STOLEN GQ PATROL (Sydney)

Submitted: Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 15:15
ThreadID: 4827 Views:3075 Replies:10 FollowUps:5
Theres some low life bleep on this planet.

CAR THIEVES

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From the Patrol list.
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Some cockless little piece of dog bleep stole my Patrol last night from outside my house in Sydney's northern suburbs. It is a white 1997 GQ RX 4.2 diesel rego GQX-42D which had a Warn 8274 winch, 2" TJM
suspension, snorkel, cargo barrier, side steps, dual batteries, GME TX-4200 and all my tools in the back.

If anyone has any information at all regarding this vehicle please call me on 0419 270942.

Al.

Reply By: macca - Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 15:29

Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 15:29
Truckster

Good friend of mine works at Manly Police. I will let him know your car details. Maybe he can keep an extra good eye out for it. Majority of the time unless the cops know its stolen there not going to stop and check out every car. I will pass on the info to him. He is working this arvo. Where was it stolen from

Macca
AnswerID: 19591

Reply By: Member - Wherethefugawi - Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 15:35

Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 15:35
Hope you get it back soon......hopefully at worst all they wanted was the tools and nothing else
AnswerID: 19592

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 15:44

Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 15:44
Just a quicky, its not my car, this is another blokes, Im just trying to spread the word for people to keep an eye out, the # plate should be a bit of a give away.

Probably stolen for its bits.

Theres been a few 4wds stolen in bleep ney lately for parts....

Thanks people.
AnswerID: 19593

Reply By: Member - Cocka - Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 18:55

Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 18:55
Yeah that's over my side of town so will keep an eye out in this area. Really hope we can help.

Great number plate - seems like sometimes it doesn't pay to advertise. I can't help but admire the Japanese sense of honesty - If it's not yours why would you take it ??

Truckster should also keep an eye open cause they're probably Vics doing raids across the border.Carpe Diem
AnswerID: 19615

Reply By: Jeff (Beddo) - Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 21:08

Saturday, May 10, 2003 at 21:08
I'll keep an eye out north of the Hawkesbury.Cheers, Beddo
Surf KZN185
<- Yengo NP, Central Coast NSW
AnswerID: 19632

Reply By: David N. - Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 09:18

Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 09:18
Probably a warning for us all...
Patrols are horribly easy to break into- I discovered this many years ago when I locked keys in the car.
Have since
1. installed sheet metal plates- about four inches square, over the lock mechanisms in both drivers and passengers doors. I mounted them using the two studs/nuts which secure the door release
2. fitted immobiliser
AnswerID: 19665

Follow Up By: Brian - Tuesday, May 13, 2003 at 19:44

Tuesday, May 13, 2003 at 19:44
David..can you expand on the sheetmetal plates thing?? i am interested to do something like this on my GQ ....
FollowupID: 12679

Follow Up By: David N. - Wednesday, May 14, 2003 at 09:18

Wednesday, May 14, 2003 at 09:18
I've broken into a few cars in my time- always for the right reasons (keys locked in the car)
Not long after I got my GQ my wife did that and I was quite simply amazed how easy it was in the patrol... you can literally see the lock lever etc by stretching the rubber window seal back- blind Freddy could break in in 2 secs with a piece of wire.
SO I pulled the door trim off to investigate, and using a bit of galv tin plate cut with tin snips, I made up a plate which completely covered the mechanism (from above) Did not take long and although I'm not bad at most things, I'm no whiz with sheet metal.....
Just start with a bit of cardboard cut and trim with scissors (and bend as required) then copy the cardboard job to the metal and you're in business. It fits neatly in the door and bolts under the two nuts which hold the outside door handle. The only problem I've had is it used to rattle- after about three tries at rebending it slightly I fixed that too.
It won't stop a serious crim.... but at least gives you some added security. If they're fair dinkum and in a serious hurry they will ALWAYS break your window- but that attracts attention. I've had four break-ins over the last 35 years- two windows and two thru a lock mechanism- so you'll never stop them completly,the bast...ds.
However make it as hard as possible and hopefully they'll go elsewhere. A good kill switch or immobiliser is essential!
I reckon I'd be 20grand out of pocket if mine got pinched and that's after the insurance paid up- I've put a huge amount of time and money into it and it's very low klms for it's age.
BUT you'll never stop a serious pro, unfortunately. Cheers
FollowupID: 12717

Follow Up By: Brian - Wednesday, May 14, 2003 at 10:28

Wednesday, May 14, 2003 at 10:28
Many thanks for the info David , I will be doing this mod very shortly..
FollowupID: 12720

Reply By: Kev - (Cairns,QLD) - Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 19:52

Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 19:52
Boys and girls, dont forget the age old kill switch !

Cheap and effective.
AnswerID: 19689

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 20:07

Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 20:07
> Bruce,
> The police have recovered my vehicle but are not being specific as to
what condition it is in. It was involved in an armed robbery apparently so I cannot collect it untill forensics have finished with it.
Yes it is very rare for cars to go missing in our area. It was a big shock.

> Mullos.
AnswerID: 19690

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 21:12

Sunday, May 11, 2003 at 21:12
You need to go through it with a fine toothed comb for any engine damage or anything as soon as possible if it comes to insurance claims. The trouble is if the police keep it for a time it may become too late before you find out there is something wrong and claimable. About time we got rid of the scum of the earth and dealt with this type by handing them to the hands of the public.
FollowupID: 12497

Reply By: David N. - Monday, May 12, 2003 at 09:22

Monday, May 12, 2003 at 09:22
The other thing to consider would be how much you'd be out of pocket if your vehicle disappeared.
Think of all the money and time you've put into your vehicle.
Think of the chances of finding another in similar condition to yours for what the insurance would pay.... In my case zero, as it's oldish but very low klms for it's age.
The thought of having it vanish is not very attractive at all- to put it mildly.
Now what else can I do to secure it.....Hmmm???
AnswerID: 19724

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, May 12, 2003 at 12:18

Monday, May 12, 2003 at 12:18
The thing is, if they want it, no amount of alarms, immobilizers, pit bulls, anti tank guns, razor wire will stop them.

Mate had his Harley stolen from his garage, alarmed, and the bike was at the back of his garage, with his car, and trailer in the way, they must have carried it over the car and trailer to get it out.... You know the tonnage of a Harley!!!! This was the middle of the night too..

But I agree with the statements of insurance. But it could be a good excuse to upgrade..

As I said to the bloke that owned the one stolen in this thread, I would sell it, you dont know how hard its been thrashed, or what has been done to it. The cops wont even let him SEE IT! Until forensics has been thru it.
FollowupID: 12543

Reply By: Savvas - Monday, May 12, 2003 at 14:53

Monday, May 12, 2003 at 14:53
It's not the kind of car you would steal for just getaway speed .... they obviously wanted it for breaking through things, ie ramming!.

I think your mate should expect that there's going to be some damage on it.
AnswerID: 19748