Bilbo's Back!! How to blow a tyre back on,,,,,,

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:02
ThreadID: 48493 Views:4408 Replies:16 FollowUps:11
Yep, the mighty Chevissan is back in WA. We've been around the Plibara - found some gold, then The Kimberleys - did the Gibb River Road - a big disappointment, some damage, don't bother doing it, it's a waste of time and effort. Then Kunnunnara - loved the place but it rained for 7 days solid,,,,,,

Than Katherine, Darwin, Alice Springs across the Great Central Road to Laverton WA, where we are now looking for some more gold. We're going bush tommorra,,,,,,

In the meantime,,,,,,,,

I staked a tyre in the bush, south of Mt Newman and I had to fit a new tyre. A tubeless new (secondhand) tyre. Everyone on here assured me that my new Maxair compressor woul blow a tubeless tyre back on - no sweat. I can tell you - it won't. So how did I get the bead to seal I hear you ask!!

Remember that discussion that we all had about that video clip that showed an idiot blowing his tyre back on with gas/petrol in the tyre,,,,,,,,,,? A few months back,,,,,,,,,??

Well I tried it and it works a treat. It made the wife jump and the dog went ape but a blooody big bang and the bead was sealed!! I wanna do the next one at night. I reckon it'll be a great sight!! WHOOMPAAH< BANGGGGAAAAHHH!!

Method?

Fit tyre to rim -obviously

Remove valve core

Squirt into valve fitting any spray pack that uses hydrocrabon as a propellant (propane) - a good long jet of it.

Replace valve core

Get about 30 miill of petrol in a container

Make sure you are wearing strong footwear- preferably boots and long pants.

With the heel of yer boot, push down on the bead of the tyre and push the bead right into the rim well

Pour petrol into the rim/tyre.

Remove the petrol container to a safe distance

Ensure there is no petrol on yer hands

Strike a match and throw it into the tyre/rim hole near yer booted foot.

The BANG will frighten you so have toilet paper handy.

Stare in stunned amazement at the sealed tyre.

Extingiush fire on leg of trouser (- only joking)

Strut around with chest out displaying how clever you are.

Inflate tyre with compressor.

Deflate tyre and re-inflate twice more. This will dilute any unburnt fumes.

Works a treat, truly does.

Bring some excitement into your life and try it in the back yard just for fun,,,,,,,,,,,,

It's good to be back, Where's Michelle? I know she just loves my "redneckisms",,,,,,,,,

I'll be back in Perth around October end.

Bilbo - "The Big Bang Hobbit"

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:14

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:14
Love it Bilbo!!!!!!!!!!

Besides the rain and waste of fuel on Gibb River Road am pleased to hear you and yours are having a great time. Maybe you can start to pen a book while travelling.

'Bush mechanics, memoirs and anecdotes Hobbit style

Jo'
AnswerID: 256244

Reply By: Member - Beatit (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:29

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:29
G'day Bilbo,

Sounds like a great time your having and gold as well - what more could one ask for? Maybe the fuel reseating trick that's what! I'm sold, a shame you didn't video for posterity.

AnswerID: 256247

Follow Up By: Bilbo - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:37

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:37
Mate,

It had that much petrol in it, it nearly blew my posterity clean off!!

"A bit too much dynamite there Butch"

Apologies to "Butch Cassidy and The Sundance Kid"

Bilbo - "The hairless leg hobbit"
FollowupID: 517313

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 22:18

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 22:18
Sounds like you almost had a Russell Coight moment lol

Good to hear your having a great time and found some of the gold stuff

Cheers Luke
FollowupID: 517383

Reply By: D-Jack - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:40

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 13:40
Good to hear you had a good trip and managed to improvise to get what you wanted. Interesting to hear that your Maxair wouldn't seat the bead??? My Blue Tongue III has less performance than your Maxair, but seated my beads nicely. Are you aware that there are techniques you need to use when using an air compressor? Like a tornequet or using a lube? It may also be that your rims are proportionally large for your tyre size, making it more difficult. Me now, I pump up my spare to 80 psi or a road tyre if your spare is stuffed, and use a hose adaptor to seat the bead from the spare. Also doubles as an air blower for other things (like air filter). My problem with the fuel thing is that I don't carry anything suitable (being a diesel).

Happy trails
AnswerID: 256250

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 14:39

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 14:39
D'jack, I'm just setting up an air tank now and was wondering if a 1/4" hose will deliver enough air into the rim to reset the bead.

What size hose do you use?

des
FollowupID: 517321

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:48

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:48
Des,

I use a 12mm inside diam. abalone hose with high flow couplings .

You should be able to get the hose from a commercial dive gear outlet.

I am able to reseat the bead using an ARB Compressor. I have a short length of hose with the tyre valve fitting. The main length of hose which is about 10m long has a shut off coupling on the end, this effectively increases the volume of the resevoire. WHen the res is full and with the short length connected to the tyre I connect the two hoses together and bingo it all happens.

FollowupID: 517324

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:59

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:59
D jack...lighter fluid/shellite is all you need...one can get it in little tins...er containers.
FollowupID: 517325

Follow Up By: Member - bungarra (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 22:40

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 22:40
question to Duncs

hope I dont sound thick...maybe too many red wines tonight !....as I understand it the spare ( or other tyre ) is the over inflated high pressure air reservoir....a length of hose is connected to this so that the valve stem is depressed but the the other end of the hose has a shut off or tap mechanism attached............. ( i.e hose is under pressure)....the tyre requiring seating has a hose attached to the valve stem ( with valve removed for increased air flow?)..a coupling on the other end of its hose that is then married to the presurised hose ..the shut off mechanism is released and iar flows in a rush to seat the bead?

Life is a journey, it is not how we fall down, it is how we get up.
VKS 1341

FollowupID: 517570

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:42

Thursday, Aug 09, 2007 at 14:42
Bungarra,

I did not make that overly clear.

I don't use the over-inflated spare as a resevoire, I just use the ARB compressor. Because the ARB has a small res it already has the pressure switch. My hose is just connected to the compressor.

The air line has a female fitting on the end which only alows airflow when ther is a male fitting attached. I pressurise this airline, essentially enlarging the resevoire. I have a number of fittings that connect to this line. One of these fittings is a short length (400mm) of hose with a fitting to connect to the valve stem on the tyre. Because my compressor is in the cab of the Patrol I can use it while travelling to pump up footballs etc. when we are running late for training.

When I connect this to the long airline from the compressor the flow starts instantly or automatically if you like. The compressor kicks in when the pressure in the line drops

I have not needed to remove the valve from the tyre to be inflated but that would also help.

Hope this makes things clearer.

FollowupID: 517640

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 14:11

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 14:11
Onya Bilbo, I think I'm the idiot that started that thread a while back but I told you it WORKS and you've just proved it !!!
only differance was it was butane not petrol but hey you have to do what you have to do, spooky I was just talking about you yesterday wondering if you got a lucky strike hoping you do and looking forward to your stories,
best regards,
Dave {in Woodbridge}
AnswerID: 256253

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 17:00

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 17:00
Dave...wasnt it lighter fluid? and not gas
FollowupID: 517326

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 15:05

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 15:05
LOL I always wondered about the Big Bang theory. Good to hear you're safe and rednecking right along :))))
AnswerID: 256258

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 15:54

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 15:54
Biblo,
This is the stuff this country is made of, good Aussie bloke bush ingenuity! None of this politically correct tyre reseating around here!

I've got to show this post to my mate, he was only last week lamenting the loss of these types of skills in favour of everything done by the book.

You're writing the book, go for it!

AnswerID: 256263

Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:14

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:14
Hey Bilbo,
good to hear your'e still out there gettin' a bit. I think we need a Sat arvo adventure show on TV "Bilbo's road side tyre repairs", glad to see it all worked anyway. Keep the coil to the soil, happy nuggets, Laurie.
AnswerID: 256265

Reply By: Member - Willie , Epping .Syd. - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:29

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:29
Hi Bilbo ,

I didn,t see you in the Kimberley . When you were stuck in the rain in Kununurra I was walking in Drysdale N.P. without a tent - so think yourself lucky .

My trip with Coiltek / Gold Expeditions was really good fun . Great people who new the areas very well . They spent a lot of time teaching me how to detect and I found 12 nuggets at Nullagine .

I just bought a 4000 and I'm hot to trot . I am planning a Nullagine trip for next winter .

Good luck around Laverton . Great story about seating bead - I wish your missus had filmed it .

Willie .
AnswerID: 256270

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:38

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:38
Hey Bilbo

Just think, if it all went pear shaped, you could have put your post in the " Are You Russell Coight's Brother thread".

Its amazing what a man can do under the pump, legendary stuff keep up the good work.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 256272

Reply By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:57

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 16:57
on your way home stop in adelaide for the NIGHT...i want to see it too!

did you found enough gold to make us both rich?
AnswerID: 256274

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 17:02

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 17:02
just call me Des( might have to kiss him soon)...i mean 'did you find etc......not found
FollowupID: 517327

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 17:09

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 17:09
Nudie,
You keep your Lips to yourself or I'll put you in that Yorke Peninsular mob's camp.

Does this mean your now Mbeemr On 01
FollowupID: 517328

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 19:14

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 19:14
Hey Desmond.....you leave us nice ppl from the YP right out of YOUR shinnanigans!!!! You and Nudie would make a lovely couple. Make sure you post the video on YouTube for us to watch after 11pm some night!!!!!
FollowupID: 517342

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 18:01

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 18:01
yeah i have seen that done on a video, Except it was to reseat a 44" Bogger, They used lighter fluid, but it's all the same.
AnswerID: 256283

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 19:15

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 19:15
Good onya Bilbo....welcome back and glad you've still got your knackers (well at least I assume you still do....????) hahaha

Us Chevissan owners have gotta stick together.
AnswerID: 256294

Reply By: Crackles - Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 19:45

Tuesday, Aug 07, 2007 at 19:45
Bilbo I don't think you realize how close you could have been to disaster. 2 points you should change next time are dont replace the valve & dont stand on the tyre when lighting it up. Neither are required.
Leaving the valve in can cause the tyre to inflate, too much fuel & it could explode. Have it on good advice after a tyre was reseated with the valve in, it was pumped up to 120 psi instantaniously.
A great last option bush trick to reseat difficult beads but there are a few other more conventional options available ;-)

Cheers Craig................
ps: When the fuel lights up at night you can see the flames come out over a foot.
AnswerID: 256300

Reply By: Eric from Eric Christopher Wholesale Vehicles - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 07:51

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 07:51
just wondering if you removed the valve before trying to re seat bead. I have a max air , and have re seated many beads on my 35.s with no issue
AnswerID: 256357

Reply By: Eric from Eric Christopher Wholesale Vehicles - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 08:03

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 08:03
just wondering if you removed the valve before trying to re seat bead. I have a max air , and have re seated many beads on my 35.s with no issue
AnswerID: 256360

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 08:28

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 08:28
Classic ........ 30 mils of petrol is nothing ... till you light it in an enclosed place LOL .........

Good to hear your having a great time.

AnswerID: 256363