Battery charging (AGM)

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 08:58
ThreadID: 48169 Views:4133 Replies:6 FollowUps:35
Good morning all, going to run a…Maybe!!!! Solution before you to the perennial problem of charging an auxiliary AGM battery in car from the alternator, as all who know anything about this it`s not an ideal situation, it`s slow & you only get about 70 to 75% of your charge capacity owing to the limitations of the alternator & the nature of the AGM battery. My solution, fingers Xed, & I`m open to all comments, good bad or indifferent, (I`d get em anyway, no choice) Have an inverter wired to the start battery with a power cut switch. And plugged into your inverter a (smart) battery charger wired up to your AGM battery, use appropriate size cabling to minimize voltage/amp drop and of course fusing. So far I can`t see a problem… So it`s over to you all!!!!
One Q I have. To drive a 16 amp charger what size (wattage) inverter would I be looking at??? ( I can`t find the specs sheet for my charger ) Thanks & cheers. RG.

Reply By: SCUBADOO - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 09:33

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 09:33
Ron

Nothing original here. I have been using your suggested method in my motorhome for over 10 years using gel batteries.
My "smart charger" happily delivers 25A continuous via a 600W modified sine wave inverter until my batteries are fully charged.
I have a separate 500W sine wave inverter to run devices from my auxiliary batteries.
Wiring - you will receive a lot of advice. My favourite wiring is the multi-strand high current cable mainly used in audio setups. Main advantage is flexibility.
Vistit jaycar.com.au and search for "cable high current"

Neville

AnswerID: 254808

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:04

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:04
Thanks Scuba, "nothing original here" I thought as much, more of a brain picking exercise I suppose after admitting to myself that I`m not as smart as i`d like to think I am. I have used audio wireing before, as you say, nice & flexiable, I think a 300W inverter would cover the charger??? But going a bit bigger won`t hurt. Jacar... Mate I hate going there, I don`t get out under an hour!!!! & the plastic cops a bit of a flogging as well... It`s a crule world. Cheers Ron.

FollowupID: 515902

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:25

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:25
300W should be enough. 16amps x say 15volts dangerous maximum on my calculator = 240watts.
PS I purchased an identical Jaycar 600w unit from your ebay equivalent here in NZ from www.trademe.co.nz for less than $140.
"I don`t get out under an hour!!!!" Only 1 hour? I know the feeling!

Neville

FollowupID: 515905

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:22

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:22
Thanks Nev, yeah 300W would cover it??? but sailing a bit close to the wind as you say, if I go down that road I`ll do the 600W jobby methinks. Keep your powder dry.
Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 515911

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 09:44

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 09:44
The simplest solution is an Arrid Twin Charge.

This takes the voltage from your battery and ups it to full charging voltage for the type of battery you specify.

They make several different models to suit different battery types.

AnswerID: 254810

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:10

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:10
Thanks notso, will check that 1 out. PS. Had a mate many moons ago with a surname of Bright. Another mate??? hung the nick name "noso" on him... He wasn`t impressed!!! Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 515903

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:17

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 10:17
The nick name should read "notso" D`oh... I`m having junior moments all over the place this morning, might be due to the Townsville weather & I`m on the road again!!! Ron.
FollowupID: 515904

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:01

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:01
Yeah, Mate I went to school on a bus with 3 Smarts, 2 Wises and 2 other Brights??

Where did you meet the bloke called Bright? Not a great many of us around, could be a lation
FollowupID: 515906

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:16

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:16
Hell mate, a truckload of free kicks there. Was in the Army, last saw him at a reunion in 88 I think, first name Danny, came from Melbourne, that`s all I know apart from still being dirty on me for smashing his pride & joy, an EH Holden no less... Wasn`t my fault Danny... Honest!!! Drunk!!... Never???
Mate while I`ve got your attention, I`ve been all over bloody OZ trying to find info on the Arid twin... no joy, can you point me in a particular direction please.
Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 515908

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:13

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:13
Arrid link:

www.arrid.net.au/index.html
FollowupID: 515931

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:20

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:20
Yep, I'm another devotee of the 20amp Arrid Twin Charge. I "inherited" mine when I bought the Chev last November. I've re-wired it to charge my Fullriver 120a/h AGM battery in the cargo box and have never had any trouble with it at all.
FollowupID: 515934

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:06

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:06
No, using an Arrid is the ideal solution, but very expensive and very complex, just like the Inverter+Charger solution.

The simplest (therefore most reliable) and least-costly solution is to use the Alternator specifically designed to charge wetcell LeadAcid batteries to 100%. You only have to install adequate wiring to the trailer (with no refigerator on the same cable) to also charge a battery in the Trailer. An AGM will charge even better than a wetcell.
FollowupID: 515982

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:14

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:14
G/day Mike, mate I`ve been told there is no such animal, would be interested in any info. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 515998

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:58

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:58
If you have a modern vehicle, the Alternator will charge the battery to 100%.

Those who are telling you that Alternators only charge to 70%, have to convince you of this so you will spend money on their "better" solution.
FollowupID: 515999

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:18

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:18
G/day Mike, modern veh... I wish!!! 1980 Effie 4X4, just might be a ring of truth in the "better" solution. An alternator up grade might be the go, I`ll put that one on the burner for the moment, see what else comes up here, interesting to say the least, I might add that I I`ve stuck me foot in me gob a couple of times, but I think that has been caused by information overload... Oh well, sei`la`vie Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 516014

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:53

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:53
My 1971 Datsun Patrol had an Alternator, though I can't remember if it was compensated.

(btw that's "c'est la vie")
FollowupID: 516040

Follow Up By: Ron George - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:22

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 10:22
Oh bugger another fax`pass... they just never end, could never understand the practicalities of French being a required subject at high school... Have a guess as to what subject I flunked... No prizes!!! Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 516060

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:20

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 11:20
(btw that's "fox paw")

. . . . LOL
FollowupID: 516064

Follow Up By: Shaker - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 13:56

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 13:56
BTW it's 'faux pas'
FollowupID: 516086

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:24

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 11:24
Ron, the system you are proposing is fine and will work, but having 240 V running 'permanently in your vehicle has safety issues that you need to consider and account for.
Other than that, my only comment is on your statement:
'charging an auxiliary AGM battery in car from the alternator, as all who know anything about this it`s not an ideal situation, it`s slow & you only get about 70 to 75% of your charge capacity owing to the limitations of the alternator & the nature of the AGM battery.'

I believe this statement to be incorrect. With the right size cable to limit voltage drop, there is no reason why you cannot achieve almost full charge by charging from alternator, and with AGMs it will not be slower than your 16 Amp charger. In fact, quite the opposite. Your alternator will provide and your AGM will accept more than the 16 Amp limit of your charger when running off the alternator.

There are other benefits of using the smart charger as it is a 'smarter' solution. But fuller and particularly faster charge are not necessarily among them.

Norm C
AnswerID: 254813

Follow Up By: SCUBADOO - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 14:09

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 14:09
Norm

Have you ever measured the current charge using your method into a lets say a 50% charged AGM or Gel battery after say an hour ? I have. It is invariably less than a couple of amps. Is the battery anywhere near fully charged at this stage? No!!! Do the maths. The current entering the battery via your method at this stage will be less than perhaps 3 amps. Using my method it will still be at 25 amps until fully charged.

Neville
FollowupID: 515929

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 17:00

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 17:00
Hi Scubadoo, either it was a very small battery or there was something wrong with your charging set up, like low charge voltage because Norm is spot on the money.

Short of going to something like a Sterling 50 amp DC to DC inverter, an alternator will easily beat an inverter/battery charger set up on anything bigger that a 70 A/H battery and add the fact that it’s heaps cheaper to put an additional auxiliary battery in than the cost of an inverter/battery charger, is heap safer and at the end of the day you have far more stored capacity.

This set up has been kick around for a few years now an it still is not as efficient or cost effective as simply just adding another battery.

As for an alternator not being able to charge ANY automotive battery above 70% is a myth and as long as the vehicles electrics are in good condition, it's easy to get any battery charged to 95+% just off the alternator.

FollowupID: 515956

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:58

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:58
"The current entering the battery via your method at this stage will be less than perhaps 3 amps. Using my method it will still be at 25 amps until fully charged."

You can't charge ANY car-size Lead Acid battery at 25 amps until fully charged.
FollowupID: 515979

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:03

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:03
Norm, mate read my reply to sandman re limitations of the alternator, they just can`t do what what every one thinks they can... Ask a sparkie. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 516009

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 00:07

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 00:07
Ron, It is your decision. I (and others) can only offer the benefit of our knowledge and experience.

In my case, I have been running 210 AH of AGMs in my Hilux (330AH with CT connected) for over two years. We spend about 5 months per year on the road., rarely in CP with access to 240 V. Our principal means of charging is via alternator while driving.

In 2006, we spent 16 weeks on the road in one trip, with less than 3 weeks in CP with 240 V. We ran a generator on 5 days in the other 13 weeks. We regularly camped for 2 or 3 days at a time in one place. We carry 2 fridges and use plenty of lights, electric water pump etc. This would be quite impossible with the numbers and scenario you describe.

I can only state that by conventional theory and from my own experience, it is possible to 'fully' charge AGM batteries using alternator with the right set up.

If you don't accept that and seek another more expensive solution, that's fine. You may well have good a valid reasons for doing that.
I hope it works and achieves your objectives.

FollowupID: 516019

Follow Up By: Ron George - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 07:32

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 07:32
Good morning Norm, mate thanks for that, very timely & to the point, I can now see some light at the end of the tunnel, for a while I felt like a hunk of meat on a red ants nest, getting pulled hell west & crooked, thanks to you & the other contributes I can now put a system together that will work. Mate if I appeared to be a bit boof headed... I`ts the nature of the beast, it takes a good argument to sway me, the forum has triumphed again. Stay safe & cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 516030

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:37

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 15:37
Ron you post-> "the perennial problem of charging an auxiliary AGM battery in car from the alternator, as all who know anything about this it`s not an ideal situation, it`s slow & you only get about 70 to 75% of your charge capacity owing to the limitations of the alternator & the nature of the AGM battery"

If you have "limitations" with your Alternator fix them first !!

The "nature of the AGM battery" will charge faster and more efficiently than any wetcell battery so it may not be the battery but a charging problem, maybe the cable size, length or even the Isolator.

If you can't get the "+" battery terminal showing 14.4v on a multimeter when the vehicle is running, you have a charging problem.
AnswerID: 254835

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:00

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 19:00
An excellent summary of the issues.
FollowupID: 515980

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:25

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 18:25
Please explain how converting 12v to 240v back to 12v is in any shape or form more efficient than your vehicle altenator in charging an AGM , all your proposing is a waste of " energy " in heat loss going thru the inverter.
AnswerID: 254862

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:21

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 21:21
Ron,

Where did you get the misconception that you will only get a 70%-75% charge back into your auxiliary AGM battery from the alternator?

One of the significant advantages of an AGM battery is obtaining a full charge capacity in a relatively short time. The other advantage is a deeper cycle (lower discharge capacity) without permanent damage to the battery.

The alternator is the most cost effective, (no extra cost) efficient and effective method of charging your AGM battery to 100% capacity in a relatively short time.
You just don't need anything else to charge your auxiliary battery "in the car".

The Arrid Twin Charge unit mentioned above is a very good solution, but really only necessary if the battery is significantly "remote", i.e. located in a camper trailer or caravan.
The Arrid Twin Charge corrects the effect of voltage drop, often encountered in longer cable runs and eliminates the need for a heavier cable run from alternator to battery to obtain a proper charging voltage.

AnswerID: 254884

Follow Up By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:42

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 22:42
Hi Sandman, misconception... Mmmm dunno!! I`m just going on what I`ve been told & experienced. I won`t argue the toss on the merits of an AGM that was the reason why I bought it, but as far as the alternator is concerned,"most effective & effective method of charging, I have some reservations there, the nature of an alternator ( I`ll stand corrected) is that they can`t deliver high amps & voltage simultaneiously: AGM batteries by their nature (I`m told) will absorb just about every amp you can throw at them right up to the point of being fully charged. The alternators efficiency is compromised by it`s lack of being able to provide the drive voltage resulting in a slower (maybe) charge time but definitely not fully charged 75% might be a tad on the low side but it`s a moot point, no alternator can deliver a 100% charge to a battery. Some one has suggested that specially built alternators specifically for AGM batts can be had, I`ve yet to check that out, Christies, the mob who make the Honda powered battery charges tweak their alternators for a fast charge so it can be done. "Smart" battery charges overcome the inefficiencies of the alternator, that was why I was proposing to go that way.
Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 516005

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:45

Saturday, Jul 28, 2007 at 23:45
Sorry to disappoint you Ron but your lecy is working on the misconception that ALL vehicles are used as shopping trollies and as such only get driven for a few minutes each time they are started.

Based on this type of operation, the battery in these vehicles will in all probability never get charged beyond 70 to 75% BUT this in no way means that an alternator can not fully charge any form of automotive battery.

I have been designing and manufacturing Dual Battery Controllers for nearly 20 years and our specific controller, unlike other controllers, are specifically designed to exploit the very fact that batteries are charged to at least 95% and I can assure you that it is a rare occasion that a battery, cranking or auxiliary battery in an RV type situation, is not regularly charged to at least 95% and this is without any additional assistance like inverter/battery chargers or the likes and this is also the case even when the battery is fitted at the end of a long run of cable, in a camper trailer, caravan or at the far end of a large motor home.

The only time there is a problem is when the installation is not carried out properly and/or someone has used incorrect cabling.

As our equipment is installed in thousands upon thousands of vehicles and doing exactly what they are designed to do based on the fact that batteries do have stored charges of around the 95% mark, your lecy obviously does not have too much experience with dual battery systems.

FollowupID: 516016

Follow Up By: Ron George - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:12

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 08:12
Thanks D/S, yes possibly the victim of miss/to much information, my very reason for floating the idea on this forum... Pick the brains of the one`s that "know" & come up with the best possible solution to the problem, I think I`m on the right track now. Take care & cheers. Ron.
FollowupID: 516036

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 14:11

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 14:11
Ron, don’t forget to let us know how you get on.

Cheers and have fun setting it up, which ever way you go.
FollowupID: 516091

Follow Up By: Ron George - Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 21:10

Sunday, Jul 29, 2007 at 21:10
Roger that!!! did a quick prelim check this arvo alternator checks out ok about 14.2 V, not so at the battery, feed from alt goes through amp gauge then back to batt isolator, methinks resistance in there somewhere, keep you posted. Cheers Ron
FollowupID: 516147

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 13:03

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 13:03
Ron, what's the total voltage drop between Alternator and Battery ??

Measure at Alternator to 'in' at Amp gauge and from 'out' at Amp gauge to Battery.
Amp gauge should give no discernible voltage loss.
FollowupID: 516203

Follow Up By: drivesafe - Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 18:07

Monday, Jul 30, 2007 at 18:07
Hi Ron, 14.2 is a good average output voltage you would expect in most vehicles but just having thin wire can cause serious voltage drop problems, so check the size of your cable and another thing to consider is the is the state of charge of your battery at the time you measured the voltage.

If the battery is fairly low, this may pull the voltage down.

There’s lots more to it but this is a start.

FollowupID: 516267

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 09:29

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 09:29
Thanks DS, I wouldn`t say for sure but on inspection the wireing looks a bit dodgy size wise, I`m going to upgrade it anyway so we`ll see. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 516351

Follow Up By: Ron George - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:49

Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:49
She’s all done, excellent result, doing what it should, thanks again fellas, enjoyed the experience, take care. Cheers Ron.
FollowupID: 516426

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 00:02

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 00:02
Ron,
now your happy please tell us what you actually did........
FollowupID: 516443

Follow Up By: Ron George - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:17

Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:17
Hi Mainey, mate I did make a detailed reply but like my voltage... It disappeared, one to many XXXX Gold I think... One little ol wrong key... & poof she`s gone, I was cheesed off & not in the mood to do it all over again I am now so here`s the good oil.
Rewired from alt to Batt isolator with a heavier gauge wire... no rocket science there, one thing I like to do is solder the terminals over crimping, better performance/longevity, have seen the results of crimping only in a marine environment, not pretty!!! On inspecting the old wiring it was found to have a hot spot in it (cooked) I thought how the...??? then I recalled a little incident some years ago, can`t recall how it actually happened but remember nearly ripping the battery post out trying to get the terminal off. When I pealed the insulation away it was found to be sort of corroded a fine brownish green powder all over the wire plus I think it might have been a tad under size for the length of the run. The amp & volt gauges are telling a different story to the previous one so I`m thinking she`s all good, end of story. Take care & cheers. Ron.
FollowupID: 516459