There's something about S.A

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:37
ThreadID: 48705 Views:3417 Replies:15 FollowUps:24
Sure is. Apparently they're in a recession.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2007/08/14/2004740.htm
Hard to believe with some there spending up big on motors, accessories etc etc etc.
No wonder they have a go at each other, recessions usually mean people aren't happy.
And they even had to "steal" a Qld flag. Poor sods obviously couldn't afford the quality goods.
I think their memories must be failing also..."South Australia lost more than 2,700 people last year"
I wonder if they'll ever find em ? :))))))))

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:55

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 17:55
Ya Plonker! :))
It's about to rise to 2702 lost, as we are leaving. Yep of to Cairns.
That said it's not a bad place, it's just the 3 months of boiling + 3 months of freezing followed by 3 months of hay fever. I do like the Autum though.
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 257234

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:11

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:11
Footloose

I left last year and moved to the NT. Have not regretted it.

A recession is what happens when people are stupid enough to vote labor.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 257237

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:16

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 18:16
Is SA open?

Kim
FollowupID: 518405

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:35

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:35
Kumunara,where do you go if the media is right in a couple of months.Let me know as i will go there too!!!! Lol
Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 518427

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:04

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:04
The Minister of Finance ordered you out of the country and State Treasury hasn't recovered yet.
That's why you live in Katherine
FollowupID: 518526

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 09:17

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 09:17
Hi Kumunara

So which state do you suggest I move to then? To not have a Labor Government??

I have just figured it out, by your comments I can live in Canberra...Yeeehaa!

It can't be all bad as Footy says lots of croweaters are buying vehicles and modifying. Also per head of population South Aussies travel more around this big Island (only because we can't afford to go O/S like our eastern cousins) LOL
FollowupID: 518746

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:20

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:20
Blaze

You already know the answer to that. The further north the better.

It's only about 35 degrees up here. Just warm enough to hop in the pool.

Tjilpi

FollowupID: 518807

Follow Up By: Blaze - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 20:17

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 20:17
Nah 35 is to hot mate, can't sit around the fire and drink port with Uncle Des when its hot.

We actually only commented the other week, camping isn't camping without a fire.

I would much prefer to be at Dalhousie on a cool night and be in the thermal pool
FollowupID: 518840

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 07:15

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 07:15
35 is perfect. It's colder at the moment. It is raining. From memory you do get rain in SA - but very little.

The dragon and I were in the pool yesterday afternoon sharing a bottle of wine. We were discussing how great life is in Katherine and feeling sorry for Blaze, Uncle Des and all the others we know in that cold dry country.

Nights still get cold enough to have a fire, a carton of coopers and a glass of port.

Only have to drive 100 kms to get a barra. No crowds at the river.

We have thermal pools up here and hot springs but at this time of the year they are full of terrorists escaping the cold down south.

FollowupID: 518882

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:45

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:45
But Kumunara,

When is the last time you went camping etc with a good bunch like Uncle Des, myself and others, I am even doing a Riverland 4x4 club trip soon. I can sit in a heated indoor pool if thats all I want to do... :-)

100k's to get a Barra, where are the pictures??? I know they are there but for you to get one LOL

PS. I haven't had any snakes trying to live in my house.... (have you) LOL

You added in the post about a bumper sticker... With locals sayin they want to shoot tourists, no wonder there are heaps of tourists are coming to S.A. instead.
FollowupID: 518900

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:08

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:08
Hey Kumunara.... Can't be that great in the Topend I noticed that "Murdoch" is begging to get out of the area.....LOL
FollowupID: 518946

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:37

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:37
Blaze

When are you and Des coming up here to go camping.

I emailed you a picture of the little 62 cm barra I caught last time I went. It is warming up and the barra are biting again so we are doing a trip soon.

I haven't had any snakes trying to visit. Had one come in the bedroom one night but the trouble and strife scared it away for me. That was when we were living on the gorge road last wet. It was just trying to get away from the river.

Haven't seen any since we moved into town.

PS We get over 200,000 tourists a year in Katherine. The economy couldn't do without them but it makes it hard when the line up to get served at woolworths is about 20 metres long.

If you want to look at an interesting site try this one:

http://www.bushtel.nt.gov.au

Heaps of info about the NT

Tjilpi and the Old Dragon

FollowupID: 518953

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:30

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:30
Hi Steve,

Now to be serious, Uncle des is doing WA for a long stint and we are only doing small trips this year with a max of about 10days, just doing lots of them. So far I have only had about 1 weekend up till this one that I didn't have to engage 4 wheel drive in the last 12 or so weeks.

When we do our next trip to the topend it will be for a minimum of around 4 weeks at least, so I'm not sure when that will be?

Cheers anyway for now, and I want some pics of the Barra, one 62cm littleun doesn't cut it with me, you should know better. Even on a lean trip we always get at least 5 or 6 keepers each (eating some as we go of course LOL
FollowupID: 518965

Reply By: Rock Ape - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:01

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:01
Came across the Nullabor and took my foot of the pedal on the SA border, was still doing 80 when I hit the Vic border.

Must have been the recesion

AnswerID: 257251

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:17

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:17
Footloose

Is member Roachie mixed up in this equation anywhere.

The 'Russell Roachism' alarm bells have gone off whilst reading this thread and it looks very suspiciously like something he has either done or is involved in.

AnswerID: 257257

Reply By: Trevoooorrrr Ribit- Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:50

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 19:50
Your not wrong there FOOTY its full of bl@@dy crow eaters.....
and dodgy 4wd clubs mainly YP4wd club. Yes and flag thiefs but I will be hanging around a bit longer to question all concerned.
Ribit
AnswerID: 257262

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:17

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:17
What makes you think that a South Australian was involved in the theft of the almighty Queenslander flag Trevooorrrr Ribit?

Nette
FollowupID: 518437

Follow Up By: Trevoooorrrr Ribit- Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:25

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 20:25
Sorry Mrs R due to the investigation going on as we speak I am not a liberty to reveal any infomation and you can let your not so better half we are not finished with him and several others in his YP nitting club.
Ribit
FollowupID: 518441

Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:46

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:46
ROFL
SA has been in recession since 1832!! It did improve a little in 2005 (when we left, hahahahaha).
AnswerID: 257284

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:57

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:57
Well,

We're trying to offload as many people as possible.

It's getting too crowded here!!!

AnswerID: 257289

Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 22:52

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 22:52
You read my mind Sand Man. We'll be able to get away from 'the crowd' even easier. JD

FollowupID: 518500

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:57

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 21:57
Well,

We're trying to offload as many people as possible.

It's getting too crowded here!!!

AnswerID: 257290

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 23:02

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 23:02
You got a bad stutter there Bill........
FollowupID: 518501

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 23:12

Tuesday, Aug 14, 2007 at 23:12
Well, what a pleasant surprise!
The crow eaters may be in recession but they still have a sense of humour.
I expected to get eaten alive for my observations, but no.
And you guys seem to have found a few of those "lost" people, also.

In case anyone is humour challenged, my post was firmly tongue in cheek.

I was having a "too many are my tyres big enough...do I need a second 12v microwave in my tent...is it best to take my boots off before settling in my swag" moment ! :)))))))))))
AnswerID: 257300

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 05:29

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 05:29
yep nothing wrong with the place - just theres nothing there for a young fella starting out. the only regret I have leaving the State over 10 years ago was that i didnt do it 5 years earlier
AnswerID: 257311

Reply By: Member - cuffs (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:38

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:38
Adelaide city of churches, murder capital of Oz,and now in recession, if we can get all you Mexicans to believe it you will stay away and stop camping in our favourite spots, cause you don't clean up after you leave. Oh yeh! we only deport the ferals to other states. WHAT!
AnswerID: 257323

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:44

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 08:44
And why don't you put a fence around it while you're at it ?
Oh that's right, it would stop people getting out. WHAT
FollowupID: 518540

Follow Up By: Hopper51 - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:15

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:15
Just back from a fishing trip to Eyre Peninsula. If SA is so bad, why was I the only local staying in the caravan parks. By the way, to you interstaters, the fishing is absolutely terrible on Eyre Peninsula and I would advise you to just keep going and not bother about wetting a line.
FollowupID: 518549

Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:29

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:29
There's something fishy going on down there.
FollowupID: 518553

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 07:17

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 07:17
Cuffs

I did notice whilst living in SA that the worst tourist are the Victorians AKA Mexicans. They drive on tracks like they are in the Grand prix and never clean up a camping site.

On the VIV number plate it says "The place to be". I wish they would stay there.

As I saw on a bumper sticker Ïf it's tourist season why can't we shoot them"

They are worse than rabbits. We get them up here in the Top End.

Hopper51

I lived on the Eyre Peninsula for 6 years. I know about the fishing over there.

FollowupID: 518734

Follow Up By: Blaze - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:50

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:50
Now come on Footy, you know if we put a fence up you would just break in, Mexicans have been jumpin the fence for years in another country LOL So you know its no use building a fence, even a ditch didn't keep the Kiwi's out did it? hehehehe
FollowupID: 518901

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 08:47

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 08:47
Hopper the reason for that is that People In SA dont have enough cash to drive over to the EP
I remember the place well as a local before anyone knew where it was it was great! Even people in Adelaide couldnt tell you more than 2 towns that were there - no one went there unlwss you lived there
FollowupID: 519051

Reply By: PradoTrev - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:54

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 09:54
What resession

We have now discoverd over passess and are building them as fast (well as fast as you can 6 hours a day) that should show them easterners we know how to be at the cutting edge.

It's just, well if those 2700 people hand not left we would have started earlier cause we would have had more money.

I propose we impose a departing tax that way the last one out will have the money to pay the bill before turning the lights out.

SA is such a backward place you can still drive on our beaches well some of them, many more than the in Vic and now they all come over here and now I know why the closed the beaches in Vic it's because they bugger them up and dont look after them. Im a stats man I would like ARB or similar to publish numbers on deflators and pumps sold in Vic aganst the rest of the nation.

Now i know it's not fair to single out one set of mexicans so i think we should all make it a point that when the vic,s graduate from state / primary school they should be taught how to use such items.

But hey you are all welcome until you mess it up and then we will have to start coming your way in to your well run state forests an the like.

Should not take long then and you will see us migrating in larger numbers.

Help stop the SA migration and donate as much and as offten as you can.

coming your way soon

AnswerID: 257337

Reply By: Red Frog - Vic - Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 11:49

Wednesday, Aug 15, 2007 at 11:49
Give them back the grand prix I say. It's been down hill for the poor buggas since Vic stole it from them.
AnswerID: 257347

Follow Up By: Member - Luke (SA) - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:02

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:02
You can keep the grand prix, we got the V8's :)
FollowupID: 518801

Follow Up By: Red Frog - Vic - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:15

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:15
Yeah they're good but nothing special, the V8's are everywhere including NZ..lol
FollowupID: 518805

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:52

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 17:52
V8's >>>>>>>>> Formula 1.
FollowupID: 518816

Reply By: Blaze - Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 09:53

Thursday, Aug 16, 2007 at 09:53
Footy,

Its called selective culling, we just cut out the non worthy ones.

I could if I liked give up a S.A. but where else has the area's like the Great Vic Desert, Simpson Desert, Gnarkat, Beach driving for miles from Murray Mouth down to Canunda, Flinders Ranges, Weast Coast (Ceduna, Fowlers Bay) etc.

Nah I'll suffer with this place
AnswerID: 257486

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:07

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:07
For me, I love the West End Ads, like this one:

West Ed Ad - "Where'd ya get the pictures?"

which is nearly as funny as:

Cracking Beer Ad

Andrew who loves crab.
AnswerID: 257708