Soft campers
Submitted: Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 08:54
Aandy(WA)
I've recently read a number of posts that absolutely amaze me. Where has the strong, resourceful Aussie gone? I have no problem with having all "mod cons" when staying in caravan parks but I read of people who want them even
camping off road. Running electric blankets, microwaves, and
satellite TV from batteries, generators, solar panels. They'll need a truck to carry all the technology with them!!!
Reply By: Ford Rodeo - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:09
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:09
I agree Aandy, will be travelling with 6 other cars/campers to the Cape in around 3 weeks and some of the "mod cons" that are being taken defeat the purpose of getting out there.
I think you know who you are. LOL
Phill
Generator, hot shower, microwave and cappuccino maker!!!! LMAO
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:14
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:14
No doubt Phil you will be in the line for the hot jam donuts & coffee at the morning tea stop :-))
Cheers Craig.....
Follow Up By: Swanny78 - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:13
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:13
Jen here,
I have just read that you are travelling up to the cape in around three weeks time.
I have read some where that that time of he year has the roads heavily corrugated from the amount of traffic over may through to July.
Are you going with a group of friends or a group of people that you have discussed it with. i would really love to do the cape with a group of people rather than just ourselves.
Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 02:15
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 02:15
Hey Jen, Will be travelling with about 6 other vehicles. 3 from Melb, 1 from
Ballarat and 3 from
Townsville. I know all but 2 vehicles. Your welcome if you like. Its a safety in numbers thing. Ive been the last 2 years and 1 of the others did last year, the rest are first timers I think(to the Cape).
Hey Craig, your right about the coffee. LOL
Phill
Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:47
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 10:47
Embarassed to admit Phill I fitted a microwave to the work F250 seeing they only cost $80 & had an inverter in there anyway. Has certainly opened up more options for lunch & smoko than just sandwitches & cake :-)
Have fun up the Cape. Cheers Craig...........
Follow Up By: Paps - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:42
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 11:42
Really, anything other than walking carrying a pack is soft, It's just depends on the extent. I personally like a comfortable chair and a cold drink, but no TV'S where I go. Paps.
Follow Up By: Swanny78 - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 10:49
Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 10:49
G'day Phill, When does it look like you guys will be travelling up there?
Jen
Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 11:25
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 11:25
Jen, All groups will be meeting in
Cairns on around the 19th September. Have you got an email that I can contact you on?
Phill
Follow Up By: Swanny78 - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 12:02
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 12:02
Hi Phill,
My email address is swanstravelling@bigpond.com
Follow Up By: AGNI4x4 - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:42
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:42
Re Load .................
well some people that drive dodgy type vehicles have to always consider weight ? Hey Dodgy ?
Hint of the day ..................... get rid of ya girly type rodeyodle plastic chassis would be 4x4 and get yourself a real mans vehicle ..................... like a skoda or something.
"Weight" for no one and in a real mans world weights never a problem .
Cheers Big Gazza
Follow Up By: AGNI4x4 - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:50
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 15:50
PS to last post >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>
Speaking of weight ........................ Jen Age ? Sex Known Location ? oh and weight ................... oh oh and vehicle type LOL
Big Gazza ....................... drinkin cappas on the cape
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:10
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:10
No rules saying you can't be comfortable when
camping. No doubt you have a car fridge & that could be seen by a true recourcful Aussie as going soft ;-) Many people do seem to have lost the point of going into the great outdoors though as it's the vehicle & camper/caravan that are the focus & not the destination. It's to the point where it's almost a competition to bolt on more assesories than the next guy.
Cheers Craig..........
Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:20
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:20
Comfortable for sure Craig. I just shake my head at people taking huge batteries and an invertor to run an electric blanket or a generator to run lights for a
bush camp or a huge array of satellite dish technology just to watch TV anywhere in Australia
Reply By: flappa - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:35
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:35
People judging others because they don't meet their expectations . .
THATS soft.
Follow Up By: dave_c - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:00
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:00
absolutely spot on flappa.
Reply By: Scoof - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:38
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 09:38
I don't know when people get the time to play with all the toy's When we are
camping their doesn't seam to be enough hours in the day as it is.
But if that is what turns them on who am I to judge some one else's pleasure.
I like to keep it simple.
Cheers Scoof..
Reply By: DIO - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:49
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:49
I guess some travellers need to maintain their links with 'back home' as they don't feel over confident when travelling into new areas/towns etc without their comfort toys/equipment. Suppose many of them would scratch their heads in absolute amazement when looking at the array of equipment often found hanging off some 4wds many of which rearely if ever leave the bitumen let alone the city. Might be something to do with
mine's better/bigger than yours, 'look at me - look at me' (syndrome) who knows - who really cares. Each to their own I guess, whatever 'turns you on'. After all - it's only money. Can't take it with you !
Reply By: Member - Charlie (WA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:55
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:55
As a newby to this whole 4WD/caravanning/
camping gig I don't have a lot of toys or mod cons...yet, but I would suggest that the most important thing is that people actually get out and see this wonderful country of ours, who cares how they do it and what gear they take with them.
Charlie.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:57
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 10:57
Aandy,
There is no point in knocking other peoples requirements and comforts. Everybody has different tastes and different needs.
At least they are still "out there" enjoying life on the road.
Personally, I chuckle when I see a
camp setup with a TV Aerial sticking up into the ether, but then I think of my original comment above and recite "each to their own".
I don't really care what people are doing and how they are doing it, at long as it is done peacefully and lawfully.
Reply By: RFLundgren - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:46
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 11:46
Each to their own is all fine, but if someone is going to take sat TV, video, dvd and all of the modcons, then why not just jump on a plane and stay in a resort, or take a luxury tour or whatever, rather than investing loads of cash into a car for a trip now and then.
When we go off the beaten track, yes we have a fridge and yes there is an inverter in the car to charge camera batteries etc, but that is about it. Our kids think we are so cruel because as soon as we back out of the driveway, the radio goes off, music goes off and doesnt get turned on again until we are back home. They get to experience the sound of the UHF and HF radios instead, and if they actually care to listen can hear some real interesting stuff.
The whole purpose of getting out is to enjoy this great country, so why spoil the experience by taking modern life with you. Just my opinion I guess, but it is what we fine enjoyable.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:50
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:50
" They get to experience the sound of the UHF and HF radios instead, and if they actually care to listen can hear some real interesting stuff."
You sure do, and get to learn words I didn't hear in 23 years in the Navy!
Pete
Follow Up By: Alfantz - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:39
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:39
I have to agree Pete. I have a 3 and 6 year old, and quite often we have to change channels or turn off the UHF because of some idiots that cant string a sentence together without swearing. On the odd occasion when we do ask them to tone down the language we get the standard reply to f... off.
Follow Up By: RFLundgren - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:55
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:55
Yeah I can agree in part.......in the city for sure, it never gets turned on, but when you are on a trip or in convoy they can find it quite interesting, in the right situation of course.
Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 12:51
Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 12:51
Only 23 years? OD.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 13:36
Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 13:36
Matt, there is life outside the pus!
Pete (about to leave on a 5 day drive though the Riverland for work!)
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 12:33
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 12:33
I have just been up the road and talking to the panel
shop owner about making a Rolls Royce 4x4 so there is a bit of comfort in the travel thingy. My Winnebago is a bit hard on the back, so will get Belverdeer to drive the big W and i can take the Rolls myself...
Follow Up By: AndrewX - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:29
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:29
How is Belvedere lately?
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY (VIC) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 09:09
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 09:09
Gday AndrewX
Belvedeer is fine at the moment.He is back at work and not doing much.
He was supposed to come and work for me on Saturday and didn't show.
Look after yourself and enjoy the day.
Murray
Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:01
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:01
Aandy, the weekend worrier who goes away for a few days or even a week or two is a vastly different person to the 'ol
grey nomads' who go away for months.
The nomad has to have the 3 minute coffee maker and laptop/tv to share with other people living on the same beach.
They both use very different power systems and drive vastly different vehicles because they are away for different reasons, for one it's life-style the other it's escapeism from work and the city?
The weekend warrior has to go back to work and the 'nomad' has to find a new place to fish - gotta move, I can't find the fish here either !!
Reply By: Middle Jeff - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:35
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 13:35
Hi Aandy
It amazes me how resourceful these people are, TV in the middle of nowhere how clever is that. it cracks me up every time my phone rings and I am somewhere ridiculous like the top of a
sand dune, have a quick chat to the customer and they are happy with absolutely know idea that I am not in my office.
Have fun
Craig
Follow Up By: Scoof - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:31
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:31
I can relate to that.
The other day I snuck of in my boat for a while and the bloody phone rang a couple times, Ha Ha.They wouldn't have a clue what your doing.
Scoof.. :-)
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:30
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 15:30
Your just jealous ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 10:35
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 10:35
Yes, have to agree Axel. Go soft when you want, go hard when you want. I can't make out why some live in cities.
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 11:12
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 11:12
Ahhh yes,
as one gets older, one tends to go soft more often than one goes hard ;-)))
What was the question again????
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 19:28
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 19:28
Nice to see you again here Ed. I didn't expect you to be making those observations mate, Janice didn't seem to be too worried by you that way. Good to see you can camp hard though ;-)))) Good health
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 01:32
Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 01:32
That's what I was talkin' about John, campin'...............
what did you think I was talkin' about???
;-)))
Catch ya later.....
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: Member - Karl - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:24
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:24
Andy,
I agree with you :-))
The more you take - the more that can break or go wrong.
When I go I take the minium to be comfortable - and one of the reasons I go
camping (bush
camping) is to get away from TVs, Playstations, computers etc.
A bit of
cold never hurt anyone - they need to drink a can of 'Harden Up', it will do them wonders.
Karl
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:28
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 16:28
Aandy
I have gone soft.
But I am in my 50s and like a few comforts away from home so the trouble and strife doesn't nag me.
Tjilpi
Reply By: blue one - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:13
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 17:13
The golden rule with
camping.
Less is more.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:34
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:34
i used to have a campervan but you might as well be home in bed
i traded a big double bed,
fridge, stove and sink in for this
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:35
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:35
Nope just as I get the hang of posting picks using the old way
"sigh" along comes a new way
Reply By: T-Ribby - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:44
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:44
If oi can't take me TV oi'm not goin'
T.R.
Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:09
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:09
Had to smile to ourselves last year whilst at the
Yulara van park. A
young Asian couple with their youngsters were camped next to us (tenting). Turned out they had never been
camping before this trip. Everything they had was electrical, even had the rice cooker. Great people and they saw that what they'd brought wasn't suitable but were prepared to ask heaps of questions and looked at peoples set-ups so that next time they would be more prepared and less overloaded.
Me I'd be lost without my 12v oven. Love a nice hot pie or snag roll for morning tea on a
cold morning. Also good for warming left overs. Takes minimal room and saves heaps on gas.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:29
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:29
Geeeeeeeeee Duncan,
I warm me pies, ooops,
cook me pies in the camp oven on a nice bed of coles while I boil the billy for a cup of tea and cuddle up to mum to keep warm.
If you want to carry all that stuff and can be bothered setting it all up good for you.
I have travelled for up to two months at a time with nothing but the half dozen tapes or CDs I have in the car for entertainment other than what we produce ourselves. I think learning to crack a stock whip was probably the funniest
What I really like is that it usually takes a few days after we get home before we start turning on the TV.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:57
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:57
LOL. Dunc's it's only good for short trips cos the pies take up too much room in the
fridge. Just sits behind the
seat. Cost $40 from Dick Smiths.
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:11
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:11
That's why when I go
camping I get set up only for short trips.
I put the
fridge near the
seat preferably in front of the campfire, so I don't have to walk far to a
cold beer.
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 01:34
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 01:34
I do agree with you, the weights of some of these set ups would be ridiculous. But each to his own. I have dual batts,
fridge, gas bottles and rechargeable torches as my luxuries.
I was a bit envious last time I was out bush and poeple were watching the cricket on their sattelite tv and I couldn't even listen to it on the radio. Didn't find out who won until a week later.
It was a bit tough to endure, but I did survive it though (lucky the
fridge was working and there were plenty of cold beers).
Barnesy
Reply By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 08:43
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 08:43
It all depends on one's perspective I guess..... to the bushwalker we would all be 'soft' for taking our cars/4WD's!!!!!!
Reply By: AGNI4x4 - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 18:31
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 18:31
Well ....................... I take what i take because i can ! Different strokes for different folks I guess. Now if Mr Rodeodelay new how to turn on a telly I bet he would have one ? As for cappas on the cape ......................... yep he'll be lining up for his I'll bet and as the roast comes out of the oven with the nice crispy roast tatties he will drool as he sits sipping his instant noodles from algi as he flicks the ants out of the water on the top.
Cheers with style and comfort.
Big Gazza ................ sipping cappas on the cape.
Follow Up By: Ford Rodeo - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 23:58
Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 23:58
Just remember BIG Gazza (LOL) when in the dark up north, I wont be able to hold your shivering sweaty hand ALL the time.
Cheers, with big shoulders (and I'll need them to hold you up)
Phill