Submitted: Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:18
dave_c
gday all,
there is alot of talk at the moment about gps navigation and all its wonderful doings. we can download all types of data that will show us how to get from point a to b. our budget for the around oz trip includes a gps of some desciption. we are undecided at the moment and reading all these posts just leads to more confusion.
this has lead me to think about the possibility of an all systems down scenario. everyone seems to be so heavily reliant on these new whizbang devices. i was wondering for the serious tourers and offroaders, do you have a back up plan if all fails. could you get yourselves out of trouble without gps assistance. is it as simple as a map and compass. some blokes make it seem real simple to travel outback and beyond with their gps and accessories. these are, i bet, the same blokes that would survive without them anyway.
for us, we would have to rely on on a gps if we were to go that far outback and if it failed we would be in serious trouble.
dave
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:25
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:25
Carry paper maps covering the area you are traveling is imperative.
GPS and associated electronic mapping are generally very reliable and are nice to have as
well as good fun but nothing beats a paper map and a constant awareness of where you actually are on that paper map.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:59
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:59
For once John and I agree - we should have this thread framed :)
Follow Up By: Geoff M (QLD) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:39
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:39
John, I have to disagree to a point.
You don't need to have paper maps just because of a "fictitious, all GPS satellites down" scenario. Digital maps give even the novice a way of getting a fix on their location with the associated software. What they need most is the ability to recognize their position by using a magnetic compass.
Over the years of carrying a zillion paper maps, I now rely on my PC and the digital maps that I have stored there. If the satellites are up and running, then I'll use my Bluetooth GPS. If not, then I'll still use the maps, but with my good'ol trusty compass.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:21
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:21
I understand your point Geoff but I guess the extension of the satellites being unavailable could also be construed as the loss of your laptop from some unforeseen circumstance thus negating your ability to view electronic maps on the screen.
Hence my simple point is that paper maps and the ability to recognise your current position on them at all times is somewhat important in my view.
Follow Up By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 08:34
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 08:34
Yep i know the feeling of having a hard drive go bellyup just when i needed it. where are your digital maps then? always carry a paper map and compass. I make a game of it with the kids and let them navigate from the paper map while i keep track on the GPS. Now they can read a map accurately and i will have no worries when they are ready to drive in remote areas themselves.
Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:28
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:28
Dave,
It is as simple as a map and a compass, providing you know how to use them.
Nobody should rely on a GPS & mapping software alone.
I always carry a comprehensive hard copy map for the areas I'm going to be in and always have the backup of a simple compass in the vehicle.
Having said that, I get great enjoyment from the moving map display whilst travelling. As one of the GPS sites state, (GPSOZ I think) I know exactly where I'm lost at all times.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:31
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:31
Oh,
And if the "Satellites are down", I'm heading underground because something very nasty has happened.
Follow Up By: dave_c - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:38
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:38
sandman,
lol. yeah perhaps a little on the extreme side but you get what im talking about.
you are the type im talking about. you know how to get about without the fancy gear but use it cos it looks good. i reckon there might be a few of us out there that think because they have the gps they will be ok?. thats scary. i know i wont go outback with just a gps.
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:40
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:40
Sand Man, c'mon spill the beans what do you know that I don't know? Serious talk of "offsetting" the GPS data while Geo Scrub is in town. I'm suspecting that "offsetting" is adjusting the data so that you are not where you think you are so that if some loonie wants to take out good ole GeoWScrub that their GPS data will not let them aim their missile.
But you are right, when the chips are down I'll be seeing you at the underground
camping area at Pedy......
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:08
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:08
Actually, my GPS has a built-in safety item. It's only accurate to oh, 60 metres or thereabouts, so if the bad people detect it and send a scud my way, it'll miss and I'll survive. ha!ha!ha!
Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:34
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:34
I totally agree with the above - map and compass - and know how to use them.
It may not be a total disaster as in the whole GPS system failing - what about just losing your GPS - or driving over it?
Best couple of courses I did at work were the Navigation Course (Map and compass only) and the Alpine Survival Skills course - great being paid to do something you like!
Follow Up By: dave_c - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:40
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:40
good one tim. that is what we will be looking more into.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:15
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:15
Ah!,
But I have two of the little buggers cos I'm good little Boy Scout.
Started off with a hand held Meridian platinum Marine GPS which is still useful both on land and
water.
Then I got a little bluetooth GPS which talks to my PDA running OziExplorer and CoPilot and allows all to be revealed.
If I lose my way, I'll never hear the end of it from SHMBO.
Reply By: Mr Fawlty - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:44
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:44
None of you know how to use a sextant? Handy if you can use one.
Map, compass, dividers, cute brunette who knows how to use it, all essential for true out back travel.
Today I witnessed what happens in a power failure at my local shops - total, absolute chaos!!!
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:54
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:54
Mr Fawlty. You forgot the need for a GOOD watch & star tables. Like the idea of the cute brunette though. (don't tell Annette I said that)
Vince
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:06
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:06
>total, absolute chaos!!!
Too right Fawlty.
Four meals away from anarchy
Got to be self-reliant at the end of the day.
PS. I'd be prepared to take a risk with the brunette :)
Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:50
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:50
I've got news for some of you fella's. If your out in the scrub over many years, you'll get "bushed" sooner or later, irrespective of the gadgets.
Kim
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (Qld) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 23:07
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 23:07
Vince
Before you go knocking the females who think they can read maps upside down you better have a look at this....
Womans Brain
Reply By: dave_c - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:58
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 18:58
to put it into some perspective, for me anyway. a mate of
mine is electronic genius. he got all types of devices. he has never been off the black top and nor will he ever but if he did i can gaurantee you he would 100% rely on a gps unit. i reckon there would be lots like him too.
dave
Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:03
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:03
Dave for the vast majority of people using GPS navigation if a system crash took place it would only be an inconvienience. Almost everyone I know has a paper map of some description that would get them out of trouble & really for many they are just a novelty anyway. A small percentage that are heading cross country over featureless terrain I suspect would find themselves in over their head. On our last trip accross the Madigan we had one member tracking our position using compass & map & after watching the trouble he went to I seriously doubt alot of desert travellers would have the required skills. No doubt there would be some EPIRB's set off then :-)
4 wheel drivers can always back track anyway, it's the offshore boats that would get into trouble without them.
I wonder what % of 4 wheel drivers dont carry a compass or even know how to use one?
Cheers Craig.............
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:14
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:14
Our security and defense forces plan for just this scenario. No Sat Phones either.
HF radio would come into it's own as it usually does in an emergency when the cell phone systems go down.
I wonder how many here take note of the prevailing winds and
check which side of vegetation the sand has built up on ?
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:31
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:31
How the hell does a
HF radio tell you where you are Footy???
Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:04
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:04
2 directional beam antena's can be used to triangulate the position of a radio signal.
Cheers Craig...........
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:11
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:11
It doesn't but the people you talk to can.
" I made a left turn off
the Tanami Track and I'm going round and round an aboriginal settlement I can't find the track out!"
"Mate, can you see a footy field on your left ? Just follow that track, you're in
Papunya."
Easy as
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:12
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:12
Yeh But,
That allows others to track you down if they are close by and have 2 vehicles each with a directional beam antenna and they are coming from different directions, it doesn't tell you where the hell you are.
All you can do is get on the airwaves and say, "Help, find me, I'm lost somewhere in the middle of Oz"
Personally, I'd sooner rely on the burning tyre if my
epirb went pair shaped.
Follow Up By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:16
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:16
"Aw hell"
"Pair shaped"...........spell check didn't help me with that clanger.
"PEAR SHAPED"
Sorry folks, I'm at work and delirious and bored...............
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:25
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:25
Sandman, keep yer mind on the job LOL
Ever burn a tyre ? Not as easy as it looks. And you'd need to burn a few to get anyones attention in a remote area...and you wouldnt know if there were without a radio, would you ?
And what if you're on a remote track, say the Kidson or Madigan ? No point in burning
tyres there ....
Reply By: T-Ribby - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:38
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:38
Len Beadle used a sextant to fix his position while creating the outback tracks. You would be hard pressed to find one in a 4WD these days, so a good
topograhical map and compass is essential equipment offroad.
T.R.
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 23:34
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 23:34
Len Beadel used a Theodolite, If you are on a boat you use a Sextant.
Steve.
Reply By: Fazz - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:40
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:40
HOW DID WE GET ON FIFTEEN YEARS AGO???????
Fazz
Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:11
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:11
Fazz,
Can't remember how we got on 15 years ago but 35 years ago I was on a bush walk and followed the information contained on my paper map of the area.
I was supposed to follow a creek which flowed into a river jsut upstream of the weir, according to the map. So we sit on the weir and have lunch. When we set off we head up the east side of the river, the side the creek comes in on, thinking that if we don't cross it we must follow it. It's a good theory but, the creek actually comes in downstream of the weir. Quite literally we were up the creek without a paddle. After a couple of hours common sense kicked in and I realised my mistake. Didn't have a compass but there is one that runs around the sky all day. Didn't have a watch either. Took a stab at the time, calculated north on the basis of that. Knowing that there was a road east of us we set off in that direction. I got home 3 hours late, but I got home under my own steam. I have still never spent an unplanned night in the bush. Have come close a couple of times though.
I have been walking in the bush since I was about 12. When I started my Father and a number of other men taught me how to get out of trouble, how to navigate, make shelter catch and prepare food. How to care for the little guy who was with me and scared. Those systems still work even when the electronics fail. I main the process of teaching my
young bloke all that I know. Hope you are doing the same with yours.
Oh and bit by bit I am giving him the freedom to practice, make mistakes and learn for himself, just like my Dad did for me.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:15
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:15
25 years ago I used army maps...and in some cases they were useless. Odometer readings...compass...etc etc...following nose...observing the track and where we;ve been.
Once in the Simpson I came across a zillion tracks going everywhere thanks to the exploration mobs. I had a distinctive tyre pattern at the time so I followed my footsteps back to B'ville.
Reply By: Olcoolone (SA) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:50
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 19:50
I think isf the satellite system went down, finding our way around would be the last thing we need to worry about.
If it happened I thik if I was in the middle of nowhere I would want to stay there and not move......maybe even digging under ground for say about a couple of years anyway.
We use
Oziexplorer and Ciy Nav 7 on a laptop, even with a satellite system down we can still find our way around...try carring 1 to 25,000 scale maps in paper form.
We have about 2600 maps loaded.
Regards Richard
Reply By: Smudger - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:54
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 20:54
"We're all be doomed, said Hanrahan."
Bugga!! ..p'raps we'd all better stay inside.
Then again, we could just keep on following our noses, it's got us around the country prettywell so far.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:21
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:21
that reminded me of Frazer from "Dad's Army"
"WE'RE DOOOMED.....DOOOOOMED"
ha ha then we would have Pte Godfrey providing cucumber sandwiches made by his sisters Dolly and Cissy.....
then Corporal Jones under control
"DON'T PANIC, DON'T PANIC"
Pike would be worried for his Mum worried for him and Walker would be pilfering the last of the ciggies and
beer.
oh geez that was a great show....
yeah...gps....
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:29
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:29
I can make it home without all the gadgets. I just forget to take the bin out and I can hear my missus telling people untrue things about me..... from anywhere in
Australia !
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:46
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:46
Footy,
All you need to get home is a pack of cards.
Sit yourself down and start playing Solitaire. Pretty soon some joker will stick his head over your shoulder and say, "That black seven will go on the red eight you know"
Then you just ask him where you are and where he came from, too easy.
Try it, you'll get found in five minutes flat!!
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:13
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:13
Thanks Jack :)))))))))
Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 13:33
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 13:33
Geoff, the other failsafe :-)
Stand by the side of the road and take a p*ss - guaranteed someone will drive past....
Reply By: equinox - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:42
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 21:42
Every 11 years sunspot activity increases to the point where big "blobs" of the sun are spewed out.
If one of the bigger "blobs" hits the earth, it wont only knock out the GPS system, I'll give you the tip, so the prospect of this happening is not as remote and politically dangerous as some people have said.
Some people I know though wouldn't even know how to locate the
Southern Cross.
How many know how to find north using the northern hemispheres pointer (Ursa Major)? I saw it quite often up north a couple of months ago and it perfectly aligns itself to the souths pointers. daaaa.
I could find my way home and get myself out of trouble but as I haven't been trained in the art of sextant use I couldn't tell you where I was within 5 or even 100 kilometres off the top of my head when asked.
Reply By: Willem - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:26
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:26
Just wait till nightfall and find the
Southern Cross and then plan your trip from there. Then follow your nose during daylight hours.
Most roads in Oz have signs everywhere so you can't really get lost. If you are off track then head in whichever direction to need to and you don't need a compass for that either. Check your position from angle of the sun!!
Reply By: Eric Experience - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:41
Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:41
Dave.
On a recent trip our laptop died, My wife got us home by using stars +logic and the map of Aus in the Melways. No she is not for sale. Eric
Reply By: DIO - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:08
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 15:08
Following a pointer on a computer screen is hardly navigating. If you are in area that you've had no previous experience in, one of the golden rules is to always know your location at all times. This can be achieved by the use of maps, compass, landmarks, sun, stars etc. If you are silly enough to 'follow the bouncing ball' and have no idea of your wherabouts then you are not only stupid but most likely about to become a liability to rescuers who may have to risk their lives because of your inability to prepare for your travels into unfamiliar areas. Best advice for such travellers is to stay on the bitumen and follow the road signs.
Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 17:39
Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 17:39
Way way back when I was a member of the green machine we had a saying when in the scrub "The most dangerous thing in the army is a 2nd lieutenant with a map" , lol,,,, but in all seriousness having a good paper map and a reliable compass and the knowledge to read them is a far safer option than relying on something that needs batteries.
Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 08:43
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 08:43
I haven't read the entire thread so forgive me if this has been mentioned already.
I seem to remember that the GPS system is owned by the US Govt and they can shut it down at a whim if they suspect a threat to their national security.
So a shutdown of the GPS system doesn't necessarily mean a major catastrophe has occurred. It may just be because of a perceived threat to the yanks.
Reply By: Dunedigger - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:33
Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 18:33
Another way to find north on a cloudy day if you are in timbered country, is to kook at the base of some of the trees. There wil be more moss in the (shady ) southern side.
It has helped get my bearings in a VERY embarrassing situation with a 4WD load of paying passengers.
Dunedigger