Patrol Petrol

Submitted: Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:16
ThreadID: 48807 Views:4365 Replies:6 FollowUps:9
Hi All.

My BIL is looking at getting a Patrol and has noticed a large number of Petrol with all the gear on that are well priced.

He is looking at around a 20oo Model.

What is the likely fuel consumpion that he can expect?.

Macca

Reply By: GerryP - Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:48

Friday, Aug 17, 2007 at 22:48
Don't know if the later models are any better, but my GQ ran around 24 - 26 l/100km with the occasional stint over 30 when worked really hard. Now have a diesel (100 series) and get between 14 - 16. I reckon the GU Patrol is probably around that mark also.

I have nothing against petrol, but they are thirstier so you need to carry more on long trips. I also feel safer carrying lots of diesel rather than petrol. Petrol can sometimes be difficult to find in the more remote areas.

I don't want to start a diesel vs petrol debate here, but I am suggesting to think it over carefully and decide on the practical aspects rather than the gear that comes with the car.

Gerry
AnswerID: 257773

Follow Up By: cloughie - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 09:38

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 09:38
Buy the petrol, add gas and enjoy.
FollowupID: 519053

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:03

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:03
"Buy the petrol, add gas and enjoy. "

Says the man who obviously never leaves the city limits or coastal fringes.

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 519081

Follow Up By: GerryP - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:21

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 18:21
Yeah, my patrol was gas and lucky to get 300 kms out of a tank. Don't bother with gas out bush - it's hardly available and if it is it's too dear to be useful. Even had it (normanton) where it was same price at petrol - why would you bother? Having said that, it's great around town and saves a heap.
Gerry
FollowupID: 519104

Follow Up By: cloughie - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 15:20

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 15:20
Dear Mr Pezza,
RE:The man who never leaves the city limits or coastal fringes.Cop this : Gibb River Rd, Strzlecki Trk,Oodnadatta Trk,Flinders Ranges,Karijini and Millsream NP's,Merini Loop, rail access rds around Karratha and Port Hedland,Vic High Country, just to name a few.I accept your apology for your thoughtless response.
FollowupID: 519210

Reply By: ingo57 - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 09:39

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 09:39
Gday Macca

I have the 4.8 GU and I get 25l/100km around town and on the open road 17-18l/100km on the open road sitting on a speed of 110. Towing a trailer with a few trailbikes loaded up with fuel camping gear and roof rack 26km/100 is the worst so far but it goes up hills with ease and never goes below 110 on cruise control.

I have fitted 145 lt and 75lt long ranger tanks which gives me a range of 900kms when remote travelling fully loaded.
Im really happy with it, heaps of power and good acceleration you just have to accept to pay more at the pump for the grunt.

AnswerID: 257795

Reply By: Ozboc - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:32

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 16:32
There are LOTS of petrol patrols for sale for a reason- nobody wants them - try to find a 4.2 turbo diesel for sale - rare as hens teeth, and why is that ? because when you finally get one , your not going to part with it any time soon.

If you wanting to do decent water crossing also , then diesel is the better option - if your just wanting to buy a shopping cart to collect your milk in every day and take it to a dirt road that a Hyundai could drive down - then petrol is the better option ......

Boc

------ Waits for the flames------
AnswerID: 257826

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:56

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 20:56
Hi Ozboc

I have a good one for sale at the moment , its advertised in the trader section.........Cheers .......Dave

P.S only selling cause i want to replace it with a ute
FollowupID: 519135

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:07

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 21:07
HI borgy - and i suspect if you have it at a good price you will sell it fast -- when i looked for mine - there was maybe 2 4.2 turbo diesels in sydney and the other 30 - 40 were 3 litre

and the 2 i seen were in car yards - one was a 99 model with 160k on it and he wanted $37 000 for it ----

baught my 2000 with under 200 k on it for 20 k ( private )

happy i held out for the 4.2 and didnt cave to the 3 litre

Boc
FollowupID: 519265

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:13

Saturday, Aug 18, 2007 at 21:13
GO compresion ignition
AnswerID: 257856

Reply By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 09:05

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 09:05
After years of driving sluggish diesels I bought a petrol Cruiser as I like the power and torque. Gets me most places and the blackfellas still seem to think petrol's OK so remote spots (at least in WA) have it. Remember all the blokes who actually made the tracks around OZ in the first place such as Len Beadell driving old Landrovers used it.

Just ask him to be honest about what he want to do with it. If it's not spending its life in the desert or extended periods of remote travel, then the big savings on purchase price, halved service intervals and sheer fun of driving it may make it worth a bit extra at the bowser. Those 4.8 Patrol's are a hoot!

Been down this path a thousand times before anyway. Good and bad on both sides. Best advice is to compare specifics and not listen to generalisations. Many opinions were formed 10, 20 or 30 years ago and simply don't hold up.

Bottom line, it all depends on what he's going to do with it.
AnswerID: 257893

Reply By: Macca1 - Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 23:05

Sunday, Aug 19, 2007 at 23:05
Thanks everyone,

I passed the info to my BIL and I think the mileage scared him. He doesn't want to put it on gas.

Macca
AnswerID: 258001

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 07:56

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 07:56
It would be good if he could stretch to getting the 4800 from late 2001 Macca.

They are more fuel efficent with over 700km on standard tanks.

But a main reason for getting for getting petrol patrol is the huge power advantage and the 4800 really extended that.

Driven carefully they can achieve sub 17lt/100km - and my manual certainly has over a long time consistently.

There is still probably no car you can buy off the showroom floor that can better the 4800 4wd performance wise, and the real cost of running it in total means that while tempted, I have not been presuaded to go gas.

FollowupID: 519291

Follow Up By: ingo57 - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:28

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 10:28
I have to agree with Robin. The power from the 4.8 is pretty fun to use, my figures around town are mainly due to my heavy right foot as stated if driven carefully these motors can produce an acceptable range pretty close to my old vehicle.

What made me buy mine was last year we crossed the Simpson in our old 2002 mod V6 pathfinder, we were accompanied by a 4.8 patrol and a 2000 V6 prado.
When we arrived at Mt Dare and fueled up the Prado and Pathfinder took roughly the same, the Patrol on the other hand took about $35 more than both of us, In my opinion who cares with that much powert on tap.

On the open road my 4.8 has many times bettered the pathfinders consumption, but around town I just cant help my self with that great acceleration.
FollowupID: 519307

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:31

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 11:31
Hi Ingo

I agree , sure they can use more fuel but you need to keep this in perspective with the pluses.

Coming back into Melbourne yesterday got into a long queue with 3 4wds all towing vans up front.

Watched over quite a while as various cars tried to pass etc with a couple taking excessive chances, particularly 1 underpowered 100 series diesel .

When it came to our turn we passed easily without creating a risky situation , much better than our previous GQ and who cares about the fuel in those situations.

FollowupID: 519318