Black duck valley - scrutiny

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 19:34
ThreadID: 48643 Views:4560 Replies:3 FollowUps:14
I found an article in The Sunday Mail (Brisbane) Today, referring to Black duck valley park ,near Gatton (Qld).
The article is about the state coroner considering holding an inquest into the deaths of 3 people killed there in the last 2 years.The most recent death in January (23year old)was Killed when his vehicle went over a 200 meter cliff(this is what the paper claimed),no mention of what went wrong.
The other deaths,January 05 when 28 YO received fatal injuries after a fall from his Quad, June 05 when 34YO was killed in an accident on a motor cycle.
Toowoomba hospital has been quoted ,Is concerned about the number of young people suffering life altering injuries at the park which is visited by thousands of trial bike,motocross an 4WD thrill seekers each year.
I have used direct quotes from The sunday mail and have shortened for this forum.
The reason I'm posting this is because I get the feeling that this is another attack on the ability of the ordinary Australian's freedom.
Places like B D Valley have been set up, to cater for the people who wish to pursue activity's that some may perceive as risky or even dangerous, while the whole time,complying with the law by doing this on private land.
I personally haven't been there, but have been to similar parks,Landcruiser Mountain and Rover park and have enjoyed them ,that's what I payed for.
We are slowly getting pushed out of the bush and this is why these "parks" are becoming more populated, thus increasing the likly hood of serious accident/injury.
I don't know what the coroner hopes to achieve by forming some kind of policy regarding "high risk activity's" on private land,but I wonder where will we be in the future,soon it will be deemed to risky to go outside,WHO DECIDES.

Shane

Reply By: Big Mike - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:47

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 21:47
Hi Shane,
I will probably open a can of worms here but am only presenting my opinion.
I have been there, and to cruiser park and every other park around Bris and Nthn NSW. I have only been to Black Duck once and wont ever go back, as the grading (classifying) of the tracks and their maps are terrible. Went out for a good fun drive in a standard 4wd, so took the easy tracks first. Ended up having to build a rock ramp on the jump up on a track on the edge of a cliff that required a three point manoeuvre to make the turn, (easy track). I know of others who have tipped on their tracks, have even heard a very experienced tour operator came to grief there. I have done other parks, properties, tracks etc around Aust over the past 20 years and haven't had any real problems. This park you have mentioned should be checked as it is just downright dangerous, IMHO.
AnswerID: 256979

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 22:13

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 22:13
Hi Big Mike.
Could not agree more with your comments.
I will never go back there again.
Vince
FollowupID: 518130

Follow Up By: Andrew (Bris) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 22:34

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 22:34
Same here.
Been there once.
Never again.

FollowupID: 518133

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 22:55

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 22:55
Don't seem to recall any good detailed 'track maps' of the state forest's or any other public place where we go 4wding ?
Maybe B D V shouldn't supply any maps, that way people can treat it like a state forest and therefore can't complain about their innacuracy.
You did go to a 4WD PARK to go "4 wheel driving" did you not ?
You do know that 4wding in a specific park designed for this purpose has risks don't you ?
What did you expect, a graded two lane hwy ?
Maybe try doing what most of us do when 4wding any where else in this country, using common sense instead of blind trust in a piece of paper which in the end is only a rough guide anyway.
We have a motto within the dirt bike fraternity, "if you don't want to get hurt then don't swing your leg over the seat ".
Yes I have been to the park mentioned in both 4 wheels and two and have no problems with it.

Avagoodn
Pezza

FollowupID: 518137

Follow Up By: Andrew (Bris) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:15

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 07:15
No one is talking about any state forests.
You wouldn't go to Black Duck for the scenery.
Nor is anyone talking about bikes.
As far as I'm concerned Black Duck is not a 4WD Park.
It's a park for overgrown lawn-mowers - I mean dirt bikes.
If you like lawn mowers running around two feet away from you at all hours then go there.
FollowupID: 518148

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 08:51

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 08:51
The biggest problem that I find in most 4x4 parks is the lack of consistency in the grading system of tracks ,who does the grading ?? a grade 1 at one park is a 3 at another and so on , I'm not saying that the parks need more regulating ,just that a more uniform system of grading tracks would go a long way to making the pastime more enjoyable and safer ,
FollowupID: 518157

Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 08:58

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 08:58
Couldn't agree more Axel, grading is the biggest problem. Most parks seem to get it right, but then there is always one in the crowd........ :)
FollowupID: 518158

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:34

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:34
I sort of agree with Pezza and Shane, in that we should be free to go to these places if we wish and I think no grading system at all is the best option. This way the driver must determine his course of attack for each track he/she tackles. This leaves the property owner less responsible for the inability of each driver to keep it shiny side up.

Also, welcome home Shane. How was the trip, I haven't seen a run down of what you got up to so I hope it all went safely for you.

I would go back to Black Duck for the right reasons.

Regards to all,
Trevor.
FollowupID: 518167

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:53

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 09:53
Trevor R , one major problem with the theory of no grading at all ,, it leaves open the possibility of each and every property owner who charges $ for the use of their property wide open to lawsuit after lawsuit , the whole point of a track grading system is that the driver is informed and can make an informed decision to attempt the track or not , ,,,,,, your in your Honda crv and attempt rock+roll at Levuka without knowing that it is a grade 3/4 you would sue , you are informed it is a grade 3/4 and unsuitable for you vehicle you either A: attempt and wear the consequence financially or B: use your brain and stick to the grade 1s.
FollowupID: 518169

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:58

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:58
Axel,

Whilst I can see the validity in such an opinion, I fail to see how grading a track with "easy...hard...extreme" is going to prevent drivers from getting into deep water if that driver is bold enough to attack a section of track that is out of his/her ability.

Many times I have turned the Patrol around at these parks to try another route but similarly my Blizzard has seen sections of the tracks that would be a no go zone in the Patrol. When I weigh up the risks in these sections of track (regardless of their grading) only then will I decide to drive them or not. With a $1000 car the care factor is much less than when I am in the Patrol which is considerably more expensive and my means of income on the following Monday. Even though the Patrol in the right hands would go to these places much safer and comfortably than the Blizzard.

I only wish people to take responsibity for their own actions.

Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 518230

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:48

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 18:48
Trevor , track grading is/should fall into 2 categories and be consistant , not only easy-medium-hard but a system that informs the driver of what can be expected from a 1 thru to 5 and also what basic vehicle requirements are required such as in the anology in my previous reply ,, that way people CAN take responsibillity for their own actions ,
FollowupID: 518241

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 10:49

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 10:49
Let me start by saying that I have not been to any of these parks, unless you count Boat Harbour at Kurnell.

There are a number of questions that come to my mind when I read a post like this.

1) Why is this particular park attracting the attention?
2) Do other parks have the same problems?
3) How are these parks managed and how much difference does managment make?
4) How accurate and understandable are any track grading systems?
and 5) How much responsibility ultimately rests with the driver?

Questions 1,2and 3 all require knowledge that I do not have so I won't even attempt to answer them, but I will suggest that if one park is having a significantly higher serious accident rate then the park management needs to have a look at what is happening on their property and put some systems in place to address the probelm.

On question 2 I have had some experience with track grading systems as contained in guide books. Like most of us I have used numerous different books which describe tracks and 4wd routes in various parts of Australia. Some of these books don't even describe what their system means ie. is level 1 harder than level 2 or is it easier? In some ways I have been fortunate that I have been dissapointed when I found that tracks described as difficult have actually been much easier than expected. I have never found one that under rated the difficulty of a track. Most of the track rating systems though, even those with detailed descriptions of how the ratings work, have been inconsistent. I once used a book as a guide on a through route where I travelled on 2 consecutive tracks both rated to the same level of difficulty. The first section was disspointingly easy and took about half the time that the book suggested. Thinking the book would be consistent we decided to follow the second section because we had time up our sleeves. The second section turned out to be difficult and took much longer than our experience with the book lead us to believe it would. Had the book been consistent we would have arrived at our destination on time rather than late. My wife would be more likely to trust the book for trip planning and I would get to spend more time in the bush rather than on the highway. Of all the books I have used as guides only one has had an accurate, consistent track rating system. It can be done, I don't expect them all to be the same but it is imperative that any track rating system is consistent, if it is not then you are better off without it.

Question 5) How much responsibility ultimately rests with the driver? 100%! 4WD's and the tracks we drive them on are tools. Like hammers, saws, chisells etc they just sit there until someone picks them up and uses them.

On a property I visit frequently there is a track which is very steep and has a couple of nasty holes on it about half way down. I have driven this track in every 4wd I have owned and it presents no problem at all. The guy who lives there reckons the track is dangerous and won't use it in any vehicle. The difference is the driver. His car won't go up or down the track with him in the drivers seat but it will if I drive. My point is this if a vehicle has an accident on a track what ultimately causes the accident, other than mechanical failure, is the driver. If you don't like it don't go.

Finally there are legislated cotrols and standards imposed on the operators of all kinds of businesses which operate on private property. Theatres, theme parks, swimming pools etc all have legistated standards for things like fire protection, equipment maintainance and training standards of the staff. Not only do we accept these, we expect them to be there. Why should 4wd parks be immune from these standards? The legislators will ask this question and impose standards if the industry itself fails to address the safety concerns of people like the doctors at Toowoomba Hospital. We would expect that of them in most other industries.

AnswerID: 257034

Follow Up By: Harry - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:51

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 17:51
G'day Duncs,
Very interesting as to the track classifications you referred to.
You must have appeased the natives as there aren't any followups or maybe you sound like somebody not to tangle with, probaly because you know pretty well what your talking about.
Ave a good 1

FollowupID: 518227

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 20:20

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 20:20
Hi Duncs,
First of all, Thanks for you detailed input to this post.
Allow me to go some way to help clear things up, you yourself said you have never been to any of the parks I mentioned and your mate backs you up with "you know pretty well what your talking about",how?
Answer 1. This park allows motorcycles, quads, trike's...and the like,most other parks don't, and I'll bet London to a brick ,that most of the injury's come from these,this goes someway to answering question 2.
I haven't been there myself, but have been to Land. crus Mtn 8 times in the last 4 years in different vehicles on the same tracks That I have used a number of times and found that the grading of the track would be easy,but 2-3 weeks later be difficult,so with regards to map consistency,IMHO would be impossible for the same track,let alone for same park.

Society, overall seems to be headed towards, Its someone else's fault, Who can we blame when things go wrong, no way its not my fault, some one should of told me that (insert situation here)was too hard for me, so blaming management is a cop out.
I don't know If you have been into the Vic high country or not,but anyone who has will always remember some point of the trip where they where having massive spinkter (I know its spelled wrong) moments and where glad to get home only to want to take someone else up there OR did they write an emotional letter to whoever, saying that this area should have better management because they got a bit nervous,or out of their depth, I certainly have, but never did I want to go and blame some else for what is ultimately, caused by my hand.

Finally, I also think that its important that there is legislation in place to protect you,me, your family, my family everyone who parts with coin to be entertained, BUT the big difference is that when you get strapped into into a roller coaster,you now have ZERO control, ZERO input to how fast you go, whether or not you will go down the steep bit or not, and are TOTALLY reliant on that ride operator running HIS ride to high standard,and we all go home,at a 4WD park ,you make ALL the choices, if it gets to scary either turn around or get help, all the parks have a UHF channel and will help you out(for a fee)and you will find that they won't allow anyone into places they wont go, or scan around other channels and you will always find some-one near by who will help.
Shane
PS It is difficult to gauge emotion in text,I sincerely hope you don't take this reply personally,It wasn't an attack

FollowupID: 518259

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 10:28

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 10:28
Shane,

Like you I was trying to present a balanced view of a situation which is not unusual. One part of society is doing something which another part of society views as dangerous, irresponsible, unnecessary, a waste of resources and damaging to the environment, themselves or society in general of just their own world view. I have heard such comments in relation to all kinds of activities including many sports which have been part of the world for many generations. I personally have been criticized on many occasions by many people for some of the things I have done and/or exposed my children to. This criticism has usually come from people who have very little understanding of the activity, but not always. Some of it has been constructive and has helped me develop safer systems for performing the same activity.

If you look at my answer to my own question 5 you will see that I place the responsibility for safety of the vehicle squarely on the driver. As far as track gradings go I hear what you are saying in regard to tracks changing over time and I acknowledge that I said I have not visited this type of park but I have travelled tracks frequently and regularly. There is one that I used to travel about monthly for a period of about 8 years. Yes it changed depending on use and rainfall but I would grade it now as I would have years ago. On a scale of 1 to 10 I would grade it about 7 it has been consistently that despite much over use in all kinds of weather. I maintain that it is possible to accurately grade tracks. How hard would it be for a 4wd park operator to drive tracks in his own park regularly to upgrade his ratings particularly after heavy rain or a busy weekend.

Anyway my point was and remains this. If someone is operating a facility and that facility is putting a strain on the community resources then the community leaders must regulate that facility to limit the strain it causes. I am not just speaking out of ignorance I was involved in emergency management in a community with limited resources and that was part of my responsibility. Often, in the case of a special event, the response was to bring in more resources for the community. That is what is happening in Sydney for the APEC meetings. Special arrangements for a one off special event. These arrangements must not and can not remain in place on an ongoing basis.

If this park is, as suggested by another response to this thread, putting a strain on the community then authorities must step in. Not just to protect those using the park but also the remainder of the community.

I did not take your reply as a personal attack. I think it was quite measured and reasonable. This is not meant as an attack either merely trying to clarify my position and how I came to it.

FollowupID: 518324

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:07

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:07
No worries Duncs,
I read the article in the newspaper and felt that this "park" was about to be attacked by the fun police.

I must admit that one reply doesn't stack up,"scared the cr*p out of me",and then later in the text, say's been through twice, can't of been too scary! ,same author makes the claim of the community resource strain(a dramatization perhaps)

The reason I go to these types of park's is to sharpen my 4WD skills in real world situations, I'm a capable driver, in a capable vehicle, and deliberately tend to push towards to limits of my skill and my vehicles capability, so when I'm in a natural environment my vehicles impact is minimised instead of learning after the damage is done,and felt that article was a bit of a slur against such parks.

I'm glad this thread didn't end in big slanging match,as others have done, and hope you have happy travels.

Shane

FollowupID: 518402

Reply By: daisygirl - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 20:05

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 20:05
We have been going to the 4wd parks around Brisbane for the past 10 years. I know the exact place where the last guy was killed at Black Duck and it scares the cr*p out of me!! We have been over the rock twice and my husband is an EXTREMELY experienced and excellent driver but I am scared for the all the other people out there. You are driving along the track which is reasonably normal and suddenly there is a rock that is an accident waiting to happen and there is no way around it and because its a one way track you cant turn around and there never used to be any warnings on maps, etc about this particular area.

Black Duck has gone down the drain in recent years and full of dirt bikes. They have several ambulance callouts nearly EVERY day at weekends and because there is only one ambulance in Gatton then the one from Toowomba needs to come to Gatton to service other people.

The camping area is terrible as it looks like someone went berserk with bobcat and ripped up all the grass and put big ditches everywhere and he is always having arguments with neighbours about noise, etc. Imagine living in the same valley as a swarm of buzzing bees going from sunrise to well after sunset!!

This is the only park that I swear and declare will never go back to again.
AnswerID: 257117