TRAK SHACK CAMPER TRAILER 10 yr old hardly used

Submitted: Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 18:31
ThreadID: 48888 Views:6540 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
I have a chance to buy a Trak Shack for $2.500 i have not seen it as it's in Kadina but the reports from the brother in laws are very good as it only needs a paint job and new rim's and tyres i have new tyer's here to put on it,but what i'm asking is it worth buying for that price ,oh and it does'nt have a kitchin on it either it's off road as well.I was hoping to get Roachie's attension to see weather he could go around to my sister's place and have a look but i do'nt wa'nt to be a pain in the butt,the B.I.L'S are very mechanically minded and say there are no cracks in the chassie ,so what do you all think worth buying or not.cheer's GREENDOG

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 19:43

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 19:43
$2,500???

Snap it up unseen mate. Even if you have to spend tripple that amount to bring up to scratch, it would be a bargain buy.

AnswerID: 258157

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 20:07

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 20:07
Thanks Sand Man,yeah tha B.I.L's say the same thing i've just been on the phone to one of them and he will spray paint it for me to bring it up like new ,so sounds like a go let you now soon,it has split rim's on it at the moment but the B.I.L can get same sunaraysia rim's were he work's on the cheap so i might have a new baby soon finger's crossed.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 519437

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:14

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:14
No doubt for that price it is a soft top tRAK sHAK and was probably about $8K when new. Given that these trailers seem to appreciate in value then I would say it is a pretty good price. $2,500 only just buys a bare trailer these days.
AnswerID: 258177

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:14

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 23:14
David,

I would not bet my life on it but I think they had stopped making the soft top by 1997. I bought mine in 96 and am pretty sure the soft top was not available then.

Could be that I just didn't considere it but I was pretty hard up in those days and saving a quid would have been attractive.

Come to think of it I am still pretty hard up and saving a quid is still pretty attractive.

Oh and Greendog, buy it.

FollowupID: 519481

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 07:53

Tuesday, Aug 21, 2007 at 07:53
I bought my hardtop in March 97 and soft tops were still being made then.
FollowupID: 519493

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:55

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 13:55
David, you would nearly have paid that for an axle a few weeks back wouldn't you? I should have done :-(((((((((((
FollowupID: 519965

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:10

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 21:10
No John ,
was lucky all covered under warranty.
The re-welding and reinforcing they have done looks great and I wouldn't expect that again.
Going back up to the Flinders and Waraweena at the start of October so it better hold up.
FollowupID: 520041

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 22:27

Thursday, Aug 23, 2007 at 22:27
Does that mean you are coming to Mt Ives with us on the way???
Long weekend plus a day?

Cheers mate, catch up soon, Pesty
FollowupID: 520060

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:07

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 20:07
No Pesty,

Cant make it as i will be at Argadells on the LWE and then up to Warraweena and then who knows where for a wek or so.
FollowupID: 520191

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:37

Monday, Aug 20, 2007 at 21:37
G'day Greendog,

I'd be happy to have a look at it for you mate....no worries.

If you want to email me or phone me with the address etc, I'll have a gander and let you know my thoughts.

AnswerID: 258182

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:09

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:09
sorry about the delay Roachie but i lost your number i just wish same one had pic of one so i can see what it looks like,here is my mobile no 0429805743.I dropped into TRAK SHACK to day to look at there colour system so i have a colour pick out for it all ready just hope it looks ok and when or if you have a look there's not to much wrong with it keeping in mind it's my first camper.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 519791

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 20:07

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 20:07
Okay Greendog, Just got back from your sister and BIL place and had a gander at the TS. Looks pretty good from what I could see with my torch. As you know, the paint job is buggared; apparently it's been stored in a carport at Port Victoria for several years. It has leaf springs and no brakes. Treg coupling looks okay and I reckon if you wanted to instal brakes at some later stage, it wouldn't be too big a job (but would be pretty expensive as a % of the cost price of the trailer.....)
I didn't open it up at all, the tail gate is hinged on the right and the covering tarp comes down over the t/gate, so you'll have to loosen off the tarp to be able to gain access to the tailgate/inside the trailer.
It has split rims (3).....spare is mounted upright on the "A" frame up against the trailer's front tailgate. It has provision for mounting Jerrycans on 3 of the exterior corners and I guess you could mount gas bottles on the rear-right section.
You may need to instal a property number plate light. There is "sort-of" provision made for the driver's side tail light to do the job, but it is about 250mm from the plate and there is a steel section of the tailgate with 4 holes drilled in it......the light is supposed to go through these holes in order to light the number plate (not likely to be very effective).

So, I hope this answers your questions. You're gunna have to spend a few bob on it to get it up to scratch (just paint and other bits and pieces); but you'll have the basis of a unit that should last you for many years.

FollowupID: 519817

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:15

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:15
Thanks very much Bill for taken time out and goin around and checking it out for me mate, it does sound ok for our first c/t so i guess we will just do it up slowly,the B.I.L's are willing to help me so thats a good thing,we will be in Kadina from Saturday morning to start on doing it up so i'll take time out to call in and say hi ,Thanks again mate i'll give you a ring Saturday.cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 519847

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:19

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 18:19
$2500 = 2 half decent bottles of wine per week for 12 months , buy the camper and drink casks ?? you betcha.
AnswerID: 258471

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:17

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:17
Mate, should have told us on the weekend, we could have given you a dozen opinions LOL
You didnt make it to the show!
Well its nice of Mr Roach to have a look, but what, no pictures???
Come on Billy, open it up and take pictures for us all to give greendog an opinion

Cheers Pesty

AnswerID: 258510

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:18

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:18
Looks like vacant space is free tonight ahahha, dont know what happened there!!!
FollowupID: 519828

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:24

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 21:24
Nice of you to post a picture of what's between your ears Pesty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.............hahahahahahahaha
FollowupID: 519830

Follow Up By: GREENDOG - Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:22

Wednesday, Aug 22, 2007 at 22:22
jeez Pesty how can you pick on such a nice bloke like Billy LOL hope to catch up soon .cheer's GREENDOG
FollowupID: 519850

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:33

Friday, Aug 24, 2007 at 21:33
Yeah....you meanie Pesty.
AnswerID: 258809