Trip planning

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 10:54
ThreadID: 48522 Views:2957 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
Morning fellow wanderers,
I'm in the very early stages of planning a trip next May - June. I'll be going from Tamworth to Millmerran in Qld for a clay target shoot in late May and then I am thinking of driving from there out to Birdsville, doing the Birdsville track to Marree, down to Lyndhurst then up the Strzelecki back to Innamincka, then back into NSW at Sturt NP and Tibooburra. Then eventually home to Tamworth. About 4500 - 5000 k's all up. I cannot possibly go out to Birdsville and not do the track and whilst in that part of the country cannot possibly not come back to Innamincka via the Strzelecki now can I??
How many days do you more knowledgeable travellers think I should take if I want to spend a bit of time at each place of interest eg Coongie Lakes, Coopers Creek etc... I've asked for 1 month but can change that to 5 weeks without too many problems.
I'll be driving the trusty Nissan towing the Trak Shak so expect to use close to $1800.00 worth of fuel.
Anyone done a trip like this who can give me some tips would really be appreciated

Thanks all
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

Reply By: CLC50 - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 11:15

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 11:15
Hi John
Take the 5 Weeks you will need more ,you still have to travel 1000 Klms per week Plus .
AnswerID: 256378

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:02

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:02
Hi CLC50

I'll add an extra weeks leave as soon as I get to work in the morning.
Thanks for the "peer pressure" hahaha

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619
"Argue for your limitations and sure enough they're yours" - Richard Bach in "Illusions"

FollowupID: 517483

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:30

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 12:30
We've been out there quite a lot, from an Adelaide base (the roads you have listed are all straight forward cruising, if rain is not in the mix) - IMO, 4 weeks would be tons of time to have a "top quality" bush holiday (plenty of time for poking around places daily, as opposed to too much driving daily). 5 weeks might be pleasure overload :-o)
AnswerID: 256389

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:04

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:04
Evening Darian

I'll take the 5 weeks and risk pleasure overload. I've just had an email from a very good friend who says she would love to come wandering with me. Cannot wait til next May now. But I spose I'll hafta go to work to get the $$ for the fuel.

Thanks and cheers

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 517484

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:32

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 14:32
John,

Depending on where I end up getting a new job (now looking at SW QLD) you could possibly drop in for an Ale or 2 to break the trip up :))

AnswerID: 256410

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:07
G'day Kev

Read with interest about going "home". One of these days I too want to return to "Gods Country" - I was born in FNQ in Townsville. There are some wonderful places in the SW of Qld but a pity about the job up north. I'm sure you will tell the forum when you finally get settled where you have parked.
I'm sure my mate and I would enjoy a quiet drink thanks

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 517485

Reply By: campaholic - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 15:48

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 15:48
Hi John,
We are planning a similar trip next August next year, hopefully to coincide with the Birdsville races.
We plan on doing the reverse to you, Marree to Birdsville then down to Innamincka and then onto Lyndhurst and eventually home (it all sounds so hum hum). It weather permits we will also take in Coopers Crossing.
Lots of planning to do between then and now. So that means a few cartons to get through and a few practice runs down the local mud bath, at least that's what I'm telling the handbrake.

Cheers and good luck
Nigel
AnswerID: 256417

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:11

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:11
Hi campaholic

I thought about the races and being there then but I have to consider other staff who also want to take holidays too. I've been to the Louth races a few times so a country race meet is not new to me so will stick to the May - June trip plan. I don't have a SWMBO so no need for permission to plan so as to speak but I do have to consider a wonderful friend who thinks the trip will do her good too. I hope to catch up with her early next month and doa bit of pre trip planning.
And of course all of this trip revolves around the right weather - hate getting bogged and all that stuff.

Happy planning

John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 517487

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:34

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 16:34
John,

I would agree with John. Take the 5 weeks. If you find you have travelled quicker than you thought then spend a few extra days camped on the Cooper at Innamincka.

Sorry Darian while I agree that 4 weeks is probably enough to do the trip I wonder if it is possible to have too long a holiday.

I have never been in the bush and thought "If only I could go home sooner." I have on the other hand had many trips where an extra week would have been most welcome.

AnswerID: 256425

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:14

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 18:14
Hi Duncs,

As indicated above in other follow ups - I'll take the 5 weeks - most of the first week is at Millmerran shooting targets anyway. And I cannot agree more - I've never had to say to myself - "if only I could go home so I can go back to work"
We'll enjoy every second away and wish for many more to come.

Thanks and cheers
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 517489

Reply By: Member - John and Val W (ACT) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:49

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 19:49
Hi John,

We (HWMBO) and self have just come back from a trip that took in that area. Its a great place and plenty to see. Things to do and places to see at either end of the tracks inlude the Flinders Ranges, Walkers Crossing Track, the Bore Track (currently wall-to-wall in wildflowers) and of course Coongie Lakes and the Cooper where you could easily spend a week or more. One thing to consider though is the temperature - this year it was pretty cool when we were there (in July) which can take the edge off the pleasure. Make sure you have enough warm gear.

Val.

AnswerID: 256485

Follow Up By: Member - John T (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:31

Wednesday, Aug 08, 2007 at 20:31
Hi Val and John,

Yes Val I am well aware of the low temps that can be encountered - we have had heaps of minus temps here in Tamworth this winter - plants that have been happy for years are now dead because of the frosts.
This trip is just a spur of the moment thing really - sick of work and need something to keep my mind active and something to look forward to in the future.
There will be quite a few much shorter trips just to keep the CT and Nissan happy.
As you have probably read in my replies to other forumites, I have a very dear friend coming with me so we can both enjoy the trip and each others company. There are no specific plans as to when and where yet but that may well happen further down the track.

Thanks for the reply and cheers
John T (Lifetime Member)
VKS-737 Mobile 2619
Selcall 2619

FollowupID: 517526