80 series for $20 k which one?

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 18:57
ThreadID: 48062 Views:5141 Replies:8 FollowUps:10
Hello all, I have narrowed my choices for a vehicle to travel around Oz with 750kg camper trailer, some moderate off road and driving around town on return fom trip to an 80 series. I have $20k to spend- can anyone recommend the best year for that sort of money. Ideally I would like a turbo diesel but will consider petrol. I am considering trying to get a early model Sahara but wonder if I should just get whatever is in the best condition with service records. Your thoughts would be most appreciated. Thanks, Tim

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:01

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:01
Maintainance is the go...from around 1996-7 you'll need to look out for
1 If t/d, has the engine had any work done on it (early ones did pistons etc)
2) Clutch replaced ? (After around 200k it becomes necessary)
3 Radiator ?
4) Starter motor ?
5 Water pump?
6 Suspension ?

A well serviced series 80 is usually very reliable indeed.
AnswerID: 254267

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:03

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:03
There is even this one in the trader section which is pretty well set up as well

Site Link

FollowupID: 515321

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:06

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 19:06
If the vehicle is a genuine factory turbo then don't worry about pistons. Some 1hz engines with aftermarket turbo's have been known to blow up when overboosted.
They would all now have around 200k plus on them so should have any of the problems sorted out.
FollowupID: 515323

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:16

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:16
The very early factory turbo diesels (around the 1991 era) had big end bearing issues, but I'm pretty sure that would all be resolved by now.
FollowupID: 515588

Reply By: djm67 - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:20

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:20
Only word of caution I will throw in is that of heavy fuel consumption in the petrols.

I have a 80 series diesel and it isn't to bad on juice.
AnswerID: 254284

Reply By: Member - Matthew H (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:26

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:26
G'day Tim, just been thru the whole process myself. Recently brought a 1991 80 Series with 1HZ diesel. I personally didn't want a Turbo as just something else that may break. We have just picked up our new camper from Brisbane and towed it back to Sydney with no problems. We are about to head off on a round Aust trip and just after months of research, that a 1HZ with good sevice record was the way to go. Ours had 270000 on the clock, just put it thru Rego check and service with no problems except having to get power steering hose made up.

Good luck with your decision..

Matty
AnswerID: 254286

Follow Up By: getmethehelloutahere - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:41

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:41
Thanks Matty,
That is my preferred option but did you find the fuel ecenomy ok, and did you feel you needed more power.
Tim
FollowupID: 515506

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:37

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 20:37
Tim,
I got a stock standard 97 80 Series last year. It had 142Km's on it at the time and I paid a little over $16k for it. It had full service history. It was only the base model dx with vinyl floor and 6 seater(front passenger 1 and 3/4). I have since made a few changes but as it was when I purchaced it I would have had no problems heading off around oz in it. Get it fully checked out by someone who knows what they are talking about. A couple of hundred lost on a decent inspection on a lemon is a really good deal compared to what it would cost to fix.
Matt

AnswerID: 254290

Reply By: Member - Mick (Forbes) - Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:24

Tuesday, Jul 24, 2007 at 22:24
Tim

Had my 1996 80 series normally aspirated diesel since 1999 with only 45,000 km on the clock. just turned over 180,000 km after fitting a Denco turbo Kit at 174,000km (Wagga based Company).
Towing an off road camper and heavy loads prompting the move, 17 to 20 ltrs per 100 km is a high price to pay with no top end towing power.
I now have a new vehicle, similar fuel economy, with a heavier foot on the floor. Just returned from the Simmo, three blokes 60ltrs fuel, 60 ltrs water (same in Tooheys) two fridges and roof rack loaded to the hilt with swags and tyres etc.
Best 16 ltrs per 100km, worst 19.5 km per 100km with a killer head wind.
All around better performance high speed, low speed, high range, low range, do yourself a favour, pay the extra, buy a Cruiser with a turbo or invest the $3,500 for a kit like I did. 7 years of 3rd gear hill climbs now a thing of the past !!

Mick
AnswerID: 254322

Reply By: kgxlprado - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 00:29

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 00:29
I found this on 4wd monthly. only done 180 however it's not a turbo. The seller is asking for 25, I'm sure it's negotiable.

Site Link

good luck.
AnswerID: 254340

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 13:41

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 13:41
G'day Tim
Standard diesel 80's are quite slow - if you like a bit of power you'll be disappointed.
You can pick up a much newer petrol for the money. Fuel consumption may be more but other maintenance costs are generally less - filters, oil etc. Mine gets about 15/16 mpg towing. Used to own a diesel and it only ever got about 20/21 mpg, so not a huge difference. I have not regretted going from diesel to petrol.
Cheers from the Moose
AnswerID: 254395

Follow Up By: getmethehelloutahere - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:44

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:44
Cheers Moose, have you considered converting to gas (aside from the obvious lack of access in certain areas)
Tim
FollowupID: 515507

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:58

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 08:58
G'day Tim
Never considered gas. I replaced the standard auxiliary tank with a 150 ltr one soon after getting the vehicle. That gave me heaps of range. I reckon the cost of things like gas conversions will probably never be recovered. Perhaps I'm wrong but I've had no regrets with my decision.
The 80 is a great vehicle - I've had 2 and travelled extensively. Never really had any major problems. I hope you get to have as much fun as we have - it's a fantastic country to explore.
With respect to my comment on the lack of power in a standard diesel, if you're happy to mosey along at a steady pace and tackling most hills in first or second when fully loaded doesn't concern you, then no problems. But if you're used to something with a bit of go then you may be disappointed.
Good luck and safe travels.
FollowupID: 515567

Follow Up By: getmethehelloutahere - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 09:24

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 09:24
Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 515569

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:20

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:20
In WA a gas conversion is essentially free with the state and federal rebates. Even without the WA state gov. rebate it would only cost you a grand or so for the conversion, how could that possibly not pay for its self at 20L per 100kms around Oz???
FollowupID: 515589

Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:27

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:27
Jeff - I bought the car about 10 years ago. At the time petrol was much cheaper and conversions were dearer with no rebates - as far as I recall. Perhaps today it is different. Also the issue of access to gas was an issue - it is now more widely available. So you are probably correct that today it would be economical.
FollowupID: 515593

Reply By: getmethehelloutahere - Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:48

Wednesday, Jul 25, 2007 at 20:48
Thanks to those who replied. Bugger, sometimes I reckon this forum confuses you more. I had people telling me go the diesel, others saying non turbo diesel lacks power, and others telling me to buy petrol. I am sure the 80 series is the right vehicle, just need to decide whether the advantages of diesel (turbo/non turbo) outweigh petrol.Must say it is fun researching though.
Tim
AnswerID: 254454

Follow Up By: jeffwa - Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:24

Thursday, Jul 26, 2007 at 11:24
I think reliability issues with a correctly configured turbo are a null point. I mean it's not a complex thing on a 1hz to stick a hair dryer on it. There are no gizzmo's or electronics, it a simple setup that should not cause reliability issues.

Nothing irks me more than people towing vans or trailers with seriously underpowered vehicles holding every bugger up who's just trying to get on with their daily business. (yes some people use country roads for things other than holidays too you know).

So why buy a vehicle that you know you will have to change down to third to make it up a slight incline when you can do it right to start with and enjoy your trip instead of labouring along the entire way.

Me, I reckon a petrol on gas, or my personal preference a 1hz with a good turbo would be the best suited.

FollowupID: 515592