Submitted: Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:11
tuck 01
G'day all.
I'm hoping a Sydneysider might be able to help me please.
I've got to do a mad dash from
Geelong to
Grafton, leaving this evening, for a funeral. I'm going up the Hume, around edge of
Sydney and up the Pacific Highway.
Last time I went through there, about 10 years ago, there was a main road, but not freeway, between Liverpool and Hornsby.
I'm getting conflicting stories now, with some saying there is now a tollway between Liverpool and Hornsby.
Can someone please confirm if this is so?
If it is, do you know if the e-tag for the
Melbourne tollway works in
Sydney?
Thanks in advance.
Tuck
Reply By: Redback - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:16
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:16
M5 to M7 to M2 then Pacific hwy to F3 follow the Nth Coast signs.
Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:17
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:17
The E-Tag should work too
Follow Up By: tuck 01 - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:23
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:23
Thanks Baz.
As usual, the
forum is the font of all knowledge.
Follow Up By: Penguin (NSW) - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 11:27
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 11:27
Actually. the exit off the M2 is Pennant Hills Rd. Follow it to the start of the M3.
Reply By: simple - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:23
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:23
follow the hume highway all the way up and it goes straight onto the M7 (you've just gotta be in the correct lane) follow that all the way through onto the M2 (the M7 turns into the M2, but has another toll) then exit at Pennant Hills Rd (
sign will indicate "hornsby
newcastle and north coast") and follow pennant hills road north to the F3 freeway.
the tolls on the M7 and M2 are managed by ROAM (www.roam.com.au)
check the website to see if the accept your e-tags or alternatively you can post pay.
hope those directions are alright. there is other roads without tolls but for an out of towner this way is easiest. and saves you about 20 mins from the usual 1hr
Follow Up By: tuck 01 - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:29
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:29
Thanks Simple.
Even a Mexican should be able to find my way through.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:44
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 10:44
G'day,
the road you may be thinking of is the Cumberland Hwy. You take the Camden Valley Way exit off the Hume Motorway and pick up the Hume Highway. This takes you through Liverpool where you pick up the Cumberland Highway through to Hornsby/F3 entrance off the main drag which at this point is known as Pennant Hills Rd. Off you go to
Grafton.
Anyway, that's the way before the M2 was put in and the way I still use, don't know if it is any quicker, car just goes that way :)
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 11:47
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 11:47
Bushie,
The way you are going is much slower. The Cumberland highway is littered with turning traffic and traffic lights, which for me at least are almost always red.
If you follow the M5, M7, M2 Pennant Hills Rd then F3 it will save lots of time and it is so much easier on your car and your nerves, it does give your wallet a bit of hiding but.
Follow Up By: tuck 01 - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 11:49
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 11:49
Thanks Bushfix.
I'll stick to the tollway, sounds like it is foolproof.
Again, thanks everyone for advice. Logging off now to go home and try to get a few hours sleep before we head off.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 12:02
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 12:02
Duncs, I know you are right mate.....and I hate traffic lights. Wear and tear on the car and stop/start fuel consumption is also worth comparision to tolls, not to mention the extra alertness required.....will have to teach my car a new route, guess that means up to $15.00 in tolls, no worries...unless they stop accepting cash.
Follow Up By: garrycol - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 12:54
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 12:54
Duncs - except at peak hour the old Cumberland Highway is actually quicker - yes there are heaps of traffic lights etc but it is 16km shorter and the speed limit on the M7 is only 100kph.
Have tested both many times in my runs from
Canberra to
Newcastle and return - in every non - peak hour test the Cumberland always is about 4 minutes quicker and if you don't have a tag about $15 cheaper. (M7 toll, M2 toll, steup fees, account fees etc).
I no longer even bother with the M7 and M2 - for the cost and the admin effort for an out of towner too use it it is just too much hassle.
Garry
Follow Up By: Col_and_Jan - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:54
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:54
Could you give an old Qlder a bit of a hand. Ive looked up the roam site and worked this out. Not sure if correct.
I travel with my 4WD towing a single axle pop top caravan (height 2.15m) from sunny Qld, down the F3 freeway, then Pennant Hills Road. Move onto the M2 tollway at the toll-booth Cumberland Way/Pennant Hills Rd. As I have 3 axles and am over 2m - class 4 category -pay $5.50 (cash) to head to the M7.
For the M7, I can only find one fee for the entire length $6.21. Cant see if it is extra for the caravan as
well. Need to arrange a visitors e-pass ($1.50 on line application) and 75c extra per use of M7. Valid for 30 days with fees charged to credit card at the end of the 30 days. After the M7 tollway, continue south on the M5 freeway.
Not really keen on taking the van through Cumberland Hway to avoid toll (traffic lights etc) so would appreciate anyone in the know to check my details above.
Col
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 15:18
Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 15:18
ah thanks Garycol....Duncs, you've not been back in the big smoke long enough to handle traffic lights maybe?...I can understand that mate....hate 'em. Gary, i just hate bumper to bumper...forward 10m every 30 secs crap. geez maybe my car is right after all...will try the tolls a couple of times i guess to suss it out....
Col, don't know about the m7 mate, but re cumberland hwy....geez i go stuck behind a lowloader with a haulpack from kings to the Cumberland the other day...funny thing was I had all green lights from Hawkesbury to kings already.
look, if i can put hendrix on ll while driving i can drive anywhere okay? :)