Severe wind tent?

Submitted: Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:17
ThreadID: 48457 Views:9302 Replies:10 FollowUps:2
G'Day all,

Recently been caught up in some seriously vicious weather in the form of very high winds and rain.

Looking to review our swag and overhead tarp situation, as the tarp has to come down if it blows up, been looking at a good quality severe weather tent, which would suffice in any conditions.

Looked at First arrow and second arrow,

Sierra Leone , and Black wolf hornet,

Can anyone comment on any of these or recommend a tent which can withstand heaps of high wind.

Bearing in mind the last storm that hit us, I actually thought it was going to lift a vehicle.

Its not often but can be very sudden, and would be good to be able to just grab gear get inside and button up, knowing it will stand it ok. The areas we fish can get these violent storms on occasions.

Rgds

Ron

Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:27

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:27
it must have plenty of ventilation and/or soundproofing....depends where you are/what you want....

sorry Ron.....

i am sure that sthn cross, oztent and freedom will get a mention but also there are other stories out there....

what sort of trip length do you do....I carry several tarps depending on what territory I may be heading to and the expected weather (prevailing winds etc) ...if it is just a tent you want as first protection, heavy canvas and good/many pegs I would say and point the slope of the tent (if there is one) towards the wind)

AnswerID: 256060

Reply By: Kath21 - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:28

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:28
Hi Ron,
I personally have a BlackWolf tent and its great, the zips however are very stiff, already had one replaced after a mate borrowed and broke the zip. Basically any of the tents you mentioned should be fine in wind, a 3 or 4 season tent with a low profile can withstand an enormous amount of wind, reason being they are hiking tents and are designed to be put up on the side of a mountain in exteme weather.
If you are only getting it for a backup, rare use, then go for a cheapy, not a huge difference in quality.

Goodluck.
AnswerID: 256061

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:28

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:28
I have had my Blackwolf Turbo tent stand up well in a storm at Cape Jaffer where dome and camper trailer veranda's shredded. No guarrantee on any tent depends on direction and strength of wind. check out, may help.
www.hr4wdclubsa.org.au/Images_etc/Tent.pdf
AnswerID: 256062

Reply By:- Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:37

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 14:37
Hi Ron

Thats why we have pryamid type tents with no edge poles
as they are naturally wind resistant and are always last standing in a storm.

For really bad conditions you need to have the pole pinned
so can't move. Most of our poles, even for tarps we have pinned with 3mm holes in shaft and a nail thru at top , and such that peg can be used at base as well.

AnswerID: 256063

Reply By: JustT - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 16:14

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 16:14
I've got a Coleman NorthStar (5) (I don't think they make this anymore only the bigger 8-man) Its got quite a sturdy internal frame, has taken quite a hammering from wind (25knots +) & rain over the years and has never had any issues.

The only downsides are - its a 2 person job to put up (one to hold the frame, the other to do the clips) - and its quite big when packed up (mostly due to the poles)

We upgraded to this tent after the previous 5 man no-name dome got flattened by a storm one weekend on the beach.

AnswerID: 256093

Reply By: blue one - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 18:06

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 18:06
Ron,
Have a look at the tent I have for sale in Trader. It withstood a gale at Pt Plomer not a problem.

AnswerID: 256110

Reply By: Member-Granpa Joe - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 18:17

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 18:17
Hello Ron,
I have A Sierra Designs CD 3 type tent,
They are computer designed for extreme wind conditions with the narrow end facing into the wind.
This tent has endured stong enough weather to tear and or collapse every other tent around us, much to everyone elses dissatisfaction.
The only thing I would point out if you were looking at one of these would be that they are a "tensioned" tent, Being that they must be pegged out to hold them erect.
If you want a strong "freestanding tent" then I would recommend a Macpac Microlite or Apollo otherwise something a little cheaper like a Coleman Duo-deluxe.
The tensioned type tents can still be used in sand/loose soil but large sand pegs are needed even in calm conditions to hold the tent in shape.Two person version of the CD3Macpac freestanding tentColeman duo deluxe

hope this helps
AnswerID: 256111

Follow Up By: Member-Granpa Joe - Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 18:20

Monday, Aug 06, 2007 at 18:20
Sorry,
My links for Sierra designs tents and Macpac Apollo tents did not work as I appear to only be able to post one link at a time.
Google the names as I have spelled them and check them out.
FollowupID: 517218

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 00:56

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 00:56
well you need look no furher than the style used by those in the Antartic/arctic. These guys suffer wind far in excess than you could imagine and with those cold temps if the tent fails- you die
they use dome style tunnel tents.Prick to put up but in high winds nothing else should be considered
AnswerID: 256189

Reply By: Diver1 - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 08:41

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 08:41
BLACK WOLF TURBO 300.

At Lake Eyre last year. 4 of us out there all tent torn to shreds literally nd we were the only ones left standing -not an ounce of damage....not even poles thrown down. Wind got upwell over100km!! Th pegs tayed inthe ground, ropes stayed attatched, but it did bend the spotties to a 90degree angle!!

Everyone else tents had torn zippers, holes in tents, stitching fallen to pieces etc.....basically looked like 2 people had fought over it and torn them in half!!

Plenty of ventilation. Havent used i near ocean ut have been told condensation built up in it - lent it to a friend - but they didnt air the thing out!!

Quick as buggery to put up - just peg it out stand inside and push the roof up and ya done!!

You pay a bit for them but I would not get nothing else - after its amazing survival of L.E last year.

Laura
AnswerID: 256213

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:25

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:25
sounds the go will look at them for sure
FollowupID: 517636

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:58

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 23:58
Its not a tent as such...

Last xmas in the Otwas it apparently blew a storm one night. I happened to be home for that night, but my missus was there with the kids for the experience. By reports, it near flipped the small Jayco caravans, but our CT (Tambo) the next afternoon when I got there to hear all this exciting stuff I missed out on, all it needed was the pegs hammered home solid again. Didn't budge.

So I guess this means solid construction, strong canvas, should be right.

Tone
AnswerID: 256538