cooking, limited washing and ample drinking"). Well we have a family of 5, so we are talking 250+ litres and that is a _lot_ of extra weight in a loaded-to-the-top car (no trailer).

Now we went in winter and didn't drink that much, nor did we wash clothes/showers during the desert bit. I had a 100 litre water bladder and a 50l water container that were both filled up with Brisbane water. The latter was intended to be used for drinking throughout the entire trip without being refilled, the former to be topped up with bore water when possible.

We topped up the 100 litre bladder as we left the Birdsville caravan park. It did put a bit of a yucky taint on the taste (although it didn't bother me). We all still cooked and drank it, except my wife who insisted on Brisbane water for drinking.

I tried to get it filled at Oodnadatta, but when I asked about getting water they said they could fill 10 litres for $10. When I said I wanted 50 litres or so they said they couldn't help me. I think there was access to a tap if you were staying at the caravan park. (If that was rain/treated water, then you'd probably be cheaper to pay for a night (even if you didn't stay) at the caravan park and fill a large tank than get them to fill it at the roadhouse).

Best place was Coober Pedy. They had a treated water pump by the side of the road especially for motor homes where you would put in 20 cents and get about 30 litres out of a nozzle that looked like a petrol pump. 40 cents saw us topped up and that more than lasted back to Brisbane.

We were fairly frugal with our water usage. We drank what we wanted, but didn't waste anything. It is amazing how little you can use. But then if the car had lost its coolant, or we were stuck for some reason you'd want a bit of a safety margin.

When I returned, I got to water my yard with Coober Pedy water.

-geoff
AnswerID: 254169

Reply By: Member - Royce- Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 07:19

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 07:19
You need to be prepared for the unplanned situation. Perhaps you poke down a small track to take a look-see. Get stuck. Hot day, water gone.... dead.
AnswerID: 254178

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:04

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:04
Well Barry, everyone makes their own decisions I guess. Me, well there is no way we would be doing some of the trips we do with just 40 litres of water on board.
It's all a matter of the trip you are planning for and the level of comfort and convenience you want.

We carry up to 220 litres. Don't always fill the lot due to weight, but often do. When setting up our rig, I targeted being fully independant (no water, fuel, food supplies) for at least two weeks and up to three weeks if necessary. We have actually camped for over 6 weeks in spots with no access to drinking water.

Some of the places we go, you cannot buy bottled water even if you wanted, and if you could you wouldn't want to pay the price.

So while 40 litres might be enough (and 80 litres 'excessive') for you, it is woefully insufficient for me and many others. Guess we are all different and do different things.
Norm C
AnswerID: 254188

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:11

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 09:11
When we camped at Innamincka in October last year we used about 40l of drinking water in 6 dyas between 5 of us.

We swam in the creek and used creek water for washing up.

We also drank at the pub and had a couple of meals there which would have saved a considerable amount of water.

Normally we would go through about 20l per day. We don't wash much camping in the desert and we recycle dishwashing water simply poor it back into the drity jerry filtering out the chunky bits. We carry water in plastic jerry cans so if we hle one we lose a maximum of 20l and we have 6 jerries so we can carry 120l. For the 4 days it took us to cross the Simpson we carried all of that but didn't use it.

A source of water that is mostly overlooked is the coin in the slot car wash places that most reasonably sized country towns have. The water they use for the final rinse is filtered by reverse osmosis and is as clean as you can get. It is mostly the same process as used by the water bottling companies. I would check with the operator before filling my drinking water but it is cheaper than the supermarket.

AnswerID: 254189

Reply By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:03

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:03
Barry,
Cant see the comparison of restocking water supplies at servos and carrying your water on an outback adventure.
To me the outback is a place you wouldn't have servos or water supplies you can always rely on. Therefore 40 litres for 4 adults over 5 weeks gives you about 2 litres a day.
survive.....possibly
dish washing.....no
showers.......bulllshhiitt!
Sounds like your talking about outback Sydney...like North shore???

AnswerID: 254249

Follow Up By: Hairy - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:10

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:10
Second thought....I think thats about 200ml not 2 lts per person per day!
FollowupID: 515316

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:07

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 08:07
Hairy, you have lost me completely, firstly you refer to refilling from outback servos
, as we did, & then you start dividing 5 weeks by 40 litres of water, & telling me
I'm bull bleep ting from the North Shore of Sydney. All I said was that 4 of us survived quite well on 40 litres a day plus drinking water & had no difficulty
replenishing supplies . You may be surprised to know most outback servos
resemble those anywhere else in the country, are in every town too, & all have
water..cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 515397

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 12:50

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 12:50
What I was trying to say was the reason a lot of people carry so much water (me included) is because a lot of places dont have the luxury of being garunteed a place to restock. Therefore carring 40 litres would not only be silly, but suicidal.
Even if you only travel 100km off the track and breakdown in someplaces you might not see any one for a week or so, so with a Mrs and 2 kids, 150litres of water is by no means excesive in what could well be 45 degrees plus in the shade.
Maybe sometimes so much water is not needed, but the reason why there are so many posts related to large water tanks is because a lot of people obviously do travel to areas where they need to carry their own supply. Ive forgoten now but wasnt that what your original post was questioning?
FollowupID: 515440

Follow Up By: Member - Barry M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 16:50

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 16:50
G'day Hairy, you are quite right ,I was questioning wether the amount of water
carried by some is indeed necessary as it comes at a cost. Your point re breaking down & not seeing anyone for a week is quite valid, but I would be reluctant to
venture to any such area as a single vehicle anyway & certainly not if it was 45 deg.
We travelled the Ood, Tanami, Gibb RR & W Qld & found 40 litres replenished daily
more than adequate, & yes it was 40 deg but you cant stop for a pee on those roads without someone coming along. I wasnt referring to Desert Crossings, CSR
or such isolated destinations. One final question..how come I got bleeped for my
bull..... & you didnt ? Must be in the spelling or are you tight with the EO gurus ?
Cheers...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 515471

Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:14

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:14
Gday OldBaz,
I live in Alice, so travelling 100km with one vehicle into an area where you might not see anyone for a while is quite common, but we always let someone know were we are going and more importantly, when we will be home and how long we can cope before we need someone to hit the panic button.( it would be bloody embarrassing if it wasn't life threatening!)
As for your foul language! Its all in the tone of your voice mate.
Hairy
FollowupID: 515502