Patrol 4.2 Vs 3.0
Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 16:05
Big Mike
Can anyone give me fuel consumption figures on either 4.2 or 3.0 patrol diesel so I can do a comparo. Both look similar on paper in Kw and Torque. Opinions on either engine would be appreciated.
Ta
Reply By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 16:29
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 16:29
Big Mike, I used to have a 3.0 and now have a 4.2 C/C.hassis so I might be able to help.
3.0 averaged around 11-12 l/100 highway and about 14 to 15 off-road (wagon)
4.2 averages around 14.5 highway and 13.2 to 13.5 off-road (Cab Chassis and Camper - weighs 3t).
Although the 3l went quick (especially with the dTronic), off idle torque was none existent. The 4.2 has it off idle (3" exhaust system fitted) and is by far the better vehicle off-road. The figures on paper just don't equate to real road/off-road feel.
I will not bag the 3l. It did what we wanted it to do and did it
well - it just didn't last very long (115,000km's = shagged in the motor department, and a very long list of motor related parts failures).
The 4.2 is reknowned for its longevity, the EARLY 3 litres not so (ZD30).
But to answer your question as simple as possible, MY 4.2 fully loaded uses less dino fluid than my old ZD30 in the SAME conditions off-road (and it weighed a lot less, too!).
Off-Road / Towing = 4.2 litre
Highway / Light Touring = 3 litre
Just my 2 cents worth.
Best regards,
Craig.
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:53
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:53
Thanks Craig, Nice ute. Everything I have read points to the 4.2 being the better engine. Wonder what nissan will do in light of the new v8 toyota, which seems to be the ants pants. Who did the slide on for you?
Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 07:27
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 07:27
Hello again Mike, the camper is a Carry Me Camper by Candy Canvas in
Tintinara.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 09:40
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 09:40
'off idle torque was none existent'
got to remember to push the gas pedal down when you take off though and you won't have this problem ;-)
Follow Up By: Member - Craig D (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 10:20
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 10:20
LOL Leroy....yeah it does help apparently! What I meant was when you just dump the clutch (especially on a slope) - one will pull, the other will lag:)
But what would I know; I've only owned both :))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
Reply By: blue one - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 17:52
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 17:52
Mike,
I concur with Craig as my experience matches his.
Reply By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 17:58
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 17:58
anyone tells you they get less than 15ish litres per 100 they are on drugs. Best i ever got was 15.4 over 2000k's and thats with all the mods possible. turbo, exhaust etc.
Follow Up By: Boxhead - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 18:45
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 18:45
ditto
Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 18:54
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 18:54
Doh ! I can get 13.1 l/100 if i stay under 105kph no roofrack on a good cold day, That's in 2wd on the black stuff.
In summer it goes up because of the air con.
I am not under any medication at this moment.
And my nose didn't grow either. :-)
Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:26
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:26
Must be on drugs then????......hehehe.....Depending on how I drive I have got below 15ltr per 100km many times....Though you must stay below 100km/hr to achieve....Anyone want some of my drugs......hehehehe
Follow Up By: Teabag (Queanbeyan) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:32
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:32
The worst I've got is 18.7ltr per 100 sitting on 110km/hr towing the
Kimberley Kamper and fairly loaded.....
Follow Up By: downtools - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:01
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 08:01
Consistently get 12-13l/100klm around town and 11.5 on trips.
lightly loaded rack, medium loads, moving at 100-110k/hr.
2004 4.2 st standard tyres, speedo checks out ok.
Maybe its in the tune?(Berrima) or the right foot?
My drug of choice is fresh air, not much of that in
Sydney!
I don't understand the poor figures some folk quote, must be a combination of things.
Cheers Nifty
Follow Up By: Flash - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 09:11
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 09:11
I agree with Nifty.
Similar figures (tad better actually), though older (GQ), 3"exhaust and goes brilliantly.
May she live forever, because I don't know what the hell I'd replace her with.
Drugs.....Hmmm....... just a
little red wine now and then.
Hooroo
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 13:42
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 13:42
Wayne (and others),
I used to say this all the time, with my 4.2 returning 15lt/100km all the time or worse. I have weighed
mine at 2960kg on a light day, and add 600kg plus to this equation regularly. Recently I have been handed some "jungle juice" that goes into the fuel and it is supposed to clean the fuel system up, since useing this fuel additive I have been achieving late 13's and early 14's / 100km consistently even when fully loaded at 3.7 tonnes plus.
Best regards,
Trevor.
Reply By: ddr - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:04
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:04
Ive kept accurate stats on Fuel since my 4.2 was new.
Total Running average is 16.1L/100k (Including every type of driving & every drop of fuel used since new)
12.6L/100k is the best, is usually hovers around 13.5L/100k around town & general driving.
When Towing my Van I get usually around 18L/100k.
Last fuel fill up was 110.61lt & the distance was 799K's = 13.8L/100k
Follow Up By: Boxhead - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:11
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:11
ddr is your 4.2 stock or accessorised?
namely -
lifted,
big boots
& roof rack
t-he 3 fuel eaters
Follow Up By: ddr - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:22
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:22
Mostly Stock.
Cooper ST in the 17", but they are only a little bit bigger than std.
Not Lifted, has a roof rack ATM but that made very little difference (~1lt/100k)
Reply By: lizard - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:10
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 19:10
My GU 2006 cab/chassis uses 22 lt/10 km when fully loaded & towing our van (2.5t) at 95 km/hr.And I do mean fully loaded , dinghy atop etc....
Follow Up By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:00
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:00
22lt/10km????? typo methinks
Follow Up By: ddr - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:24
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 20:24
I could see it. My worst was 24lt/100k from
Port Augusta to Adel I suspect a bad batch of fuel helped this.
Follow Up By: lizard - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:55
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:55
Yes a typo ........ 22lt/100 km.
Reply By: Big Mike - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:56
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 21:56
Thanks to all for input.
Reply By: Dave & Shelley (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 22:01
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 22:01
Hi mate,
I have a 2004 3.0lt and haven't had any engine problems after 55,000km. From what I understand if you are looking at the second hand market, go a series III or IV.
I get around 12 - 13 lt/100km around town (13-14 with the muddies on) and on the black top and around 14 when 4wding. My economy goes up to 15lt/100km when towing my camper trailer (Kimberly Kamper) and sitting around 105km/hr). Overall it is pretty good but I must agree it is lacking a little before the turbo kicks in. I wouldn't want to tow a big van or anything, but a camper trailer is no problems
My mate has a 4.2 turbo cab and he is pretty happy as well but I believe his economy is slightly worse.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 22:51
Tuesday, Jul 31, 2007 at 22:51
FWIW, my old 4.2TD used to average about 15.63L/100klm over it's lifetime with me. It was fairly heavy (3050kg).
I have a mate with a fairly standard 4.2TD who has recently fitted LPG injection. He just came back from a round trip Kadina
Darwin Kadina (about 4000klm maybe?) and was towing his 20 foot caravan. Apart from a detour off the highway into
Chambers Pillar, the van was being towed virtually all the time. His fuel economy (diesel only) was about 14.5 L/100.
Before he left for that trip, the fairly short distances he'd travelled since fitting the LPG and without towing, showed he was down to about 10.5L/100klm diesel. The amount of LPG he uses is negligible; about 30 litres per 1000klm (I think).
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 09:11
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 09:11
G'Day Roachie,
Thanks for your
feedback. Seems that load, driving style and as downtools made a good point of, engine tuning makes all the difference. I enjoy reading your posts and the many many disparaging remarks by certain others:) Will have to get to one of these gatherings.
Reply By: Chaz - Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 02:46
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007 at 02:46
Hi Mike,
I have a very much modified Auto 02 3.0Di that has given me an average of 12.6 since the beginning of this year. Around town it’s in the low 11’s and towing the camper @ 100, around 14.5.
It’s now done 100,000k’s and since new I’ve only ever had to replace the drive belt because I noticed a few cracks, but other than that no problems and no turbo lag issues.